Joyrider found not guilty in Donegal

Lads you are missing the point. I can accept verdicts if they are correct, this was not. Don't forget he initially claimed he could not remember the incident because he was drunk, as it turned out he was under the limit. He changed his statement more than once to suit his story. How could you believe a word from his mouth when his initial statement was false? Baffling stuff!

jonny1951 (Mayo) - Posts: 1431 - 08/02/2011 12:50:25    863035

seanie_boy

862518 There would be a gap between conclusion of trial and sentencing to allow for impact statements, appeal aplications etc, even a chance for guilty party to submit pleas for leniency on whatever circumstances . I know it may sound cumbersome to the way justice is doled out in other jurisdictions but sure nothing is perfect.

Whatever man,you know I was right with the point I was making

Not sure of your point. Disappearing is not a judical option in the south

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 08/02/2011 13:13:50    863056

DHorse, your satire is wonderfully compelling, however, there was less joyriding, housebreaking and assaults on elderly peopl in their homes when proper restorative justice was handed out

omaghredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 3656 - 08/02/2011 13:34:04    863078

omaghredhand

863078 DHorse, your satire is wonderfully compelling, however, there was less joyriding, housebreaking and assaults on elderly people in their homes when proper restorative justice was handed out

I know how you must hanker for the good old days up there. I miss the thrill of being interviewed on a regular basis in aughnacloy myself. Now it's just drive right through to derry, avoiding the joyriders of course. I suppose there's no chance of a normal police service up there?
Another drawback with the good friday agreement. But sure if that's what the majority of people want, what can we do. The incidents of people being killed by car bombs has gone so i suppose that's some consolation.
All this justice and equality stuff is infuriating, women have completly lost the run of themselves since it became a crime to give them a wallop. As for all those 'orphans', bring back the artane i say

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 08/02/2011 13:54:24    863098

folks the law should not be whatever you think it should be as in such rubbish as 'he should have got this or that' or he is a s**mbag etc. and he done x amounts of crime since them- the hard facts remain that none of this is relevant as all that is relevant is that he is subjected to the actual law not the imaginary one in peoples heads- imagine we ran society like that there would be mahem it would be completely crazy. the law is the law and must be applied- the courts rightfully couldnt care less about sentiment. imagine i am getting attacked on here for saying someone should be dealth with under the law rather than populist uneducated opinion trials- its a sad state of affairs

liathroidboy (Mayo) - Posts: 4921 - 08/02/2011 13:58:08    863101

was this individual even convicted of joyriding or is this just more speculation?

liathroidboy (Mayo) - Posts: 4921 - 08/02/2011 14:30:33    863155

Ballboy get off the stage good lad. If you were sitting on a jury and were told the defendant changed his statement more than once and also claimed to be intoxicated when he actually wasn't, what conclusion would you be coming to in your head? I want a fair society and the law to be applied correctly. However, in this case I believe the jury were 100% wrong in their conclusion.

jonny1951 (Mayo) - Posts: 1431 - 08/02/2011 14:47:46    863174

Not sure of your point. Disappearing is not a judical option in the south

----------------------------------------

If you'd quit wumming on every thread you'd be more up to speed.My point was that the not guilty verdict signaled the end of the trial.As its not a case I had been following I wasn't aware of the timing of each part of the case.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 08/02/2011 17:52:19    863374

seanie_boy

863374 Not sure of your point. Disappearing is not a judical option in the south

----------------------------------------

If you'd quit wumming on every thread you'd be more up to speed.My point was that the not guilty verdict signaled the end of the trial.As its not a case I had been following I wasn't aware of the timing of each part of the case.

No it's not the end of the case, he has to be sentenced for some charges he had already pleaded guilty to.

Apols for disagreeing (wumming) on some point or other and not being up to speed.

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 08/02/2011 21:52:24    863634

i dont have an opinion i just simply say follow the law as it is not what you want it to be- alot of pathetic comments! this lad could easily sue over misrepresentation as there is no conviction to say he was joyriding- everyone should get a fair hearing always that is the best thing about the law- if he was proved innocent they so be it- move on!

liathroidboy (Mayo) - Posts: 4921 - 08/02/2011 21:59:02    863645

Ballboy I will never respond to anything you post on here again.

jonny1951 (Mayo) - Posts: 1431 - 09/02/2011 08:53:01    863659

No it's not the end of the case, he has to be sentenced for some charges he had already pleaded guilty to.
-------------------------------------------

I said it was the end of the trial,and surely it must be as he was tried and found not guilty!

Anyway I'm dropping this now as its not worth goin at each other.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 09/02/2011 08:58:00    863660

liathroidboy

863645 i dont have an opinion i just simply say follow the law as it is not what you want it to be- alot of pathetic comments! this lad could easily sue over misrepresentation as there is no conviction to say he was joyriding- everyone should get a fair hearing always that is the best thing about the law- if he was proved innocent they so be it- move on!

As far as I am aware, there is no actual offence of joyriding therefore a conviction for it would be pretty difficult. Joyriding to me is stealing a car and driving it without due care and attention. MacMillan dictionary defines joyriding as " the crime of stealing a car and driving it for pleasure, usually in a dangerous way. If you do this you joyride, and a person who does it is a joyrider." It would appear that this young man has pleaded guilty to stealing a car and causing death by dangerous driving, so to all intent and purpose he was joyriding. I agree that you should follow the law, however your assertion that this fella could sue for misrepresentation is in keeping with your normal barrage of horse manure

omaghredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 3656 - 09/02/2011 09:45:04    863680

who ever is advising this young man they should be looking through the papers etc. and sue the living daylights out of anyone who misrepresented him and named him for cimes he did not or had not being conmvicted of- he could do quiet well out of this- a defimation of his good name (i beleive he had a clean record as in no conviction), he would be set to make a fortune. if i were him id put the solicitor on comission immediately

liathroidboy (Mayo) - Posts: 4921 - 09/02/2011 10:12:08    863698

liathroidboy

who ever is advising this young man they should be looking through the papers etc. and sue the living daylights out of anyone who misrepresented him and named him for cimes he did not or had not being conmvicted of- he could do quiet well out of this- a defimation of his good name (i beleive he had a clean record as in no conviction), he would be set to make a fortune. if i were him id put the solicitor on comission immediately

I'd hate to have you representing me, given that you don't seem to understand much about the legal system (or much else for that matter)

The person in question has been charged with several offences , and pleaded guilty to these immediately after this trial.
The papers have stated that he has been found guilty of burglery. Seeing as how he has since pleaded guilty this, I don't see how he could claim "misrepresentation."

Taking claims in civil court are a lot different to criminal cases. You've already claimed he was "proved innocent". There is no concept of being "proved" innocent in Irish law. A person is either guilty "beyond reasonable doubt" or else they are presumed innocent and found not guilty. A not guilty verdict is not proof of innocence, it merely means that there is insufficient evidence to prove guilt beyond reasonable doubt.
The balance of evidence could suggest guilt to be more likely to innocent, but if it does't prove guilt, then the verdict is not guilty.

In civil court, decisions are made on the balance of the evidence. It's a much lower threshold for guilt to be established.
Given that the lad has since plead guilty to the charges of burglery, I'd imagine that it shouldn't be too hard to establish that "on the balance of evidence" he has been found guilty of other offences.

black&white (Sligo) - Posts: 1628 - 09/02/2011 11:02:54    863740

Good man black and white. I don't have the will to respond to ballboy anymore who just gave smart **** answers to anything I posted. He did not do any research into the case and considering the deceased is a friend, i would rather not waste any more time or energy getting worked up over a clown from my own county.

jonny1951 (Mayo) - Posts: 1431 - 09/02/2011 11:24:33    863748

black and white you are making up what i said as you go along- quiet funny actually. beleieve me i know the courts very well they ahave served me well i regularly use them a la the american system to make me money- all im saying is a court finds you guilty no an admission of guilt and the nonsense of lettinmg sentiment in the way of the law is laughable- want charges that happened after this event with the gardai to be used in the gardai case- laughable to say the least. also people can change their statements there is nothing wrong with that at all you can remeber something else or you may have being pressuried to say something that wasnot true so there is nothing in that. the law should be applied equally to everyone not this trail by media and populist opinion that means nothing- in fact the media prob did this lad a favour during the trial and will undoubtedly have done him a favour when he sues and i hope he does- im just for fair play folks for everyone

liathroidboy (Mayo) - Posts: 4921 - 09/02/2011 14:45:21    863938

Caught out yet again liathroidboy !! Constantly happening to you !! You suffer from foot in mouth disease and there is no cure for it except to keep it shut and say nothing !! Honestly you have been humiliated on here so many times now its unreal !!

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 09/02/2011 15:02:31    863956

Admin please get rid of this tool!

jonny1951 (Mayo) - Posts: 1431 - 09/02/2011 15:19:38    863979

From a rough translation of your not so eloquent post ballboy you seem to be suggesting that this chap should now seek to profit from ending a young man's life while he served his duty?
Incredible - I realise a lot of your comments are nakedly inflammatory, posted in order to provoke a reaction. You must get some bizarre kick from other posters' responses. But this is a new low even for you. It is downright insulting and hurtful to the man's memory. I just hope to God none of his family or friends read this.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9730 - 09/02/2011 15:27:33    863988