RTÉ unfair analysis of Dublin v Kildare

I find it disgraceful that RTÉ has swayed so many people on this idea of a harsh free first off if you foul somebody its a free. There is no such thing as a harsh, soft, too hard, too strong free. A free is a free.
Secondly RTÉ cameras did not catch the whole incident only from when the ball was kicked and yet they deem themselves eligable to try and tell us it was no free! He clearly pulled him off the ball before the Cahill kick pass and the ref saw it and everyone else in Croke Park yesterday did too.
I thought Kevin McStay and Marty Morrissey's commentary was completly one sided. Listen to when Kildare get the goal the excitement in both their voices and the roars when he kicked the point after. Then contrast that with when Brogan kicked the winner, a low key 6 point for Brogan was all he could muster up.
How they did not even mention or show the incident on the highlights programme where Ronan Sweeney struck Rory O' Carroll in the face. It was a straight red card offence and the linesman told the ref and he gave a yellow only contrast that with theIR analysis of the Mayo v Galway match where they went back over an incident where the Mayo player Higgins struck the Galway player in the face and only recieved a yellow and they were calling for it to be a straight red! How unfair is the analysis of that incident compared to the other.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 27/06/2011 15:41:14    968056

Which makes for a better story?

Team A wins match.

or

Team B cruelly denied win by dastardly evil referee.

RTÉ are very good at creating a bit of controversy which in turn makes more people tune into the Sunday Game or their radio coverage. They do it every year.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13794 - 27/06/2011 15:56:32    968090

to original poster, if the camera didnt see the foul then how did you see it? unless you were at the match and instead of following the ball you followed brogan? if your going to give frees for that then ye can give a free to hugh lynch who was blatently dragged to the ground in front of the hill.. take off the glasses now like a good man

Possom (Kildare) - Posts: 322 - 27/06/2011 16:04:43    968115

nothing new there hiil16man. The Sunday game or what Paul Galvin rightly calls it ''CSI sunday game'' loves to stir controversy.

dubupnorth (Dublin) - Posts: 1897 - 27/06/2011 16:07:41    968119

take off the glasses now like a good man

Exactly.....

JinxyPoop (UK) - Posts: 1162 - 27/06/2011 16:13:14    968132

Possom

to original poster, if the camera didnt see the foul then how did you see it? unless you were at the match and instead of following the ball you followed brogan? if your going to give frees for that then ye can give a free to hugh lynch who was blatently dragged to the ground in front of the hill.. take off the glasses now like a good man

yes i was at the match on hill16 which has a clear view of the pitch stright in front of me where i could see as soon as cahill got the ball i was looking inside to see who was in there to aim to and saw brogan being fouled.when was hugh lynch dragged to the ground? i dont wear glasses pal i had perfect view of the incident as the whole pitch is straigh in front of where i was standing

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 27/06/2011 16:14:20    968135

I thought the harshest thing the Sunday Game did last night was to single out Meath for cynical fouling to close out the game. Yeah it happens, but I agreed with Davis that some of the frees were soft so it wasn't like they were dragging people down to slow down the game. There were so many great scores etc from all of the weekends games it greatly annoys me when they spend ages talking about invented negatives.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12291 - 27/06/2011 16:15:00    968137

They were examining the wrong footage.

That's point number 1.

The shot that mattered was not captured and that was before Cahill kicked the ball... I saw it as I knew where the ball was going... sure we only had one man up and that was BB

I saw Brogan being held, then shrugging off that foul and running for the ball where the Kildare man held back Brogans arm and clevely ran across his path

It's an old school trick that every half decent back knows... but unfortunately this time -It was the initial foul that was spotted -We saw the refs position it couldnt have been better.

It was the correct decision. He was being held from behind before Cahill's dodgy enough pass... you could see Brogans reaction. He knew the ref got it spot on.

It's one of those frees that forwards love getting -When the back is fouling on the sly and gets caught for it.

JinxyPoop (UK) - Posts: 1162 - 27/06/2011 16:19:33    968146

Did ye hear mcstay going ho ho ho when kildare got the goal. Also his comment that the ref should not have given a free when match was level, he should have played for a draw.

xxx (Mayo) - Posts: 1275 - 27/06/2011 16:23:23    968155

Just because the SG panellists took the view that it was not a free, does not make it 'Unfair Analysis', they are entitled to an opinion as they see it.

It's fascinating that some Dubs on this forum are complaining about this - Ye won! Stop being so defensive.

Right or wrong, he made the call, ye will not agree, but the score stands anyway and that's the end of it.

Let's all move on to our next games.

gigoer (Wexford) - Posts: 1998 - 27/06/2011 16:30:43    968170

Dublin can get all the referring decisions they want but they will still lacks the b***s it takes to win that elusive All Ireland.

vice99 (Donegal) - Posts: 1054 - 27/06/2011 16:32:57    968174

27/06/2011 16:04:43
Possom

to original poster, if the camera didnt see the foul then how did you see it? unless you were at the match and instead of following the ball you followed brogan? if your going to give frees for that then ye can give a free to hugh lynch who was blatently dragged to the ground in front of the hill.

That settles it then. I believe you. It was a free. Certainly if was the equivalent of being dragged to the ground, a certain free. Sounds like it should have been a card as well.

So the argument now is why was the Lynch incident not blown as well? Happens all the time at matches......

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 27/06/2011 16:34:43    968177

im slating the sunday game for there bad coverage of this match theres far better facilites in croke park then castlebar for spotting off the ball incidents and its real bad on there behalf to have an opinion on the incident on the last free which there cameras did not fully catch yet they have no footage on the highlights or an opinion on the ronan sweeney rory o carroll incident not even a mention

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 27/06/2011 16:36:17    968183

Myabe i was wrong but was there not a 3rd man style tackle blocking a kildare player from getting a chance to block the ball from being kicked in also ? Would that not have been a free also to kildare ?

Erinsown91 (Derry) - Posts: 38 - 27/06/2011 16:36:36    968185

vice99

Yeah kicking over a match winning free from 30 yards in the 72nd minute to win a match is pure cowardly...

Oh yeah so is defending for almost an entire half against one of the fittest and best teams in the country...

Yeah... no b***s ... Pfffhhhh

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 27/06/2011 16:43:48    968201

The long and short of the fact is that the GAA will do anything to try and help Dublin win an All Ireland since they can't do it themselves.

boozehell (Down) - Posts: 39 - 27/06/2011 16:47:10    968208

hill16no1man

'How they did not even mention or show the incident on the highlights programme where Ronan Sweeney struck Rory O' Carrol'

Spot on, couldn't believe this wasn't shown or mentioned on the Sunday game, no fear of Ciaran Whelan ever getting away with an incident like this! I had a clear view from the Hill, Sweeney shouldve walked, lucky for him O'Carrol jumped straight up and didnt make a meal of it, the lad is class personified!!

PJ (None) - Posts: 2288 - 27/06/2011 16:50:17    968215

Was about to say that I had no reason to disbelieve the OP. He saw an off the ball fould before the ball was kicked. Assuming that's correct (and I can't say that it isn't) then the free was correct.

Then - Erinsown set the cat among the pigeons!

Look, Louth were hard done by last year, and because they're a small county going fort a rare title, everybody felt sorry for them. But we really should get over this. Debateable calls are part of the game. We've all had to live with them, particularly at club level. As the yanks would say - build a bridge!

Culchie (Cork) - Posts: 799 - 27/06/2011 16:50:48    968217

At the end of the day . I feel for Kildare and their fans after that free was given and i think that if it had of been against Dublin all dublin fans would be in absolute turmoil. But having said that the better team won on the day , And frankly the fact that a decision in the last few seconds of this game is causing controversy is angering me , As Dublin should never ever have put themselves in that position in the first place. The goal by Callaghan was fantastic , But more concerning for me was the fact he was let score it. That game was alot more comfortable than the scoreline would suggest. Kildare will not win an all ireland and nor will Dublin thats the brutal but honest truth of it. They still have areas of horrible weakness. Dublins midfield and half back line werent fantastic and Kildares full forward line where non existant.

If either team comes up against a Kerry or a Cork i would worry for them. Big time.

Alot of credit goes to Pat Gilroy for me. He was lambasted and questioned in media circles before the game as to why he was starting Paul Conlon and throwing him in at the deep end against a very good Kildare team. And Paul Conlon answered them questions with a fantastic performance there at the back. I think the FB line was a bit loose at times but having said that they all played very well and Conlon in particular was my man of the match along with O'Carroll.

People ask why O'Gara was kept on the field , Well why not ? Why should Gilroy take him off , Its up to O'Gara not to get himself booked again and he did, His fault , his recklessness. Can't blame Giller for that. And while Bastick wasnt fantastic he did have an okay game.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13654 - 27/06/2011 16:51:43    968220

There is no doubt that the commentators comments were way over the top. The clip we all seen clearly showed Bernard Brogan struggling to get away from his marker and keep on his feet. If he wasn't fouled he was in a very clear scoring position and unlikely to be cheating to gain a handy free as I believe he would have cored if he was allowed to gather the ball freely I can't believe the panel never seen it from that perspective. The focus for the panel should have been on the Kildare tactics of keeping John Doyle as far away from the opponents goal as possible and the fact that twice now they failed to beat a 14 man Dublin team when it really mattered.

thistle_harps (UK) - Posts: 879 - 27/06/2011 16:51:47    968222