Six Nations........

Six nation tickets for Irelands two games sell out in under two mins.

It can finally be concluded the rugby is the heartbeat of the nation- well done to the IRFU the shining light in terms of a sporting organisation. 12 premium level tickets for both home games and a hospitality package for the 3 away games- cant wait :). Ireland Ireland together standing tall ...

liathroidboy (Mayo) - Posts: 4921 - 20/01/2011 13:26:02    850229

Stop with that rugby nonsense.

Take that money and buy yourself some tickets for the Old Firm.

Hail Celtic! Hail!

HorseOutside (UK) - Posts: 398 - 20/01/2011 14:25:45    850292

horse outside celtic are like the IRA with great men in the past and a proud history but irrelavent in todays world

booboo (Cork) - Posts: 1382 - 20/01/2011 15:53:26    850354

liathroidboy:

I fairly sure that westlife also managed to sell out tickets in that time frame too for a few gigs are croke park.... personally I'm not a westlife fan but fair play to them, on your reasoning would that also make westlife the heartbeat of the nation??

The IRFU did well selling out the autumn internationals too..... ohhhh wait that didn't happen did it?

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 20/01/2011 15:59:05    850359

20/01/2011 13:26:02
liathroidboy

850229 Six nation tickets for Irelands two games sell out in under two mins.

It can finally be concluded the rugby is the heartbeat of the nation-

Rugby is destined to return to the position it held in the Eighties - Sheepskin wearing D4 private school numpties and their collars up cantebury preppy ****head kids
If thats our heartbeat - we need a bypass

Omar.d (Cavan) - Posts: 1141 - 20/01/2011 16:07:14    850366

omar admittedly the IRFU got their priceing structures wrong as was suggested by ex players and commentator. as for the rest of your post well.....its rubbish...

booboo (Cork) - Posts: 1382 - 20/01/2011 16:23:37    850380

As someone who attends all of Irelands home games and is going to the World Cup, I am finding these threads a little irritating to say the least. I love Rugby, there are good and bad sides to the way it is run but the constant rugby bashing is needless and childish to say the least. Although the initial post was a wind up I hope.

jonny1951 (Mayo) - Posts: 1431 - 20/01/2011 16:40:06    850406

Six nation tickets for Irelands two games sell out in under two mins.

It can finally be concluded the rugby is the heartbeat of the nation- well done to the IRFU the shining light in terms of a sporting organisation. 12 premium level tickets for both home games and a hospitality package for the 3 away games- cant wait :). Ireland Ireland together standing tall ...

...Actually the tickets that sold out in two minutes were just a handful of returns from the clubs that were handed over to the supporters club to sell. There are a lot of unhappy members in the IRFU supporters clubs that were unsuccessful in the scramble. By the way no premium level tickets or packages for the away games were part of this sale!

bubba83 (Dublin) - Posts: 333 - 20/01/2011 16:54:17    850416

dress it up any way ya want- no other sporting organisation in this country could come close. on the november internalional who cares if ireland play a soccer mathch they wouldnt get 20, if a challenge match is played in the gaa they get a few hundred. the case is slosed- rugby is top dog and will always be- superior organisation and superior people- the rugby basher on here are clutching at straws trying to slag the irfu- if ireland played england on the same day as the all ireland the viewing figures would be circa 3-1 in favour of the rugby. viewing figure were posted a few weeks back- its the heartbeat of the nation and its only going to get bigger and bigger- will peoples grandchildren even know what gaa is? thats not a dig at the sport its a total dig at the way its organised - gaa gombeens have come up with a great 'innovative idea' to save the gaa and make it popular 'tag football' - talk about stoneage thinking- they are just hanging onto the coattails of the IRFU!

liathroidboy (Mayo) - Posts: 4921 - 20/01/2011 17:05:13    850426

liathroidboy - join a rugby forum so and do us all a favour

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11539 - 20/01/2011 17:10:08    850432

Yeah, good man liathroidboy. Rugger is like toe-tally going to be as popular in the next 5 years as it was in the last.

As for soccer not being as popular, if Spain came to Ireland tomorrow for a game, they'd fill Croker thrice over. Ditto with Brazil.

Hopefully Drico and the goys will get absolutely annihilated in the WC in September, and then this sad and pathetic chapter of Irish sporting history will be closed once and for all.

Seamus89 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 3848 - 20/01/2011 17:12:02    850434

seamus your the new clown of hoganstand well done

booboo (Cork) - Posts: 1382 - 20/01/2011 17:21:38    850446

Right i know the initial post was a wind up but why the hell do people on here seem to think it's ok to slate our rugby team and wish us to fail in the next world cup.

Jesus christ if Ireland were playing the fecking Tiddly Winks World Cup i'd still want them to bloody win it.....

Granted Rugby has exploded in the last few years, success breeds popularity. Thing is we are a small nation and to be fair we are quite handy at rugby, could even get to a semi final even a final in September if things go our way. This is something to be applauded, not derided.

tribeinbrum (Galway) - Posts: 4155 - 20/01/2011 17:24:36    850448

yew this isnt a gaa fourm- look at the title its a NON GAA FORUM Bless your ignorance :) In relation to the fai they have being handing out ticked for free and still noone will go but that is because the team is very poor with basicall amateurs posing as pros. if ireland rugby team lose every match they will still be the biggest show in town as they are the heartbeat of the nation! diss it all you want everyone knows it true :)

liathroidboy (Mayo) - Posts: 4921 - 20/01/2011 17:27:37    850449

There's no doubting the popularity of Rugby here and this year's Six Nations could be one of the tightest in years. It being World Cup year makes it even more important, a Championship would be the perfect preparation. I'll head to Edinburgh for the Scotland game like I always do and hopefully I'll get to another couple, really looking forward to it now

pplocal (Tyrone) - Posts: 5878 - 20/01/2011 17:28:58    850450

tribe go to the munste rthread and read some more of the clowns comments i reckon his boyfriend left him for a vig tightheadprop

booboo (Cork) - Posts: 1382 - 20/01/2011 17:29:08    850451

Seamus89:

I thought you were an expert on rugby especially in Limerick... even though you got shown up on that.

As for rugby I like the game but saying it's the heart beat of the country is taking it a step too far.... internationally support for sports played internationally grows and declines depending on the teams proformances..... Soccer was at fever pitch around italia 90's it now a shadow of what it was, rugby has filled that void.

But the support of Gaa gererally stay fairly constant it is the true heart beat of the country sports wise..... I suppose horse racing would be another sports that stays fairly constant too.

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 20/01/2011 17:30:46    850453

liathroidboy

850426 dress it up any way ya want- no other sporting organisation in this country could come close. on the november internalional who cares if ireland play a soccer mathch they wouldnt get 20, if a challenge match is played in the gaa they get a few hundred. the case is slosed- rugby is top dog and will always be- superior organisation and superior people- the rugby basher on here are clutching at straws trying to slag the irfu- if ireland played england on the same day as the all ireland the viewing figures would be circa 3-1 in favour of the rugby. viewing figure were posted a few weeks back- its the heartbeat of the nation and its only going to get bigger and bigger- will peoples grandchildren even know what gaa is? thats not a dig at the sport its a total dig at the way its organised - gaa gombeens have come up with a great 'innovative idea' to save the gaa and make it popular 'tag football' - talk about stoneage thinking- they are just hanging onto the coattails of the IRFU!

This is a wind up surely. The gaa is the heart and soul of irish sport. Also your use of the word gombeen really annoys me. Why dont you ask a friend in galway to send you a dictionary so you can expand your vocabulary.

mikeoc (Kerry) - Posts: 567 - 20/01/2011 17:38:59    850470

liathroidboy

dress it up any way ya want- no other sporting organisation in this country could come close. on the november internalional who cares if ireland play a soccer mathch they wouldnt get 20, if a challenge match is played in the gaa they get a few hundred. the case is slosed- rugby is top dog and will always be- superior organisation and superior people- the rugby basher on here are clutching at straws trying to slag the irfu- if ireland played england on the same day as the all ireland the viewing figures would be circa 3-1 in favour of the rugby. viewing figure were posted a few weeks back- its the heartbeat of the nation and its only going to get bigger and bigger- will peoples grandchildren even know what gaa is? thats not a dig at the sport its a total dig at the way its organised - gaa gombeens have come up with a great 'innovative idea' to save the gaa and make it popular 'tag football' - talk about stoneage thinking- they are just hanging onto the coattails of the IRFU!

You do know that the viewing figures for the Airtricity League are higher than those for the magners league.

Dr.Shephard (Leitrim) - Posts: 2187 - 20/01/2011 18:03:39    850503

You do know that the viewing figures for the Airtricity League are higher than those for the magners league.
_____________________________________________________________________________________________

Very questionable, where did you come up with these figures? I don't know anyone who watches the Airtricity league, the magners must be more popular.

Bigboy (Galway) - Posts: 133 - 20/01/2011 18:35:04    850522