joan_balantine dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 10/12/2008 21:33:42 161533 Link 0 |
Buy a helmet joan!.....Yer on yer own! Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 11/12/2008 16:11:26 162193 Link 0 |
The first live performance of Handels 'Messiah' was in Dublin in 1742. Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 18/12/2008 18:28:25 167605 Link 0 |
Aran sweaters, Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 05/01/2009 16:47:58 173311 Link 0 |
TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 05/01/2009 18:18:12 173403 Link 0 |
jethro Tull perhaps, great man for looking into horse manure dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 05/01/2009 21:54:51 173528 Link 0 |
Today, 21 Jan 2009 is the 90th anniversary of the First Dail! Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 21/01/2009 16:27:29 186115 Link 0 |
One of the worst days in history for Irish historians was the day the Civil War began in Dublin. When the Four Courts was shelled and fire caught hold in the dome most of the historic court records from early history were destroyed and some of the best Irish historical characters to ever read about have major gaps in their histories and trial notes missing due to them being destroyed and hence they aint as famous / infamous as they would be!......Pity! Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 04/02/2009 18:11:25 198294 Link 0 |
Snuf it was a great relief to my family that the records vanished. Would have been very embarrasing. Good man Collins. Real Kerry Fan (None) - Posts: 2957 - 05/02/2009 00:02:08 198603 Link 0 |
In many a Lucan pub every now and again, once the door has been locked, the lights dimmed, the shutters pulled, the voices low and the last 'blow-in' politely shoved out the door can be heard the poems of the villages most famous son and Ireland greatest military commander!.....a Lucan man!......Patrick Sarsfield! I'll post two of them here for you! --------------------------------------------------------- Song of Sarsfield's Trooper The night fell dark on Limerick and all the land was still, As for the foe in ambush we lay beside the hill; Long impatiently we waited to rush upon our prey, With noble Sarsfield at our head before the break of day. From Dublin came foemen, with deadly warlike store - Huge guns with tons of powder and thund'ring balls galore But little was he dreaming that there to work his bale, We'd come with our commander bold from dark Slieve Felims Vale. At the lonely hour of midnight each man leaped on his stead, Down moor and vale to Cullen we dashed with lightening speed; Then eagerly we galloped to Ballyneety's wall, Where lay our foe's encampment with guns and stores and all. "Give the word!" - "The word is Sarsfield, and Sarsfield is the man: And here I am!" our general cried, as down on them we ran; Then God he cleared the firmament, the moon and stars gave light, And for the battle of the Boyne we took revenge that night. ----------------------------------------- Regards, Snufalufagus....Laochra Gael Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 23/02/2009 16:36:28 215733 Link 0 |
Heres another more well known one! ------------------------------------------------------ A Farewell To Patrick Sarsfield, Earl Of Lucan Farewell, O Patrick Sarsfield, may luck be on your path! Your camp is broken up, your work is marred for years; But you go to kindle into flame the King of France's wrath, Though you leave sick Eire in tears- Och, ochone! May the white sun and moon rain glory on your head, All hero as you are, and holy man of God! To you the Saxons owe a many an hour of dread In the land you have often trod- Och, ochone! The Son of Mary guard, and bless you to the end! 'Tis altered is the time when your legions were astir, When at Cullen you were hailed as conqueror and friend, And you crossed Narrow-water near Birr,- Och, ochone! I'll journey to the north, over mount, moor, and wave; 'Twas there I first beheld drawn up, in file and line, The brilliant Irish hosts; they were bravest of the brave. But alas, they scorned to combine- Och, ochone! I saw the royal Boyne when his billows flashed with blood I fought at Graine Og, when a thousand horsemen fell; On the dark empurpled plain of Aughrim, too, I stood, On the plain by Tubberdonny's well- Och, ochone! To the heroes of Limerick, the City of the Fights, Be my best blessing borne on the wings of the air; We had card-playing there o'er our camp fires at night, And the Word of Life, too, and prayer- Och, ochone! But for you, Londerderry, may plague smite and slay Your people! May ruin desolate you stone by stone! Through you there's many a gallant youth lies coffinless today With the winds for mourners alone- Och, ochone! I clomb the high hill on a fair summer noon, And saw the Saxons muster, clad in armour blinding bright: Oh, rage withheld my hand, or gunsman and dragoon Should have supped with Satan that night!- Och, ochone! How many a noble soldier, how many a cavalier, Careered along this road, seven fleeting weeks ago, With silver-hilted sword, with matchlock and with spear, Who now, mavrone! lieth low- Och, ochone! All hail to thee, Beinn Eidir but ah, on thy brow I see a limping soldier, who battled and who bled Last year in the cause of the Stuart, though now The worthy is begging his bread- Och, ochone! And Diarmid oh, Diarmid he perished in the strife; His head it was spiked upon a halberd high; His colours they were trampled: he had no chance of life If the Lord God Himself stood by!- Och, ochone! But most, oh my woe I lament and lament For the ten valient heroes who dwelt nigh the Nore, And my three blessed brothers; they left me and went To the wars, and returned no more- Och, ochone! On the bridge of the Boyne was our first overthrow; By Slaney the next, for we battled without rest; The third was at Aughrim. O Eire! thy woe Is a sword in my bleeding breast- Och, ochone! Oh, the roof above our heads, it was barbarously fired, While the black Orange guns blazed and bellowed around! And as volley followed volley, Colonel Mitchel inquired Whether Lucan still stood his ground?- Och, ochone! But O'Kelly still remains, to defy and to toil, He has memories that hell won't permit him to forget, And a sword that will make the blue blood flow like oil Upon many an Aughrim yet!- Och, ochone! And I never shall believe that my fatherland can fall With the Burkes, and the Dukes, and the son of Royal James, And Talbot, the captain, and Sarsfield above all, The beloved of damsels and dames- Och, ochone! ----------------------------------------------------------- Regards, Snufalufagus....Laochra Gael Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 23/02/2009 16:57:56 215781 Link 0 |
proves all I was sayin earlier. This Stuffy guy is not reely a Dub as u can c. TommyHillFigure (Dublin) - Posts: 94 - 23/02/2009 17:05:53 215794 Link 0 |
Admin will you ever stop this rubbish, I cant understand how fables about aran sweaters and the like are not deleted, its as close to spam as you can get on here TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 23/02/2009 17:20:28 215819 Link 0 |
Snuf , last year i stood in front of Henry Joy McCracken`s grave off clifton street in north Belfast. One of the original United Irishmen lies in our midst and most people livin nearby are completely unaware of his presence. Ye have to make an appointment to gain access to the graveyard as noone has been laid to rest there for many a year. gaelantrim (Antrim) - Posts: 1616 - 23/02/2009 17:23:10 215824 Link 0 |
gaelantrim, Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 23/02/2009 17:34:36 215847 Link 0 |
Me maternal Grandmother was born and raised in county Galway and William Joyce (of lord Haw Haw fame) apparently used to call at the door to collect my Granny`s brother on their way to the local Catholic school. It was round Ootherard somewhere. My Granny was born in 1908. Thought yous might be interested in that idle piece of Irish trivia. gaelantrim (Antrim) - Posts: 1616 - 24/02/2009 16:11:01 217042 Link 0 |
TheMaster joan_balantine (UK) - Posts: 824 - 24/02/2009 16:40:31 217081 Link 0 |
joan_balantine,did you not start up a thread recently about Steve Staunton prank ???? Duffy89 (Wexford) - Posts: 3320 - 24/02/2009 17:07:29 217114 Link 0 |
dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 24/02/2009 21:06:41 217300 Link 0 |
Jeez, Joan just ask me out the way every other girl does will ya!! Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 27/02/2009 17:51:36 220588 Link 0 |