Galway should refuse to play in Thurles.

Why dont they do what they do in football if Dublin get to an all Ireland final. They just go ahead and play the game in Croke Park!

Duffster (Meath) - Posts: 279 - 01/09/2010 21:57:39    763051

HAG_AND_CHEESE

I agree with you - the Galway inside forward line doesn't have the goal scoring power that has won us countless underage titles. While I couldn't tell much from Tipp and that poor Antrim team, the fact its three years on from that terrific minor team, and what everyone else tells me about the Munster Championship leads m to believe we'll be lucky. Still, you never know!

A friend told me that we've been in one of the main hurling finals every year for 15 years now, which is some record. Just wish more than 2 of them were senior!

abhainn (Galway) - Posts: 1000 - 02/09/2010 09:14:27    763084

Duffster,

Dublin u21 footballers played the final against Donegal in Cavan

Barnowl94 (Galway) - Posts: 3150 - 02/09/2010 09:22:01    763089

Anyone with a sense of fairplay can see that giving the Tipp lads such a huge advantage is unfair. The venue may have been chosen last May but no-one in Galway, Tipperary or HQ has a crystal ball that was going to tell them who the final teams were going to be. As soon as it became apparent that Tipp were going to qualify, alternative venues should have been chosen.

And thurlesblue; for a lad that isn't complaining about some players having to tog-out twice within a week, you are certainly bringing it up often enough. I think you doth protest too much. But then setting up straw men seems to be your MO in place of rational debate.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3154 - 02/09/2010 14:42:29    763462

In fairness I think Galway should put up and shut up and I'm a galway person. If galway are good enough to beat tipp in the first place it dosen't make a blind bit of difference if it was played up the North. If it is under lights then it is up to Galway to practice under lights. This arguing in doing no good to the players mind set. Oh we are playing in thurles so we have no chance of beating tipp. Cop on Galway Co Board this has been set for the last few months so just let this go cause the venue is not going to be changed

nemo (None) - Posts: 112 - 02/09/2010 15:23:32    763509

Anyone with a sense of fairplay can see that giving the Tipp lads such a huge advantage is unfair. The venue may have been chosen last May but no-one in Galway, Tipperary or HQ has a crystal ball that was going to tell them who the final teams were going to be. As soon as it became apparent that Tipp were going to qualify, alternative venues should have been chosen.

And thurlesblue; for a lad that isn't complaining about some players having to tog-out twice within a week, you are certainly bringing it up often enough. I think you doth protest too much. But then setting up straw men seems to be your MO in place of rational debate.
festinog , 02/09/2010 at 14:42

If Tipp change the venue will Galway give Tipp an extra week to recover cos ye cant have it everyway lads!!!

thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 02/09/2010 15:37:10    763525

at the moment thurles, the problem is not that we have it everyway, its that we don't have it any way.

abhainn (Galway) - Posts: 1000 - 02/09/2010 16:12:50    763567

Of course we wouldn't mind giving an extra week. If we are to win then we would like to do it under fair conditions playing Tipp's best team. Unlike Tipp in 1989, when trying to end the famine, we are not afraid to play Tipp's best team. If ye win then fair play to ye.

onlyhurling (Galway) - Posts: 800 - 02/09/2010 16:13:04    763568

Hey Galway lads answer this one!! In 1984 the All Ireland final was in Thurles between Offaly and Cork. Tipp wer unlucy to lose to Cork in Munster. If Tipp had benn in the final which was the centenary year would Offaly have objected to playing Tipp in Thurles?? Or would the GAA have rescheduled it just cos Tipp would have been playing. Get a grip lads and tell yer county board guys to stop cribbing on live radio yer a laughing stock yer going to beaten out the gate anyway!!

thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 02/09/2010 16:39:16    763608

thurlesblues
County: Tipperary

Hey Galway lads answer this one!! In 1984 the All Ireland final was in Thurles between Offaly and Cork. Tipp wer unlucy to lose to Cork in Munster. If Tipp had benn in the final which was the centenary year would Offaly have objected to playing Tipp in Thurles?? Or would the GAA have rescheduled it just cos Tipp would have been playing. Get a grip lads and tell yer county board guys to stop cribbing on live radio yer a laughing stock yer going to beaten out the gate anyway!!

But the fact is that it didnt happen. BIG DIFFERENCE!!!

hurlingguru (Carlow) - Posts: 1863 - 02/09/2010 17:00:50    763648

If my memory serves me correctly, Tipperary bottled it against Cork that year and conceeded two late goals (like last years senior final) so we will never know.

onlyhurling (Galway) - Posts: 800 - 02/09/2010 17:02:15    763650

hurlingguru , 02/09/2010 at 17:00

no difference as the Gaa would not have moved it and either Cork or Tipp would have hammered Offaly in the final anyway no matter where it was played as the Munster final that year was the All Ireland

thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 02/09/2010 17:04:04    763652

hurlingguru , 02/09/2010 at 17:00

the question still isnt answered hurlingguru as it was the centenery final would the venue have been changed no matter who contested the final??

thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 02/09/2010 17:05:50    763658

thurlesblues
County: Tipperary

the question still isnt answered hurlingguru as it was the centenery final would the venue have been changed no matter who contested the final??

Nobody can answer that as the scenario never happened unlike this year.

hurlingguru (Carlow) - Posts: 1863 - 02/09/2010 17:11:45    763668

If my memory serves me correctly, Tipperary bottled it against Cork that year and conceeded two late goals (like last years senior final) so we will never know.
onlyhurling , 02/09/2010 at 17:02

no we didnt bottle it just a bit of bad luck like last year thats all!

thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 02/09/2010 17:13:48    763676

Nobody can answer that as the scenario never happened unlike this year.
hurlingguru , 02/09/2010 at 17:11

Il answer it for you hurlingguru the GAA would not have changed the venue the same as they wont change the venue now for the u 21 hurling final
now ! there you go.

thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 02/09/2010 17:20:06    763686

its been played in the home of hurling what more do you want.

ScoobyDoo (Tipperary) - Posts: 96 - 02/09/2010 17:52:27    763736

it doesnt matter what was fixed months ago..........no team should have home advantage in an all ireland final.... galway should boycot the final if decesion not changed

AnSpidealfan (Galway) - Posts: 132 - 02/09/2010 18:29:05    763780

thurles blues, I say this in your (and HS users) best interests, get a life. Leave the house for a while and make a few friends.

throw_it_over (Galway) - Posts: 769 - 02/09/2010 18:36:31    763787

Id just want to comment on the venue for Saturdays final.

Tipp have to play Galway 6 days after a senior all ireland final when 8 of Tipps players are on the panel and are stilll celebrating with no time for recovery 6 days is very short and I think it is Galway who have the advantage here.

Also in 1984 the final was fixed for Thurles when Tipp were very unlucky not to make the final that game would still have gone ahead in Semple regardless if the final included Tipp or not.

If Dublin get to an All Ireland football will the venue be switched from Croke Parke to somewhere else as Dublin play all their home games there.

If ye are good enough ye will win as the whole of Tipp will travel no matter where the pitch is so I think ye should just concentrate on the game as you dont see Tipp cribbing about a 6 day interval when Galway will be the fresher team

my advice is get on with it lads!

thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 07/09/2010 10:45:37    767280