Kilkenny V Tipperary All Ireland SHC Final 2010

71 & 91 were one-offs and well you know it. If we take the first mentioned year of 1971. This was Tipp's first AI final victory in six years and of course it would take another 18 for the feat to be achieved once again. That makes it one AI in a quarter of a century. The phrase "flash in the pan" springs to mind. And as regards the '91 Final victory. I read a number of weeks ago that Pat Foxe claimed they were "very lucky" to win that final. I can still recall sports journalists in the Indo castigating the Cork referee's performance in said final to this day-only two years after John Denton disgracefully robbed a wonderful set of Tribesmen of a wholly deserved three in a row. That's why I'd take any criticism of a certain Mr. D. Kirwan from last year with a very large dollop of salt indeed-and we won't even mention that heinous U21 shambles vs Clare a number of years ago where Tipp once again benefitted hugely from incompetent and cringeworthy ineptitude from officialdom. As we saw at the commencement of the 70s,90s and 00s an early Tipp victory in each of these ten year timeframes certainly didn't stand them in good stead for the rest of these decades. In my lifetime I have been privileged to witness Kk,Cork,Galway,Offaly & Clare all win more than one AI in a given decade. For a county where certain supporters would have us believe Tipp are God's gift to the hurling world you record in post lunar landing times leaves an awful lot to be desired. Handy victories? 2002 Kk 1-20 Tipp 1-16. 2003 Kk 3-18 Tipp 0-15 (the game where B. Cummins earned his All Star-lost count of the number of goals he saved). And of course the memorable 2-22 to 0-23 from last year. But of course '71 & '91 are of much greater relevance to the current set up right? LOL!!! By the way if the fact that Tipp are the better team because they have a better record vs Kk in AI Finals then Down are a better footballing county than Kerry. Is that what you're saying?
naglfar95 , 03/09/2010 at 21:05

Thats a fair long post nagflar and to answer your question yes! Tipp are a far better hurling county than Kilkenny ye normally win them when we are not there ye fluked it last year with the help of an ofally referee which wont happen this year , and yes play ing Kilkenny in an all ireland final is usually a handy one for Tipp as we love playing ye than anyone else in the final as history shows ye have very rarely beaten us in finals and when ye did it was normally with the help of a 3rd official like last year.
we cant wait to meet ye again.

hells kitchen is waiting for ye. "Boo"! oops are ye scared??? ha ha / another handy one for the Tipp men!! aS THE RATTLER WOULD SAY another link on the necklace!

thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 03/09/2010 21:14:16    764784

did you know nagflar that although Offfaly are well able to beat ye and have beaten ye several times that they have never managed to beat Tipp in a senior championship game now thats some embarrassment for ye isnt it? shure Antrim should have beat ye in 1991 sorry Offaly and Antrim no disrespect but shure God help us!!!

thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 03/09/2010 21:18:17    764786

71 & 91 were one-offs and well you know it. If we take the first mentioned year of 1971. This was Tipp's first AI final victory in six years and of course it would take another 18 for the feat to be achieved once again. That makes it one AI in a quarter of a century. The phrase "flash in the pan" springs to mind. And as regards the '91 Final victory. I read a number of weeks ago that Pat Foxe claimed they were "very lucky" to win that final. I can still recall sports journalists in the Indo castigating the Cork referee's performance in said final to this day-only two years after John Denton disgracefully robbed a wonderful set of Tribesmen of a wholly deserved three in a row. That's why I'd take any criticism of a certain Mr. D. Kirwan from last year with a very large dollop of salt indeed-and we won't even mention that heinous U21 shambles vs Clare a number of years ago where Tipp once again benefitted hugely from incompetent and cringeworthy ineptitude from officialdom. As we saw at the commencement of the 70s,90s and 00s an early Tipp victory in each of these ten year timeframes certainly didn't stand them in good stead for the rest of these decades. In my lifetime I have been privileged to witness Kk,Cork,Galway,Offaly & Clare all win more than one AI in a given decade. For a county where certain supporters would have us believe Tipp are God's gift to the hurling world you record in post lunar landing times leaves an awful lot to be desired. Handy victories? 2002 Kk 1-20 Tipp 1-16. 2003 Kk 3-18 Tipp 0-15 (the game where B. Cummins earned his All Star-lost count of the number of goals he saved). And of course the memorable 2-22 to 0-23 from last year. But of course '71 & '91 are of much greater relevance to the current set up right? LOL!!! By the way if the fact that Tipp are the better team because they have a better record vs Kk in AI Finals then Down are a better footballing county than Kerry. Is that what you're saying?

wer laughing at ye man we always will be!

thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 03/09/2010 21:23:29    764794

Actually I've the height of respect for Offaly. Very small hurling area in that particular area of Leinster & have been a more successful team that Tipp in winning AIs in my lifetime. Fair dues to them if they've beaten Kk in the Championship & fair dues to Clare for putting the 3-27 to 2-09 drubbing experienced by them in July '93 into proper perspective for the remainder of the decade. Remember John Leahy at the final whistle in '97. Wow did I punch the air in glee that day. I'll say it again four AIs in 45 years?! And NO sign of that changing anytime soon. Face it since '71 you've been living in our shadow. A shadow that with every passing year lengthens ever more. We've 2/5 with the bookies for a reason. Is it true they want to bring John Denton out of retirement to ref this match? Or will they take a chance with the man whose wife hails from the (cough) "home of hurling!"

naglfar95 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 24 - 03/09/2010 21:57:54    764814

And one more thing TB-have you ever come across spellcheck on your computer?!

naglfar95 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 24 - 03/09/2010 21:59:26    764815

nagalfar:
couldn't you ever offer a fair and frank assessment of tipp rather than the anti-tipp bile you love spouting? i've a few kilkenny friends great craic and banter with them, and thankfully they're not anything like you

moddy91 (Tipperary) - Posts: 226 - 04/09/2010 11:45:05    764866

To be frank about it I actually supported Tipp in the Munster ("Famine is Over") replay of '87. In August of the same year I went on a family holiday to west Clare and can recall watching the Tipp vs Galway semi-final in a pub in either Spanish Point or Lahinch. To my astonishment everyone in the establishment without exception was roaring not for the underdog but for Galway. I really wanted to find out why Tipp were so disliked and when I started going to League & Championship matches their team partook in the answer became apparent. It was then I changed my opinion of the misleadingly nicknamed "Premier County." Whereas every county (including my own) will have its fair share of undesirables it would appear from my own experience that in Tipp's case they form a hardcore of what constitutes their support base and are more than a significant minority. A poster of the An Fear Rua website said it all when he stated that it would be easier to listen to the Kk fans toasting five in a row than it would be to those west of Johnstown who still believe a single AI per decade is the sole measure of a team's true worth.

naglfar95 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 24 - 04/09/2010 13:05:02    764915

Just joined was reading the post most of them full of crap I am a member of quite a few forums and this is the worst topic of all if it was on the other forums it would ben deleted.

I am Kilkenny trough and through but would not rubbish any team or player I think Kilkenny will win tomorrow for the following reasons
1. They are current champions and such have the winning ethos.
2. If you take the Munster final Waterford stuggled to beat Cork. Kilkenny Hammered Cork losing their centre bck nd forward inside 20 minutes. Waterford
gave tipp 3 soft goals without this happening I dont think tipp would have won
3. Tipp are not playing as well as last year their team is not settled and they are introducing new wing forwards onto the best wing backs in the game at the
moment.
4. Tipp still rely on 2 forwards for the bulk of their scores in tight matches and when the chips were down against Cork the new generation of tipp players went
missing.
5. No other team have done 5 in a row so where is the pressure in Kilkenny not like last year when a few teams had done 4 in a row this year kilkenny are
playing with no fear and are better balanced with Hickey at full back.

Slagging or calling names never won matches let alone the hurler on the ditch.

Discuss the match for its merits not the fantasies you lot are talking.

Dzer (Kilkenny) - Posts: 29 - 04/09/2010 13:09:38    764919

well if you had bothered knowing your history tipp was nicknamed the 'premier county' because there was intense nationalist feeling in the county long before the gaa was founded in or around the fenian risings in the early 19th century in fact it was a cork man that gave tipp that name and by the way one all ireland a decade is poor but that's rich coming from you since ye never bother promoting football i don't even think there's a football in the kilkenny logo must be a sliotar

moddy91 (Tipperary) - Posts: 226 - 04/09/2010 13:23:44    764929

Your wrong there moddy.

hurlingguru (Carlow) - Posts: 1863 - 04/09/2010 14:36:52    764986

moddy its the eve of HURLING FINAL and you are still bringing up KK football,I think everyone with any interest in hurling is looking forward to tomorrow,why dont you lighten up and do the same,and for what its worth I will repeat that I think KK will win,it will I think be a close game,lets hope we have a great game of hurling

mooncat (Kilkenny) - Posts: 543 - 04/09/2010 15:15:30    765017

Moddy 91 let's be frank here. If you went to counties like Donegal,Louth,Roscommon or Kildare in the morning and asked around the streets of any given town or village for the name of one Tipp footballer you'd be left with blank expressions all round. You might get offered the name of their sole football All Star but I believe he's retired now. It says a lot when the most famous football match in said county was the u21 Final played in Littleton on 3rd January '93 involving Aherlow & Eire Og-and I don't think it was anything to do with the quality of the football on offer that made it famous! Kk on the other hand have a mere 43 GAA Clubs in the whole county-third fewest after Leitrim & Carlow. If their county board choose to promote what sadly is a minority sport in GAA realms on the island of Ireland they should be lauded for so doing. I mean Cork have somewhere between 205 and 210 GAA Clubs in their county so of course they have the numbers required to give priority to both codes.

naglfar95 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 24 - 04/09/2010 15:17:06    765021

I am not from a hurling county but when i look at the Hurling Championship i am of the opinion that this year there were only 3 or 4 counties in contention for it and over the last number of years i would say there were about 6 teams in contention in any given year. So is a 5 in a row that much of a feat ? This year i had it down to Kilkenny, Tipp and Cork for Liam with outside chances for Galway and maybe Waterford with the rest making up the numbers !!

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 04/09/2010 15:26:00    765025

right boys sorry about that just hate it when someone loves having a go at the state of tipp hurling we have a crap record in fairness in the last 40 years my apologies tho the kilkenny posters hope its a great game

moddy91 (Tipperary) - Posts: 226 - 04/09/2010 15:50:31    765046

dzer while I agree with some of your post I also disagree with some of it, granted you can say that Tipp are not playing aswell as last year but I disagree I think they are actually in a better position than last year, they got through an enthralling game with Galway which really lifted Tipp I can't remember the last time we won a tight game in Croker, I also think that Tipp were always that bit better than Waterford no offence to the Deise but I don't think I could ever see them losing it after the first 20 mins. As regards the 2 scoring forwards which 2 are you talking about because there are more than 2, and before you respond I can name a few kk forwards who have not performed to their high standards in this years championship, meaning they have had 1 quiet game. As regards Hickey he is a phenomenal player but he has not been tested this year. I have question marks over a couple of the Tipp backs this year but there has not been the switches of last year. I can't wait for it now, it should be a cracker. Also as regards the kk 'injuries' I have spoken about it on another forum but I have recently heard that all details have not been released about these 'injuries' if Cody wasn't playing mind games then why were all the details not released? It was a shrewd move in trying to distract talk and pressure off of the 5 in a row. There is big pressure to do the 5 in a row if they do it they will be unquestionably the best team of all time but if they don't they will be compared with the 4 in a row teams and the argument will always be there, that is where the pressure is.

tipptothetop (Tipperary) - Posts: 531 - 04/09/2010 16:50:15    765083

As regards the Tipp fans naglfar we all know we have our bad eggs I remember a certain u-21 final and we got thrashed and I remember certain kk fans shouting lock the gates make them watch it and getting ridiculed but don't worry I wasn't one of those walking out early stayed for the presentation aswell, ye were very gracious winners indeed!!

tipptothetop (Tipperary) - Posts: 531 - 04/09/2010 17:01:28    765087

My feeling is now,
Tipp full back line dodgy,
Half forward line untested,

Kilkenny by 8+ points.

Redfoot (Cork) - Posts: 388 - 04/09/2010 17:24:40    765100

Up to now I was totally convinced that KK would win handily , maybe I have become indoctrinated by thurlesblues but I have a growing doubt about the result. How big a gamble is it to play Sheflin and Tennyson, if one or the other breaks down early on will it give the impetus to Tipp. I believe Tipp are flying in training and I am now gone into the 50/50 camp. I am 100% supporting Tipp but more then anything I want to see a great competitive game of hurling. I had a ticket for the game but I have given it to a Tipp lad who was desperate for one, so I'm staying at home and watching it on telly. Hurling Abu.

corkcelt (Cork) - Posts: 4388 - 04/09/2010 17:49:36    765111

corkcelt:
fair dues i hope the tipp lads won't dissapoint you a lot of my mates mostly from limerick want kilkenny to win and couldn't stand the though of tipp winning

moddy91 (Tipperary) - Posts: 226 - 04/09/2010 18:16:04    765140

apologies accepted moddy91,lets hope we have a great game worthy of the occasion,and may the real wineer 2morro be our great game

mooncat (Kilkenny) - Posts: 543 - 04/09/2010 19:38:58    765217