Seamus the original query of the thread is a good one. I will be voting in favour of AV however I dont think it will have a major impact on electoral results in the North. Having said that I think the 'No to AV' vote will succeed in preventing any change. Goodfella, Tir (None) - Posts: 1652 - 27/04/2011 10:51:49 919003 Link 0 |
i cant see why people take offense when i say i could care less what happens in the politics of foreign countries like northern ireland- should i be interested? is has nothing to do with ireland afterall liathroidboy (Mayo) - Posts: 4921 - 27/04/2011 10:58:19 919010 Link 0 |
As for plebiscite...are you saying there will be a vote on Irish unity in the next 10 years? Goodfella, Tir (None) - Posts: 1652 - 27/04/2011 11:04:31 919019 Link 0 |
Thanks Goodfella, I never said such a referendum would pass first time but what will happen is that Unionists will be brought into an open discussion about an UI in which some might come to release there isn't much to fear. Anyone who reads the GFA and doesn't come to the conclusion that it is a transitionary process towards reunification is either very short sighted or in a state of denial. artisan (Down) - Posts: 1794 - 27/04/2011 12:46:42 919118 Link 0 |
I could rip Artisan's feeble argument to shreds but I feel sorry for him if he genuinely believes there will be re-unification in 10 - 20 years. The GFA simply copper-fastened the UK's hold on the North but gave Republicans like himself false hope that they may live to see a united Ireland. The only way re-unification can happen is if a significant proportion of Unionists decide they want it. This won't happen for generations, if at all. We were born under British rule, we'll die under British rule pplocal (Tyrone) - Posts: 5878 - 27/04/2011 12:58:59 919141 Link 0 |
The only way re-unification can happen is if a significant proportion of Unionists decide they want it. Goodfella, Tir (None) - Posts: 1652 - 27/04/2011 13:15:46 919167 Link 0 |
Not even 51% Goodfella, 50% + 1 will do the job. artisan (Down) - Posts: 1794 - 27/04/2011 13:45:20 919200 Link 0 |
The constitutional status of Northern Ireland is not even debatable until 2025. I have it on good info that a review of the status is to be undertaken by the IRISH government in that year. We should hopefully be out of recession by then, and be ready to take back what is rightfully ours. Anyway by 2025 the unionist people will be so used to living under SF, living under FG/Lab or whoever it is will be a sinch.....Id imagine thats the plan anyway. Sergeant_Slash (Cavan) - Posts: 2182 - 27/04/2011 13:48:51 919205 Link 0 |
I'm well aware of how a vote works Goodfella, thanks for the reminder though. My point is that you're assuming all Catholics would vote yes to re-unification and as such when Catholics become the majority it is inevitable that it will happen. This clearly isn't the case, it ranges depending on what you look at but I've never saw this figure above 75%. Given that a sizeable minority of Catholics don't want re-unification this would have to be made up by a sizeable minority of Unionists voting yes. It will take generations for this to happen pplocal (Tyrone) - Posts: 5878 - 27/04/2011 13:56:12 919211 Link 0 |
Honestly Artisan, Jim Allister? I'm afraid you've you've lost the plot when you have to roll out that scaremongering dinosaur pplocal (Tyrone) - Posts: 5878 - 27/04/2011 13:57:54 919213 Link 0 |
lads the majority of ye have totally missed the point if 51% or even 100% of the north wanted a united ireland it is only the vote of the people of the south that actually count. republicans in the north have seriously lost the plot as they just think a 51% majority = a united ireland, when nothing could be further from the truth- you have to convinve unionists that a united ireland is in their interest (which ye refuse to do and just assume they can be bullied into accepting it) and you alo have to convince the people of the south to vote to allow you become part of ireland. so the buck stops with the republican people of the north- start sucking up to the unionists and the people of the south- as through two refferendums they will decide your fate- this is lost on most republicans the think they have some moral right to be accepted in the south and that the people of the north should agree with them- in the cold light to day this is a very niave perspective and the only persepctive worth its salt is the legal one. 51% vote in favour in the north will convince noone in the south that its a good idea- ye need about 90% support in the north before th epeople of ireland would even consider it- and ye are generations away from your objectives as republican refuse to face up to what both the unionist people of the north and the people of ireland want. unionists are happy with the status que, ye want change and to achieve change ye must atone for your mistakes - alas ye are not ready to do that and still play the lame victim card which continues to fool noone. if republicans want a united ireland its get on e your hands and knees for a full generation and only then you may be listen to because at present ye are only strengthening the devide. liathroidboy (Mayo) - Posts: 4921 - 27/04/2011 13:59:22 919215 Link 0 |
Sergeant_Slash artisan (Down) - Posts: 1794 - 27/04/2011 14:05:36 919222 Link 0 |
PomeroyPlunkett artisan (Down) - Posts: 1794 - 27/04/2011 14:19:45 919241 Link 0 |
My point is that you're assuming all Catholics would vote yes to re-unification and as such when Catholics become the majority it is inevitable that it will happen Goodfella, Tir (None) - Posts: 1652 - 27/04/2011 14:55:24 919273 Link 0 |
i think you have to accept also goodfella that a united ireland is dependent on the will of the people of the republic and we will ultimately decide what to do with ye and it is 100% our choice and not yours- i will like all right minded people vote No to an referendum on uniting ireland as its simply bad for business and at the end of the day that is all that matters liathroidboy (Mayo) - Posts: 4921 - 27/04/2011 15:04:57 919284 Link 0 |
It depends if you define Nationalist as voting for a Nationalist party or wanting a united Ireland. People may vote for the SDLP, it doesn't mean they want unity. So while Nationalist parties may in the future get more votes than their Unionist counterparts it's very naive to expect 100% of these voters to vote for re-unification. The figure probably sits somewhere between 60% - 75%. Artisan for every person who thinks a united Ireland is imminent there's many more who think it isn't. Those people you speak of say a united Ireland is inevitable and I'd agree with that. It's the time frame you're using that I find ludicrous pplocal (Tyrone) - Posts: 5878 - 27/04/2011 15:18:01 919294 Link 0 |
So while Nationalist parties may in the future get more votes than their Unionist counterparts it's very naive to expect 100% of these voters to vote for re-unification. The figure probably sits somewhere between 60% - 75% Goodfella, Tir (None) - Posts: 1652 - 27/04/2011 17:25:10 919406 Link 0 |
tisan brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 27/04/2011 21:02:11 919523 Link 0 |
We were born under British rule, we'll die under British rule seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 27/04/2011 21:11:34 919536 Link 0 |
Is it really? Every political party in the North is against Abortion for example so are you saying that over 90% of the N.I. public as a whole is against abortion? It's very rare that someone agrees with every single policy of the party that vote for and re-unification is way down the list in terms of importance for most people, especially in the middle of a recession. The large number of Protestants who voted for Margaret Ritchie are for a united Ireland in your view as well then? I know people, myself included, who voted for Nationalist parties yet if a referendum on re-unification was held tomorrow would vote No. These figures are from various polls because most people realise voting for Nationalist parties doesn't necessarily mean you want re-unification, in the same way there's probably a small number of people who voted for Unionist parties but may want re-unification. If you honestly think that it's as simple as saying if you vote SDLP you'd vote Yes you are very much mistaken. Feel free to provide your own figures though Goodfella pplocal (Tyrone) - Posts: 5878 - 27/04/2011 21:52:41 919563 Link 0 |