Painful Defeats

Losing to Dublin in the Replay of the Lienster Quarter final was very hard to take.I started crying at the final whistle because Meath dominated the first game and in the second game Meath could have had to goals because Kevin Rielly had a brilliant shot saved by Cluxton and Graham Geraghty hit the post in the second half.The wexford game in Carlow in 2008 was soul destoying.I neve felt so dead and it was like Meath football died that day because it was so hot and Carlow is such a small stadium and the Wexford supporters after the game were rubbing it in alot and i had to sit on a bus for 3 hours in the scorching heat in a huge tail back out of carlow and nobody was talking on the bus.But what made that day worse was the fact that Meath played the best half of Football i have ever seen from a Meath team that day and to be honest they could have been more than 10 points up at half time.But the second half! After Joe's goal was dissalowed Wexford took over and Meath collapsed.Injuries to Alan Nestor and Brian Meade were also damaging and Mark Wards red card ment that our 2 starting Midfielders were gome and Crawford was suspended.A bad day alround.

12Royal (Meath) - Posts: 987 - 01/09/2010 16:39:41    762676

losing to Cork last year in the munster final, last minute goal. made me sick...........

bealatha (Limerick) - Posts: 21 - 01/09/2010 16:59:13    762707

the semi final replay in 2008 v kerry..the quote ive said a million times since then is

"i thought we had em"

pidge (Cork) - Posts: 543 - 01/09/2010 17:08:14    762727

Galway in 2001 because id sort of grown up watching Meath being very competative and never really seen us getting a proper pasting until that day, so it was very hard to take a 9 point defeat, something i naively thought couldn't happen to us at the time. But fortunately the Meath team of 02-06 came along and completey cured my misguided confidence, so i don't really take defeats too badly anymore but having said that the loss to Wexford in 08 was disgraceful, completely soul destroying.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 01/09/2010 17:28:44    762755

the heavy defeat in in the Championship at Clones by meath a few years back

the game went as expected as Graham Geraghty ran riot and our lads had no answer

ochonlir (Cavan) - Posts: 4343 - 01/09/2010 17:37:50    762762

Dubfan85
as a dublin fan it was losing to mayo in 2006 think we were up 10 at half time only for ciaran mc doanald to break our hearts with a wonder kick

mayo were actually leading by a point at half time and dublin were 7 points up around the 50th minute. your most depressing defeat, but my favourite game ever in croke park. we havent had much to shout about up there over the years.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 12122 - 01/09/2010 18:02:43    762802

galway hurlers every year.

fatchops (None) - Posts: 127 - 01/09/2010 22:02:49    763061

Interesting that so many Meath people mention the Wexford game in 08. I can see where they are coming from but surely the timid way they exited against Kildare this year was worse? Personally, as a sympathetic observer!, I thought that was most disappointing Meath performance of recent years.

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 02/09/2010 09:48:23    763100

Getting whipped by Armagh in the Croke Park Ulster finals was hard to take but the most painful defeats were 2 Ulster finals against Derry.
The first was in 93 when they dethroned us as AI champions in Clones in an absolute monsoon.
The second was in 98 when Brolly scored a last minute goal to rob us. I can still see him blowing kisses at us in the stands. I could have choked him if I had come across him afetrwards.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 10366 - 02/09/2010 12:30:11    763271

02/09/2010 09:48:23
hurlingdub

763100 Interesting that so many Meath people mention the Wexford game in 08. I can see where they are coming from but surely the timid way they exited against Kildare this year was worse? Personally, as a sympathetic observer!, I thought that was most disappointing Meath performance of recent years.

ye your right there but we had such huge hopes in o8 after beating tyrone in 07 and getting to a semi final..this year was very dissapointing but sometimes you jus have to see you were bet by a better team

sam1996 (Meath) - Posts: 436 - 02/09/2010 12:41:42    763282

Wexford in 08 no question

itsgreenandgold (Meath) - Posts: 312 - 02/09/2010 12:48:05    763291

Lockjaw I remember 93 I was there think that was also the last time the Grassy part of the Hill was still in use, Common sense for the Ulster council to concrete it the following year Heath & Safety,

For me the most painful defeat has to be last years semi final against Cork Tyrone were completely out of sorts , rumours about Big Sean didn't help and bye the time Tyrone got to grips with Cork it was to late. Cork don't win SAM this year they never going to win it.

williewentwell (Tyrone) - Posts: 1712 - 02/09/2010 13:02:23    763313

No I wouldnt see the Kildare loss this year as a huge dissapointment because of the whole fiasco after the Leinster Final certainly affected the players even if they didnt want to admit it..despite that I do feel that if we beat Kildare we could have won the AI as like all Meath teams in any Championship in the last 20 years,we would have only got better as it went on..

proevo (Meath) - Posts: 296 - 02/09/2010 13:21:15    763340

1997 - probably worse than 96 in my opinion. we had a great team which was beat by the worst kerry team ever. a one man show. why kenny mort wasant switched onto fitz that day il never know.

yew_tree, the worst Kerry team ever??? A team containing Declan O'Keefe, Stephen Stack, Seamus Moynihan, Eamon Breen, Liam O"Flaherty, Dara O'Shea, Liam Hassett, Daire O'Cinneide, Maurice fitz, MF Russell, Johnny Crowley..........no shame or regrets in losing to a team like that!

u22ok (None) - Posts: 45 - 02/09/2010 14:32:21    763443

loosing the AI hurling final in 06
and last years football final, both games were sickening

tj09 (Cork) - Posts: 481 - 02/09/2010 17:40:06    763718

Got to admire Mayo for their comeback against The Dubs in 2006 , 7 points down with 18 minutes left , most people thought it was over but that day mayo showed why a game isnt over til the final whistle is blown ..

on a personal note , There is not one game in particular that has been a painful experience .. all defeats are hard to take but these few where that little bit harder.

2002 - All Ireland Semi Final V Armagh .. lost by one point .. but looking back i still think we missed a chance to beat them and reach our first all ireland final in 7 years .. unfortunately it wasnt to be ..

2005 - All Ireland Quarter final V Tyrone .. this went to a replay .. one which we where soundly beaten by 7 points .. no complaints .. that wasnt the painful game .. it was the first game .. as far as i can remember we where 5 maybe 6 points up at half time ? before Owen Mulligan scored "that goal" .. the best goal ive ever seen in HQ .. great moment from a great player .. tyrone came back to draw that game but it was a game that we really shouldnt of let slip away from us

2006 - All Ireland Semi V Mayo - As before mentioned up above .. 7 points up with 18 minutes to go .. you would of thought the lads learnt their lesson from the previous year .. its not over til the final whistle is blown .. less than 20 minutes to go with a bigger lead than the Tyrone first game the year before .. game over right ? WRONG .. Great comeback from mayo .. very very hard to take .. must of been nearly dark by the time i left the hill that day lol ..

2007 - All Ireland Semi v Kerry - We have a nack of losing by the 1 or 2 points in semi finals .. this was no different .. unlike previous 2 years it was dublin who fell behind and a concession of a goal at the start of the second half from D.O'Sullivan (i think) put Kerry into a lead , Dublin came back to level the game and the momentum was with us until Stephen Cluxton got a rush of blood to the head .. and went all maradona like in his own half only to misplace a pass that Kerry scored from (swinging the momentum back in their favour) .. kerry won by two ..

2008 - All Ireland Quarter Final V Tyrone - two years in a row we blew the chance to get to the all ireland final , after an emphatic victory v Wexford in the leinster final .. everyone expected us to beat Tyrone who where supposedly finished .. Tyrone turned up and gave us a footballing lesson .. beating us by 13 points .. horrible day too .. depressing all round

2009 - All Ireland Quarter final V Kerry - 17 point loss - enough said ..

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13659 - 02/09/2010 17:55:00    763737

ochonlir

the heavy defeat in in the Championship at Clones by meath a few years back

the game went as expected as Graham Geraghty ran riot and our lads had no answer

Ha ha. I see where your going with this one....
But for sheer audacity I'll give in and make the statement you want Meath posters to make...
"but did Cavan not beat Meath?...."

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6348 - 02/09/2010 18:14:27    763769

kildare 98

32_4_1 (Meath) - Posts: 4211 - 02/09/2010 18:46:30    763799

None of them bothered me. I went out and bought meself a new gúna after each defeat :) nah really the one that hurt the most so far and I'm sure there will be many more, is the Kerry defeat last year. It took me weeks to get over it.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 02/09/2010 19:58:50    763882

2006: Everything going into the A-I final seemed right for Mayo. Got under the Dubs skin and then outplayed them for most of the semi-final. Even made a terrific comeback after falling asleep for the first 15 minutes of the second half when the Dubs ran riot. Then it was Kerry again in the final and hoped that 2004 would have taught the more experienced players something. It was all very tense and close during the parade, but then The Kingdom started to pull away during the final 70 minutes... a painful day!!

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 02/09/2010 19:59:11    763883