RTÉ unfair analysis of Dublin v Kildare

what exactly do you want me to watch pj? o carroll started the whole incident by grabbing o flaherty so if thats what you want me to watch youre talking rubbish! o carroll also dragged hugh lynch to the ground & held him down in the 64th minute but im sure you didnt see saint rory do that! he should get a nobel peace prize really

chicharito (Kildare) - Posts: 77 - 28/06/2011 16:26:15    969581

vice99

waynoI

Im not sorry for it

Thank you Waterworks

Hahaha, Brilliant Vice!

Beautiful.Meath (Meath) - Posts: 537 - 28/06/2011 18:58:53    969753

Now that the dust has settled, having watched the game again, I found Marty and McStay's comments to be completely OTT. I don't remember them ever getting so passionate in their comments about the final minutes of a game.

Equalizing point - (McStay laughs) Ho Ho Ho Ho Ho
When the ref originally blew his whistle for the free and isn't even sure that it was a free or not (he asks to see a replay after the point is scored) - "Oh no, OHHHH NOOOOO!!!" "If you know the game at all how could you call a free at 14 points each with seconds to go, a handy free to win a big championship game"
Marty comments at the final whistel - "It takes away from Dublins victory......surely they (Kildare) deserved a draw.......Its a pity we were all denied a replay by a referee's decision"
McStay comments at the final whistel - It should be going to a replay......not to have the good sense to finish it in a draw

Now, just for a second, lets move away from the debate of whether it was or wasn't a free. "How could you call a free at 14 points each with seconds to go" - this one in particular annoyed me. Where does it say a ref shouldn't give a free to one team when their opposition have made a heroic come back? Anyone who knows the game knows that the game isn't over till the ref blows the final whistel Kevin. Dare I say it but perhaps McStay has a bit of a grá for Kildare. His choice of language and the emotional attachment he seemed to have in Kildare losing last Sundays game really (for me) questions his ability to be a co-commentator in future matches.

NavyNBlue (Dublin) - Posts: 1357 - 01/07/2011 12:34:09    972329

All year round, all we hear from the media is Dublin this and Dublin that, every media outlet has a Dublin corespondent, ye hype yourselves up to the last so....You can't have it everyway lads, get over it, you WON, it's better to have the ref on your side than the commentators. Enjoy it.

Anyway, it was a brilliant goal, one of the best in Croker in years and of course the point, which should have been the equaliser, would bring about an excited reponse. Should we have cardboard commentators who don't get excited or maybe they should only get excited for the Dubs?

WristyHurling (Kildare) - Posts: 37 - 01/07/2011 14:04:26    972429

WristyHurling

Naaaaahhhhh.

JinxyPoop (UK) - Posts: 1162 - 01/07/2011 14:36:54    972463

NavyNBlue

He mage an eejit out of himself on the live game... he had to apologise/explain himself on the Sunday game after the event. That says it all...

I guess he just got caught up in the moment... I remember the same guy screaming his head off after O'Gara scored that goal against Tyrone... so perhaps that's just his nature and that comes through while he works...

Everyone has to just move on now as previously suggested but in fairness it seems perfectly fine for Kildare posters to keep bringing it up - We're only responding to those posts in fairness and then getting lambasted for "Not getting on with it" they should be aiming such comments much closer to home.

Laois is the next big game for Kildare and we've got our Leinster Final to look forward to! Both of them.... especially this coming Sunday - C'mon the Hurlers

PS

C'MON LAOIS...!!

JinxyPoop (UK) - Posts: 1162 - 01/07/2011 14:44:23    972474

Here pal we can't control what the media says or the fact that they all write about Dublin. Navy n blue your totally right mcstay is anti dub.fact

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 01/07/2011 15:00:12    972493

Leaving the Kildare match & commentators aside (pleeeeeeeeeeeeaaaaasssseeee), Dub supporters, as suggested above, seem to think that everybody hates Dublin and their fans, which is simply not true, Dubs fans have often asked the rest of us not to tar them all with the same brush, so they should grant the same to us by return

Good luck on Sunday by the way, Dublin for LHC & Wexford for LFC!!!!

gigoer (Wexford) - Posts: 1998 - 01/07/2011 15:10:23    972507

MacStay is indeed Anti-Dub the creator of the term "soft free" usually in response when a player has had a spleen split open from a Shoulder to Chest "charge" without the ball of course.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4953 - 01/07/2011 15:38:47    972539

arock

972539 MacStay is indeed Anti-Dub the creator of the term "soft free" usually in response when a player has had a spleen split open from a Shoulder to Chest "charge" without the ball of course.

Usually from Eoghan O'Gara or Denis Bastick! :)

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12291 - 01/07/2011 15:47:34    972553

ye are missing the whole point when i mention that incident about o carroll and sweeney all the country people on here do is try and state the reasons why he did it bl bla bla thats not my point my point is why did rte not show this full stop.its a flashpoint in the game a main talking point but yet they hid it from all the viewers and never mentioned it but yet they also had a very similiar incident in the mayo v galway match and not only did they show the viewers this in real time but when they were finished they analysed it in slow motion where is the consistency there

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 01/07/2011 16:12:40    972576

Breffni39

or garth smith aka nesty
which ye robbed from dublin

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 01/07/2011 16:16:56    972582

"All the country people" lads this is going nowhere.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12291 - 01/07/2011 16:17:38    972583

hill16no1man

972582 Breffni39

or garth smith aka nesty
which ye robbed from dublin

So you are saying splitting someones spleen with a shoulder to the chest is a Dub thing? You are too far gone weith your "all culchies hate dubs" complex

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12291 - 01/07/2011 16:20:45    972587

Everybody hates the Dubs boo hoo hoo...

Break_er (Donegal) - Posts: 798 - 01/07/2011 16:49:16    972608

Break_er

972608 Everybody hates the Dubs boo hoo hoo...

After listening to Morrissey and McStays Anti Dub Bias I'm beginning to think you might be right there Break er!!

PJ (None) - Posts: 2288 - 01/07/2011 17:06:23    972626

PJ

Break_er

972608 Everybody hates the Dubs boo hoo hoo...

After listening to Morrissey and McStays Anti Dub Bias I'm beginning to think you might be right there Break er!!

McManamon & Conolly made turns in the game that were noting much and McStay almost wet himself very bias alright.....

moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 01/07/2011 17:46:07    972664

moomoo

In fairness Moomoo who could ignore the silky skills of McManamon & Connolly??

PJ (None) - Posts: 2288 - 01/07/2011 18:00:08    972670

PJ

moomoo

In fairness Moomoo who could ignore the silky skills of McManamon & Connolly??

Connolly aka Ivan Drago was taken off against Kildare.. and McManamon..? Silky skills..? Since when..?

RoyalClass (Meath) - Posts: 789 - 01/07/2011 21:01:26    972782

ivan drago was the bomb dont bring the russian machine into this haha

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 01/07/2011 21:18:16    972799