Darts World Championships

Anybody following the darts? PDC World Champs begin this week. Taylor obviously the favourite, but has wobbled in the last couple of big tv tournaments. Can he be stopped? He could play John Part in round two as well, which could be interesting. If it's not to be Taylor, who could it be? It think Co Stompe will go far this year.
As for the BDO, cant see past Adams, O'Shea or Waites. Would put Hankey and Fitton in there as well but Fitton looked awful at the Grand Slam and Hankey plays Waites first up, which I think Hankey will lose.

Tongo (UK) - Posts: 1795 - 13/12/2010 08:05:26    831740

Just logged on there now to start this thread meself but fair play you beat me to the punch Tongo. Absolutely love the Darts at christmas, its something to watch while I'm sipping me Heino all day. Anyway lets get down brass tacks, who's gonna win. Well in a word Taylor. I know its the easy option but how can you look past a man who's won 15 world titles and over 60 televised majors. Only fools would back against him.

Which is something I might just do because I'm expecting big things from James Wade this year, he's consistantly underperformed at world championships but has undoubted class and at 8/1 second favourite, he's well worth a flutter. Barney is back on a bit of form aswell after the world cup, which is just the boost he needed because Barney is very much a confidence player and can cause a lot of damage when he's happy.

I'd say outside those three your looking at Whitlock, Nicholson, Anderson, Webster and Lewis to all cause a stir and in with a decent chance of winning the lot. Just a quick mention for John Part who has a great chance of playing Taylor in the second round, if he does get that far Part will be very much up against it but he is one of very few players who has proven he can beat Taylor on the big stage and isn't in the slightest bit afraid of 'The Power'. You can get Part at a very tasty 175/1 so I'm definitely gonna stick a tenner on him, if he gets past the 1st two rounds he could go all the way, he's done it twice before!

As for the BDO, I'd say your looking at a pretty straight foward toss up between Waites and Adams and I'd expect Waites to come out on top.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 13/12/2010 11:46:50    831830

I agree with you Htaem, it is difficult to see past Taylor. For James Wade, much will depend on how much the Grand Slam final collapse effects him. He should make it through the early rounds fairly easily, but the test will come in a close match and whether he has got the bottle. I hope he has cos he's great to watch. Barney seems off colour to me. Hasnt been on his game this year and i cant see him getting past the quarters. Whitlock is definitely dangerous. Part will definitely fancy his chances against Taylor, but there's good reason why he could play him as early as round 2! Anderson's the other player i'll look out for. Great player to watch, just needs to hold his nerve at the business end if he gets there.

Tongo (UK) - Posts: 1795 - 13/12/2010 12:13:31    831864

I think Barney's been out of sorts for a long time now Tongo, he hasn't won a major since 2007 and losing to Taylor in so many finals has just crippled him. Think back to the 2009 world final where he averged over a 100 still and lost 7-1!! I mean thats completely soul destroying stuff, to play that well and get beaten so comprehensively. But that win over Wales in the world cup final done Barney the power of good and who knows he might treat us to a third 9 darter in the ally pally.

As for James Wade, I don't think he has that easy of a run in to be honest, his first game against Antonio Alcinas looked like a pretty dull formality, but its now one of the best 1st round matches after what happened in the world cup. Still I reckon we'll win it and then he's more than likely up against Van Gerwen who can be brilliant at times so he can't let his guard down.

Anderson is a great scorer but like you said he has problems holding his nerve at the business end of things, his run in isn't too hard though, I'd expect him to get as far as the quarters at least where I hope he'll be playing Barney, now theres a mouth watering match up!

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 13/12/2010 12:41:20    831889

Taylor will turn it on .. he has an aim of winning 20 World titles (staggering) and i feel he will do it ..

If he does play John Part in the second round i still dont think he will be stopped , John Part used to have so much potential but he just isnt the john part we used to know and enjoyed watching , I fully expect James Wade to be knocking about and although himself and Taylor got beaten in the first round of the darts world cup a forthnight ago , i still expect these two to do really well

Raymond van Barnaveld is capable of a moment of sheer brilliance yet he just doesnt seem to have the heart for it when he is on the losing end of things , he doesnt look mentally strong enough like he did when he beat Taylor in the epic final a few years ago , he would be the first to admit that which in itself spells real danger for him , But if he can put all that nonsense behind him and focus on his game he can be in with a shout

Latest odds

Phil Taylor 4/7 (fav)
James Wade 8/1
Simon Whitlock and Barney 12/1
Gary Anderson 20/1
Mervyn King 40/1 <<<<< Cracking odds on the king there

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13654 - 13/12/2010 13:48:06    831947

Mervyn King 40/1 is a bit of value on his day he can beat Tylor if he would stop letting the crowed bait him , same goes for The Count Ted Hankey 12/1 to win the BDO championship .

fortyfive (Tyrone) - Posts: 5929 - 13/12/2010 15:45:40    832048

I'd forgotten about King! He has the bottle to put it up to Taylor if they were to meet and has beaten him in the past in big matches (Premier League semis in 09 I think). Also has the tendency to implode as well though, so could lose early on. I don't think he's scared of playing Taylor though, which is more than can be said for a lot of players. Adrian Lewis will have gained a lot from defeating Taylor at the World Grand Prix as well.
I wonder how long it'll be till Waites and O'Shea go across to the PDC. Waites is class and I think would break into the top ten. There's only so long that he'll wanna keep playing darts alongside a joinery career. Especially when there's good money on the PDC circuit. O'Shea would be there or thereabouts, a bit like Robert Thornton. Shame Adams wont swallow his pride, cos he's a huge fish in a very small pond in the BDO.

Tongo (UK) - Posts: 1795 - 13/12/2010 16:10:24    832068

Mervin is an excellent player but he'll be gone when Anderson beats him in the last 16. Have to just say aswell that I've lost a lot of respect for Martin Adams, I reckon the only reason he's still in the BDO is because he's content with being a big fish in a small pond and to put it bluntly is scared shitless of Taylor. Don't forget that the PDC invites over the best BDO players for the Grandslam every year and Martin Adams has turned them down every single time bar this year because they didn't waste their time asking him.

Just had a little study of the draw there and came up with this for the quarter-final pairings:

1. Taylor v Webster

2. Lewis v Whitlock

3. Wade v Jenkins

4. Anderson v Van Barneveld

Now I'm sure I'll be torn apart for those predictions but I think thats roughly how it will pan out, which is a bit disappointing aswell in all honesty because two of my favourite player, Stompe and Nicholson are on course to meet in round 2 with the winner almost certainly heading on to play Johnny Part......ah no Taylor of course in round 3.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 13/12/2010 16:37:13    832077

Adrian Jackpot Lewis is in for a tough opening game against Tony Eccles ,I think Lewis is weak doesn't perform well in front of the Camera's .

fortyfive (Tyrone) - Posts: 5929 - 13/12/2010 16:57:05    832087

I'm gonna say Webster.

Really like him and the top ex-BDO players have a good record down the years.

Also love the Wizard Whitlock.

50/1 and 16/1 respectively with some bookies (Odds here: http://www.oddschecker.com/other-sports/darts/pdc-darts-world-championships/winner )

istabraq (None) - Posts: 112 - 13/12/2010 17:10:08    832102

Barney at 12s

hurlingguru (Carlow) - Posts: 1848 - 13/12/2010 17:16:18    832108

Just had a little study of the draw there and came up with this for the quarter-final pairings:

1. Taylor v Webster

2. Lewis v Whitlock

3. Wade v Jenkins

4. Anderson v Van Barneveld

_______

That has the potential to be an absolute cracker , I love Gary anderson , there is something about him

Aidy Lewis is a muppet i really dont like him at all ..

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13654 - 13/12/2010 17:16:41    832109

I love the darts - don't follow it as closely as you guys obviously do, but I'd love to see Adrian Lewis win it. The darts on BBC are second rate in comparison.

Best game of darts ever? Take your pick - Gregory V Taylor 1990, Taylor V Lowe 1994? Taylor V Bristow 1995?

Sid Waddell once said of Taylor - he could take the eye out of a fly from fawty meetahs'. You can't beat the darts for a bit of entertainment but also a great sport to watch.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 13/12/2010 17:19:25    832112

waynoI

Lewis is a bit of a twat alright, member his little storm off a couple of years ago in the world championship against Manley:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fLdXf4rEDs8

Classic :-)

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 13/12/2010 17:49:53    832142

Htaem (just realized your user name is meath backwards ha ha)

How could i forget , he really is a moron in every sense of the word ..

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13654 - 13/12/2010 18:04:33    832162

hope barney or king win it but more than likely it will be the cocky one

b.mullins (Dublin) - Posts: 1413 - 13/12/2010 18:33:41    832187

waynoI

Well that is the whole point of it wayno, I'm a backwards meath man :-)

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 13/12/2010 19:40:46    832268

Agree with the praise of anderson, he has the potential to topple taylor if he gets a good run, very confident thrower who doesnt get upset too easy, I think he will do damage this year. King will most probably implode again.

Dont like lewis either, attitude problem and always pushing this hard man sh*te, he beat taylor on tv recently though, could cause an upset, wont win it though.

A good game was the taylor painter final, went to sudden death, painter had him rattled for most of it. Another good one was the taylor part final when part won, taylor's hand shaking with the pressure.

Rumour has it waites is moving to the pdc next year.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 13/12/2010 21:05:22    832371

Like the 12s for Whitlock.Big test for him this year.40/1 for Mervyn King is serious but he will be booed out of it.If Taylor wins it again I will crack up.But he probably will.
Agree wit everyone about Lewis,he will storm through the first few rounds before his inevitable overhyped match against Taylor where he will proceed to be hammered 4/5/6/7-0 depending on the round and then complain about Taylors devious on stage farting during the game as a plausible excuse.

fredrickwood (Roscommon) - Posts: 2871 - 14/12/2010 20:27:37    833058

Htaem

832268 waynoI

Well that is the whole point of it wayno, I'm a backwards meath man :-)
-----------------
And waynoI I've just realised yours is I on yaw, is that some prmeval Hill 16 chant?

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 15/12/2010 09:51:27    833191