Louth deserve a replay

clareman are you still bitter bout 98 ??? em regards yesterday 3 points up and a dubious decision at the end so yea felt we could have deservedly won as for clare ye are now perhaps the worst team in liam so stones and glass houses

booboo (Cork) - Posts: 1382 - 12/07/2010 16:12:23    705569

Louth deserve a replay, no doubt about it.
BUT....I believe that in such an event referees should unite and declare they will not officiate during the replay unless and until the hooligan thugs who assaulted the referee and Meath player are identified, a move which would pressurise people in Louth who know the identity of these hooligans to bring their names to the gardai.

AntrimCD (Antrim) - Posts: 1 - 12/07/2010 16:15:02    705576

MiamigoVeronica.. I don't agree that the scale of the incident should be taken into account. I know the occasion and the pressure may get to a ref but at the end of the day the rules are written down in black and white, he has to make a call based on them rules, emotion, sentiment, the occasion or timing should not be a factor in the decision making process. A foul in the first minute should be treated the same as a foul in the last minute.

Now the ref did get it horribly wrong yesterday. But what I'm saying, and I think what booboo was sayin is that these incorrect decisions shouldn't have more or less weight attached to them due to timing, the fact that louth were underdogs or the amount of "furrore" generated by it.

When everyone sits down and looks at it this morning it is a technical foul and a poor decision by the ref. Very unfortunate circumstance but thats still all it is.

To replay because of that starts down a slippery slope. I know its been done before with carlow and laois and I do think that was very noble but football has changed the people following it has changed and the coverage it gets in the media has changed alot in the last 15 years. If this is replayed then it will set a trend and you will have teams looking for replays every month.

I think what we can take out of this is that the GAA needs to address their rules. Maybe for next years league campaign we will have a video ref of some sort, I'd be totally up for that and it would have cleared that up in 1 minute yesterday.

miteymeath (Meath) - Posts: 98 - 12/07/2010 16:18:32    705589

As a sports fan I am deeply upset and emotional about what happened to Louth. Obviously Meath are totally blameless and again obviously the game cannot be replayed, if you go down that road where do you stop. However lessons must be learned from yesterday. We all know that umpires are just 4 friends and clubmates of any particular ref. They form a team and travel around together officiating at various matches. They probably get a couple of bob expenses but mostly its a hobby for them, they do it because they enjoy it and that is how it should be. We could not run the GAA if it was not for lads like these. I don't know if there are any courses or seminars for umpires but for any officiating at Championship games there should be. They should be tested on their rules of the game and their role and obligations should be clearly explained to them by an official other then the referee they are working with. The question that is uppermost in my mind is did the umpires know that it is illegal to carry the ball over the goal line, that it is illegal to be in the square before the ball comes in or that it is illegal to throw the ball over the line. Did the referee "consult" with them or just tell them to put up the flag. Like rugby if he did not have a clear view of the incident he should have asked both umpires is their any reason why I should not award a goal, in yesterdays incident both umpires should have given him 3 clear reasons why it wasn't a goal. Must say I'm sickened by what happened and the joy has gone out of this year's championship as far as I'm concerned.

corkcelt (Cork) - Posts: 4388 - 12/07/2010 16:26:17    705618

It's about time the GAA introduced Video/Tv Reffing!! The cameras were replaying that goal yesterday over and over so all it takes is for an official to be put in place and communicate to the referee through an earpiece stating if it is a goal or not! Very Simple. Not rocket science. Everyone who watches the replay can see it's not a fair goal so it's time the GAA put in place a video referee. It would take the heat off the referee and umpires in some situations in the heat of battle where some times they just get it wrong because of many different reasons such as pressure, heat of the moment and plain human error! Anybody agree or Disagree?

tumtackeater (Sligo) - Posts: 51 - 12/07/2010 16:31:11    705629

Deserve a replay-hahahahahaahahahahahahahaahahahahahahahaha-holy god i thought people here might understand sport!

beer baron (Cavan) - Posts: 3916 - 12/07/2010 16:35:22    705644

AntrimCD

Agreed man, the thugs on the pitch need to be dealt with as quickly as possible. The referee made an error but he didn't deserve the treatment that he was subjected to.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13717 - 12/07/2010 16:36:41    705649

12/07/2010 16:26:17
corkcelt

705618 As a sports fan I am deeply upset and emotional about what happened to Louth. Obviously Meath are totally blameless and again obviously the game cannot be replayed, if you go down that road where do you stop. However lessons must be learned from yesterday. We all know that umpires are just 4 friends and clubmates of any particular ref. They form a team and travel around together officiating at various matches. They probably get a couple of bob expenses but mostly its a hobby for them, they do it because they enjoy it and that is how it should be. We could not run the GAA if it was not for lads like these. I don't know if there are any courses or seminars for umpires but for any officiating at Championship games there should be. They should be tested on their rules of the game and their role and obligations should be clearly explained to them by an official other then the referee they are working with. The question that is uppermost in my mind is did the umpires know that it is illegal to carry the ball over the goal line, that it is illegal to be in the square before the ball comes in or that it is illegal to throw the ball over the line. Did the referee "consult" with them or just tell them to put up the flag. Like rugby if he did not have a clear view of the incident he should have asked both umpires is their any reason why I should not award a goal, in yesterdays incident both umpires should have given him 3 clear reasons why it wasn't a goal. Must say I'm sickened by what happened and the joy has gone out of this year's championship as far as I'm concerned.

1) Intercounty umpires do go on a course
2) There are six signals that they can make
3) The correct signal for a goal is a green flag
4) The correct signal for an illegal goal is not to raise a green flag

It looks like the umpire made the correct signal but was over-ruled by the Ref who told him to raise a green flag

Omar.d (Cavan) - Posts: 1141 - 12/07/2010 16:41:53    705661

beerbaron whatever your views it is certainly not a ha ha matter. This was more then sport it was a history changing decision. Belittle peoples emotions if you like but sport means an awful lot to people. Winning a title after 53 years is a happy experience that people would cherish all their lives, to take it away through total stupidity is nothing short of a tragedy. I'm from Cork many miles from Louth and I feel absolutely gutted I can only imagine how Louth people feel.

corkcelt (Cork) - Posts: 4388 - 12/07/2010 16:45:31    705671

Well if you are correct Omar.D that Ref. should be stood down and never be asked to officiate at a Championship game again.

corkcelt (Cork) - Posts: 4388 - 12/07/2010 16:48:30    705682

corkcelt

beerbaron whatever your views it is certainly not a ha ha matter. This was more then sport it was a history changing decision. Belittle peoples emotions if you like but sport means an awful lot to people. Winning a title after 53 years is a happy experience that people would cherish all their lives, to take it away through total stupidity is nothing short of a tragedy. I'm from Cork many miles from Louth and I feel absolutely gutted I can only imagine how Louth people feel.

Of course they feel gutted and it's not a nice way for things to happen but the games over and should be left like that,it's gonna end up being another bulls**t drama like the Henry incident in the soccer -sport is al about injustices and cruel decisions but that's what makes it so exciting.If we replayed every game with bad refereeing decisions we'd never get through the fixtures.It's over it's hard luck, and hopefully louth players don't get too demoralised over it and go out and do themselves justice in the qualifiers!

beer baron (Cavan) - Posts: 3916 - 12/07/2010 16:52:57    705699

Booboo,

If you go replying to a post please read the thing properly before responding and look at the points made in context. As for Clare hurling, don't worry too much - with the rate of 'progess' in Cork I'd say it won't be too long before we'll be putting the grin on the other side of yer faces ;)

MiAmigaVERONICA (Clare) - Posts: 302 - 12/07/2010 17:27:29    705802

yea clareman history suggests as much:]

booboo (Cork) - Posts: 1382 - 12/07/2010 18:46:43    705961

infairness tho clare ye do have great young team saw ye u21s last year v strong hopefully for the good of hurling clare and wexford and offaly for that matter get back to the form of the 90s and hopefully all of us can catch up with the cats

booboo (Cork) - Posts: 1382 - 12/07/2010 18:50:27    705965

Pericles:
You are right I was at the match last year and for some reason thought the margin was 4 points so I didnt even bother checking it up. Anyway I think you are completely right with your comment on feeling lucky brings luck. I wonder was the collective Louth supporters brain thinking that Louth would screw it up and concede a goal and perhaps the collective meath brain was thinking of Kevin Foley in 1991 cos I know I certainly was thinking about Kevin Foley's goal.

anyway no replay is being offered which is what both teams want so Meath are the unpopular big meanies and Lenister championships 2010 and they have everything to prove in their next encounter. Louth are the darlings of Ireland and go into the qualifiers with the whole country there to cheer them on like proud parents cheering on kids at a recital. Should be interesting to say the least..

bee23 (Meath) - Posts: 3 - 14/07/2010 15:18:29    708877

lol lets all blame Meath!!!! dont blame the ref for allowing a goal and not a penalty. IT'S all Meath's Fault lol

or better still vote Meath or Louth and well will force the Meath team to have a replay it they lose the vote.

declan_carr (Dublin) - Posts: 36 - 14/07/2010 15:30:42    708910

Wonder how much fallout Meath willl experience in their next game with the referee . Will he make his calls based on last game.

left back (None) - Posts: 83 - 14/07/2010 15:36:30    708932

The Meath player have now shown themselves to be cheats, the Laois team of 95 set all the precedent that was needed and i think the Meath team of that era would have done the same as they were pushing for a replay. How could they watch that replay and keep the cup. There is no other word for this only cheating, the ref had made anful decision for not spotting the cheating on the pitch but the players had a chance to put that right and they wouldn't.

The truth is if the game had been a draw before that incident then the GAA would have removed the goal and forced a replay but they hadn't the rights to force one because to remove the goal would mean they had to give Louth the cup so they relied on Meaths goodwill but sadly they don't have any.

Louth Gael (Louth) - Posts: 1227 - 14/07/2010 15:43:28    708952

what I cant get over is the hypocrisy of the GAA in not addressing this issue head on . If the CCC can look at videos and give red cards to players in meeting rooms days after the match surely they can do the same when the referee applies the rules of the game incorrectly. I am not from either county involved but I think it is a terrible injustice to Louth to be denied a Leinster championship because the referee made a big mistake on the day.
How did the Leinster council choose this particular referee for the job? It was always going to be a tight contest in Croke Park on Sunday and they should have been very careful to get the best referee available for their biggest game of the year.
While the actions of a small number of Louth fans were disgraceful I could not believe that the ref stood there dishing out yellow cards when the game was over. It should a huge naiviety on his part.

marita (None) - Posts: 467 - 14/07/2010 16:18:48    709043

I've just woken up from a Coma , what did I miss? Whats all this craic about Louth? - what have they done now those cheeky monkeys!!!

FairShoulder (Armagh) - Posts: 333 - 14/07/2010 17:18:41    709189