Tyrone v Monaghan

No point tyrone people comeing on here telling everyone monaghan are dirty and should be ashamed of themslefs.Did yous forget to mention the sendings off within your own county of two of your so called "saints"one of them should of walked as well yesterday,plus the fact that joe mcmahon is sidelined would that have anything to do with dirty play in tyrone???Kevin hughes did the same tackle to donal morgan as dessie mone did and got away with it,which doesnt make sence.Monaghan werent dirty yesterday they were stupid, specailly dick who's been round long enough now.

hardcore (Monaghan) - Posts: 1366 - 06/06/2011 21:45:29    949228

Agree totally with bordergael, bad day at the office, chalk down to inexperience and move on and learn. Taake your point seant2008, yes stupid more appropriate word than disgrace, I am just frustrated, because we are a good team and that game was there for us, now for a goood run in qualifiers and build for Ulster 2012

carcracker (Monaghan) - Posts: 186 - 06/06/2011 21:58:13    949240

I was at this game myself actually. So I'll give my own unbiased (reasonably) opinion on what I saw and wait for the hounds to be released on me.

Overall I don't think the game had a naturally dirty undertone to it. Conditions were poor and both teams were playing tough football but not necessarily dirty football for the most part. It did get progressively worse as the game went on though. A number of incidents sprung up throughout the game that deserve a mention.
Firstly, I thought the 2nd yellow card on Dick Clerkin was harsh enough. A tick would've been more appropriate at for this offence. But he had just been booked moments earlier so he should have been on better behaviour. All that aside, I watched Dick Clerkin & Sean Cavanagh tussle for almost 10 mins before Dick saw red and I can genuinely say that Dick Clerkin deserved to be put off the field and that the 'tackle' he got put off for in the end was the least of his fouls all day. He manhandled Cavanagh for about 10 mins in the build up to the sending-off and the person beside me told me he saw Clerkin attempt to stamp on Cavanagh during one of their frequent trips onto the ground, although I didn't see that myself. In this respect Dick can feel unlucky but very lucky at the same time.

Secondly, the Gollogly/Jordan incident was one I saw with my own eyes. Gollogly was kneeling on the ground and and Jordan walked right up to him and stepped on the back of his legs at least 3 times before Gollogly aimed a few backhands at him. If Jordan is prepared to dish it out he should be prepared to take it too. He fully deserved his yellow card for it although Gollogly probably should've been cautioned too for striking (albeit unprovoked).
Another major incident was the aftermath of the Mone sending off. He deserved to go, absolutely no complaints about that whatsoever. Terribly dangerous play. Shame to see him do that though, he'll be a big loss the next day. I thought he was probably Monaghans best player in the 2nd half, after he'd had a poor enough first half. All that said, after seeing the gamesmanship of Jordan earlier in the game I did manage a wry smile on my face after seeing him take that clothesline, although I don't condone it. What followed after that was a scuffle where Owen Mulligan, among numerous others were involved. This sort of thing happens every game. But after the dust settled on that, Mulligan went back to his position where he was being closely watched by Walshe and proceeded to strike him with a closed fist. I hope the CCC can get footage of that incident because Mulligan should get a ban. I cant comment on what went on in the build-up to the incident, I don't know what Walshe said or did, I can only comment on what I saw and that was the strike from Mulligan.
Another incident, well not really an incident but more of a commonly occuring event that RTE felt the need to highlight was the mouthing from Kieran Duffy towards Stephen O'Neill. I don't like this kind of behaviour at all. But I don't see why this one particular occurrence was highlighted when it goes on all over the field in every game from Club games to county games. I'll get slated for this, but was this RTE attempting to show the stuff that a quality footballer has to put up with from an opponent, thereby putting O'Neill on a pedestal and brandishing Duffy as a villain. Would an incident like this have been highlighted if the 'victim' involved was not one of the games marquee players? I'm not taking away from the fact that O'Neill played excellently at times on Sunday and that his class was eveident. Over the last ten years the number one exponent of this kind of trash-talk has been Tyrone's very own Ryan McMenamin. He seems now to have become almost exempt from criticism for this sort of behaviour.

OffalyBigBall (Offaly) - Posts: 635 - 07/06/2011 09:32:56    949281

A fairly decent analysis Bigball. Refer to my previous post to find out what Walshe done to get his slap and he deserved evry ounce of it. Did Ricey not get an 6-8 week ban after doing far less to Galvin.

As for the mouthing to O'Neill, I think RTE highlighted it to show how futile it was. The corner back would have been better suited staying with O'neill when the play was ongoing. He then might have stopped him setting up the goal, turning his blood for his 3rd point including an audacious lift of the ball and scoring two other quality points

omaghredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 3656 - 07/06/2011 10:31:29    949316

A decent analysis OffalyBigBall - I would agree with you in the main - I didn't either see Mulligan hit or getting touched up so cant comment specifically but accept the word of others who did.

I think the tone in which this post was started however is outrageous and obviously started and supported in the early posts by a few people with personal a personal grudge against Monaghan.

I did not support the style of play the Seamus McEneaney inflicted on the Monaghan supporters and the country at large but I think it's fair to say the Eamonn McEneaney has tried to reverse that trend and has been largely successful in doing so. He hasn't turned them into soft touches either and rightly so and only those who attended the match would realise how bad the conditions were. Throw in a bit of Championship level intensity and there were obviously going to be individual incidents in the match, but no more than in any other match, inside or outside Ulster.

I think it's time the vindictive few amongst ye laid off Monaghan who I think with 8 changes from the last Championship outing, and 6 of those making their C'hip debut, done very well against the reigning Ulster Champions and the best Ulster team in a generation.

I hope these lads get a decent run in the qualifiers - They deserve it.

The Sage (Monaghan) - Posts: 351 - 07/06/2011 16:00:24    949747

Er, I have read all the threads on this match and nobody has yet alluded to the fact that SONEILL,as great a game as he had, dived spectacularly to get a penalty. DISGRACEFUL AND NO PLACE FOR THIS TYPE OF BEHAVIOR IN THE GAA. Am I the only one to have witnessed Saint Stephen's antics?

OrielPower (Monaghan) - Posts: 107 - 09/06/2011 19:28:35    951889

Very good analysis from the Offaly lad.

I think it was the Donnelly lad who dived for the penalty. He has obviously been taking diving lessons from Sean Cavanagh who has been doing his Didier Drogba impression since before most of us knew who Drogba was which is quite impressive. The Tyrone team were just as bad as Monaghan were in all aspects of the supposed dirty play that took place and anyone who wasn't at the game and who doesn't regularly attend Monaghan games need to keep quiet as monaghan had the best disciplinary record in the league. McMenamin and Gormley never stopped mouthing the entire game to the some of the Monaghan players. The referee made a complete mess of injury time and he allowed Tyrone to take at least 3 illegal kick-outs in the second half. The Monaghan players were trying to bring this to the referee's attention but he ingnored them.

Adler (Monaghan) - Posts: 754 - 09/06/2011 21:48:53    952021

OrielPower
County: Monaghan

951889 Er, I have read all the threads on this match and nobody has yet alluded to the fact that SONEILL,as great a game as he had, dived spectacularly to get a penalty. DISGRACEFUL AND NO PLACE FOR THIS TYPE OF BEHAVIOR IN THE GAA. Am I the only one to have witnessed Saint Stephen's antics?

Oriel
Were you even at the game, or a you just showing how stupid you are; Stevie O'Neill wasn't involved in the penalty, it was Mark Donnelly who was fouled.

2leftfeet (None) - Posts: 130 - 10/06/2011 09:12:52    952065

The scuffle near the end was provoked by the Tyrone players reaction to the Dessie Moone tackle. Moone put his hands up immediately that he had committed a serious fould but a few seconds later a Tyrone player charges into him to get retribution. If the ref had done thins to the letter of the law that Tyrone player should also have been put off.
Clerkin can have no complaints. This type of body checking was outlawed as a professional foul a few years ago as it had become so aparent in the game. Granted Kavanagh made no effort to go round Clerkin but when Clerkin shaped up to stop him the linesman had no real option but to report it to the ref.
Fair play to the ref for giving the Tyrone lad the card for the theatrical dive. It was a foul and the ref rightly awarded the free to Tyrone and probably should have carded the Monaghan player as well.
Conditions were poor but that's no excuse for niggly fouling which leads to unsightly exchanges between players. The conditions were almost as bad for the Down/Armagh game the week before but we didn't have the same messing in that game.

Diego (Meath) - Posts: 1207 - 10/06/2011 13:28:20    952316

Flemishgael , I had to laugh when I read your post that , dirty play had , "started to " creep into Kerry's play!! Much as Kerry footballers are some of the best in Ireland , they have also ALWAYS been one of the dirtiest footballin Counties. I remember hearing tales from much older GAA people deploring the dirty Kerry teams of the 50s and 60s. Listen all counties are guilty of harbouring dirty players in their midst , and sometimes perfectly clean players can make reckless challenges. You need to wise up though if you think that , dirty play has only recently crept into the Kerry game.

gaelantrim (Antrim) - Posts: 1616 - 10/06/2011 15:33:41    952470

2leftfeet

Oriel
Were you even at the game, or a you just showing how stupid you are; Stevie O'Neill wasn't involved in the penalty, it was Mark Donnelly who was fouled.

Right, you have at least got the right fella.

No way was he fouled though. Blatant dive.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13837 - 11/06/2011 11:33:57    952817

Monaghan have had a decent squad of players over the last 6 years but they do lose disipline at times when they should concentrate on football. As football players Finlay, Freeman, McManus etc are as good as anything in Ulster and displays against the likes of Kerry, Derry, Armagh and Donegal deserved better reward. However equally they have lost their way at times against the likes of Derry and Tyrone.

Byanthon (Tyrone) - Posts: 1792 - 12/06/2011 10:57:33    953237

2leftfeet, donnelly it was and not O'Neill as i suggested - my error. The main point here is that some GAA players are now diving all over the place and there is no place in this for our games. i stand by my initial comments, disgraceful! maybe he dived because he has 2leftfeet and didnt fancy trying to beat the keeper?

OrielPower (Monaghan) - Posts: 107 - 13/06/2011 20:36:38    955626

2leftfeet, donnelly it was and not O'Neill as i suggested - my error. The main point here is that some GAA players are now diving all over the place and there is no place in this for our games. i stand by my initial comments, disgraceful! maybe he dived because he has 2leftfeet and didnt fancy trying to beat the keeper?
OrielPower , 13/06/2011 at 20:36

I agree a Waterford player blatantly dived against Limerick Sunday and ref gave them a free disgrace I think Waterford scored a point from it

thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 13/06/2011 20:42:00    955633

OrielPower move on lifes to short to keep going over old ground Monaghan have still got a good chance to progress in the qualifiers and maybe they could be the Down of 2011 and surprise us all.

fortyfive (Tyrone) - Posts: 5929 - 13/06/2011 20:42:45    955636

forty-five, onwards and upwards is my motto. I admire your positivity but I d'ont think we will get to the quarter finals unlike our Ulster neighbours Down last year. Considering our lack of firepower upfront this year, quarter finals would be a decent season - we missed our chance last year i fear! Darren Hughes, Dessie Moen, Dick Clerkin, Owen Lennon, Paul Finlay and Vinne Corey should be numbers 3,6,8,9,11,14 and with Conor Mc Manus at 15. This is the spine of our team and all of these players are of the standard required to play in Croke Park towards the business end of the season. Our main problem is the poor options we have everywhere else on the field and our utter dependence on these guys.

OrielPower (Monaghan) - Posts: 107 - 14/06/2011 20:30:42    956587

Will this be shown and TV, and if so what did we do to deserve it ;-)

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 14/06/2011 20:48:32    956601

Just you worry about Galway hurlingdub. Arrogance starting to take over de Dubs again I see.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9837 - 14/06/2011 21:43:52    956662

hurlingdub

956601 Will this be shown and TV, and if so what did we do to deserve it ;-)

You might be in need of something to look at after Galway gut ye on Saturday evening.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6194 - 14/06/2011 21:47:02    956668

I'm sure there will be drying paint to watch somewhere :-)

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 14/06/2011 21:57:10    956694