Tipp are Hurling Champions!!!!

Midleton well spotted I obviously meant Kilkenny! Now when your on the subject of hurling why havee Cork allowed Tipp to outshine you lot?

Cavan_gael (Cavan) - Posts: 100 - 05/09/2010 20:12:54    765910

ha ha aha!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 05/09/2010 20:17:06    765913

they tackled like mad men ran themselves into the ground and never let kilkenny settle well done and a great win tippeary

hipster (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 05/09/2010 20:18:33    765915

question

whys killkenny called the cats?

The_Lug_Coa (Fermanagh) - Posts: 406 - 05/09/2010 20:19:22    765916

Ah goodman thurlesblues you are back. I'm absolutely thrilled for ye. Fair dues to you you were the one lad that called it from the start. thurlesblues=Hoganstand Legend.

corkcelt (Cork) - Posts: 4388 - 05/09/2010 20:19:51    765917

CavanGael We beat them by 10 points when we met them, we are not responsible for how Kilkenny play.

corkcelt (Cork) - Posts: 4388 - 05/09/2010 20:20:55    765921

Congratulations to Tipperary on a well deserved victory over who were undoubtedly the team of the century.

seaniek (Cork) - Posts: 5 - 05/09/2010 20:25:13    765926

Well Lug, the term Kilkenny cat refers to anyone who is a tenacious fighter. The origin of the term is now lost so there are many stories purporting to give the true meaning.

To "fight like a Kilkenny cat" refers to an old story about two cats who fought to the death and ate each other up such that only their tails were left. There is also a limerick (with optional added couplet) about the two cats:

There once were two cats of Kilkenny
Each thought there was one cat too many
So they fought and they fit
And they scratched and they bit
'Til (excepting their nails
And the tips of their tails)
Instead of two cats there weren't any!

WestRules (Galway) - Posts: 271 - 05/09/2010 20:29:43    765934

Congrats Tipp!
Might inspire other counties ahead of next season. Outside of today's two finalists, I'd see Galway as the next county who can win.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 9800 - 05/09/2010 20:35:41    765939

Brolly
County: Monaghan

Congrats tipp - kilkenny full forward had chance of goal with 4mins left - 6 in it, he tapped it over... anyone wanna tell me wot that was about??

Sheer unadulterated tiredness after giving a possibly MOTM performance, supported by Larkin.

I shall return with full analysis.

Well done Tipp, hungrier team won.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 05/09/2010 20:49:01    765951

WestRules

Could Tipp have done it without Lar Corbett

Eddie Brennan touched the ball three times today.

So did Corbett.

Let us not think hurling is soccer. fair play to Lar and Tipp but keep things in perspective.

There were about 10 Tipp lads at least, including the entire back line, and 6 from Kilkenny, who all did more than Lar.

As I said, well done Tipp, back with a full analysis tomorrow.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 05/09/2010 20:52:32    765956

05/09/2010 17:57:27
Cavan_gael

Would you give Lar Corbett hurling player of the year??

He hit the ball three times today, was Tipp's 12th best player.

Might as well give hurler of the year to Liam watson for scoring 6 from play against Cork, or Aisake for destroying Tipp. And the man he destroyed, Maher, was my man of the match today, and had a great semi as well so a far better candidate.

Today the Tipp DEFENCE and MID FIELD were wonderful.

Up front McGrath and Kelly were excellent, and yes the three times Lar touched the ball were goals. The first was excellent, the other two he applied the finishing touch after sterling work by others.

mybe they should be hurler of the year. In fact, Mcgrath has a far better shout after the semi and his work today.

But I fear we might go the soccer route. I mean didn't they give it to Big Dan one year, lovely man, but hurler of the year?

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 05/09/2010 20:58:55    765966

Congrats to Tipp - fantastic display against probably the greatest team of all time.
What a performance. I honestly didnt think that KK team could be beaten - but Tipp showed us all how its done.
I was at the game - fantastic game, great atmosphere, and a 'beautiful day' (despite the weather!)
Sorry for Henry - he probably should not have played at all but Im sure he'll (and KK) will be back next year.
Oh, how I'd love my own beloved Galway to win even one-in-a row!

aine007 (Galway) - Posts: 55 - 05/09/2010 21:03:00    765974

Brolly
County: Monaghan

Congrats tipp - kilkenny full forward had chance of goal with 4mins left - 6 in it, he tapped it over... anyone wanna tell me wot that was about??

Sheer unadulterated tiredness after giving a possibly MOTM performance, supported by Larkin.

I shall return with full analysis.

Well done Tipp, hungrier team won.
patrique , 05/09/2010 at 20:49
fear of the premier id say!!

thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 05/09/2010 21:09:47    765986

Cavan_gael

765910 Midleton well spotted I obviously meant Kilkenny! Now when your on the subject of hurling why havee Cork allowed Tipp to outshine you lot?

Easy to answer your question, Cavan Gael. You only had to see Tipp, today. Who could withstand them? And unfortunately the recent little "troubles" in Cork have seriously damaged morale in both the team - which is cobbled together from the "strikers" and Gerald's team - and the supporters. On the surface it appears healed but the wound is still festering and the bitterness still surfaces.

Midleton (Cork) - Posts: 646 - 05/09/2010 21:10:02    765987

Why is there such a silence from the Kilkenny posters???

Cavan_gael (Cavan) - Posts: 100 - 05/09/2010 21:14:54    765993

well done tipp

paddysrevenge (Cork) - Posts: 38 - 05/09/2010 21:20:37    766000

Well done Tipp won with a bit to spare at the end. The Shefflin gamble backfired big time. Cody may regret not having more faith in his squad to see Kilkenny through. I guess the 5 in a row was a bridge too far.

McIlhatton (Offaly) - Posts: 8 - 05/09/2010 21:35:24    766017

Cavan gael I was thinking along the same lines however with the interest in hurling in KK maybe all of KK's population is in Dublin and not yet got a chance to congratulate Tipp on this forum!!

tj09 (Cork) - Posts: 481 - 05/09/2010 21:57:00    766029

The cats are indeed very silent on this thread which goes to show how unprepared for their shock today as the gallant Tipp take the All Ireland hurling honours for 2010!!!

WestRules (Galway) - Posts: 271 - 05/09/2010 21:59:57    766034