RTÉ unfair analysis of Dublin v Kildare

Erinsown91
County: Derry

968185 Myabe i was wrong but was there not a 3rd man style tackle blocking a kildare player from getting a chance to block the ball from being kicked in also ? Would that not have been a free also to kildare ?

Yes you are right. You were wrong!!

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4737 - 27/06/2011 16:52:35    968229

typical anti dub comment by the down man

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 27/06/2011 16:53:17    968233

gigoer
County: Wexford

Just because the SG panellists took the view that it was not a free, does not make it 'Unfair Analysis', they are entitled to an opinion as they see it.

Agree entirely. And just because the SG panellists take a view on an incident doesn't mean they are right either...

EnolaGay (Tyrone) - Posts: 653 - 27/06/2011 16:53:25    968235

boozehell
County: Down

968208 The long and short of the fact is that the GAA will do anything to try and help Dublin win an All Ireland since they can't do it themselves.

Sorry man you used the word "FACT" in your last post.

Could you please remove it? and perhaps try again...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 27/06/2011 16:54:29    968239

Spot on, couldn't believe this wasn't shown or mentioned on the Sunday game, no fear of Ciaran Whelan ever getting away with an incident like this! I had a clear view from the Hill, Sweeney shouldve walked, lucky for him O'Carrol jumped straight up and didnt make a meal of it, the lad is class personified!!

________

From a non-biased P.O.V , I was on the hill right behind the goal and saw the incident clearly too , By the laws of the game id of said it was a strikeing offence , thus he should have walked , however despite O'Carroll getting straight back up i thought he went down rather theatrically

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13654 - 27/06/2011 16:58:13    968249

I wouldnt agree that the commentators were for kildare or one sided as its being called..Kildare just scored a goal in the 70th minute of a semi final to tie the game or bring them within a point(open to correction there) a superb goal it was to... if the commentators were not excited by this then they should not be commentating it was an exciting moment as the game had gone stale up until that point an made for an exciting finish..

People can say what they want nut the sunday game panel are previous players of the game at a high level..their opinion and the opinion of everyone of anybody except a dub was that it was a free

cunday9lu (Louth) - Posts: 175 - 27/06/2011 17:08:37    968273

Lads ye won so get on with it. No need to be so defensive if ye truely deserve to be in the Leinster final. Do ye actually think winning by that point is gona earn ye praise on the Sun game?

lilywhite (Kildare) - Posts: 147 - 27/06/2011 17:11:25    968280

Whers is anthony tohill these days

222 (UK) - Posts: 844 - 27/06/2011 17:20:32    968300

I think that the only solution is for dublin to offer kildare a replay next weekend and beat
them without the help of a dubious refereeing decision. It would be for the good of the game
and the good of dublin football. I would hate to see our near neighbours referred to as cheats.
This is the exact same scenario as meath louth last year with one ingredient missing, pat spillane
has not started a nationwide campaign for kildare to be given a replay.

atta (Meath) - Posts: 705 - 27/06/2011 17:20:34    968301

vice99

968174 Dublin can get all the referring decisions they want but they will still lacks the b***s it takes to win that elusive All Ireland.
-------------------------------------------

....and so do ye my good man, so do ye!!!!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 27/06/2011 17:21:15    968304

lilywhite

968280 Lads ye won so get on with it. No need to be so defensive if ye truely deserve to be in the Leinster final. Do ye actually think winning by that point is gona earn ye praise on the Sun game?

No one is looking for praise, just balance and fairness, why didnt they show the incident where O'Carroll was struck in the face??

PJ (None) - Posts: 2288 - 27/06/2011 17:22:24    968307

atta

968301 I think that the only solution is for dublin to offer kildare a replay next weekend and beat
them without the help of a dubious refereeing decision. It would be for the good of the game
and the good of dublin football. I would hate to see our near neighbours referred to as cheats.
This is the exact same scenario as meath louth last year with one ingredient missing, pat spillane
has not started a nationwide campaign for kildare to be given a replay.

You're right who the hell would want to be compared to you lot.

Replay all the feckin way....

JinxyPoop (UK) - Posts: 1162 - 27/06/2011 17:25:25    968320

County: UK

Whers is anthony tohill these days

he was in dublin yesterday i saw him walking past the players lounge heading towards fairview away from croke park on my way to the match

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 27/06/2011 17:30:09    968334

cunday9lu
County: Louth

I wouldnt agree that the commentators were for kildare or one sided as its being called..Kildare just scored a goal in the 70th minute of a semi final to tie the game or bring them within a point(open to correction there) a superb goal it was to... if the commentators were not excited by this then they should not be commentating it was an exciting moment as the game had gone stale up until that point an made for an exciting finish..

People can say what they want nut the sunday game panel are previous players of the game at a high level..their opinion and the opinion of everyone of anybody except a dub was that it was a free

yeah they were excited for kildare getting the goal and point and in an equaly dramatic moent dublin kicked a winning point and all they could do was give a lowly comment of a 6point for brogan in a shrill low voice it was almost like they were hoping he would miss,were was the ecitment in there voice there if there being fair.
so because somebody played the game at a high level does not make them a great pundit.they were looking through a camera the same as you at home how can that make there opinion correct when they did not see it like the other 60thousand who were there.

and its quite funny not 1 non dub will tak about the sweeney o carroll incident and why because you didnt see on camera exactly like the free

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 27/06/2011 17:36:54    968345

The behaviour of Dublin fans leaves alot to be desired. Racial chants have no place in our games, shocking really. I think supporters from other counties will agree with me here.

sashman (Kildare) - Posts: 465 - 27/06/2011 18:00:22    968387

sashman

968387 The behaviour of Dublin fans leaves alot to be desired. Racial chants have no place in our games, shocking really. I think supporters from other counties will agree with me here

Sour Grapes anyone????

PJ (None) - Posts: 2288 - 27/06/2011 18:06:29    968394

You have got to remember RTEs first love is rugby. They love to highlight negative controversy when it comes to the GAA. If it had been a draw you could be sure they would trot out the line about it being more money for the Leinster Council.
I heard John Murray this morning on radio linking the DAA controversy with the GAA.
You also had a news report on violence at a Tyrone Ladies match which to my mind is the height of hypocrisy given that they don't cover Ladies GAA or indeed the Club Championship or the League in either hurling or football and they pointedly ignore such negative stuff when it comes to the oval ball game.
The BBC carried a report of a current rugby international being up on assault charges in Belfast last Tuesday, this is way more high profile but RTE chose to ignore it.

mod (Mayo) - Posts: 859 - 27/06/2011 18:06:41    968395

up the dubs

hipster (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 27/06/2011 18:11:45    968402

@PJ - exactly all Kildare wanted yesterday was fairness also but thats sport!! Seems to be GAA anyway. Too many bad decisions destroying teams!

I didnt see Sweeney hit O Carroll in the face, saw him hit him in the stomach but there was 2 of them in it and Im sure we're both watching games long enough to know this is the way these big games are played. There were lots of dogged tackles and playing players out of the game from both teams but thats just the way it goes!

Im not sure why exactly Dublin fans would care about what is said about them on the SG - just buy the Evening Herald if you cant handle it! That is sure to boost ye up!

lilywhite (Kildare) - Posts: 147 - 27/06/2011 18:11:54    968403

For me i honestly think it was a free the reaction from bernard brogan said it all.We can argue all day and night saying it was a free or it was,nt a free but at the end of the day the dubs were down to 14 minutes with about twenty minutes or so left kildare should of capitalised on this instead of doubling up on b.b and dropping johnny doyle back they never made use of there extra man if they had of maybe it would,nt have come down to this late decision...

DUB1 (Dublin) - Posts: 5583 - 27/06/2011 18:12:08    968404