They are at it all the time the same against us, booing when a ree is being taken. This soccer element is creeping into the game, and Fermanagh are giving it a great big shove today. Niamh (Derry) - Posts: 2397 - 27/07/2008 15:47:22 57727 Link 0 |
Imagine, booing when someone takes a free. the cheek of them supporters making some noise! Catch yourself on niamh, if you pay in to see a game then i say boo if you want. These are supposed to be top class players, a bit of booing shouldnt put them off. If you want silence when someone is taking a shot go and watch snooker! Down and out (Down) - Posts: 65 - 27/07/2008 20:32:20 57828 Link 0 |
You have obviously never attended a Dublin game. Loyal2TheRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 4522 - 27/07/2008 21:02:33 57849 Link 0 |
I have been saying it like a broken record that bogball is borrowing more and more from their premiership heroes by the day. The feigning of injury, the diving, the asking refs for cards to opposition, and like you say the jeering of opposiiton players by fans...all despicable stuff...but sure what do you expect... banner_boy (Clare) - Posts: 1285 - 27/07/2008 23:20:29 57917 Link 0 |
Agreed. I thought some of the Fermanagh lads let themselves down badly today with the booing and whislting when Armagh had scorable frees. I'm well aware that EVERY county in the country has clowns like these but the jeering today was up there with the likes of the Dubs on Hill 16. A few lads behind us had a lambeg drum which was fairly noisy when Kernan was hitting a few frees in the second half only for the boul Aaron to stroke them over. The lads went very quiet then before leaving the ground with a few minutes still to play. Certainly not true football men. We need this type of soccer behaviour removed from our games. Maasai (Armagh) - Posts: 3 - 27/07/2008 23:57:55 57936 Link 0 |
no club championship games today in Derry Niamh? GaryO (USA) - Posts: 62 - 28/07/2008 01:30:31 57952 Link 0 |
Can understand Fermanagh fans being loud and proud but the booing was disapointing yesterday! sean og (Armagh) - Posts: 1072 - 28/07/2008 08:50:24 57986 Link 0 |
While it was disappointing to see this coming from Fermanagh fans today, its probably not fair to single out a particular county. It's becoming more and more common at games. RMDrive (Donegal) - Posts: 2202 - 28/07/2008 08:59:22 57993 Link 0 |
Niamh you are 100% correct. every county will have a few prats who will act like this on their own but i have never seen so many people doing it collectively. i pointed this out months ago about our quarter final against them in 2004, the booing was a disgrace. North side gael argued with me that every county does this, think fermanagh proved me right yesterday that they are by far the worst for it. Think they would be better suited to going to the oval to cheer on shane mccabe. samin10 (Armagh) - Posts: 2434 - 28/07/2008 09:13:48 58008 Link 0 |
It's disgraceful, shame on those Fermanagh fans. I hope it doesn't spread to other counties, could you imagine the intimidation facing into a hill packed full of Dubs, all booing. Would be a shame to see.. Ohwait laoistownie (Laois) - Posts: 409 - 28/07/2008 10:14:39 58064 Link 0 |
and its all emanating from the pale banner-boy!!! bumpernut (Antrim) - Posts: 1852 - 28/07/2008 10:17:38 58072 Link 0 |
the soccer element is creeping into things but pot and kettle black if anyone thinks armagh fans are angels either Brother Thadeus (None) - Posts: 19 - 28/07/2008 10:33:53 58108 Link 0 |
This is not a jibe at Dublin, but i'm afraid to say that the "boys in blue" hill 16 soccer mentality started this booing a few years ago now !!!! Ciarrai Abu (Overseas) - Posts: 1050 - 28/07/2008 10:36:23 58113 Link 0 |
niamh i have bit my tongue long enough because usually when you come on here its utter muck that you post and not many take you seriously. this has took the biscuit, what do you want us to do? cheer on the opposition with their free taking?! stick to ladies football if you require a less hostile atmosphere, if you could even call it that! by the way samin, you's (armagh) are some bunch to be talking about discgraceful behaviour! 1stly applauding and cheering francie bellew for his challenge which led to owens injury then making jibes about heart attacks!! 2ndly after the final whistle around 30-40 armagh thugs in the far corner of the field jumping into, punching,kicking and banging the gates to intimidate stewards and garda into letting them onto the field. it was disgusting! especially for someone like me who was with a young family! it made the glasgow rangers fans look like saints! and then yous are complaining about a bit of booing. the absoloute cheek of you! fermanagh fans are like any other group. there will always be a minority of clowns, but to create a thread about booing at a match....BOOING at a match!!?? laughable. in terms of the game itself we deserved nothing. we were poor. but we are still a fine team and will show it agianst kildare. RedRum (Fermanagh) - Posts: 278 - 28/07/2008 10:52:28 58141 Link 0 |
"This is not a jibe at Dublin, but i'm afraid to say that the "boys in blue" hill 16 soccer mentality started this booing a few years ago now !!!!" holymoly (Dublin) - Posts: 757 - 28/07/2008 10:55:12 58148 Link 0 |
Ya it was such a shame to see it. The dubs fans' behaviour has started to spread to other counties now whiterbannnas (Mayo) - Posts: 2441 - 28/07/2008 11:01:03 58159 Link 0 |
Mr. Burns: Smithers, are they boo-ing me? essexile (Mayo) - Posts: 429 - 28/07/2008 11:30:56 58210 Link 0 |
niamh think you are being harsh on fermanagh here. do i detect the same thing happened in omagh against derry or is it more likely that you are frustrated that fermanagh with not a forward kind managed to beat to great teams like monaghan and derry. i think fermanaghs supporters were probably still excited at being in clones twice in the one year/century and what might have sounded as boos were just a prolonged nasally growl which you can sometimes get with excited fans. think your being a little harsh on those green giants after all fantastic fermanagh and all that. by the way 10 years of armagh and tyrone set to continue. reddoctor (Tyrone) - Posts: 1241 - 28/07/2008 12:00:13 58285 Link 0 |
I did'nt like the booing yesterday. Its not part of our Gaelic tradition and should never be excepted or excused. At the Cavan v Armagh game i witnessed cavan people clap the skills of Clarke and Mc Donnell and Armagh people clap a particularly good Seanie Johnson point. This is the true spirit of the G.A.A. family. Let the best team win and the losers wish them well after the game. We can use this board for the bit of craic and slagging but keep it clean and funny. The football pitch should not be used to display English soccer traditions. We should be above that. Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 28/07/2008 12:06:21 58305 Link 0 |
I don't like to see it ... and I'm sure it's not the preserve of the Fermanagh fans ... either way we ALL need to discourage it jmeehan (Monaghan) - Posts: 122 - 28/07/2008 12:14:36 58328 Link 0 |