Fermanagh Fans behaviour is disgraceful

i love these 1 man in 36000 can tell you definately who was an who wasnt booing, suppose ye will have names and addresses for us next - good man tom 1951 what a belter of a comment, maybe i dont have your super powers or something but at a match in a stand/terrace what would the normal scope of knowing whats happening be? radius of 10 yards from your seat would be a fair estimate would it not, in armagh they are different they can see whats going on all around them they know who is doing what and when and in what order, with such great analytic and perception powers its a crying shame they seem to get selective amnesia when looking at the pitch!

fact of the matter is when the game was level ye all booed at half time: truly disgusting stuff

ball-boy (Mayo) - Posts: 4211 - 28/07/2008 16:41:16    58911

Not a Dublin man in sight at the Ulster Final yet we still get the blame.
Sure we probably burst a hole in a QUANTAS flight at the weekend too!

.......Hhahahaha classic nice one.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 28/07/2008 16:42:28    58916

ball-boy

58881 when tom 1951 ans samual obsessed are finished slinging mud at anyone that will listen- the booing at half time was the loudest of the day who was booing then, all 36000 disgusted with waht they were witnessing perhaps?

do ya think real fans would boo their own and esopecially with the country watching, ulster was shown in it real light yesterday

quit talking rubbish ballboy, trying to stir and provoke a reaction. Thought you would not be watching it anyway as there was bowls on sky as you stated on the armagh page.

samin10 (Armagh) - Posts: 2434 - 28/07/2008 16:50:46    58934

with regard the support sure no one on here has ever booed have they they are all whiter than white, its always the man beside him in the opposition jersey (coincidently) that doing it, and the kids always have to get a mention is some aspiration that kids are someone tarnished for life (just using a bigger boot while sinking it in) , same argument up north no matter what the topic is, are ye not getting sick of it, never done anything wrong but you have a list from malin head to mizen head of who has done wrong

is like the analogy made by a certain politician, where he said here is a task to anyone: go to the north with 1million pound and come back with a biggot? plain and simple thats the task, simple or impossible?

guarnteed you wont find one but you will be put in the direction of one by every single person you meet- exact same no matter who is playing as soon as a team is knocked out in ulster the whiter than white bull comes out, i personally love it it take the bad look off the football

ball-boy (Mayo) - Posts: 4211 - 28/07/2008 16:58:22    58951

again when your finished slinging mud you may answer the question sam, i was flicking over to see the score and while i was there i stayed and laughed for a ehile they i went back to the bowls and the darts- two very skillful sports, they wouldnt go down well in armagh id say, again all i ask is waht was everyone booing for at half time? im being serious, if its another mud slinging response dont bother chief im talking about the gaa here you should try it sometime!

im actually shocked you havent denied it was going on, both teams booed off the pitch, interesting to see TOM 1951 take on it as he seem to know exactley who was booing for the frees, he should be able to provide us with name and addressed if he is to be believed!!

its all gone up in smoke isnt it samual obsessed? who you gonna follow in the semis? mayo?

ball-boy (Mayo) - Posts: 4211 - 28/07/2008 17:09:05    58970

Yeah I agree with Niamh, I thought it was scandalous behaviour by the Fermanagh Fans. At one stage when they scored a point they even started thumping their hands together rancorously to try scare away the Armagh boys, the cheek of it.....

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2466 - 28/07/2008 17:15:35    58983

This booing behaviour is commonplace at rugby events throughout the world especially when national anthems are being played. We do not need to import this foreign, public schoolboy, bratish, loutish behaviour to our games. Leave it at the galway sportsground or thomond park.

Tom1916 (Armagh) - Posts: 2001 - 28/07/2008 17:19:44    58996

dont follow womens football. i honestly cannot remember booing at halftime, if there was any it could not have been to bad. if another credible poster says there was then ill take their word for it, but because you are the only one to mention this i will assume it is another pitifull attempt to wind up armagh fans. if that is the only bit of the match you seen then you clearly know nothing about it so give it a rest.

p.s noticed you're earlier post, worst game you ever watched. told you before good liar has to have a good memory.

samin10 (Armagh) - Posts: 2434 - 28/07/2008 17:22:01    59002

Please, Please, Please........can you bring this post to an end. I am both angry and disgusted by the rubbish that is now being written. Firstly, I think it was right to raise the subject of booing while frees are being taken, but to blame Fermanagh supporters for it is completely wrong. Yes a section were out of order yesterday, but Armagh fans did the same. And at the Derry game sections of counties supporters were doing the same. It is wrong, and in truth probably makes the free kicker more determined. It did Kernan no harm at all and i wish we could blame it for the missed Fermanagh frees, but we can't. How can we stop it happening ? I don't know, but don't forget, most of those responsible won't be at the next game (fair weather fans possibly). The direction the post is taking is very worrying.......suddenly Fermanagh have the worst fans in the whole country!! Last week we were all getting wished all the best and people hoping we would win. Now we are dirt! As for 'samin10', I am sorry that you ended up beside an ill-mannered Fermanagh man. But to tar us all with the same brush is just unacceptable. You said "Your {fermanagh} supporters are a disgrace", well I am one of those supporters and I take exception to your comments. I am a Fermanagh man living in Armagh married to an Armagh woman with children that support Armagh.......does that mean that I will go about shouting abuse at them too ??? (Bad house to be in this morning!!) I go to all the games that I can thoughout the year, and yes we have a small number of fans that are shouting before their brain has engaged, but then doesn't all counties ??!!! I could say the same for any other counties supporters (including Armagh, Derry, Tyrone, i could go on and name all 32.....) but I know that one of two idiots don't represent a whole county. God, you want to go to Clones with my Armagh father-in-law, once was enough......we nearly killed each other!! :-) My wife was in the family section and there was a Fermanagh man giving dogs abuse to anything that moved, including Fermanagh players. Fellow Fermanagh supporters were so sick of it that they called over the Garda to speak to him. Turns out I actually went to school with him years back. He was a idiot then and it seems he is still one now! Actually I was on the Hill yesterday and I had a "heated" discussion with an Armagh fan during the second half. Yes, we were giving each other as good as we each got, but at the end we shook hands and wished each other the best of luck. He even said that "Fermanagh lost, as opposed to Armagh winning".........that is football, that is GAA. Passion, loyalty to your county, but also a need for respect for your team, county and others. We can get wrapped up in the moment but at the end of the day we lost, Armagh won.......and no Tir_Na_nog, we are not all sore losers. It may take us a day or two to get over it but we will and we will carry on supporting the cause. Finally, good luck to Armagh in the next round. It was a great 2 Sundays out (pity about the outcome!!). Good luck to Fermanagh against Kildare.....boys lets pick yourselves up, dust yourselves down and just do your best. To Armagh supporters, roll on the next meeting........looking forward to it...... cheers.

mmgummy (Fermanagh) - Posts: 3 - 28/07/2008 17:33:47    59031

mmgummy well take a bow chief, i have a lttle faith in the gaa with post like that, humble and well considered thank go there is a few of us decent people left, it was atrocious yesterday by both teams on the pitch by the fans in the stand and by the mud slinging going on here all day- EQUALLY BAD FROM ALL PARTIES, look at the conacht final if people want to see how people should behave on and off the field and especiall the day after a game on a faceless website, some people are continually giving their count a bad name

ball-boy (Mayo) - Posts: 4211 - 28/07/2008 18:01:45    59078

Ok, I'm getting a bit scundered of the flack being written about me by certain posters. I don't know who it was who said it but who ever said 'everything I post is muck, and people are laughing at me', was completely uncalled for. I call things as I see them, and I don't always claim to be right, e.g. I tipped Derry for bigger things this year, and on paper I wasn't far wrong they should have went further than they did on paper but they didn't. I have admitted when I have been wrong also.

Now, regarding this thread, I watched the match on TV so i can't call personal jibes thrown in the crowd, BUT Armagh didn't boo Fermanagh frees (maybe they saw they didn't have to boo for them to miss...) and if they did boo it wasn't nearly as loud as the Fermanagh contingent. I am not labelling Fermanagh fans as a whole, but I have read many threads on here from people from many different counties saying that they have experienced severe booing from Fermanagh and I ahve witnessed it myself. And also, it was severe enough for the commentator to comment on the booing, and then say 'Aaron kernan deserverd to put that free over with the unsporting behaviour of Fermanagh'. So don't say I'm dellusional or whatever because I'm not the only one commenting on it. I didn't start this because I dislike Fermanagh, infact I applauded their win over us and also backed them to win Ulster, i also never said Fermanagh were the only guilty county, I was referring to yesterdays match.

Also, stop with the personal attacks just because I'm a girl, I have as much of a right as anyone to post on here, and don't tell me to stick to ladies football, incase you didn't know sporting fans aren't decided by the gender of the players.

Thank you.

Niamh (Derry) - Posts: 2397 - 28/07/2008 23:41:53    59304

I could have sworn i heard Armagh fans making noise for the fermanagh free takers where they not? Way on Niamh your Jealousy is nothing short of a joke. As for the Armagh fans on backing up this argument grow up yous were at it too, weve been down this road before lets not do it again, as for a Derry fan bringing it up im not suprised at all.

NSG, I am not jealous. Derry don't deserve to be in the championship I have said it before, so don't bring that into it. Fermanagh beat us fare and square and I was backing them to the hilt on many threads.

Also, 'as for a Derry fan bringing it up im not suprised at all.' whats that supposed to mean?

Niamh (Derry) - Posts: 2397 - 28/07/2008 23:45:45    59305

Ah sure isn't it just the way bogball is going.

banner_boy (Clare) - Posts: 1285 - 29/07/2008 09:54:18    59385

well said mmgummy and Niamh

Tom1916 (Armagh) - Posts: 2001 - 29/07/2008 10:02:20    59393

Most Derry people yap about something or other rather than to do with what went on the actual pitch of play. I couldnt be bothered any more Armagh fans running around letting on to be saints.

There is a man in our club one of the best Gaels (dont start snuff) you'd ever meet would do anything for the game he stopped umpiring and refereeing intercounty games after umpiring at a Armagh game when a block yes a block was thrown at him if it had've hit him it could have killed him luckilly it didnt. So see all this talk of booing and other things in our games give it a rest. Anyone who wants should go and listen to the game again because the whistling that went on at the end when fermanagh were trying to score was as bad as any that went before it, but at the end of the day i think trying to hurt someone is a slight bit worse than booing or whistling which i couldnt care less about its all a bit of craic.

I too have umpired at a county, provincial and national finals but ive come across bad fans from nearly every county but ive come across more good fans that includes armagh and fermanagh but to try and deminish the good fans of fermanagh is a joke. Why do you not start these threads about Dublin fans Niamh? Just a thought on the Jealousy front or the cork hurling fans also were at it in recent years? Its a bit of craic girl if their good enough it'll not even be a mark on the kicker. Im away to wash my fermanagh top for sunday i spilt that much lager over it being a lout last sunday it needs it booooooooooooooo.

North Side Gael (None) - Posts: 1076 - 29/07/2008 10:22:13    59420

I have only had 3 experiences of Fermanagh fans, twice in 2004 where they were fine. However had a forgettable experience when we played them in 2001 in Sligo, where they beat us by a point in terrible conditions (maurice sheridan slipped taking a last minute 21m free - but that's beside the point) was told by some rather horrible fermanagh fans in no uncertain terms to go home as we were "freestaters"!! very disappointing - needless to say everyone who heard it was disguisted and i'm sure someone will come back with "there is always a few who'll let the side down" but none the less changed my opinion of them forever, never heard any thing like that at gaa before, no place for it, other threads about rascism in gaa need to take a look closer to home i'm afraid!! not good:-(

Pathetic in fact!

williejoe89 (Mayo) - Posts: 39 - 29/07/2008 10:41:10    59445

Think this post has run it's course folks.

sean og (Armagh) - Posts: 1072 - 29/07/2008 10:41:52    59451

still waiting on a list tom 1951 of all the fermanagh people who were booing you seem to think you know everything, or is it just a case of your talking through your behind yet again- thought so!!

so samual obsessed has got the selective amnesia that all armagh people seem to have when the finger is pointed, who was sbooing at half time, both commentators mentioned it and that presenter dude mentione it too- obviously didnt happen so, true novices just cant admit they are wrong- bless the minnows i say they will learn how to act in the gaa soon im sure until then well we can only pity these clown- bless!!

ball-boy (Mayo) - Posts: 4211 - 29/07/2008 10:52:26    59468

ball-boy, there was that much booing that went on i cant remember each incident, i dont care what spin yourself, nsg, and the fermanagh fans try to put on it, i was there i know what i seen and heard just like 2004 and nobody will convince me otherwise. every county has a few clowns, armagh has them, mayo has more than their fair share but by far the worst is the fermanagh crowd. i am not going to post on this issue again, i know i am right.

samin10 (Armagh) - Posts: 2434 - 29/07/2008 13:09:12    59718

too have umpired at a county, provincial and national finals but ive come across bad fans from nearly every county but ive come across more good fans that includes armagh and fermanagh but to try and deminish the good fans of fermanagh is a joke. Why do you not start these threads about Dublin fans Niamh? Just a thought on the Jealousy front or the cork hurling fans also were at it in recent years? Its a bit of craic girl if their good enough it'll not even be a mark on the kicker. Im away to wash my fermanagh top for sunday i spilt that much lager over it being a lout last sunday it needs it booooooooooooooo.

~~~~~

NSG, have you not read any of my reply?? I never said Dublin, Cork, Derry or Armagh or any other county are not guilty of booing, I siad I was commenting on Sundays match and that the Fermanagh Booing was bad enough for the commentator to comment on it. NSG, I don't have any ill-feeling towards Fermanagh and I still am rooting fot them to win Sam. But I just found Fermanaghs booing over the top, I was standing at the end Derry were shooting into in Healy Park And the booing was unbelievable, wanes and everything were at it. I'm not trying to blacken Fermanagh name, as I have said I wasn't referring to Fermanagh as a whole, but those seated around the goals, and whats more these are usually family tickets.

Just leave it now, i made the thread in the heat of the moment in the middle of the game. The match is over now, so lets just leave it.

Niamh (Derry) - Posts: 2397 - 29/07/2008 13:18:50    59742