Disappointed but looking at it we missed Brady, Hiney, Boland, O'Dwyer, Tracey etc. We do not have the strenght in depth to cover this, and Plunkett was also carrying an injury. Reckon though we still have the chance of making the Semi's this year and then we can say we have over-achieved the original objectives set out, as this would confirm us as a Top 4 team and on the rise.
Still amazed at how many are already having at how many posters are having a pop at Dublin
witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 04/07/2011 10:07:38
moomoo County: Kerry Posts: 395
What's wrong with that...?
Jaysus you are obsessed with us Dubs! Anyone else noticed that... Seems to appear on ANYTHING even closely related to Dublin
Whinging... sticking the boot in etc etc... very Un-Kerry like.
Are you perhaps a mucker culchie journalist living in Dublin? The amount of attention you give to us Dubs you'd certainly fit the bill....
JinxyPoop (UK) - Posts: 1162 - 04/07/2011 10:12:47
Still amazed at how many are already having at how many posters are having a pop at Dublin
Are you serious...? Dont mind them "experts" - You've many decent lads on this site - Fair play to a number of Galway posters - Intelligent and fair posts.
Dub hurling is on the way up... the only way we'll ever break into the top tier is if we believe we can... Minors/U-21's/Seniors (Not too many counties can boast that)
Dont mind the cap in hand brigade.... they are jealous to the extreme
JinxyPoop (UK) - Posts: 1162 - 04/07/2011 10:17:08
JinxyPoop County: UK Posts: 223
973957 moomoo County: Kerry Posts: 395
What's wrong with that...?
Jaysus you are obsessed with us Dubs! Anyone else noticed that... Seems to appear on ANYTHING even closely related to Dublin
Whinging... sticking the boot in etc etc... very Un-Kerry like.
Are you perhaps a mucker culchie journalist living in Dublin? The amount of attention you give to us Dubs you'd certainly fit the bill....
Notong at all didn't say there was anything wrong with it did i? But he said it was ''culchies'' who were overhyping Dublin when it wasn't
moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 04/07/2011 10:22:01
moomoo County: Kerry Posts: 396
Yeah Yeah... see you on the Dublin threads.
JinxyPoop (UK) - Posts: 1162 - 04/07/2011 10:23:43
It hurt like new shoes standing on the hill yesterday but still I'm proud to be a Dub. We will take our beating and move on. Kilkenny were immense yesterday. First to every ball. Even when we got that goal I knew they'd still demolish us. They looked like they had another gear to be fair.
My fellow hurling supporters be you from Dublin or elsewhere thank you for your grace and unbiased posts. To the rest of ye who cannot contribute without using tired and useless insults....our day will come. Up the Dubs!!!!
Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 04/07/2011 10:25:46
Jackeen County: Dublin Posts: 1318
973977 It hurt like new shoes standing on the hill yesterday but still I'm proud to be a Dub. We will take our beating and move on. Kilkenny were immense yesterday. First to every ball. Even when we got that goal I knew they'd still demolish us. They looked like they had another gear to be fair.
My fellow hurling supporters be you from Dublin or elsewhere thank you for your grace and unbiased posts. To the rest of ye who cannot contribute without using tired and useless insults....our day will come. Up the Dubs!!!!
a lot of dubs on this and other threads have been firing a lot of insults so if you give, you must take
as a person who loves hurling, its great to see a new county emerging and i hope dublin continue to improve. however, they must must learn how to score goals to really compete. 17-20pts per game will not be good enough in the championship unless you can add a goal or two. this is dublins biggest challenge now
Tommo1 (Laois) - Posts: 113 - 04/07/2011 10:37:06
moomoo County: Kerry Posts: 397
973946 hill16no1man County: Dublin Posts: 621
973727 its culchies who were overhyping this dublin hurling team.lets face it kilkenny would have beaten any team in the country on todays performance so for al those coming on here slating dublin take a reality check yourselves the first guy was a mayo supporter ye dont even compete in the liam mccarthy so get back in your box bud also moomoo from kerry when ye start playing in the liam mccarthy if ye are man enough next year to do it we will see what ye are made of. dublin were bitterly dissapointing today but could yet make it to an allireland semi final as they will now meet limerick or antrim
It was Dubs who have been on hear saying they would win no one ealse
whats wrong with dubs believing they would win how does that mean they are over hyping themselves thats a stupid comment you should believe you can win every match or whats the point in playing
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 04/07/2011 11:07:25
hill16no1man County: Dublin Posts: 625
974042 moomoo County: Kerry Posts: 397
973727 its culchies who were overhyping this dublin hurling team.lets face it kilkenny would have beaten any team in the country on todays performance so for al those coming on here slating dublin take a reality check yourselves the first guy was a mayo supporter ye dont even compete in the liam mccarthy so get back in your box bud also moomoo from kerry when ye start playing in the liam mccarthy if ye are man enough next year to do it we will see what ye are made of. dublin were bitterly dissapointing today but could yet make it to an allireland semi final as they will now meet limerick or antrim
whats wrong with dubs believing they would win how does that mean they are over hyping themselves thats a stupid comment you should believe you can win every match or whats the point in playing
Like i said theres noting wrong with it i never said otherwise. But Dubs are saying its other people are saying they'll win everything
moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 04/07/2011 11:18:34
Well I don't really know where to start after yesterday, gutted would be an understatement, but not disillusioned. The day started so well with the minors, but then it seemed to go from bad to worse. I'l be first to admit we were out-hurled, out-fought and out-classed, absoloutely no disgrace in that we were beaten by a team whose hunger and desire for the big games was questioned and my biggest fears about Kilkenny being a wounded animal came to fruition, I guess that is a disguised compliment from Kilkenny that they played in the manner they did and knew they would have to. I'm not going to go into too much analysis of the game, stand outs for me were, Jackie Tyrell, Richie Power the majestic Henry Sheflin and the gravity defying Tommy Walsh. Some of the Kilkenny interplay and goals was really top drawer stuff and in hindsight was a pleasure to witness and is where Dublin hurling aspires to be. The lads did themselves proud they hurled to the bitter end but we are simply not at Kilkennys level yet, is anyone bar Tipp? I emphasise yet because I still believe we are a work in progress, the minor win was very encouraging and with our 21's in an albeit tough Leinster final against Wexford in Wexford park the future of Dublin Hurling looks very promising. I hesitate to add we still have a second bite of the cherry and I still think alot of teams left wouldn't fancy meeting us. Great teams aren't made in victory but how they respond in defeat is the message the lads should be heeding. But KK targeted goals and got them, we need to find a way of getting goals otherwise we will never make the next sufficient step in our progress To all of the KK fans at the game yesterday take a bow, you were as gracious in victory as you were in defeat in the league final, plenty of kind words of encouragement and well wishes fort the rest of the champo. Some other fans could learn alot from you, including some of our own might I add. Anyway we live to fight another day. UP THE DUBS1
Kenjg80 (Dublin) - Posts: 228 - 04/07/2011 11:26:47
I can't see how Dublin's fans, management or players did anything wrong.
They were confident - they'd beat Kilkenny in a national final by 12 points. Only Waterford, Cork and Tipp have done the same, so rightly they were confident.
The masters of the game won, but Dublin have made massive strides, people have to see that. And I still think with the lay off they will now have, Dublin could still end up in this seasons final.
slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 04/07/2011 11:35:47
But KK targeted goals and got them, we need to find a way of getting goals otherwise we will never make the next sufficient step in our progress
spot on!
Kilkenny scored 2-22 in the 2009 All-Ireland final & 4-17 yesterday. Tipp scored 4-17 in last years final and 4-19 V Clare.
To beat both you need to aim for 30 points in goals and points. You could try to score 0-30 if you like, but if you can get 4-18 all the better.
That's the level Tipp & the cats are hurling at. Limerick scored 1-22 saturday night & I still think that is nowhere near enough to beat either.
slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 04/07/2011 11:42:52
Slayer to beat Galway you'd have to score 4.26 so KK and Tipp would wasn't to start upping de ante a small bit!
womenourlimits (Galway) - Posts: 237 - 04/07/2011 11:49:11
Don't think the dubs were over confident, with it being the capital it is understandable that a lot more media coverage is given to the dublin hurlers. To be honest, i thought they were below par, in the early seconds of the game, they had a chance for a point early on but drove it wide, they would have put it over in the semi. The dubs shouldn't lose heart, their day will come!
Mulman (Tipperary) - Posts: 562 - 04/07/2011 11:51:24
The players the lost especially Hiney and O'dwyer brady to a lesser extent (kelly played well) were a massive lost for the. People might think I'm being biased O'dwyer being a Tipp man be they needed someone like him yesterday to disrupt the kilkenny half backs. Heard people blowing how well eoin larkin played but i have to say he was beating for the majority of the ball that went into him kelly had a great game.
Also think daly got his tactics very wrong why did they persist in bombing long ball into the full forward line it a small line and kilkenny mopped it up. Quick direct low ball was the answear and when they did that it worked. Also granted you have to run a kilkenny to get goals but why did dublin persist in running at them down the middle and get bottled up, the secret to success with kilkenny is keep your forward line moving and create space not try and run into space with the ball. Daly I think has to take a fair bit of the blame here.
Also heard the ref getting a bit of slak from the dubs after the game granted henry should have been booked but as a neutral I thought he did well and let the game flow. Their was a kilkenny lad sitting behind me at the match and lets just say he was of the view the ref was favouring dublin and really I think he went to the match to shout abuse at the ref as didn't wonce hear him cheer on his team. And if he mentioned steps one more time I was going to go up and step on him!!
Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 04/07/2011 13:19:54
moomoo County: Kerry Posts: 400
974051 hill16no1man County: Dublin Posts: 625
Like i said theres noting wrong with it i never said otherwise. But Dubs are saying its other people are saying they'll win everything
no you said that dublin fans were overhyping there team and i said they only believed they would win i didnt say they would win everything
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 04/07/2011 14:09:55
also nobody moomoo in dublin is blaming the ref for yesterday we can take our beatings kilkenny were by far the better team even if shefflin had of got his marching orders we would not have won
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 04/07/2011 14:12:02
hill16no1man:
There was a well spoken dublin lad that was on newstalk and to be honest was doing well until he started blaming the ref.... feel it all too easy for people to balme the ref these days its a hard job and the rule book dosen't help them all i look for from a ref is consistancy, he/she will get decisions wrong in a game the the nature of sport. It's like the 2009 all-ireland final, the focus was on one incident the penalty nothing on how wadding added to such a great game of hurling in letting the game flow and the incident that had a bearing on the result (remember kilkenny won by 5) the sending off there was no doubt there.
The majority of decisions that are talked about are 50/50 decisions, decisions like the goal in the meath louth game last year would be one of those decisions that wasn't a 50/50 decision.
Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 04/07/2011 14:35:58
I think Galway will beat Cork so it would mean we meet the winners of Limerick and Antrim. Most likely Limerick.
Q-Final repeat of two years ago.
Will be some game if it pans out like this. Limerick are on the rise and Dublin will be out to prove themselves.
Reckon it will be a ding dong battle.
witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 04/07/2011 14:43:23
hill16no1man County: Dublin Posts: 631
974281 moomoo County: Kerry Posts: 400
974051 hill16no1man County: Dublin Posts: 625
no you said that dublin fans were overhyping there team and i said they only believed they would win i didnt say they would win everything
I didn't say you did i? I said there was some Dublin fans on this saying they would
moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 04/07/2011 14:47:09