Louth deserve a replay

louth should be trown out of the championship and their fans banned form going to matches. their nothing but thugs. more like soccer hooligans than gaa supporters

hunkydory (Meath) - Posts: 20 - 12/07/2010 14:49:54    705333

Lads was just wondering was there a replay between ucd and a kilkenny club a couple years over a disputed point?

Lofty (Monaghan) - Posts: 727 - 12/07/2010 14:52:58    705340

hunkydory

705333 louth should be trown out of the championship and their fans banned form going to matches. their nothing but thugs. more like soccer hooligans than gaa supporters

Yeah all 10 of them...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 12/07/2010 14:54:09    705343

Ye we were average enough yesterday alright but its still not nice to the Meath fans and team getting villainized for something that wasn't our fault and i don't remember using the word proud at any stage, maybe i did im open to contradiction there.

Anyway Louth have every right to feel robbed and be very upset by the result but as for the rest, just get over it.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 12/07/2010 14:54:37    705346

Htaem

Anyway Louth have every right to feel robbed and be very upset by the result but as for the rest, just get over it.

It's far from over yet!

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 12/07/2010 14:59:35    705358

whats that make dublin jimbob :-)

Tara_Kings (Meath) - Posts: 128 - 12/07/2010 14:59:50    705359

Seems there is going to be a replay as it is up to players ...

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 12/07/2010 15:01:48    705364

bee23, I don't want to get embroiled in history, but the score last year was Meath 2-15, Mayo 1-15, so the controversial goal was crucial. It was also crucial because it turned the trend of the game on its head, by bringing Meath back into it. No one I know from Mayo asked for a replay... we didn't blame Meath for getting the break they got and were disappointed that our own side didn't recover themselves. I hope one day we're on the receiving end of a lucky break or two... they really boost morale, because they make a team believe things will always go right for them... it's the same in life, people who feel they're lucky often seem to be winners... the 2 things go together.

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 12/07/2010 15:06:04    705378

People calling for a replay here need to catch themselves on. I'm no fan of Meath, but they're the Leinster champions. End of.

Where do you draw the line with 'result changing decisions'? How bad a decision does it have to be for there to be a replay?? Like many have said on here already, there have been countless disputed points over the years (even this year) that have fundamentally affected the result of a game.

Officials make wrong decisions. That's life. I've been on the wrong end of some shockers. You suck it up and move on.

The Louth fans who attacked the ref/players/stewards are indefensible.

Saladin (Cavan) - Posts: 29 - 12/07/2010 15:06:27    705379

OMG There is plenty of ABM supporters out there. If the boot was on the other foot this was not be getting as many posts. Down through the years many a good team lost games on bad decisions. I think Louth should just get over it.

TRUE_GREEN (Meath) - Posts: 7 - 12/07/2010 15:10:58    705390

705343 hunkydory

705333 louth should be trown out of the championship and their fans banned form going to matches. their nothing but thugs. more like soccer hooligans than gaa supporters

Yeah all 10 of them

What bout the fan that struck sean boylan a gentleman , what about fans that fought oustide the ground ?

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 12/07/2010 15:14:26    705398

tipp would like a replay after last years penalty against kk and cork footballers would feel a little aggrieved at cooper diving in last minute to secure a draw in munster or wat about the free awarded on the 21 to wford yesterday its cruel but its sport and there is no time for sentiment

booboo (Cork) - Posts: 1382 - 12/07/2010 15:16:05    705399

Tara_Kings

705359 whats that make dublin jimbob :-)

Ohhh we're shockingly average man... poor in fact, Armagh should be in a better place at the minute to finish off our miserable championship.

Meath are not contenders for Sam... That was proven in the first game against Laois and yesterday....

Top class forwards... Dodgy/avearge midfield... Dodgy full backline - I dont know why but for some reason I think you'll get Cork in the Quarters... and they'll expose the obvious Meath faults

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 12/07/2010 15:20:56    705409

Dellboypolecat

Yeah all 11 of them

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 12/07/2010 15:22:46    705417

There is no other word for it only to say that Louth were absolutely robbed! There was a small group of Louth supporters who got violent at the end of the game, but calling the rest of Louth, the genuine fans, knackers is disgraceful. There was such a great atmosphere around the wee county in the build up to this final, as it was the first time in fifty years that Louth were in the Leinster final, and to have it just taken away from us in the last minute is totally unfair. Louth were the overall winners by a point and they deserved to lift the cup. The players had trained so hard and they did us proud. When the incident with Thierry Henry arose, Ireland stood as a nation and demanded a replay. Why should it be any different to Louth? There are rules there for a reason and why should any county be allowed to break these rules. The umpire was standing right beside the goals and what i dont understand is how could he not have seen the mistake. It's about time the GAA be brought up to modern age with modern technology to prevent this happening again. Rugby, soccer and nearly every other sport has this technology, why doesn't the GAA? Louth were the true winners and as a Louth fan I would like to thank everyone from all over Ireland for their support about a possible replay. C'mon the Wee County!!

knockbridge10 (Louth) - Posts: 1 - 12/07/2010 15:30:15    705441

Yes it shouldn't have been a goal. Louth should have won and I feel bad for them.

Don't think a replay is necessary though. Where would it end? Do we replay the Galway Wexford game because of that penalty decision, I'm sure Galway fans would love that chance again. Maybe we should go back and replay last years all-ireland hurling final as well.

I thought the referee was very poor yesterday, and having watched the game again today I've seen nothing to change my mind.

Had Meath lost, aside from our own poor performance, we could have pointed to several bad decisions by the ref which could of cost us, but I don't think we'd be looking for a replay.

The incident at the end of the game is obviously going to be highlighted more because of the timing of it but at the end of the day it is just a refereeing error no different to a bad call in the middle of the game. If it had happened after 20 minutes and Meath had still gone on to win it there'd still be uproar but there would be no calls for a replay, the timing of an incident shouldn't have any bearing. Its harsh on Louth but if we start replaying for this then where can it stop?

I don't think it should be up to Meath County Board to decide on a replay. I'm aware the GAA has no procedure to fix a replay but maybe its something they'll have to look at for next year. Live and learn.

On the subject of pitch invasions.. I loved running out on the pitch yesterday, it should never be taken away from us, regardless of the actions of a few thugs. Surely its time to organise them. The players have 5 or 10 minutes to get of the pitch, then let the fans on. If we knew we were getting on I think people would wait. Safer for all concerned.

To sum it up, not the proudest Leinster title for us but hopefully we'll have the chance to make up for it in September.

miteymeath (Meath) - Posts: 98 - 12/07/2010 15:37:00    705454

In the last Congress a Tipperary Motion for a Video Ref was put forward & defeated by a huge margain.

How important now does it seem that a video ref could have been used in yesterday's debacle.

The rules of the GAA I am fairly sure state that a result will stand & its actually upto Meath to grant a replay.Clare had to do it in 1998 & they lost the replay to Offaly after the ref blew up early.

I think I also remember Laois v Carlow a good few years back 1995 or 1996 where a wide was waved a point.

Tipp were done also against Kerry in 1999 when a blind umpire ducked for a shot that was going wide & he thougt it hit the post.

So I know this is very cruel on Louth to take & I have very very large sympathy for them as they deserved that title but look Meath are not going to grant the replay as they had set out to win the Leinster Title at start of the year as did Louth & when you train this hard & to be robbed like that we just have to take it on the chin.

If this was a Meath v Any other Leinster County would a replay be given???

Say if that was Dublin ( no disrepect ) would a replay be given??

Answer is No.The GAA have their plan for the year & we have to get on with it.

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 12/07/2010 15:44:20    705471

Booboo,

The scale of the referreeing error HAS to be taken into account. For me, it is comparable to 1998, when the referee blew early in the hurling semi between Clare and Offaly. That game was rightly replayed. However, in the current case as the game time had already elasped anyway before the illegal goal was awarded, my personal opinion is that the game should be awarded to Louth.

To be honest, I felt the ref was very consistent in allowing the game to flow in last year's AI final, and as such was right in awarding the penalty for the second foul on Power. I didn't see the football game you mentioned but there wasn't much of a furore over it. However, in the Cork Waterford game yesterday, the incident you refer to may have also been a borderline case but a goal and a point of Cork's tally was clearly illegal anyway. For the love of God, man, are you trying to say Cork deserved to win that game????

MiAmigaVERONICA (Clare) - Posts: 302 - 12/07/2010 15:57:32    705514

MiAmigaVERONICA
County: Clare

Booboo,

The scale of the referreeing error HAS to be taken into account. For me, it is comparable to 1998, when the referee blew early in the hurling semi between Clare and Offaly. That game was rightly replayed. However, in the current case as the game time had already elasped anyway before the illegal goal was awarded, my personal opinion is that the game should be awarded to Louth.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Time having elapsed is a complete red herring. The referee was quite within his rights to add on more time as several Louth players were involved in time wasting during injury time.

Lifford Gael (Donegal) - Posts: 1925 - 12/07/2010 16:07:19    705542

Well one things for sure, Meath has regained the dubious honour of being the most hated team in Ireland and it wasn't even our fault this time.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 12/07/2010 16:10:18    705559