'Snuffys History Corner'

3:30??? Not any more my man, thanks to FF. Ya get what ya vote for i suppose! What I meant was he left Dublin for greener pastures...his land of hearts desire! Oh and I walk by the birthplace of George Bernard Shaw on Tullow Street in Carlow every day on my way home from work. The plaque there begs to differ with you.

spudenator (Laois) - Posts: 1052 - 05/08/2008 14:53:49    65890

The plaque there begs to differ with you.
spudenator , 05/08/2008 at 14:53

Colgate is very effective in the removal of unwanted plaque I believe.

Snuffy now that the game is on Saturday as you point out how about an ould social for Mugsy Barber, TC and Goodfella. And they can bring their sisters. Findlater noon (part 1) and 6.30 sounds good to me. Liamo? Holy?

JayoCluxton (Dublin) - Posts: 2688 - 05/08/2008 14:57:35    65894

By the way Snuffy. Could you not sign off in Irish anymore? Well at least until you get it right... I think what your trying to say is 'Gaelic Hero' in which case you should say Laoch na nGael or Laoch Gaelach. Laochra is plural...there isnt two of you in there is there???

spudenator (Laois) - Posts: 1052 - 05/08/2008 15:02:01    65907

Spud my dear lad!
Please read the plaque again.
Shaw owned the property and donated it or something like that and has strong ties with Carlow through parents or something.
On your way home today check it again and then politely inform me tomorrow what you read.

Snufalufagus.....Laochra Gael

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 05/08/2008 15:03:06    65909

Ahh Spud there is only one Snuffy, but Im just reciting the title of the documentary tg4 did on me as part of their series!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 05/08/2008 15:33:59    65947

Ah the common misconceptions are rife here today. Before assuming he was born on Synge St where he grew up (like his Wikipedia page or wherever you read that other lark says). Its crucial to distinguish born physically and born as in grew up. I was born in the Rotunda but Ill be damned if I ever claim to have been borne in Dublin. He was borne physically in a house on Tullow St Carlow. His aunts I believe! Anyway I cant believe Iv been drawn into a debate on semantics like this. He was another Dub who hated his homeplace and left and then criticised it..Nuff said!

Ah very funny. You spotted that two words are spelt the same but mean different things. Now that is comedy my friend...Classic! Well done. Heres a star *

spudenator (Laois) - Posts: 1052 - 05/08/2008 15:34:11    65948

Lads. I dont know if anyone takes much notice of what I say on this thing..sniff...sniff! But I wana say that im sorry there Snuffy, your posts always entertain and your history corner is a good idea. Jayo I also always respect your posts which are inciteful. I just woke today with a bit of a chip on my shoulder and took it out here on this thread. My apologies lads as ye are not the enemy by any means.

In fact I came onto this thing 2 months ago with anti-Dub sentiment riding high in my thoughts. I wana say that it was the good analysis and good craic from Jayo, Snuffy, Liam and other metropolitans that changed me forever, even to the point where I wouldnt mind ye winnin it out this year. Yer mature attitude on this thing really is a breath of fresh air amongst all the drivil from those that remain nameless. Thanks boyos.

spudenator (Laois) - Posts: 1052 - 05/08/2008 15:44:20    65969

snuff,read the post about the name of the man who shot michael collins in cork,the poster vowed to take the secret to the grave,very noble except,its not a secret,the name of the man who fired the fatal shot was sonny o neill a native of tipperary,who joined the firing party the day before,whle wandering through the west cork hillsides

orchardman (Armagh) - Posts: 158 - 05/08/2008 16:34:05    66034

Aye jayse Spudenator - ye have left me speechless - almost an impossibility!!! Snuff leave that man alone - he's an honorary Dub from now on!

JayoCluxton (Dublin) - Posts: 2688 - 05/08/2008 16:35:15    66035

Thanks Jayo. Ill be living there soon enough, cant wait. I wont quite go as far as singing Rare Auld Times on the Hill, but iv grown quite fond of ye Jacks this year..

spudenator (Laois) - Posts: 1052 - 05/08/2008 16:38:56    66047

Jayo I also always respect your posts which are inciteful.

ps Spud - Don't mean to be pedantic but you did mean insightful - didn't you??? Please!!

JayoCluxton (Dublin) - Posts: 2688 - 05/08/2008 16:40:27    66051

orchardman
County: Armagh

66034 snuff,read the post about the name of the man who shot michael collins in cork,the poster vowed to take the secret to the grave,very noble except,its not a secret,the name of the man who fired the fatal shot was sonny o neill a native of tipperary,who joined the firing party the day before,whle wandering through the west cork hillsides

_________________________________________________________________________________________________

orchardman you are a howl my dear lad.
What do you mean: "read the post about the name of the man who shot michael collins in cork,the poster vowed to take the secret to the grave"........"read the post".....I wrote the damn post you numpty!!

Sonny O'Neill eh, heard that ol chestnut before alright!.....Rubbish im afraid!
Anyway, its a bit strange to have a lad from tipp just "wandering through the west cork hillsides" eh, and then just join the IRA for the craic and then shoot the second greatest man in Irish history after Patrick Sarsfield of Lucan.
Sure even Emmet Dalton was fingered by some!

Nah, but I do no who shot him, and I will take it to my grave indeed. Too deep!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 05/08/2008 16:46:36    66062

spudenator
You are very welcome my friend.
Delighted to have your posts on the ol 'History Corner'. Its a pleasure to provide an education to the great unwashed while the jibes go back and forth. Some day they will be sitting in a pub with their mates and someone will say: Did you ever hear about Myles Byrne? To which they can answer YES!...and did you know that Chief Sitting Bull was wearing his Papal Crosses when he died!....Impress their friends!!

Well done spud, delighted to see that someone throughout the country can take a few oul harmless slags without getting uptight!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 05/08/2008 16:54:39    66076

Oh yeah. Insightful is what I meant. Is inciteful even a word? Haha... And I hate bad spelling and all that but after 22 years I still have trouble with the There, Their and They're and the odd mad word like insightful. I also struggle with the spelling of Offaly..haha. Madness!

spudenator (Laois) - Posts: 1052 - 05/08/2008 16:56:12    66078

Grand Spud - inciteful would put me in the bracket of others here! Such as posting the top 10 teams in Ireland - why they indulge these guys is beyone me.

JayoCluxton (Dublin) - Posts: 2688 - 05/08/2008 17:04:14    66091

My pleasure Snuffy. Therell be much banter amongst the bogtrottin classes tonight with all this here information...haha

Yeh theres a few on here that could be done for incitement to violence Jayo! At least with yerselves and a few of the others its either good analysis or good banter. Others tend to prefer North-Connaught based bias, infinite lists including there own (already omitted) county at 'number 2' and thread after thread on a certain bleach-blonde forwards godlike talent...all with one objective: windin up every one of the other 31 counties. But we wont say any names here...

Back to history. Snuffy, could you tell me who the old Nally Stand (or OAP Stand) is named after??

spudenator (Laois) - Posts: 1052 - 05/08/2008 17:18:26    66111

Spud - BB or WB will tell you all about this famous Mayo Fenian man I'm sure.

JayoCluxton (Dublin) - Posts: 2688 - 05/08/2008 17:29:30    66123

Dont know if I wana hear it from them. Im sure their rhetoric trancends all disciplines, including Irish history.

spudenator (Laois) - Posts: 1052 - 05/08/2008 17:39:03    66134

J.S.....cant do anymore than that snuff?

paddym123 (Meath) - Posts: 367 - 05/08/2008 19:45:19    66183

A quick question Snuffy my man - how many fathers and sons have been T.D's at the same time. Only one pairing comes to mind.

Boxtyeater (Leitrim) - Posts: 745 - 05/08/2008 20:13:50    66190