Speed Vans...

black&white
County: Sligo

898735 yew_tree

SPEEDING is the main cause of road deaths.

Speed alone is not the main cause.

Speed is a factor in more road deaths than any other factor, but it's usually speed in combination with some other act of dangerous driving.
For example, if somebody overtakes into oncoming traffic, it's dairly likely that they were speeding as well. Was it the speeding or the overtaking that caused the accident?
Speed will still be recorded as a factor in the accident, even though it wasn't the primary cause.

Currently the focus of road safety campaigns are speed, and driving under the influence. The reason for this is that it's much easier (and cheaper) to stick up speed cameras, or drink check-points, than it is to have more members of the traffic corps on the road, policing the countless other instances of dangerous driving on our roads.

Very well put black & white, i see you are on a similar wavelength as myself.

If speed is a major cause of road deaths then why are the German derestricted autobahns not the deadliest roads in the world?
Why are motorways not deadlier roads than the Donegal backroad?

Whoever mentioned that we should adjust our speed to the bad/ good roads i fully agree with that, however a speed camera wont detect the difference, a Garda will though, which is my point in this whole debate,

bosch (Derry) - Posts: 873 - 31/03/2011 10:39:38    899758

as the irish people are stupid and blame everyone else but themselves for their reckless driving we need speed vans and more of them

liathroidboy (Mayo) - Posts: 4921 - 02/04/2011 13:18:40    901331

Gavmcfad

Yesterday evening I passed a white mobile speed camera van, It was parked on the opposite end of the road and it was facing me, I must admit i was doing close to 90 in an 80 zone.
About 2 hours later, on my homeward journey the van was in the same place, I had learned my lesson and was driving within the speed limit. I noticed that the van was in darkness, it was lighting up time and there did not seem to be anyone in the van.
My questions are
1. Will I still receive penalty points if there was no one in the van.
2. Is the camera facing from the front or back of the van.
3. How long should it take me to receive the letter in the post. ,

Gavmcfad

Figures released today show a 60% increase in number of people caught speeding since the introduction of the new speed vans.

I was just curious to know if you were a contributor to those stats or did you escape on the occasion you referred to above .

BallsMcQ (USA) - Posts: 941 - 18/04/2011 18:29:57    914333

A lot of the Speed Limits are too slow!! Makes it easy for the Revenue Collectors!! Like 30mph on the M1 where the Garda park themselves twice a day sometimes! Ridiculous really!!

PJ (None) - Posts: 2288 - 19/04/2011 19:36:10    915211

who sets these limits i came off a motorway from donegal town today which should be a 120km limit but was set at 100 and came off onto the beleek country road which should be 80 MAX but was also 100km the mind boggles

booboo (Cork) - Posts: 1382 - 19/04/2011 20:46:23    915281

19/04/2011 20:46:23
booboo

915281 who sets these limits i came off a motorway from donegal town today which should be a 120km limit but was set at 100 and came off onto the beleek country road which should be 80 MAX but was also 100km the mind boggles

________
What motorway is near Donegal Town ?
The M3 (and the 120km limit) ends somewhere around Kells - Co Meath

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 19/04/2011 21:43:29    915334

booboo

915281 who sets these limits i came off a motorway from donegal town today which should be a 120km limit but was set at 100 and came off onto the beleek country road which should be 80 MAX but was also 100km the mind boggles

when you say should be 120k limit did you arrive at that conclusion through some technical calculation or was just the speed you were travelling at. you must have been "flying' if you left a motorway and arrived on a country road near Beleek.

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 20/04/2011 09:35:51    915401

I would like to congratulate FG on their commitment to the NW and I think the contractor who built this motorway overnight deserves particular praise.
If they can move as fast on this wall that we've been asking for, then it will be a job well done.

RMDrive (Donegal) - Posts: 2202 - 20/04/2011 11:35:08    915493

The most effective speed camera is one that catches nobody.

Dr.Shephard (Leitrim) - Posts: 2187 - 20/04/2011 11:59:11    915516

RMDrive

I would like to congratulate FG on their commitment to the NW and I think the contractor who built this motorway overnight deserves particular praise.
If they can move as fast on this wall that we've been asking for, then it will be a job well done.

I'm looking forward to driving on that new Donegal motorway myself soon. Does it go all the way to Downings ?

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 20/04/2011 16:52:40    915817

20/04/2011 11:35:08
RMDrive

915493 I would like to congratulate FG on their commitment to the NW and I think the contractor who built this motorway overnight deserves particular praise.

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 20/04/2011 17:49:57    915878

ah lads your milking it course its not a MOTORWAY but its a great road with fast and slow lanes in sections not sure why it wasnt made into a motorway certainly big enough saves ye tolls though [for now} but my point was the crazyness of having the same speed limit on that road as the one from ballyshannon to beleek . And just as a sidenote my wife is a milford woman and recently it got a oneway system great job but the contract was given to a northern company by the council when i enquired further it was explained to me that this was common practise up in donegal how do the council get away with that especially in these tough times

booboo (Cork) - Posts: 1382 - 20/04/2011 19:42:17    915943

20/04/2011 19:42:17
booboo
And just as a sidenote my wife is a milford woman and recently it got a oneway system great job

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 20/04/2011 20:30:56    915967

20/04/2011 19:42:17
booboo
And just as a sidenote my wife is a milford woman and recently it got a oneway system great job

The wife or the road ?

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 21/04/2011 10:40:03    916110

Cavan_Slasher

915817 RMDrive

I'm looking forward to driving on that new Donegal motorway myself soon. Does it go all the way to Downings ?

it goes right out to Tory via the Patsy Dan Tunnel, Should be opened for the Laois/kildare session in june

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 21/04/2011 10:42:28    916113

booboo- it is common practice in Donegal to put all public works up for tender ( in fact its the law). If a Northern Company did the work then i'm assuming they put in the best tender.

And forget the chicken ranches I'm all about the Casinos!

irishtom (Donegal) - Posts: 219 - 21/04/2011 13:50:14    916301

its not the law its backhanders . and horse perhaps a refresher course on biology may educate you as to your childish question

booboo (Cork) - Posts: 1382 - 21/04/2011 14:22:20    916338

booboo

915943 ah lads your milking it course its not a MOTORWAY but its a great road with fast and slow lanes in sections not sure why.

its not the law its backhanders . and horse perhaps a refresher course on biology may educate you as to your childish question

I'm constantly revising all aspects of biology, however as you think a biology course may help with my question i can only assume it was her good self you were referring to, but as you say, a refresher course is always advantageous. I would suggest in your case the following topics for refresment: the rules of the road, particulary in regard to "proper use of lanes" you will find that there is no such thing as a fast lane

You might also like to peruse the etenders website particularly the section dealing with regulation. http://www.etenders.gov.ie/.

In the meantime safe driving

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 21/04/2011 15:08:54    916375

well irishtom if your happy with the corrupt status quo and happy with local contractors and local workers been overlooked for work well why should a corkman care. if its the case the rest of your county folk have the same "sure what harm" attitude is it any wonder the northwest gets overlooked repeatedly for facilities. OR maybe its because of the toothless tds ye elect for generations tds who get drunk and drive the wrong way up motorways or tds who get a long overdue bridge built near election time and name it after themselfs!! perhaps its your own fault for all this

booboo (Cork) - Posts: 1382 - 21/04/2011 15:19:53    916381

very informative horse im aware theres not alot to do in laois but get a life lad

booboo (Cork) - Posts: 1382 - 21/04/2011 15:21:51    916384