hi lads,orchardman here,read dingles post on the big fella and the olympics.let me clear this up....in 1908 a man by the name of michael collins did enter the discus throwing,he didnt finish 8th as dingle said,he finished 11th,and because he didnt finish in the top ten no personal records of the competitor was noted,other than the name.in 1908 the big fella was living in the shepherds bush area of london,which was very close to the olympic arena,but it cannot be confirmed for definiate if this discus thrower was in fact the big fella,even though its highly probable.....ard mhacha abu. orchardman (Armagh) - Posts: 158 - 07/09/2008 23:05:22 94676 Link 0 |
Orchardman - I agree with your post that Collins finished 11th rather than 8th (my error) but the evidence that it was the Big Fellow is indisputable, I was not aware of the fact until I read it in the Ir T article in early August (Sat. 2nd I think or Wed 6th) so I researched it with members of the Collins family & yes they were well aware that Mick had participated in the Olympics in London. Why it was not mentioned in TPC's book is probably because TPC never inquired about it & most attemtion was focused on Collins' GAA activities in London. dingle1 (Clare) - Posts: 805 - 08/09/2008 12:07:38 94994 Link 0 |
Lads, Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 12/09/2008 15:26:52 98987 Link 0 |
Missed that program monday night sounds great in the middle of tracing me own family tree at the moment. Is there another eposide on next monday. It's a bit like "You do you think you are" on bbc not a bad ould show at all. I'd been waiting for the Cromwell show for ages was interesting the way the professor for cambridge danced around questions and even half tried to defend his actions. Cromwell is fairly high on a pole of great english men definately won't be thought of that way in ireland. Waitin eagerly for next weeks installment. Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 12/09/2008 15:54:04 99038 Link 0 |
The sentance i used to sum up cromwell at the end of my last post wasn't printed but i think most of ye would guess the lines it was along. Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 12/09/2008 16:43:49 99090 Link 0 |
This thread is far to long-I can't keep up. BeanSoupYUM (Tyrone) - Posts: 51 - 12/09/2008 17:06:48 99117 Link 0 |
I saw that programme on the Famine and agree it was very educational (and moving). A lot of very generous landlords who did what they could in terms of establishing soup kitchens for their tenants etc. as well as the ones we all know about who evicted literally thousands of very sick people off their holdings when they became too ill to work the land. Beacaire Gorm (Dublin) - Posts: 597 - 12/09/2008 17:21:50 99127 Link 0 |
See what ya mean 'HAG'! Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 12/09/2008 17:24:09 99131 Link 0 |
I've read a book about the nenagh workhouse in famine times errie stuff but if i have my sources right there was still a booming trade in wheat etc. leaving the country out of wexford and dublin (not have a go at either county here) yet the whole country was starving i'd have to agree with you it was a type of Ethnic Cleansing. Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 12/09/2008 18:07:58 99161 Link 0 |
just seen the last few minutes of the famine programme, was bullin as i wanted all week to watch it, watched the programme on cromwell, when i heard he hung some of his men for pilaging taught to myself maybe he's not too bad but after seeing what happened in drogheda and wexford i changed my mind. used to ge the gealteacht up in beutiful Árainn mór. used to tell us a story of how 300 woman and children were murdered by his army while hiding in a cave on the coast. now dont quote me on it , twas never the best in irish. also theres an old graveyard in finglas village and every year our school was takin to it as part of the finglas festival, used to scare the crap outta me as there be bits of bone layin around. anyway theres an old high cross that stands in this graveyard but going across the middle near the base theres a cut where someone halfed it. story is that local people cut it in half so that cromwells lads wouldnt get upset while passin through lino_de_legend (Dublin) - Posts: 816 - 13/09/2008 00:40:35 99316 Link 0 |
Personally I think Cromwell was a nutcase. Unfortunately I didn't see the programme but saw the famine one. datsrite (Sligo) - Posts: 473 - 13/09/2008 21:24:14 99457 Link 0 |
'Cromwell in Ireland' - Part Two. Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 16/09/2008 15:30:44 100929 Link 0 |
Saw "Who do you think you are" last night - Charlie Bird. Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 16/09/2008 16:12:33 100994 Link 0 |
First we had him in the Amazon and now this. Is this what my licence fee is going on? Can't suffer the man - nor PK, nor Joe D, nor G Ryan .... Dubinmeath (Dublin) - Posts: 1123 - 16/09/2008 16:34:54 101034 Link 0 |
Jeez, Cromwell was a grand lad. Seems that his nephew was worse! Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 17/09/2008 10:07:58 101413 Link 0 |
Aye the nephew had other tactics to starve people out maybe killed more that way but the bloodlust of cromwell. I say he wasn't best pleased not to get his hands on Hugh Dubh O'Neill i suppossed he earned respect after clonmel. Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 17/09/2008 10:21:00 101438 Link 0 |
Thats right HAG, Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 17/09/2008 10:29:27 101448 Link 0 |
On the subject of the Irish in the West Indies, did you know that Montserrat (known as the Emerald Isle of the Caribbean) celebrates St Patrick's Day as a public holiday as well? Wests_Awake (Galway) - Posts: 877 - 17/09/2008 10:54:03 101472 Link 0 |
Some1 mentioned that vast numbers of irish were shipped out to different corners of the british empire! Interesting to note the accents of many of these exotic countries. On many islands like Jamaica, the accent has incredible similarities to munster accent!! In other remote islands, the natives have surnames like ''O'Sullivan'' and ''Fitzgerald''.. Any1 have any more information on this? harrypotter (Meath) - Posts: 27 - 17/09/2008 11:20:35 101509 Link 0 |
I knew about the slaves alright but 50,000 in the space of a few years that a hell of a lot, let us know what the book is like snuff sounds interesting. Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 17/09/2008 11:21:22 101512 Link 0 |