LSHC Final: Dublin V Kilkenny

thurlesblues

Kilkenny by 7 points!

I wouldn't be surprised......

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 22/06/2011 13:59:52    962878

Htaem, I would expect 50,000+ at the final. Record for a Leinster is 55,000 (Cats v Wexford in 1997).

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 22/06/2011 14:20:04    962906

hurlingdub

Htaem, I would expect 50,000+ at the final. Record for a Leinster is 55,000 (Cats v Wexford in 1997).

I hope you're right hurlingdub, I'd like to see the record broken and I'd say theres a good chance it will. Also its great to see that the Leinster Hurling championship is now the best provincial hurling championship in Ireland :-)

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 22/06/2011 14:26:10    962916

Hurlingdub,
Youve been right about a lot of things so far and Im feckin praying that youre right about sunday week.full panels,its fifty fifty,can we cope with the massive blows weve received,panel is extrmely strong

dubs4eva (Dublin) - Posts: 484 - 22/06/2011 14:36:05    962932

Everyone on here is absolutely correct!.....It wont be at all like the league final, cos I expect KK to get a little bit more than 1-01 from play this time!!!

Yet again people can make all the excuses they like, but this KK team will not beat Dublin, and I dont care if you put out the KK U12's minus a few of their best players against any team you would them to get more than 1-01 from play!!!!......But guess what lads, in the league final a KK senior hurling team was held by Dublin to 1-01 from """PLAY"""!!!!.......now how do you like them apples??!!

Everyone looks at this expected KK "backlash"!!!!.....Yeah right, just you folk continue to disrespect the fight and hunger in this Dublin team!!!

Its all about the "backlash" from KK, but nobody seems to think the attitude in the Dublin camp this year counts for anything! Nobody seems to reckon fearlessness, confidence, hunger, heart, drive and passion combined with skill, speed, teamwork, strength, dominance under the high ball, etc not to mention the fact of the spoils that are at stake and honour of winning a Leinster Final counts for anything!
Mark me, the above mentioned traits in abundance will see this Dublin team over the line anyday, over the word "backlash"!!
Where was the Galway "backlash" after what was written about them in the papers Saturday morning??.....The 'fist waving' after winning a free soon disappeared after 5mins of the game when the above mentioned Dublin hurling traits displayed themselves!.....and the same will happen to KK!!.....Mark me!!

Tommy Walsh on Conal Keaney!!.....so what??.....Keaney wont care a fig for who is marking him!!.....Makes not one iota of difference!!
Nor does it matter that Brady et al are gone, the lads who will replace them will be up to the job no dramas!!

Ye can keep yer flimsy "backlash" lads, cos it will fizzle out after 5mins under the weight of sheer drive, dogged ambition and hunger for a title like has never been seen before!
Get ready for Dublin in 5th gear with the bit between our teeth!!....The Galway game was played in 2nd gear!!....Ye aint seen nothing yet!!

Snufalufagus...Laochra Gael

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 22/06/2011 14:36:23    962935

You'll be in trouble when thurlesblues gets here Htaem!

Was looking through some old newspapers the other day and came across a photo of one Seán Boylan playing hurling for you chaps in 1967.

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 22/06/2011 14:37:13    962936

thurlesblues, I know you are a WUM but even as a WUM you are taking things a bit far when you are posting "I hope the Dubs get out and support their team" this from a man who couldn't bother his arse making the short trip to Limerick last Sunday to support his side.

corkcelt (Cork) - Posts: 4388 - 22/06/2011 15:00:46    962971

"Nobody seems to reckon fearlessness, confidence, hunger, heart, drive and passion combined with skill, speed, teamwork, strength, dominance under the high ball,"

And of course kilkenny would have none of those attributes!! Snuf hyping them way too much boss yes they have a good chance of beating kilkenny but i still have kilkenny as favourites also the dubs have bigger injury problems than the kats now seems to be the opposite to the league final. But really I would say the likes of cody are delighted about this hyping up of dublin as much of their approach is flying under the radar.... Beware the scawlded kats!!

But in fairness you fairly cocky in general so I wouldn't think every dublin supporter would be thinking along the same lines as you.

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 22/06/2011 15:53:42    963046

Would love to see Dublin win it, would be amazing for hurling. But to lose players like Boland, Brady, Treacy, and Dwyer for a final, no team could afford to lose those players, the spine of the team. Add to that the players coming back for Kilkenny, including Tommy Walsh, and the task facing Dublin looks daunting. These injuries were always likely though, Dublin had a tough route through Leinster.

On the bright side, Kelly and Rushe were quality against Galway when they slotted into the full and half back positions. With a new full back though, I can just see Kilkenny trying to go all out for goals right at the start, and kill the game off quickly. But this Dublin team have no fear, so I wouldn't bet against them. And if Liam Rushe plays like he did in the semi, Dublin will have every chance.

Marlon_JD (Tipperary) - Posts: 1823 - 22/06/2011 15:54:06    963047

It is truely amazing to see the confidence of the dubs posters on here. And rightly so, ye've beaten us twice already this year. And are proving that you are the real deal. Hardly surprising as under age its been acoming but i wonder how much of a set back it would be for Dublin hurling if there was a big crowd and you got a bit of a beating. KK won;t be worried by the crowd. I'll never forget the 2007 all ireland. Looking at the limerick players take the whole thing in on the parade around, I was convinced from that point on the occasion had got to them. If there is a corwd of 55,000+ will that not add a bit more pressure to the Dubs as KK are well used to a full house at Croker.

The more I look at the difference between the two teams from the league final, I can't help but think the injury pendulum has decidedly swung in our favour. I think its now down to Daly to see if he can get the Dubs over the line. I can see both teams regardless making the all ireland semi's whatever the outcome Sunday week. This will be a first. A Leisnter Final HURLING thread bigger than its Munster equivalent. Then again Thurlesblues could have a say in that especially if he doesn't even go and posts on here during the Munster final.

Puddersthecat (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1692 - 22/06/2011 16:10:22    963073

HAG,
We all have confidence in this team but snuff has a bit more than most.hope hes right

dubs4eva (Dublin) - Posts: 484 - 22/06/2011 16:10:34    963074

Puddersthecat:

It is truely amazing to see the confidence of the dubs posters on here. And rightly so, ye've beaten us twice already this year.

Your fooling no-one mate!!

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 22/06/2011 16:44:35    963119

Even once one beats the other in the Leinster final, there is still a chance they could meet in the All-Ireland final. I know Tipp will be favourites but right now I think Tipp/Dublin/Kilkenny are the three best sides out there.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 22/06/2011 17:15:21    963184

Sorry lads, I dont mean to lose the head, its a Snuffy thing I suppose, if its the soccer world cup, rugby 6-nations, GAA championship or whatever it is I just always believe that we will win it!! World Cup, GAA, whatever!!....doesnt matter!!.....no excuses, no "they've got and we dont" namby pamby lark!!

If a trophy is there to be won then I believe my team, club / county / province / country, should and will, burst through anyone and anything to go and win it and woe betide anyone who tries to stop us while we're doing it!!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 22/06/2011 18:23:24    963278

Snufalufagus
Tommy Walsh on Conal Keaney!!.....so what??.....

True, Keaney is an Empire State Human many a lad has slammed into him and been carted off in a heap. He'd eat Walsh alive.

Going to be a great game, can't wait, dreamed of this for years.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4955 - 22/06/2011 21:37:33    963462

Shook hands with Liam Rushe after the match as he came off the pitch delighted!

He said "Thanks Snuffy!" and nearly drove me into the stand middle of the Leinster Final with the power of his handshake!!.....A powerful young lad!!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 23/06/2011 14:18:30    963877

Pity its not the old Bob O'Keffee Cup a Lucan man will be collecting next week, as it was the most beautiful and impressive trophy in world sport bar none!!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 24/06/2011 14:04:13    964857

from what iv seen this year dublin have been one of the top 3 teamns in the country and going into next weeks game are the form team at present a wonderful bunch of players who have come up winning trophies playing kilkenny and beating them at a young age and thats the main thing to have the confidence of beating kilkenny from a young age in important matches after a great performance against galway in semi final i think this is first time in years that a leinster final will be contested 50 / 50 between both teams in it i hope as a hurling man dublin can win and keep up there progress of late but as always playing the cats in championship hurling is a different test and prob the biggest of this dublin team so far

ITSCHOLAR (Carlow) - Posts: 314 - 24/06/2011 15:09:55    964946

Good man snuf, keep building them up!

jonny1951 (Mayo) - Posts: 1431 - 24/06/2011 15:18:50    964960

pudders, have you considered the opposite side of that coin. what would happen if dublin used the crowd and their support and raised their game! anything is possible!

seany16 (Dublin) - Posts: 1663 - 24/06/2011 16:01:33    965021