Louth deserve a replay

Great post Beautiful Meath.

People are here too quick to put the boot in on Meath because of their history. For the last time people wake up, IT WAS THE REF AND UMPIRE WHO ALLOWED THE GOAL.

Wait til you see, when Meath do get beaten the whole country will be celebrating.

Laytown Legend (None) - Posts: 424 - 12/07/2010 10:29:33    704597

This was posted as a new thread and moved here to keep all relevant discussion in the one place.

Board: National
User: jimbodub
Giles: Always thought this guy was a class act.
Giles calls for replay
Trevor Giles has called on the CCCC to replay yesterday's controversial Leinster SFC final between Meath and Louth.
Writing in the Irish Examiner, the Royal County legend admitted that Meath's last-gasp winning goal should have been disallowed and claimed the victory won't do Eamonn O'Brien's side "any favours".
"Louth had a corner forward called Judge but they got little justice at Croke Park yesterday. It was Meath who got out of jail," Giles said.
"After a brilliant block by Louth captain Paddy Keenan to deny Seamus Kenny a certain goal, Joe Sheridan showed great desire in winning the ball and was trying to score a goal, but carried the ball over the line which, in my view, was a foul.
"A free-out should have been awarded to Louth and with time up the final whistle should have been blown giving Louth a one-point victory. The referee only seemed to consult with one umpire and not for long either.
"If I were the CCCC, I would unhesitatingly offer Louth a replay next weekend. I seem to remember Laois and Carlow replaying a few years ago over a point that wasn't.
"If this victory stands, it won't do Meath any favours because there will always be a question mark over the result. They have definitely improved since last year and the win over Dublin was a big step in their development. The next step is to win a provincial title, but not in this manner."
Meath lads on this site should really wise up

Administrator (None) - Posts: 2274 - 12/07/2010 10:31:25    704602

Louth Deserve nothing! they missed enough chances to win two games - was absolutely delighted to see them beaten, if a team cant score frees in front of the goals from 21 yards they deserve to be beaten. Their discipline let them down with their constant fouling in second half, they simply dont know how to win and thats the end of it! Martin Sludden made a call and whether it was right or wrong he still deserves credit for refereeing the match well overall. He gave Louth enough easy free to win the match by 5 / 6 points.
Shame on you Louth for even asking for a replay.
Loyal GAA supporter

CDCarmen (Tyrone) - Posts: 2 - 12/07/2010 10:33:39    704606

If Meath county board have any decency they will offer a replay.

dammon (Meath) - Posts: 1291 - 12/07/2010 10:34:22    704608

This is madness saying Louth should be thrown out of the championship. They where completely robbed. Its not Meaths fault either. Its the 2 umpires and the ref who got it completely wrong. It was an awfull decision. Some of the refeering has been terrible this year and just dont know what the linesmen or umpires do be looking at.
Their was outrage in Ireland when Henry robbed us and we all wanted a replay but to be fair it was never going to happen. Its all part of the game unfortunately. I do feel for Louth players and supporters cause they deserved to win but i dont think a replay is possible.
As for the guys who entered the field afterwards id say they must feel like some idiots today, but then its all heat of the moment stuff. Where were the gaurds? More cut backs from the GAA but still no drop in ticket prices. Say we have to start taking a long look at our much loved organisation and address the problems that exist

rebeltrev (Cork) - Posts: 344 - 12/07/2010 10:34:58    704610

Although a lot of the Louth players shouldn't be allowed play after their behavior towards Sheridan and the ref

dammon (Meath) - Posts: 1291 - 12/07/2010 10:37:24    704616

I'm in two minds here whether to award the replay. I think the Meath team and only them should make the decision. They had plenty of wrong decisions go against them throughout the whole game and if they think its just deserved that they get the win from another poor decision well them fair play to them.

I heard that Sean Boylan was struck up in the stand after the game also.... This in itself rules out a replay in my book. Thugs......

Everyone is saying it wasnt the team that caused the trouble after the game that it was the fans... well it wasnt the Meath team that made a wrong decision it was the ref...

NO REPLAY....

happycamper (Meath) - Posts: 16 - 12/07/2010 10:37:35    704619

Theres not a chance Louth will get a replay,how can you award a trophy and go through all the speeches etc like Nigel Crawford did and then take it away from him,have every sympathy for Louth but its an amateur game,mistakes will be made! time to draw a line under this and move on now!!

Andycapp (Meath) - Posts: 3 - 12/07/2010 10:38:47    704620

Did anyone see the Louth player completely gouge the face of no10 for Meath while he was on the ground. They always pick out things like this in the Kerry games will the CCCC pick this out too????

happycamper (Meath) - Posts: 16 - 12/07/2010 10:41:20    704627

Louth dont deserve a replay. They deserve to be awarded the match. It was the last play of the game and it was clear that no gaol was scored legally so the proper thing to do would be to award Louth the match.

denzel (None) - Posts: 452 - 12/07/2010 10:42:10    704629

give them replay and move this thing on.we want to win leinster but not in this way.

howard (Meath) - Posts: 28 - 12/07/2010 10:45:38    704634

Denzel ye make me laugh hahahaha

happycamper (Meath) - Posts: 16 - 12/07/2010 10:46:37    704637

Hard to know if the replay will happen, it is the fair option, but its Meath and they will only feel bullied into a corner to give this.
As it was pointed out last night big joe was wrong in a couple of decisions on the goal, such a pity the umpires bottled the decision.
What happened afterwards is a disgrace but its a separate issue and should be dealted with that way. No need for comments of a replay in Navan with no Louth suppport at all, thats just pure nonsense. Meath supporters are just as passionate as the Louth and if it were the other way around I could still see that ref being tackled to be honest.
Hold our breath and see if theres a replay, im sure the GAA would want the money.

rossielassie (Roscommon) - Posts: 672 - 12/07/2010 10:48:56    704644

denzel

704629 Louth dont deserve a replay. They deserve to be awarded the match. It was the last play of the game and it was clear that no gaol was scored legally so the proper thing to do would be to award Louth the match.

This is what would happen if there was any justice... but it wont happen.

Louth are the true champions... It's like Apollo Creed winning the first fight against Rocky on points, everyone knew who the true Champion was... and it ate Apollo Creed up inside.. he had to go and fight him again to prove it...

Those Meath lads dont feel like champions this morning... and Joe Sheridan declaring he was fouled is an absolute joke! He should be ashamed of himself... no way was that a peno Joe.. wise up and be man enough to admit that you fouled the ball.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 12/07/2010 10:51:54    704652

AnFearBeag: I agree with most of what is being said here:
I agree that the the disgraceful behaviour of a small number of Louth "supporters" sgould not be rewarded with a second game.
I agree that referees are only human and make mistakes and we have to put up with that and get on with things.
I agree that he made so many poor decisions yesterday that cost Meath 2-3 points so the poor decisions probably evened themselves out.
I agree that Louth would never in a million years offer a replay if the roles were reversed.
I agree that very few other counties would do either.

And yet I would still like to see the county board come out this evening and offer to replay the game. Cant really explain why - just think its the right thing to do.

Well said. I think your assessment is absolutely correct and a credit to you. As a fervent Meath fan I think Sludden had an terrible game yesterday and made a litany of mistakes that cost Meath dearly at times and as such I do not believe that it would have been just had Meath lost this game.

BUT, and this is only point really worth making in all of this: there is still room for pride and honour and a sense of fair play in amateur sport, of which the GAA still represents one of the finest traditions in any country or any games, and one would hope that a county of Meath's immense pedigree in Gaelic Football would rather win or lose a title on unequivocal merit, than have it tainted or questioned for reasons not of their making. You would hope that the players' themselves would rather know for certain in their own minds that they REALLY deserved to win. This is something that they will carry with them as players and as men for the rest of their lives.

You could not have said any better AnFearBeag. There is the opportunity to do something special, noble and uplifting in the interest of sport and fair play and out of respect to the game and to your fellow competitors, and it is my fervent hope that Meath will rise above the petty and the stupid in all this, and offer Louth the replay and let the truly best team win, unhindered and unaided by refereeing or umpiring mistakes.

Meath1986 (Dublin) - Posts: 247 - 12/07/2010 10:53:25    704657

A lot of people giving out about what Joe Sheridan said immediately after the match.
He didn't have the benefit of action replays a that time.
He didnt know at that time the amount of controversy that was about to erupt.
I mean...... who would have forecast that the Leinster Final would have overshadowed the World Cup?

It would be interesting to hear what Joe is saying today now that he has time to reflect?

BIG SACKS (Tyrone) - Posts: 1681 - 12/07/2010 11:00:06    704671

It was a shocking decision alright and Louth deserve to be Leinster champions but I don't know about a replay. These things happen. They need to use this injustice to spur them on to future successes.

If they do get a replay, then I demand the 1928 all-ireland final is replayed as we were robbed when Kildare threw the winning goal!

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12120 - 12/07/2010 11:02:23    704679

I dont think Louth should be awarded a replay. Wrong decision was made on the day but it wasn't the first nor wont be the last. Everybody is caught up in the emotion of it all due to the length of time since Louths last success. The referee had a bad game full stop, but similar to a player he didnt go out to intentionally make the wrong calls. Meath hold absolutely no blame for what happened yesterday, Joe Sheridan did as any player trying to win a match would. I have sympathy for Louth but the actions of the supporters afterwards is completly unaccepable, unfortunately for majority, this minority of eejits have painted you in a bad light. I wish Louth the best in the back door and hope they can keep their summer rolling for a while yet.

paddyreilly (Cavan) - Posts: 22 - 12/07/2010 11:17:11    704720

This was posted as a new thread and moved here to keep all relevant discussion in the one place.Board: National
User: xxx
Free Tickets
IF match is replayed would entry be free or would the gaa be awarded financially for the blunder yesterday.

Administrator (None) - Posts: 2274 - 12/07/2010 11:22:14    704732

COME ON MEATH give Louth a replay and put all this behind you. I know it was a BIG mistake by the officials but today no one outside Meath is happy for your win. You don't want to be another France as we all seen the bad luck they had in the world cup for hand ball. You have a great team who left it in the dressing room yesterday so why not give Louth a replay and go out and play Louth with the real Meath team we know you have.

CoTyrone (Tyrone) - Posts: 261 - 12/07/2010 11:33:04    704755