GAA attitude to other sports people

Lilywhite ,that is a typical middle class GAA attitude towards a working class sport .You and Ulsterman would be happy in the smae boat I would say.And of course you prove my point on this thread.

tinrylandman (Carlow) - Posts: 387 - 22/06/2011 17:36:48    963219

im with chefinny on this one. lads who dont play gaa are not man enough to play it. i used to love played astro soccer in PE at school against the lads who only played soccer. the ref was always the gaa manager and would let anything go! good times...

BettystownRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 3353 - 22/06/2011 17:51:42    963244

gigoer
County: Wexford

960688 Alright, enough with the Wembley references, I freely admit I got that wrong so stop being smart p**cks about it and stick to the discussion

calm down

BettystownRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 3353 - 22/06/2011 17:53:16    963246

I remember going to a training session for the college last year, and there was a group of about 10 youngsters from a nearby council estate in Donnybrook. They were aged about 10-12 or so, and were kicking a soccer ball around at the lower end of one of our Gaelic pitches which we also happened to be using.

We began doing the warmup anyway, and the next minute the coach introduced some ball work. Anything like the abuse we got from them kids was outrageous. We were called all sorts of names, culchies, farmers, bogball players, and many more, some not fit for mentioning on a family friendly forum like this. It shocked me to see the level of dislike for the GAA in urban areas, especially from council estates where soccer reigns supreme.

Meanwhile, in adjacent housing estates (privately owned) rugby is king, although I find rugby folk to be much more accommodating than soccer people.

Sergeant_Slash (Cavan) - Posts: 2182 - 22/06/2011 17:54:40    963247

It honestly makes me sick to see on this site the articles about rory mcilroy and conor niland, their gaa roots blah blah blah. The fact is that the gaa will claim every successful sportsperson to be associated with the gaa, when the same people will be bashing them or just ignoring them completing for playing other sports.

patmcgee (Longford) - Posts: 520 - 22/06/2011 17:55:46    963248

Sergeant_Slash

I remember going to a training session for the college last year, and there was a group of about 10 youngsters from a nearby council estate in Donnybrook. They were aged about 10-12 or so, and were kicking a soccer ball around at the lower end of one of our Gaelic pitches which we also happened to be using.

We began doing the warmup anyway, and the next minute the coach introduced some ball work. Anything like the abuse we got from them kids was outrageous. We were called all sorts of names, culchies, farmers, bogball players, and many more, some not fit for mentioning on a family friendly forum like this. It shocked me to see the level of dislike for the GAA in urban areas, especially from council estates where soccer reigns supreme.

Meanwhile, in adjacent housing estates (privately owned) rugby is king, although I find rugby folk to be much more accommodating than soccer people.

Aw did the little kids D4 kids hurt your feelings! ;)

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13833 - 22/06/2011 18:08:52    963262

Tinrylandman: "Lilywhite ,that is a typical middle class GAA attitude towards a working class sport .You and Ulsterman would be happy in the smae boat I would say.And of course you prove my point on this thread."
Prove what point exactly tinrylandman? I was simply making an observation that I know to be true and that is that there are soccer supporters who support English Premiership clubs and who do not support local soccer. I will give you an example; in Kildare until a couple of years ago we had a league of Ireland soccer team who had little or no support from the jersey clad supporters of English clubs. Some of them freely admitted it themselves.The fact that Kildare County is no more is proof of this lack of support.

lilywhite1 (Kildare) - Posts: 3038 - 22/06/2011 18:13:22    963269

Well GAA is the best so who cares

omahonys_man (Meath) - Posts: 229 - 22/06/2011 18:16:12    963272

mesamis he said they were council estate kids so they were hardly your typical posh d4, more like the kids at the other end of the spectrum.

BettystownRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 3353 - 22/06/2011 18:16:14    963273

Tinrylandman, it seems you only ever post to have a go at the GAA. Your answer to Lilywhite was ridiculous. The only point you proved was your dislike of the GAA. If you dislike it so much, why don't you stick to soccer and rugby? And take Ballboy with you while you're at it.

Ailteoir (Galway) - Posts: 921 - 22/06/2011 18:43:08    963299

BettystownRoyal

mesamis he said they were council estate kids so they were hardly your typical posh d4, more like the kids at the other end of the spectrum.

So just because they're from a council estate they cannot be considered to be from D4 even though they live there?

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13833 - 22/06/2011 18:49:43    963304

i think the insults you received from the donnybrook estate kids was very funny.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5522 - 22/06/2011 19:08:03    963319

Stop the anecdotes lads and discuss it seriously. If ye think the gaa had a bad attitude to other sports then discuss it yeah or nay logically. If you want to tell a sad story about someone calling ya names go call a shrink

bouncingball (Carlow) - Posts: 124 - 22/06/2011 19:12:20    963325

20/06/2011 10:25:12
CheFinny
County: UK

In east tyrone where i'm from and places like south derry and the nationalist population round patriques way the GAA is king

Possibly in Creggan and Cargin, but Antrim Town has a bigger population than Leitrim, is now about 40% Catholic, and we are in Division 5 having made GREAT strides in recent years.

Having said that when Chimney Corner were the best amateur soccer team noone supported them, and Rugby, Hockey and cricket all struggle here as well.

The town just seem to lack community spirit!!!!

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 22/06/2011 20:54:34    963410

The gaa is not here to support or nurture other sporting organisations..there is no reason why they should help promote other games..in the case of J Giles..were talking something like 50 plus yrs ago..i am sure much of this is dependent on the school an its sporting traditions an what they promote so to speak...in an ideal world all sports would be treated equal but since that utopia is hardly going to exist we have to be realistic on what the gaa is expected to do here...
The simple fact is were competing with other sports for the kids to play our games..i think you will find that any kid who is top class in 1 sport is most likely to have an ability to adapt to become top class in other sports also so your always going to get competition to keep them at one code be it gaelic games, football, rugby, snooker or whatever...
Even within the gaa itself it promotes both codes differently dependent upon the area / county / club we all go to. Look at KK an their promotion of gaelic football or look at the gaa's promotion of hurling within say every county outside the top 2 divisions...i would be more concerned with promotion of our own games than other sports...Would St Kierans of KK promote rugby or even gaelic football for that matter...equally there are plenty of schools which would not have an O'neills ball within its perimeter walls...
I am not anti "foreign games" (should never be called that in my opinion) as such as i love to watch an support any sport, its simply that my preference is for gaelic games..

Erinsown91 (Derry) - Posts: 38 - 23/06/2011 11:33:29    963623

MesAmis

They were not the typical D4 kids, as we have come to know them mes amis. The stereotypical 12 year old D4 is od course your rugby playing private school kid, but these lads, even though they were born and reared in Donnybrook, were from a council estate and therefore dont succumb to the D4 image. Its remarkable really, I mean, sport in south Dublin is largely based along class lines, the rich natives play rugby, the poor play soccer, and the blow ins from the country like myself take the GAA with us.

Sergeant_Slash (Cavan) - Posts: 2182 - 23/06/2011 11:49:55    963635

Erinsown, you do know St Kierans of Kilkenny play gaelic football. And you do know that they are the under 14 leinster juvenile b football champions?
[url=]http://www.stkieranscollege.ie/school/2011/03/29/leinster-u-14-football-final/

Puddersthecat (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1692 - 23/06/2011 12:01:01    963647

1514 posts and i still can't do the link properly........

Puddersthecat (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1692 - 23/06/2011 12:05:38    963649

ref Erinsown, you do know St Kierans of Kilkenny play gaelic football. And you do know that they are the under 14 leinster juvenile b football champions?
[url=]http://www.stkieranscollege.ie/school/2011/03/29/leinster-u-14-football-final/

I think ur missing the point...its not a dig at St Kierans..congrads to them on that win would suggest that even supports my argument..
What is the chances that most of those same lads probably have won the equivalent leinster A hurling ch'ships ..its hurling that the school would be best known for supporting as in a similar vein St Jarlaths tuam an St Colmans Newry are best known for football in a sporting context.
How many of those same lads will go on to play senior club hurling on a regular basis an play football on a lip service basis..hurling is King in KK an its natural that its the one that gets the kids attention..

the point is that the gaa are not in the job of promoting other sports and should not have to apologise for that...the gaa is finding it difficult enough to promote its own games..
Likewise other sports do not have to promote gaelic games...

Erinsown91 (Derry) - Posts: 38 - 23/06/2011 12:27:06    963668

This is ridiculous. This arguement is one of the days where parents weren't as actively involved in the schools and where the principal was the be all and end all of everything. I know in some schools Gaa Rugby or Soccer are banned but thats something that parents know while sending there kids to that school. In the school I went to there was no issue. The school has always very succesful gaelic soccer and rugby teams because nobody is made choose and thats the way it should be!

ShtoryHorse (Westmeath) - Posts: 18 - 23/06/2011 12:30:32    963677