Paul Galvin - Late Late Show

Paul is a class act and obviously put's in the hard work.

wishfulthinkin (Cavan) - Posts: 1732 - 18/12/2010 20:42:31    835183

Intended to watch it, but when tubridy asked the chaps who won the cross country gold, Had they beaten anyone to win, I went potholingfor the night.

Can't wait for his book on Dev.

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 18/12/2010 20:43:53    835185

in the words of christy moore "Love does not describe what im feeling"

miketyson (Limerick) - Posts: 2748 - 18/12/2010 20:57:13    835197

Controversial characters attract attention. If Galvin steps out of line it draws headlines and he has to know that his discipline must be top class. One of the posters alluded to the behaviour of some of the Tyrone lads. Players like Ricey are a hell of a lot cuter than Galvin. Ricey is a complete messer during the league but when it comes to championship, he knows where to draw the line. The reason Galvin gets so much abuse is that he will react. Do any of the Kerry supporters seriously believe he gets any more attention than the Gooch who rarely gets in any bother?

MB1 (Tyrone) - Posts: 360 - 19/12/2010 09:56:08    835229

Galvin! Ohhhhh hes some boy! I hear he has a show during Christmas called Galvinised, I know who'll be watching that anyways

Orlaith (Derry) - Posts: 4282 - 19/12/2010 10:25:44    835235

He brought on much of the trouble himself, the lads on the sunday game wouldn't be able to pick on him if he didn't misbehave.

77981301 (UK) - Posts: 79 - 19/12/2010 11:31:51    835254

Fantastic footballer no doubt about it needs to sort out his discipline though.

As for his fashion activities - each to their own I'd say. What he gets up to in his own time is his business and his only.

nacellabeaga (Offaly) - Posts: 700 - 19/12/2010 14:23:21    835302

doublehop the reason galvin got the big suspension was cause he got red carded in the league,for what he did wrong i dont know maby u can explain to me.was it for wrestling with cadogan on the ground is that a red card offence? really i mean did galvin end somebodys career,did u ever see him strike anybody what happened with the so called eye gouging incident ?. to me it was a five second spur of the moment of him putting his hand up and pushing cadogan away,if thats a three month suspension then gaelic football is in a sad state they might as well make it a non contact sport.

chicago09 (Kerry) - Posts: 694 - 19/12/2010 14:29:49    835303

"it was a five second spur of the moment of him putting his hand up and pushing cadogan away..."

Galvin has since admitted this wasn't the case: link
"When they want to put the fists up, though, I'm in trouble. I need to get them off me or I'll be killed. So I do that with the finger. I don't know when I started doing it but it's a reflex. It works but it's a reflex and I'll have to stop."

But either way, I wasn't debating the merits of the suspensions. I was objecting to this belief that the Sunday Game damaged Kerry this year when in reality had the two incidents that I referred to been appropriately dealt with at the time then it's unlikely Kerry would have even won Munster. Would you not admit that it comes across a bit arrogant to say that this somehow cost you an All-Ireland?

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 19/12/2010 17:05:15    835358

exactly it was a spur of the moment thing

I really believe that we are shooting ourselves in the foot by banning our best players for Sweet Fanny Adams

some of you would have really enjoyed the Spanish inquisition

ochonlir (Cavan) - Posts: 4343 - 19/12/2010 17:47:49    835380

So because he has a fashion sense he not a man! typical ireland someone wants to do better in life and ye knock them! idiots

goalie17 (Kildare) - Posts: 1 - 19/12/2010 20:02:29    835439

goalie17

835439 So because he has a fashion sense he not a man! typical ireland someone wants to do better in life and ye knock them! idiots

it's not typical Ireland at all, he would get the same reaction if he was a soccer player or a cricketer or a rugby player. people are entitled to say the like him or not.

what you are suggesting is that you have some sort of pragmatic logic and anyone who varies from that standard is an idiot

ochonlir (Cavan) - Posts: 4343 - 19/12/2010 21:00:46    835469

Paul Galvin, the new Graham Geraghty?? Love him or hate him he's a class player.

Diego (Meath) - Posts: 1205 - 19/12/2010 21:56:13    835507

Any county with ambitions of lifting Sam NEED a Paul Galvin in their team. Time to get off the guys back, too many people in the media and on these boards pontificating over his misdemeanours.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 20/12/2010 11:31:51    835549

Any county with ambitions of lifting Sam NEED a Paul Galvin in their team. Time to get off the guys back, too many people in the media and on these boards pontificating over his misdemeanours.

Yeah I agree with that. I thought his interview was boring & he lacks a bit of personality. But who cares about that? As a footballer he's the sort of bloke you want in the trenches with you and he would be a player I'd have first on the teamsheet if I had him available to Limerick. He's a fine player & a winner.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 20/12/2010 12:27:05    835587

Did he get sacked as a teacher or did he just quit. That clip of him in new york is a bit weird.
Anyway he is a class player n if he can make a living off his status fair play to him. He is not a lad i would like to get into a row with anyway.

MuineachanAbu (Monaghan) - Posts: 660 - 20/12/2010 12:50:29    835603

There is some of Paul Galvin in all of us!
Anyway ,why shouldn't he express his Feminine side!

Bigapple (Kerry) - Posts: 495 - 20/12/2010 16:21:30    835795

He said he is now a full time footballer on the show , have Kerry gone Professional and how much are they paying their full time players ?

culmore (None) - Posts: 1398 - 20/12/2010 16:43:17    835824

how can people say he does not deserve bad publicity he brings it on himself and saying a 1 off incident with cadogan cop on he knocked a refs book out of his hand has had numerous sendings off

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 20/12/2010 17:03:13    835863

hill16no1man

835863 how can people say he does not deserve bad publicity he brings it on himself and saying a 1 off incident with cadogan cop on he knocked a refs book out of his hand has had numerous sendings off

wow did all those things happen, now why didn't someone mention this, i feel so foolish.

ochonlir (Cavan) - Posts: 4343 - 20/12/2010 17:17:34    835888