Louth deserve a replay

Sludden had a decent game but made one woeful decision. Fans reaction cannot be condoned on any grounds but this is not representative on the 25,000+ Louth fans -- let the Garda and Leinster Council deal with those few lads who didn't have enough cop on. Major kudos to Fitzer (Louth manager) and players for doing their part to help prevent a worse outcome.

As for the match -- we're the Leinster champions in my book. It was a free out in the most blatant sense and, presumably, Sludden would have blown it up in that case too. Nice win -- now if we have to go through qualifiers to get another crack at Meath then we have all the incentive we need.

level (Louth) - Posts: 101 - 11/07/2010 17:40:24    703690

Meath goal should be disallowed and at least 2 points from Louth should be disallowed for over carrying....Meath should be given 2 points for 2 wrong decisions when they should have been given kickable frees....it evens itself out....

Rydell (Meath) - Posts: 4 - 11/07/2010 17:41:28    703692

fortyfive you must secretly love dublin as in a game that doesnt even involve the dubs you still try to find a reason to argue against dublin --- its 15years at that rate why not give kerry a replay for seamey darbys push or in 1901 sum farmer encrouging on the pitch

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 11/07/2010 17:42:18    703695

dry your eyes people louth had knowone but themselves to blame to many missed frees etc they should have been out of sight

dj27legend (Down) - Posts: 641 - 11/07/2010 17:43:47    703697

reminiscent of the ireland v france game. The deserving team losing to an obvious breach in rules which is accompanied by claims of a replay that simply won't be followed through.

fuppin (Tyrone) - Posts: 567 - 11/07/2010 17:47:39    703704

After what those thugs of so called fans did there will be no chance of a replay!!

longford07 (Longford) - Posts: 161 - 11/07/2010 17:51:46    703714

Ok louth were robbed, but its time for a few on here to wise up, the GAA CAN NOT force a replay for this! This is fact. There is no rule allowing for this. The only way it will be replayed is if Meath offer a replay, which I think is highly unlikely, but its the only viable chance for Louth.

Lebowski (Meath) - Posts: 363 - 11/07/2010 17:52:53    703716

will ye stop comparing to foreign sports this the gaa ye complain bout the soccer bandwagoners sounds like ye luv soccer 2

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 11/07/2010 17:53:10    703717

disgrace - i really cant put into words how sorry i feel for louth.
there will be no replay - unless meath county council offered one and leinster council agreed. the good has been knocked out of it now anyway.

anyone else agree the gaa will cover all this up with a call for pitch invasion bans etc.....?

i think its unfair to call the supporters soccer louts - where are the soccer louths when there are worse offences in club games around the country. if that happened my own county in an all ireland id go for the ref myself. Louth people should have staged a sit down or mabey plan a protest at HQ tomorrow. offaly gained their repaly in 98 so who knows?

LOUTH LEINSTER SENIOR FOOTBALL CHAMPIONS 2010.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11236 - 11/07/2010 17:54:06    703720

hill16no1man as I have stated the result should stand as in 95, were there was two faux pas the 1st a player should have walked but didn't and the 2nd a perfectly good point that wasn't given to earn a much deserved draw, but that was then and this is now and the result should stand NO REPLAY!

fortyfive (Tyrone) - Posts: 5929 - 11/07/2010 17:55:28    703722

Anyone on here that points the finger at the Meath players have a different agenda. The meath player made a clear attempt to kick the ball. Fact is the umpire made a terrible decision and thats it. It was an easy decision to make. How it was missed is beyond me

left back (None) - Posts: 83 - 11/07/2010 17:55:57    703725

It all depends how much of an outcry is as to whether there is a replay given.
Meath could volunteer but hardly will .... its not their fault after all.

BIG SACKS (Tyrone) - Posts: 1681 - 11/07/2010 17:59:07    703732

Could be big trouble if Jimmy McGee gets on the case !!!!
It might not go away...

BIG SACKS (Tyrone) - Posts: 1681 - 11/07/2010 18:01:40    703737

meath goalie carried ball over the line in last years quarter final umpires missed it no calls for a replay then!!!!

exiled1 (Mayo) - Posts: 51 - 11/07/2010 18:02:27    703739

i agree with rydell. it evens itself out

royal14 (Meath) - Posts: 25 - 11/07/2010 18:06:39    703746

11/07/2010 17:55:57
left back

703725 Anyone on here that points the finger at the Meath players have a different agenda. The meath player made a clear attempt to kick the ball. Fact is the umpire made a terrible decision and thats it. It was an easy decision to make. How it was missed is beyond me

The umpire didn't make a terrible decision- if a goal is scored legitimatley then the umpire automatically goes for the green flag-in this case the umpire didnt do this until he was directly instructed to do so by the referee. At no time did the referee question the validlty of the goal to the umpire. So ultimatley the mistake lies with the ref

GrizzlyAdams (Tyrone) - Posts: 576 - 11/07/2010 18:11:12    703756

louth got a goal from a free that never was how many points did louth get from frees that shouldnt have been given dont talk crap about a replay

sam1996 (Meath) - Posts: 436 - 11/07/2010 18:11:21    703757

Left back - I've just watched the replay back again a few times. Sheridan won the ball but was losing his balance and ended up on his knees, he hadn't been in contact with any of the Louth players (he did collide with another Meath player) but he then came up against the keeper (who doesn't seem to make any attempt to foul him). Sheridan used his strength to roll over the keeper only to find himself in the net. The picture from the back of the goal clearly shows him throwing the ball and then making half an attempt to kick at it. As he was inside the goal that was academic (it isn't a score if you carry the ball over the goal line). In the build-up, one Meath player was definitely in the square and another enters the square as the original high ball dropped in. The square ball issue is pretty standard - mistakes like that are made all the time - but carrying the ball over the goal line is a technical error on the part of the ref and officials (in letting it stand as a score). I don't ever remember it coming up before.
It shows how low all our expectations are that hardly anyone is pointing out that Sherdian could have held his hands up and said "I carried it over the line". Win at all costs? In this instance, everyone, Meath included, are the losers. Was Sheridan not the one hovering by the umpire and ref? Not like he didn't have a chance to say anything...

pearsesabu (Antrim) - Posts: 663 - 11/07/2010 18:11:28    703758

Lebowski...

From listening to TAKE YOUR POINT your summation is about right. No replay unless Meath offer it.
Why should they?
If the GAA have a replay this time every game would have to be replayed. I have never seen a match where the ref didnt make at least one mistake. As the pundits said Louth did get a couple of soft frees earlier and also they should have been well ahead instead of just hanging on.

BIG SACKS (Tyrone) - Posts: 1681 - 11/07/2010 18:18:48    703779

bad decision yea but are we to disect every decision that leads to scores over 70 mins it levels itself out. Look at the penalty kk was given last year or the free against cork today it was disgraceful wat happened that ref today and those involved should be brought before a court of law scumbags

booboo (Cork) - Posts: 1382 - 11/07/2010 18:19:17    703781