Modern training methods.

I enjoy conditioning training,have sessions in the gym with the club & college every week and it's great.The purpose isn't to produce bodybuilders,it's for people to get the best out of their bodies.our coaches in college have brought in dieticians&im finding it really useful too,feeling stronger&fitter than ever.~PHS

Pope_has_spoken (Dublin) - Posts: 138 - 24/03/2011 14:34:12    895596

Do ye think though that such training takes from the skill of each game...... in my view Football has changed to a greater degree than hurling over the last 10 years mainly due to the incrased physical nature of the game and fitness too, hurling seems to be going down that road a bit too conditioning training has become a big part of the game over the last few years.... the times of the little nippy hurler and especially footballer is gone in my view.

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 24/03/2011 15:00:52    895625

Pundit2:

I agree with some of what you are saying, but disagree to an extent also. Today, there is an emphasis on weights and gym but thats just the way the game has gone. Personally, I think it is about finding the balance. It is highly important to have strong core fitness and strength in the modern game, and without these, it would be near impossible to compete physically. It is also important to be physically strong in terms of upper body and legs. As you pointed out correctly, this does not mean doing 500 bicep curls will suffice, although you might look impressive in a tight fit jersey. The source of most upper body strength needed for football originates from the upper back and shoulders. Triceps may prove useful for pushing people off etc. But bulging biceps are not what is needed and reduce flexibility. Explosive leg power is the most important component for power in the modern game. Without leg power, it is pointless having a strong upper body.
The days of 'purist' footballers seem to be dying fast, being replaced by well oiled machinists. Colm Cooper is perhaps the closest link to the older breed of natural footballer in the game today.

ACtribe (Galway) - Posts: 401 - 24/03/2011 15:30:38    895653

Rangerdanger i didn't think you would get so wound up! Im not saying you don't know anything i just made my observations about the poor quality of football and the way it is turning slowly into a question of who can cheat the best. Very sinical in my view!

890202 (Wexford) - Posts: 1278 - 24/03/2011 16:07:25    895695

On a serious level though training should be individual, in order to improve on weaknesses. This should be up to the individual to do outside training time along with fitness. Training time should be used to practice game plans, tactics, teamwork etc. Training should not be for getting fit, this should be done in the individuals own time.

890202 (Wexford) - Posts: 1278 - 24/03/2011 16:25:41    895722

Everyone seems to have alot of views on this and use are all probably right in what use are saying, but do use not think as senior players these are all components of training that need to be developed by every player..every player needs skill to the best level that each individual can achieve, but along with this they will need the stamina to last a game of hurling/football, along with this they will have to also do a level of conditioning training to cope with the tackles, probably best done in the off season to prepare them for the season ahead, proper conditioning training will also be injury preventative, which should be the aim of every player. In my opinion all these components put together and structured in the right way will give a player the best chance of playing their prefered code to the best of their ability...

To quote a certain writer from the Gaelic life newspaper whos speciality seems to be conditioning training, when it comes to conditioning work "Train every day to feel like an animal not to look like a beast"

Anyone who can understand this concept will get the best benefit from their training.

clubmannm (Derry) - Posts: 2 - 24/03/2011 20:37:56    895989

County: Wexford

895479 The basic skills of football don't need to be mastered. Once you have fifteen fit lads who are ready to play sinically for the whole match then one can expect to be fairly successful.

and you think soccer is a lazy game,, what sport do you like?

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 24/03/2011 20:48:37    896000

supermac

895387 I remember hauling a tractor tyre around a field by a rope tied around my waist. Hollymount?

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 24/03/2011 20:54:35    896009

Pundit2

Good point regarding that Clare team running up the hill. Anthony Daly was talking about that a while ago, saying how club managers in Clare were taking underage sides to that particular hill the Clare team used, think it was in Shannon.

Ah, that was a great Clare team. My Dad, a diehard Tipp man, hated them. Said they "brought cheating to an art form," with the way they perfected the tug on the jersey before a man was able to take a shot. Justin McCarthy talked about that in his book too, how people, especially people from Cork and Tipp, never gave that Clare side the credit they deserved. What do you think yourself; would that Clare side have been able to take on and beat the present Tipp or Kilkenny teams?

I'd love for a side like that to emerge now, in a county like Clare or Wexford. Hurling has gone awful stale and repetitive...

Seamus89 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 3848 - 25/03/2011 12:40:45    896215

Interesting Seamus. As a Corkman, I've been accused of not giving those Clare players enough credit. They were a great team, but as players, they didn't seem that good on paper. That's a sideways compliment really, as for me, they were greater than the sum of their parts. They came from nowhere to win two AI's, and with all due respect to the Corks, Kilkennys and Tipps, that's probably a bigger acheivement than anything the 'big three' did over the last 100 years. You're right - hurling needs another team like them. The 90's were a great decade for a great sport.

Would they compare to the KK team of today? Again, player for player, they don't appear to. If I could pick those guys at their peak for todays KK team, I'd only pick Fitzy, Lohan and maybe Daly. Who would you have?

Culchie (Cork) - Posts: 799 - 25/03/2011 13:29:23    896239

Interesting Seamus. As a Corkman, I've been accused of not giving those Clare players enough credit. They were a great team, but as players, they didn't seem that good on paper. That's a sideways compliment really, as for me, they were greater than the sum of their parts. They came from nowhere to win two AI's, and with all due respect to the Corks, Kilkennys and Tipps, that's probably a bigger acheivement than anything the 'big three' did over the last 100 years. You're right - hurling needs another team like them. The 90's were a great decade for a great sport.

Would they compare to the KK team of today? Again, player for player, they don't appear to. If I could pick those guys at their peak for todays KK team, I'd only pick Fitzy, Lohan and maybe Daly. Who would you have?
Culchie , 25/03/2011 at 13:29

they won 2 all irelands because for one decade in history the big 3 were in transition at the same time
Tipp were gone since 1993 and Cork and Kilkenny were gone from 1991 to 1999

thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 25/03/2011 14:10:54    896272

Hard to beat laps. And lots of them. 40 a night - that'll create a bit of hunger in the team and make them want to win.

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 25/03/2011 14:33:02    896301

That Clare team was better than every Tipp team of the last 40 years.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12452 - 25/03/2011 14:33:26    896303

they won 2 all irelands because for one decade in history the big 3 were in transition at the same time
Tipp were gone since 1993 and Cork and Kilkenny were gone from 1991 to 1999

I find it very difficult to compare past and present like that Culchie, in any sport. But in addition to the 3 lads you mentioned, I was always a big fan of O'Connor, MacMahon and Lynch. Don't know who I'd take out of the Kilkenny side though! Tipp walked all over us in midfield last year, so Lynch would have to replace one of our lads anyway.

Thurlesblues, I see your point, but in fairness, when is a team NOT in transition? It's a rare thing to see a team having the same 1-15 line up from the start of one season to the end of it, let alone having the same team from one year to the next. Also, there were other good teams in the mid 90s, like Limerick, Offaly and Wexford, looking back there was an incredible variety back then. Even the Tipp side in 97...I think Clare only beat yee by a point in the final, scored by Jamesie O'Connor if I remember correctly. Saying 'sure the top sides were in transition at the time' is a slur on the Clare side. The fact is, Clare were just better than the other teams.

Another thing is that Clare should have won in 98 as well. I'll forever bear a grudge against Offaly for that nonsense about the ref blowing up after 68 minutes (not to mention their sheer rudeness in beating Kilkenny in the final). How ridiculous was it that THAT game was replayed, but last year's Leinster final was not? Can anyone answer me that?

Seamus89 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 3848 - 25/03/2011 14:42:50    896309

thurlesblues says Kilkenny were gone from '91 to '99, but they won back to back All-Irelands in '92 & 93. In reality, Tipp are 'gone' since '71, as a member of the 'big3', and the home of hurling hasn't won the All-Ireland Club title for 25yrs. Silver jubilee, next year.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 4321 - 25/03/2011 20:18:15    896541

thurlesblues says Kilkenny were gone from '91 to '99, but they won back to back All-Irelands in '92 & 93. In reality, Tipp are 'gone' since '71, as a member of the 'big3', and the home of hurling hasn't won the All-Ireland Club title for 25yrs. Silver jubilee, next year.
Pope_Benedict , 25/03/2011 at 20:18

your lack of knowledge again!

Clare won in 95 and 97 no sign of and Tipp will always be in big 3 in fact thry will be big 1 shortly sit back and enjoy the show Benedict! heres looking at you kid!! aha! shure God help us.

thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 25/03/2011 20:25:23    896550

Pope_Benedict , 25/03/2011 at 20:18

Is there someone else in the big 3 instead of Tipp with more than 26 All Irelands? Go back to sleep Pope concentrate on tennis or cricket!

thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 25/03/2011 20:29:52    896555

In the last 40 years, Kilkenny have won 15 All-Irelands, Cork have won 9, and Tipp have won only 5. That's not a 'big3' thurlesblues. It's domination by the cats, with only Cork putting up a fight for the ancient 'big3' tradition.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 4321 - 25/03/2011 21:04:28    896571

In the last 40 years, Kilkenny have won 15 All-Irelands, Cork have won 9, and Tipp have won only 5. That's not a 'big3' thurlesblues. It's domination by the cats, with only Cork putting up a fight for the ancient 'big3' tradition.
Pope_Benedict , 25/03/2011 at 21:04

Thing idIn the last 40 years, Kilkenny have won 15 All-Irelands, Cork have won 9, and Tipp have won only 5. That's not a 'big3' thurlesblues. It's domination by the cats, with only Cork putting up a fight for the ancient 'big3' tradition.

The thing is Pope we won 3 out of those 5 against Kilkenny whereas they beat us in 1 out of their 15, which proves they wouldnt have won so many if we hadnt gone to sleep for awhile. The problem for them now as well they know it is that we are back again and if I were you I would keep a close eye on the next 15 years Pope and arent they lucky we went to sleep for such a long time in order for them to catch up as they werent anywhere near the" big 2" of Tipp and Cork in those years.

thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 25/03/2011 21:12:33    896575

And Benedict those 5 we won are 2 more than ye have in yer entire history its even as much as yer footballers so I wouldnt shout too loud if I were you

thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 25/03/2011 21:15:22    896577