Ulsterman County: Antrim Posts: 3366
889684 To be fair to rhodejim there are 'jokes' already being sent around about about this disaster. It is wrong, so wrong but that is human nature unfortunately. The Germans had a word for it schadenfraude - taking pleasure at others discomfort; it has been around since the beginning of time. Let's be honest many people will not own up to loving the bloke/girl across the desk/workplace getting a bollocking from the boss. As long as it's not us or doesn't affect us we take quiet satisfaction or see humour in tragic situations. Many of us, at the core, are selfish and if incidents like Japan don't really impinge on us and we don't experience the human suffering we end up joking about it. Much of the British media and political Establishment laughed at the Irish during the Famine and many lampooning cartoons were published mocking the 'lazy Irish'. The human race is the most unkind of all. _______________________________
Good post man. Excellent in fact...
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 16/03/2011 15:49:54
Thanks Jimbo. Laughter is the way I and many of my friends deal with stuff. And yes Naca i did say iv lost relatives and friends AND family. Especially in the 9/11 attacks. Iv still heard jokes about that, ill even tell one if you want. Every one of your posts towards me end with "is your life that sad etc etc" . I couldnt give a fiddlers what you think of me.Anyway,as jim said, yourself and Slayer would want to hurry up and get over there to help out. Personnaly i think they should send Take That out there to help... Breff, it just struck me as coincidence that slayer and Naca were one of the first to stick the boot in.
Rhodejim (Offaly) - Posts: 2888 - 16/03/2011 16:04:06
Ulsterman County: Antrim Posts: 3366
889684 To be fair to rhodejim there are 'jokes' already being sent around about about this disaster. It is wrong, so wrong but that is human nature unfortunately. The Germans had a word for it schadenfraude - taking pleasure at others discomfort; it has been around since the beginning of time. Let's be honest many people will not own up to loving the bloke/girl across the desk/workplace getting a bollocking from the boss. As long as it's not us or doesn't affect us we take quiet satisfaction or see humour in tragic situations. Many of us, at the core, are selfish and if incidents like Japan don't really impinge on us and we don't experience the human suffering we end up joking about it. Much of the British media and political Establishment laughed at the Irish during the Famine and many lampooning cartoons were published mocking the 'lazy Irish'. The human race is the most unkind of all. ------------ Well put. Havent always seen eye to eye with you but thanks
Rhodejim (Offaly) - Posts: 2888 - 16/03/2011 16:06:15
Rhodejim County: Offaly Posts: 2499
890284 Thanks Jimbo. Laughter is the way I and many of my friends deal with stuff. And yes Naca i did say iv lost relatives and friends AND family. Especially in the 9/11 attacks. Iv still heard jokes about that, ill even tell one if you want. Every one of your posts towards me end with "is your life that sad etc etc" . I couldnt give a fiddlers what you think of me.Anyway,as jim said, yourself and Slayer would want to hurry up and get over there to help out. Personnaly i think they should send Take That out there to help... Breff, it just struck me as coincidence that slayer and Naca were one of the first to stick the boot in.
Still at it regardless I see.
nacellabeaga (Offaly) - Posts: 700 - 16/03/2011 16:21:57
When do you fly out to Japan to help with the clear up...?
What a clown. So in order to show respect to their dead I need to go to Japan to help? Whereas you sit around making jokes about it & think that's ok. Personally I think not making jokes about it is showing respect.
I'm sorry but Ulsterman's post merely glosses over the fact that you & RhodeJim are laughing at people dying. I just hope for your own sake that when you lose someone belowng to you, nobody laughs cos knowing how ye both post here, ye will be the first to cry foul.
slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 16/03/2011 16:22:05
Anyway,as jim said, yourself and Slayer would want to hurry up and get over there to help out. Personnaly i think they should send Take That out there to help... Breff, it just struck me as coincidence that slayer and Naca were one of the first to stick the boot in.
oooh, - very clever. When ignorant people feel threatened they run for the protection of like minded people. I don't care what Naceallbeaga posts, I make up my own mind.
Then again when you have to make up your own rules about what respect is (going to Japan to help) it's just another display of ignorance on your part. Do as Rhodejim says or you're wrong.
slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 16/03/2011 16:25:33
890284 Thanks Jimbo. Laughter is the way I and many of my friends deal with stuff. And yes Naca i did say iv lost relatives and friends AND family. Especially in the 9/11 attacks. Iv still heard jokes about that, ill even tell one if you want. Every one of your posts towards me end with "is your life that sad etc etc" . I couldnt give a fiddlers what you think of me.Anyway,as jim said, yourself and Slayer would want to hurry up and get over there to help out. Personnaly i think they should send Take That out there to help... Breff, it just struck me as coincidence that slayer and Naca were one of the first to stick the boot in. _________________________________________
Listen man don't worry about it...
No one else is worried... apart from those that you've locked horns with time and time again.
Ethics, morality etc etc... Everyone has their view.
I certainly don't think any less of you for typing a joke on a website - You'd swear you had a part in it or something the way the BS is flowing! - If you had the chance I'd say you'd happily stick a few bob in a collection bucket for the victims.
You're a far better and honest fella then some of those that have stuck the boot in…
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 16/03/2011 16:29:27
I certainly don't think any less of you for typing a joke on a website - You'd swear you had a part in it or something the way the BS is flowing! - If you had the chance I'd say you'd happily stick a few bob in a collection bucket for the victims.
Again, use of the would -> I'd say you'd happily stick a few bob in a collection bucket for the victims. Why not deal in facts.
The only BS is from you & Rhodejim Jimbo.
slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 16/03/2011 16:46:40
Anybody think that a relative coming on this board to find their Son/husband/father's death been compared to a score in a sports match might fiind it offensive?
dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 16/03/2011 16:48:38
mighty win for the junior B's last weekend
dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 16/03/2011 16:49:46
slayer County: Limerick Posts: 2963
Relax outta that...
I'm sure Rhodejim has respect for the people as do I... I don't see why you would think that I wouldn't have… just because I stood up for Rhodejim?
And please stop putting words in my mouth. You have completely misinterpreted my words…
But that's fair enough... I honestly care for those who are struggling to survive... I've even stuck a few quid into a colelction bucket but what else can I do…
You can go off on whatever meaningless tangent you want about morality and respect and my "supposed" lack of…. Because you're preaching to the converted…
We just see death differently... and again I don't appreciate you putting words in my mouth. I'm not laughing at anyone… just standing up for rhodejim - A decent fella that should not be judged on some harmless remark
I'm merely furthering UM's point... that it's human nature. So please stop overreacting to something which has probably no concern to you whatsoever.
People die every feckin day... its part and parcel of existence. Be it crossing the road or being engulfed by a great wave… death isn't important to me anymore - I've learned that the hard way and I don't need to be lectured on the topic by some anonymous stranger on a GAA website who has absolutely no idea of my own experiences… I wasn't offended by his remarks.
Believe what you want about me… I couldn't give a figs - I think Dell could tell you a different story regarding my decent enough self and my respect for his father over Christmas.
I just dont like having words put in my mouth.
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 16/03/2011 16:50:46
joking about someones misfortune is a mechanism about celebrating that you have survived- that is as old as the hills! but definately noone should tell you how to fell i remember outside a church at a funeral years ago i heard the most startling thing i probably ever heard- a mother was giving out to a child (circa 12-14 years old) and said 'why didnt you cry, that was your aunt and your godmother' you cant tell someone how to feel as its never legitimate to force feeling on someone. there is no way to act in any situation- some of the best laugh ive ever had were at funerals and id never appologise for that as i appreciate that we can all do thing differently.
liathroidboy (Mayo) - Posts: 4921 - 16/03/2011 16:54:47
slayer County: Limerick Posts: 2964
Deal with facts
Exactly.
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 16/03/2011 16:55:05
dhorse County: Laois Posts: 7579
mighty win for the junior B's last weekend
Mighty I hear. our resisdent "show" got a goal aswell ! I think ill stay clear of the village for the next few days, i think the celebrations might run long
Rhodejim (Offaly) - Posts: 2888 - 16/03/2011 17:01:32
rhodejim... I'd leave it there if I was you...
You've upset a couple of people with your harmless remark.
They'll get over it... eventually.
You're a top poster in my book...
There's many on here that wouldnt judge you so quickly...
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 16/03/2011 17:03:58
liathroidboy County: Mayo Posts: 2297
Well said.
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 16/03/2011 17:05:20
Thanks Jimbo. Gladly would partake in charities, but im not like lads on here who brag about it. I'l do me bit like nearly everyone else on this godforsaken Island!!! Anyway, again, thanks. Have a good day tomorrow lads. im off skulling
Rhodejim (Offaly) - Posts: 2888 - 16/03/2011 17:06:37
16/03/2011 09:37:49 liathroidboy County: Mayo Posts: 2297
889917 its time to strt getting on japanese stocks folks- there is big money to be made out of this - all stocks took a hammering 26% drop in a day- but alot of companies are totally unaffected by this little blip to the stock market. this is a great opportunity for the good business people to mak a profit- the markets really do benefit form the odd natural disaster as they are a great money maker __________________
The Japanese stock market closed at 06.28 GMT up 5.7% (thats this morning while you were in bed) Indeed it was in positive territory after midnight - So your ability to predict that stocks would increase today is up there with being able to give a Tricast on yesterdays Champion Hurdle (today).
ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 16/03/2011 19:50:54
"Believe what you want about me… I couldn't give a figs - I think Dell could tell you a different story regarding my decent enough self and my respect for his father over Christmas."
Would you make a joke about such death in that context then?? Also yes laughter is a way of dealing with death but in a way of celebrating a life and the the horrific demise of a life. All of us ahev dealth with death be it friends relations close family etc. but empathy is also human nature and something which is lacking in modern society.
Also I had a chat with a guy that is over there last night and he sees nothing funny about the situation over there and the horror people have to deal with. would you have any issue with someone making a joke about the death of say someone close to in such circumstances.
Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 20/03/2011 11:25:45
typo:
"celebrating a life and not the horrific demise of a life."
Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 20/03/2011 12:02:15