Tipp are Hurling Champions!!!!

Was the throwing of the hurley at Lar Corbett a sending off offence? It could have caused injury.

gaalltheway (Fermanagh) - Posts: 807 - 06/09/2010 18:59:39    766821

is throwing a hurl at a player not a red card.the intent is still there to injure a player.also how did tommy walsh stay on the field??when the pressure woz on he couldnt control himself..

trap (Meath) - Posts: 175 - 06/09/2010 19:07:02    766832

Congartulations to Tipp yesterday, a fantastic display and a deserved victory and even though I support Kilkenny you have to take your hat off to Tipp and the way they went about their buisness yesterday. Pity some people like Thurlesblues wouldn't show some respect to a Kilkenny team who were fantastic champions and set the bar high and made Tipp work to the level they reached yesterday, "training match".

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3772 - 06/09/2010 19:34:10    766867

great to be able to say that thought we'd never get there after may superb game was at it and was hoarse at half time best game i've been at the few kilkenny lads i talked to in fairness said tipp deserved it they also commented on brennan's performance and that maybe it could be his last anyway i'm so relieved commiserations to kilkenny ye'll be back as ye always are! the all ireland in every decade was kept yesterday

moddy91 (Tipperary) - Posts: 226 - 06/09/2010 19:43:35    766882

Well done to Tipp ,great performance.I was in the lower Cusack and really enjoyed the match.I thought the Tipp supporters were like a 16th man in the way they urged their team on right throught the game, no wonder they played with such fire!

Barnowl94 (Galway) - Posts: 3150 - 06/09/2010 19:51:48    766901

happy 26th birthday to Tipperary.

thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 06/09/2010 20:22:29    766958

I dont think Kilkenny have any strength in depth it is a myth. If they had they wouldnt have risked Shefflin as Cody had no one to replace him. Meanwhile in contrast look at what Tipp could spring from the bench 4 points in 4 mins from the subs. Now thats what I call strength in depth!!!

thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 06/09/2010 20:28:48    766973

congrats tipp!

UpTheHoops_x (Meath) - Posts: 47 - 06/09/2010 20:37:17    766984

the reason that Tipp have such an advantage over Kilkenny down through the years is because they dont take any messing off them and they are the only team that can completely close them down , open them up and bury them with goals

thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 06/09/2010 20:38:41    766988

06/09/2010 18:59:39
gaalltheway
County: Fermanagh

766821 Was the throwing of the hurley at Lar Corbett a sending off offence? It could have caused injury.
06/09/2010 19:07:02
Trap

766832 is throwing a hurl at a player not a red card.the intent is still there to injure a player.also how did tommy walsh stay on the field??when the pressure woz on he couldnt control himself..

Yes a red card should be shown.
If it had hit the player going through and he missed his goal chance I guess would it have definitely been a red card.
Refereees out there please clarify this scenario?

WestRules (Galway) - Posts: 271 - 06/09/2010 20:57:03    767024

Trap

Tommy Walsh was defending himself. He was hit off the ball.

thurlesblues cop onto yourself.

hurlingguru (Carlow) - Posts: 1863 - 06/09/2010 20:57:44    767026

Tipp Tipp Hurray! Well done Boys-what a game, what class beating class!

kerrykerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1779 - 06/09/2010 21:10:41    767043

What a tremendous game of hurling! The intensity was incredible. I was completely drained after the game, the players of both teams deserve massive credit for their performances. We got the goals at crucial times, and our bench made a big impact. Fair play to the cats for never giving up and making us pull out all the stops. So happy that a fellow Mullinahone man lifted Liam! It was a great day for hurling and a great day to be a Tipp supporter.

Tippsman (Tipperary) - Posts: 17 - 06/09/2010 21:12:01    767049

me thinks dat the hurly stick flew outs of his hand acidently ands dat whys the ref didin show hims a red.

The_Lug_Coa (Fermanagh) - Posts: 406 - 06/09/2010 21:56:21    767120

06/09/2010 20:28:48
thurlesblues
County: Tipperary

766973 I dont think Kilkenny have any strength in depth it is a myth. If they had they wouldnt have risked Shefflin as Cody had no one to replace him. Meanwhile in contrast look at what Tipp could spring from the bench 4 points in 4 mins from the subs. Now thats what I call strength in depth!!!

I like it - what a clever assesment!!!

Cavan_gael (Cavan) - Posts: 100 - 06/09/2010 21:59:37    767124

I said that Kilkenny wouldnt have a hope of coming within 7 points of Tipp in the final and I was right.

I based it on the fact that Tipperary are a far better team than they were last year and some of ye thought they had regressed. They are also way ahead of Kilkenny in terms of speed and class!

Tipp didnt care about Munster and peaked at the right time this year. Also Kilkenny were not tested all year. It also proves that Tipp should also have won the All Ireland last year only for the robbery as they were also a far better team than Kilkenny last year and Michael Wwadding did a tremenduous job as a ref and must be complimented as Kilkenny got no dodgy penalties on Sunday!!

tiobraid Arann Abu!!!!

thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 07/09/2010 08:05:54    767130

me thinks dat the hurly stick flew outs of his hand acidently ands dat whys the ref didin show hims a red.
The_Lug_Coa , 06/09/2010 at 21:56

It seems to have flown out of Tommy Walshes in the league final 2009 too when he threw it at Johno!!

thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 07/09/2010 08:09:34    767132

06/09/2010 20:28:48
thurlesblues

766973 I dont think Kilkenny have any strength in depth it is a myth. If they had they wouldnt have risked Shefflin as Cody had no one to replace him. Meanwhile in contrast look at what Tipp could spring from the bench 4 points in 4 mins from the subs. Now thats what I call strength in depth!!!

Yeah, why risk a 7 time All Ireland winner, 9 time All star, and all time top scorer. You're right KK had no one like that to replace him and just checking through the Tipp subs there wouldnt be anyone with that sort of CV either. That said Tipp had the better of the subs on the day.

Corrxxx (Kerry) - Posts: 584 - 07/09/2010 08:40:42    767143

Thats records now show 10 titles to Tipp against Kilkennys 5 in the last 15 meetings between them which shows that Kilkenny have a one in three chance of beating Tipp in an Aall Ireland final. We all know who the home of hurling is now!!

thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 07/09/2010 09:40:15    767183

thurlesblues

767183 Thats records now show 10 titles to Tipp against Kilkennys 5 in the last 15 meetings between them which shows that Kilkenny have a one in three chance of beating Tipp in an Aall Ireland final. We all know who the home of hurling is now!!

We all saw from the hash you made of the bettin odds that you're a bit shaky with numbers so try this.
How about KK have made the last 5 AI finals
Tipp have made 2 of the last 5 AI finals

That means KK have 100% of the finals and Tipp just 40%. So by my reckoning its almost certain KK will be in the final but less than a 1 in 2 chance that Tipp will.

Corrxxx (Kerry) - Posts: 584 - 07/09/2010 10:05:24    767215