hill16no1man you are right, Galvin is consistently getting in trouble and also we see these incidents on tv and replay them! How people can deny this or say it is unfair criticism he receives is just ridiculous. Lads he did the fish-hook thing to Cadogan twice in the same year the second case was caught blatantly on tv and in the first case Cadogan needed dental reconstruction surgery. These are facts, just like its a fact that he is good footballer but needs to clean up his act.
tj09 (Cork) - Posts: 481 - 20/12/2010 17:33:39
ochonlir County: Cavan Posts: 2068
835888 hill16no1man County: Dublin Posts: 212
835863 how can people say he does not deserve bad publicity he brings it on himself and saying a 1 off incident with cadogan cop on he knocked a refs book out of his hand has had numerous sendings off
wow did all those things happen, now why didn't someone mention this, i feel so foolish.
are you for real you just said in an earlier post that we are banging him for sweet fanny adams that it was aspur of the moment thing with cadogan.so what about all the other times they were all just 1 big spur of the moment so he doesnt deserve to be banned regardless of spur of moment if you do it you deserve to be sent off and banned simple as
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 20/12/2010 17:37:20
Cork purposely put Cadogan on Galvin because cadogan can get into his head. I was at the league match last year where both men were sent off and was shocked at how cadogan got away with so much. Referees are judging galvin on his reputation and not a specific incident. He needs to clean up his act and only then will he be shown as the great player he is. Bit of a strange man but netherless I wish him the best!
wondershorts (Wicklow) - Posts: 291 - 20/12/2010 18:38:52
regarding the incident in the league against cadogan galvin was simply wrestled to the ground,if the cccc had bothered to look at the replay they would have seen he had no part in it. In the "fish hook" incident he was clearly provoked and cadogan tried to bite him before he did anything. Going back to the paddy russel notebook incident,kerry players were being harassed all day including declan o sullivan who got a bloody nose,the referee ignored all this and then incredibly chose to send off a kerry player. Going back to 2006 and the sending off against armagh,the armagh maor uisce was sent on to provoke galvin and also physically assaulted him,galvin merely defends himself and is sent off. As everyone can see there are clear explanations for all these incidents. Paul galvin's bad boy reputation is purely a myth. People dont want to look at the facts however,they swallow the rubbish the media feeds them and jump to their own conclusions.
mikeoc (Kerry) - Posts: 567 - 20/12/2010 18:41:42
I have watched Paul Galvin in most of his televised games, I for one would not be first in line to have him first on my team! Sorry lads, but the trouble he has been in has been his fault and nobody else!
What was most interesting with Paul and his suspensions is the speed that Kerry people plus their former stars jumped out of the woodowrk to defend him and tell us what a great lad he is! Kerry in recent times have wheeled out some former greats at opportune times to defend players just after issues with their players have been highlighted. I dont know whether this has been orchestrated or not but it seems like it!
Thats as I see him! Yes he is a fine footballer but his discipline and his bad example to young players is not someting that places him above others in my eyes. As for he being a fashion man... best of luck to him.
As for the argument that RTE has highlighted his situation, well, as I see it, they would have been negligent if they did not! What if anything makes him different to others? I would hope that the Sunday Game would always highlight issues that should be aired so that the games that we all enjoy can be improved and that poor behaviour should be therefore be highlighted.
I like the rest of you do not condemn the person... rather his behaviour!
carlowman (Carlow) - Posts: 1879 - 20/12/2010 18:45:36
Great player and competitor but a really strange interview. Galvin looked far away at times and he came across as a very complex man.
Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9818 - 20/12/2010 18:50:14
hill16no1man County: Dublin Posts: 213
835916 ochonlir County: Cavan Posts: 2068
835888 hill16no1man County: Dublin Posts: 212
835863 how can people say he does not deserve bad publicity he brings it on himself and saying a 1 off incident with cadogan cop on he knocked a refs book out of his hand has had numerous sendings off
wow did all those things happen, now why didn't someone mention this, i feel so foolish.
are you for real you just said in an earlier post that we are banging him for sweet fanny adams that it was aspur of the moment thing with cadogan.so what about all the other times they were all just 1 big spur of the moment so he doesnt deserve to be banned regardless of spur of moment if you do it you deserve to be sent off and banned simple as
mr Freud might have an interest in this one. There are limits as to the punishment that can be meeted out!
ochonlir (Cavan) - Posts: 4343 - 20/12/2010 19:22:24
tj09 County: Cork Posts: 341
835913 hill16no1man you are right, Galvin is consistently getting in trouble and also we see these incidents on tv and replay them! How people can deny this or say it is unfair criticism he receives is just ridiculous. Lads he did the fish-hook thing to Cadogan twice in the same year the second case was caught blatantly on tv and in the first case Cadogan needed dental reconstruction surgery. These are facts, just like its a fact that he is good footballer but needs to clean up his act.
To be fair the damage to his teeth wasn't from that. The second time was inexcusable but he was entitled to defend himself the first after been caught in a headlock and swung to the ground. Just because he's a strong fella doesn't mean he couldn't have got sesiously injured that time.
Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 20/12/2010 20:20:46
In my opinion Galvin is NO advert for Gaelic Games, his behaviour is a disgrace and why Kerry people are sooo proud of him just baffles me......he never learns, have we ever had a championship where he hasent been surrounded by SOME controversey, as for choosin him to be Captain, the mind boggles.........no role model for any Captaincy......
Mollymalone (Dublin) - Posts: 1137 - 21/12/2010 11:22:33
Conor Counihan even said the incident was blown out of all proportion, some of you are following the wrong sport if you think grown men won't lose the cool every now and then in a contact sport.
is there a wormhole from salem that I don't know about, maybe could help you get back, those witches won't persecute themselves!?
ochonlir (Cavan) - Posts: 4343 - 21/12/2010 11:47:49
County: Cork Posts: 341
835913 hill16no1man you are right, Galvin is consistently getting in trouble and also we see these incidents on tv and replay them! How people can deny this or say it is unfair criticism he receives is just ridiculous. Lads he did the fish-hook thing to Cadogan twice in the same year the second case was caught blatantly on tv and in the first case Cadogan needed dental reconstruction surgery. These are facts, just like its a fact that he is good footballer but needs to clean up his act.
It is not a fact about the dental surgery.
Real Kerry Fan (None) - Posts: 2957 - 21/12/2010 12:02:24
mikeoc wrote
As everyone can see there are clear explanations for all these incidents. Paul galvin's bad boy reputation is purely a myth. People dont want to look at the facts however,they swallow the rubbish the media feeds them and jump to their own conclusions.
Yes but you chose incidents where you portray Kerry as the victims, what about what went on in the football Munster final V Limerick this year?
Anyway, I do agree to some extent that Galvin's bad boy reputation is a myth. He is always going to be targeted for abuse as people know he will react. That does not change the fact that he is a great team player a great worker for Kerry football and I'm glad he has won what he has won with Kerry as the effort & energy he gives to the team is top class.
slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 21/12/2010 12:04:29
carlowman County: Carlow Posts: 610
836005 I have watched Paul Galvin in most of his televised games, I for one would not be first in line to have him first on my team! Sorry lads, but the trouble he has been in has been his fault and nobody else!
So carlowman are you actually saying that if Paul Galvin was a Carlow man you wouldnt have him on the Carlow first 15? He would be a hero..same as if he was from Dublin he would be a Hill 16 legend,if he was from Cork he would be icon and the same goes for every county..id love if he was a Fermanagh man..id safely say we would have an Ulster title at this stage..people GAA wether it be football or hurling is a passioniate sport and every now and then that passion gets the better of people. Every County and Club at one stage would have a player or players who the passion gets the better of them and crosses the line but thats the GAA..without the likes of Paul Galvin,Noel O Leary,Ryan Mc Menamin, whos passion is clearly on show every game they play, gaelic football would be a very boring sport to watch..
LE20 (Fermanagh) - Posts: 210 - 21/12/2010 12:22:58
What was the dental surgery from so? The cork team, and cadogan in particular, did not seem too pleased with galvin after that game!! He does not get targeted for no reason, I mean we have all see the videos of his behavior. Teams have targeted this area as one to get at galvin and how many times have we seen him fall for it in the big games? He clearly has an issue with his temperament.
tj09 (Cork) - Posts: 481 - 21/12/2010 12:29:00
In Salem there were witch trials conducted by the Court of Oyer and Terminer in 1692. little did they know then that their good work would be revived by equally concerned irish people but unfortunately the methods of punishment would be somewhat toned down.
Paul Galvin is a terrific footballer who plays on the edge, the holier than thou crew should take a long look at themselves before having a pop at paul galvin!
ochonlir (Cavan) - Posts: 4343 - 21/12/2010 12:36:07
i think everything paul sed was true. Gaelic is turning into soccer your not able to do the things that you used to be able to while playing county football cause it will be seen on the tv like..
Seandun (Louth) - Posts: 55 - 21/12/2010 12:59:24
If you do the crime ,do the time. If you feel you are being unjustly scrutinised all the more reason not to do the crime. Therefore Paul Galvin is either a slow learner or a hot head either way he will come unstuck and ultimately his own actions attract the attention.
derryman (Derry) - Posts: 3246 - 21/12/2010 14:26:58
tj09 County: Cork Posts: 343
836313 What was the dental surgery from so? The cork team, and cadogan in particular, did not seem too pleased with galvin after that game!! He does not get targeted for no reason, I mean we have all see the videos of his behavior.
It was from a earlier incident which was accidental and he was treated for it before they clashed. That's been well documented. What was Canty's reason for targeting him when he got his first yellow in the munster semi. It wasn't even near the play.
Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 21/12/2010 14:37:29
superglue
don't waste your breath, there's a crowd of Cromwellian puratins who watch our game and no argument would convince them. You should count yourself luck to have such a player.
ochonlir (Cavan) - Posts: 4343 - 21/12/2010 15:28:23
LE20 from fermanagh.. in response to your question whether I would pick him on a Carlow first 15. My reply is no, I would not. As far as I am concerned a player like Paul Galvin can be an unsettling influence on the rest of the team. Secondly a payer who does not have the required self control is a liability to the rest of the team and they would not thank the selector or manger for picking a player like that when that player is likely to bring himself into yellow or red card territory.
As for such a player being a hero.... not in my eyes at all! A hero is a great player who has the self control, the dedication, the temperament to play well when the chips are down. Paul has all of those attributes and has shown them on many occasions bar, self control.
If you consider such a player to be a hero... you are entitled to your opiniion, but he would not be a player that I would bring my family to see. Sorry, he is not a hero for me.
Give me Dara O'Se or a player of his stature... now there is a hero worth having on a Carlow team! I could give you a few players, lots of them who currently are players I greatly admire and I would love to have on a Carlow team.
Perhaps you don't agree with me but I believe that the game of football is greater than any one player and we should be very careful in raising any player to the status of hero. Very few merit such an elevated status.
You see, LE20, we have had our share of 'great' players who have let us down with their discipline.. even as late as last year and ... they have had an elevated status far beyond their station and have let their county down. Our record in last year's league was nothing short of disgraceful with usually one player being sent off in every game we played. I think we were the worst offenders in the country, so I believe my view to be a sound one based on real experience of last years league!
carlowman (Carlow) - Posts: 1879 - 21/12/2010 17:21:39