LSHC Final: Dublin V Kilkenny

Firstly, best of luck to Dublin and hope they win. I've said often I've love to see a day where we would have a genuine 32 county AI competition and while we are miles from ever having that, Dublin have proved that a breakthrough is possible with a long term plan, dedicated coaches and hard work. Strangely I don't really see the match as being that important in the big picture for Dublin as they have reached a stage that, like Kilkenny, their season will be defined by how they get on in the AI series. They will win the AI over the next few years, just not sure of this year.
In relation to Sundays match I think it will come down to goals. Dublin will probably outfight Kilkenny, never though I'd say that, but will they be able to stop kk's goal threath. I also think Dublin will need to score at least 2 goals themselves and I'm not sure where they will come from.
Finally, and I know I'll get stick for this, but surely it's time to do away with the Leinster and Munster Championships in their current form and run them as separate competitions to an open draw AI. The former greatness of these competitions is gone. I know people will say that's it's because I'm not from Leinster or munster and don't understand but I've been to more great finals over the years of both competitions than most and realize the difference. As I heard the great John Doyle saying once, 'my worst nightmare would be to wake up the day after the Munster final with Cork bet to the realize they are still in it'

onlyhurling (Galway) - Posts: 800 - 30/06/2011 09:36:25    971172

A full strength Dublin team coming in under the radar would be underdogs against the Cats, with the injuries they have and coming into the game after giving the Cats a hiding in the league final I just can't see Dublin doing it unfortunately.Hope its a crackin game anyway.

Barnowl94 (Galway) - Posts: 3150 - 30/06/2011 09:49:48    971187

OK, I'm going to nail my colours to the mast. Kilkenny by at least 5 points with a master class from Richie Power.

Puddersthecat (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1692 - 30/06/2011 14:43:07    971651

I suppose the strange thing about hurling in Dublin is that it has taken so long to get to where we are now , that is as a serious hurling county at all levels
of the game and a major threat to the big powers . The history of the game tell us that Dublin have won six All Ireland hurling Titles but that probably only one Dublin born player featured in those victories so there was probably no great connection between the Dublin public and the team that represented them, so winning All Irelands in this way was of no great advantage to the promotion of the game in Dublin. In ninteen Sixty One a mostly native born team won the Leinster championchip and lost the All Ireland Final to Tipperary by one point, but afterwords things seemed to have went down hill and the opportunity that would have presented itself to promote the game amongst the young seems to have been lost. Dublins rise to the top as a football force in the Seventies ment that hurling became almost the forgotten code existing on the margins with no great effort put in and nothing very much expected. It wasnt until the Eighties that there was a major effort put in amongst some of the clubs,especially at under age level to broaden the base and lift the standard, and this was hugely sucessful, When eventually funds were made available to set up devolopement squads and college teams the raw material was there it just had to be channeled in the right direction. So the overnight success of Dublin hurling has taken about twenty five years but they are a long way now from the time not so long ago when they were being beaten by the minnows in the Leinster championship.

clonjon (Dublin) - Posts: 665 - 30/06/2011 16:21:55    971798

kilkenny are out for revenge sunday . kilkenny by ten plus . dublin will be out their dept ta be honest

gusseraneman (Wexford) - Posts: 521 - 30/06/2011 20:57:34    972055

Pity I won't be able to get to the Dandeline bar after the match as my flight will await.

;-)

Bob' O'Keefe will be in Langton's lads on Sunday night!

Puddersthecat (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1692 - 01/07/2011 10:30:43    972213

Good post clonjon. A lot of the Vinnies players who made up the 50s and 60s football teams were also inter county hurlers. Had hurling been their first game things might have been different. Indeed Vinnies beat Glen Rovers before large attendances in the unofficial club championship that existed at the time. Keaveney, O'Driscoll and Hanahoe were also good hurlers and of course we lost Mick Holden and Vinnie Murphy to name but two after that.

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 01/07/2011 10:37:32    972220

I really really hope Dublin can do it, they deserve a Leinster title, but the fact is that Kilkenny in the Championship is an entirely different prospect

Dublin's injuries and suspension will weigh heavily on them but I think they have a strong enough squad to overcome that, I hope Anthony Daly has a goal plan for the Dubs because I think KK will go all out for goals in the first 10/20 minutes, they'll get say, 2, and after that Dublin will stay with them on points but the goals will have their say in the end - it will be a classic 'goals win games' scenarioin my opinion

Here's hoping I'm wrong

gigoer (Wexford) - Posts: 1998 - 01/07/2011 10:53:12    972234

Pudders, I hope Bob O'Keeffe enjoys the few pints in Langtons. The Bob O'Keeffe TROPHY shall be resting down by Anna Liffey ;-)

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 01/07/2011 11:13:02    972247

Dubs by 2 points!.....Bob O'Keffee, yer coming home lad!!......"NO FEAR!!!"

Pudders, I hope Bob O'Keeffe enjoys the few pints in Langtons. The Bob O'Keeffe TROPHY shall be resting down by Anna Liffey ;-)

LOL, where are the Jacks tonight, they're hardly eating humble pie again, let it be football or Hurling or anything else in life for that mater, they'll huff and they'll puff but they'll never do nawthin. Useless in both codes in modern times, they're is no way back now, back in yer box like a good lad.

51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 03/07/2011 18:36:05    973612

Another overrated over hyped Dublin team shown up by a big team on the big day!!

moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 03/07/2011 18:54:13    973633

No matter how you look at it, it's been a great year fro Dublin hurling, and I wish them all the best for the remainder of the championship.

And once more we learn: pity the fool who judges KK on their league performance!

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3151 - 03/07/2011 19:14:45    973656

51 a little over the top don't you think? I have to say it was a little annoying listening to people on about the Dublin hurlers in recent times,they are not all ireland contenders and winning a national league doesn't always mean a lot. I predicted a hammering for Dublin and it was a serious reality check for them today. Kilkenny and Tipp way ahead of the chasing pack.

jonny1951 (Mayo) - Posts: 1431 - 03/07/2011 19:16:05    973659

Dubs by 2 points, good call snuf.

killer_88_ (Mayo) - Posts: 2040 - 03/07/2011 19:16:20    973660

Classless as always 51.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 03/07/2011 19:19:26    973665

Jackeen

Classless as always 51.

No, a realist though.

51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 03/07/2011 19:27:54    973684

Dublin's big exam will be the Quarter-Final.

Win and the it compliments the League success nicely, as well elevating them into the upper echelons of hurling teams.

Lose and the League final quickly becomes history, and Dublin are back where they were at the start of the year.

Loyal2TheRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 4522 - 03/07/2011 19:29:00    973686

finally someone looks at this in perspective,and its a meathman!
we were beaten by a much better team today but i have to ask what barry kelly was doing today.not making excuses,but seriously
kk players had to kill someone to get a yellow.some looked like reds,thought we should have got more frees and did that ball cross the line
this was from hill16,looking forward to sunday game so il be able to give an unbiased view
looking forward to qfinal,we lost to a better side.cmon the dubs

dubs4eva (Dublin) - Posts: 484 - 03/07/2011 19:42:26    973701

Well to be honest jackeen there was alot of classless posts by Dublin supporters on here all week so it is time to eat humble pie. kk are an unbelievable hurling team and to hear some of the posts that were on here about them during the week made my stomach turn. The one about Conal Keaney destroying Tommy Walsh was one that really stood out to me. I think ye will be back but this overhyping of Dublin teams has to stop

tipptothetop (Tipperary) - Posts: 531 - 03/07/2011 19:46:08    973706

I expect Tipp to beat Wfd and Limerick to beat Antrim. Don't think Limerick can play Wfd again at quarter stage. If this transpires twill be a Dublin/Limerick quarter final. Both sides would fancy their chances in that one. So far the draw is being kind to Limerick and they are starting to gather momentum, at this stage I'd back them for a semi. I would have fancied Cork up to the Offaly game but all their old failings surfaced again, Galway looked like the team we thought they were last night and sad as I am to say it, I would fancy them to take Cork. If my predictions are right they would meet Wfd in the other quarter. That would be a hard one to call as both sides have a penchant for being brilliant one day and disappointing the next. Either way I'm still going for a KK & Tipp Final.

corkcelt (Cork) - Posts: 4388 - 03/07/2011 19:57:41    973719