Best Club Player of 00's not to play for County

First time using new thread so decided to set up my own thread for the craic.

Best Club Player of 00's not to play for County (league or championship)

My best club player not to play county football would be Keith Daly (Rockcorry)

jakestevens81 (Monaghan) - Posts: 179 - 04/04/2008 12:17:49    2920

Mickey Trixie Hughes , Martin Cory, Eamon Ward all Clontibret

aisling (None) - Posts: 16 - 04/04/2008 13:12:35    2963

The following players have never played a competitive Match for Monaghan Seniors & are all excellent players

Eamon Ward - Clontibret
Francis Coyle - Latton
Aidan Farmer - Latton
Hugh Malone - Ballybay

Peterthegreat (Monaghan) - Posts: 82 - 04/04/2008 14:39:52    3036

Francis Caulfield,

Monaghan in exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 189 - 04/04/2008 14:43:05    3039

Paddy Croarkin - Eire og

George (Monaghan) - Posts: 23 - 04/04/2008 23:12:30    3201

Emmet Brennan - Castleblayney

The Face (Monaghan) - Posts: 890 - 06/04/2008 10:42:26    3478

Surely any half decent young fella who owns his own pair of football boots would have had a chance with the county.
Its not as if ye have an assembly line of talent where "good" footballers fail to make your county squad.

Sure wasnt there some baldy chap from scotstown (I think) who played for ye a few years ago. Now if he can make it then the rest of the county must not be upto much

Paddy Carolan (Meath) - Posts: 15 - 06/04/2008 19:08:59    3602

Joe Sullivan-Ballybay.... Best keeper ever, mind you was probably more 80's-90's

FagAnBealach (Monaghan) - Posts: 98 - 07/04/2008 19:33:48    4360

mark counihan form truagh is outstanding talent never to make county!!!
trevor meegan (inniskeen)

brezie (Donegal) - Posts: 11 - 09/04/2008 10:59:25    5158

Gary Larkin from the Seans definitely should have got a run for the county at some stage

The Sage (Monaghan) - Posts: 351 - 09/04/2008 13:58:36    5289

Gary Larkin was a great forward. Its hard to fathom how he didn't get a run with Monaghan. He seemed to score a goal against us every time he played. Git! Joe Sullivan actually played a competitive game for Monaghan so can't be considered for this. Also he was more 90's although his hair was 80's!

The Face (Monaghan) - Posts: 890 - 09/04/2008 15:05:04    5341

Gary Larkin defo should have got a run for the county.. he had always had a knack for scoring important goals. A quiet unassuming type of fella he probably didn't push himself enough to make it onto any of the county panels in the past.

Mid Don (Donegal) - Posts: 70 - 09/04/2008 15:21:56    5350

I would agree about emmet brennan but he didnt play much in the 2000s was excellent in the 90s. how about Stephen McGeogh has he ever played a championship game for monaghan????

faughsman (Monaghan) - Posts: 26 - 10/04/2008 17:58:39    5956

Looks like we need a thread devoted entirely to the Gary Larkin should have got his place for the county campaign. Anyway as we're on the subject I'll give my two pence worth. He definitely should have got a run at some stage. He didn't get to play for the Minors either if I'm not much mistaken. To be fair to successive county managers, I think he got a bad injury outside of football (a car crash or something) which probably took him off the scene at just the wrong time. Most Co managers do not consider anyone in their mid 20s who has not been on the co scene before then.
Did his club mate Paddy Kieran ever get a run for the county ? I don't think so If not he should defo be on the list. An outstanding player who is still going strong (strong being the operative word). I think he would have been well worth a run. He broke our hearts many times (and a few other things too !)

PeterP (Monaghan) - Posts: 6 - 10/04/2008 22:04:40    6020

Stephen McGeogh did play for Monaghan in a c'ship match. It was a qualifier in maybe '01 or '02 against Louth or Armagh in Clones. He started full-back if I remember correctly. That was a major low-point getting beat by Louth at home in the c'ship. Just goes to show ya how far we have come!!!

sully81 (Monaghan) - Posts: 17 - 11/04/2008 09:31:31    6075

greg ronaghan/ paul askin tyholland

mon red (Monaghan) - Posts: 18 - 11/04/2008 13:04:07    6213

Noel Clerkin of Truagh would be an obvious inclusion here. Not sure if Fergal Smyth of Ballybay has played c'ship for Monaghan? he was on the panel that won the NFL Div.2 against Meath but dont know if he played c'ship. Has Andy Callan of Carrick played c'ship for Monaghan? Declan Smyth of Aghabog is more than worth a mention. Very consistant over the years.

elnino9 (Monaghan) - Posts: 14 - 11/04/2008 13:58:33    6237

I too would have given Gary Larkin the nod, had I been a manager during his footballing years. The thing that sticks out in my mind about him was the height he could jump for his size .. you'd think he was on springs. Brilliant player, and modest to boot.

MonaghanSupport (Monaghan) - Posts: 41 - 11/04/2008 19:37:37    6348

Fergal Smyth came on against Meath on the 2005 Final (he was announced as Fergal McGowan) and also came on against Derry in the Paddy Bradley show in Clones the same year. I always thought Anthony Brennan from Drunhowan was a handy footballer. Also Gabriel Bannigan was brought onto the panel for a brief period but I don't think he ever played a competitive game. Could I also mention our current manager? Banty was a good full forward for Corduff. He once played for the county in the opening of a stand in Killany in a challenge against Louth and I've never seen a man so proud to wear a jersey. (how do I know this - well they were so stuck for players even I got a call up!).

The Face (Monaghan) - Posts: 890 - 11/04/2008 23:23:56    6406

gary larkin was a decent footballer,but having played against him a few times i would have to say he was not county standard.noel clerkin definetly fits this cagtegory perfectly,only for work commitments in tipperary would have played for monaghan.mark counihan is a tricky customer but not in that league at any stage for me.

red 13 (Monaghan) - Posts: 13 - 17/04/2008 20:10:09    8347