omaghjoe Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 29/08/2008 12:11:35 88303 Link 0 |
hats off to omagh joe,you are spot on,only people that really has it in for forde is meath people. guys why bother giving analysis if you are completely clouded in your judgement. as a viewer of football i have to say matty forde has wonderful skill and is right up there with the best. as was the case last sunday even the gooch has his off days but kerry has so much talent. times comes we see players who have that extra talent ie gooch,joe canning,dj carey, peter canavan,maurice fitz who are all a joy to watch,matty is in that league and credit to him and wexford for bringing his talents to the all ireland series. any player that has 2 men watching him is in my books brilliant so guys take off your blinkers and call it for what it is,being completly biased is a bad reflection on you and on meath.up wexford from a kilkenny man Hurler12 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 23 - 29/08/2008 21:19:22 88805 Link 0 |
Hurler12 Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 30/08/2008 11:56:04 88915 Link 0 |
I dont think Meath people have anything against Mattie (apart from a few eejits fishing on here) I said he was a class act before we played Wexford i will say it again now and good luck to him and Wexford for the rest of the year and I mean no disrespect to tyrone in saying this but I would love to see him turn it on on Sunday This Wexford team have come a long way over the past few years and I know they have other quality players but Mattie has played a huge part in their success an.mhi.me (Meath) - Posts: 107 - 31/08/2008 01:48:07 89085 Link 0 |
I can't believe this thread has got over 100 replies! mid-mon man (Monaghan) - Posts: 1680 - 31/08/2008 18:32:23 89184 Link 0 |
without doubt mattie forde is a very talented footballer and against lads of his level and below he can distroy them and quite viciously but i've always felt the when he marked the best corner backs he was left wanting, this is noty a slight on him but i just dobnt think he is up there with likes odf Steve McDonnell, gooch or Joyce.Ciaran Lyng is for me a better corner forward whwen preesure comes on. Baxter (Laois) - Posts: 282 - 31/08/2008 21:30:37 89252 Link 0 |
He wasn't fit today and shouldn't have started. Big mistake by Ryan. I was at the match and Forde took no part in the Wexford warm-up which suggested he wasn't fit and as the game progressed it was fairly obvious as there was no movement from him at all. Shame really but I suppose Forde will probably never have a chance to play in an All ireland Semi Final again and himself and Ryan decided that he should play. Funnily enough once he went off Wexford outscored Tyrone by 2 points. RobK (Meath) - Posts: 479 - 31/08/2008 22:04:18 89262 Link 0 |
kipper (Donegal) - Posts: 5 - 01/09/2008 06:49:43 89329 Link 0 |
mattie is not up there witht the top three gooch mcdonnell and meehan, but hes on the next level, so if that classes as overrated then so be it. but his roasting of francie will probably get him an allstar, like bradley got one after beating mayo on his ownin 07. the best forward on the field yeterday for wexford was lyng pace to burn, accuracy from dead balls and play superb, not to mention contender for goal of the year. this lad deserves an allstar, not forde. but the media hype will dictate that forde ngets one. reddoctor (Tyrone) - Posts: 1241 - 01/09/2008 09:22:58 89367 Link 0 |
4 out of 5 on field WexfordBabe (Wexford) - Posts: 1 - 02/09/2008 21:31:27 91190 Link 0 |
Sure he done nothing on sunday, overrated!!! Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 02/09/2008 22:58:16 91265 Link 0 |
paul11 (Westmeath) - Posts: 4 - 03/09/2008 10:03:27 91415 Link 0 |
Lads the Gooch is the best forward in Ireland at the moment, however I'd rate Mattie next. Padraic Joyce has been probably the next best in relation to player currently playing. Joyce has been around longer tough and played on more successful side so has received alot more coverage as has the Gooch. Mattie played injured in alot of the games this year yet he was probably still in the top 3 or 4 forwards in the county (ignoring this weekend when he had to go off). Think it's ridiculous to say he's not one of the greats. All you have to do is look at his scoring record, even while playing less games than the likes of Kerry, Cork and many of the other big teams that have been at the top for a while. Alot of his scores from play have been unreal. There were names posted here in this stream who wouldn't come near to Mattie like Bray. Nick (Wexford) - Posts: 1100 - 03/09/2008 11:05:32 91477 Link 0 |
Best forward in the country by a long shot and thats cumn from a avid kerry fan!!!! Some of the scores he got against meath in the first round were spectacular!!!!! JONNNY (Kerry) - Posts: 61 - 03/09/2008 11:33:29 91507 Link 0 |
lets put this thread to bed.he's not over rated and had nothing to prove on sunday plus picked up and injury which meant he only played half the game.he's been one of the best if not the best forward in the country for the past 5 years.now drop the thread. daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 03/09/2008 12:35:57 91637 Link 0 |
Johnny, of course he got some great scores against Meath when Wexford were on top, but I'm afraid for the first 50 minutes he wasn't to be seen. He always looks good when wexford are on top but again is found wanting when things are not going well. Don't get me wrong he's a talented forward but he's not like a Kavanagh/Donaghy/Brogan/Dooher or even Banville/Lyng who can go out field to graft for the ball when things ain't going to well. Diego (Meath) - Posts: 1205 - 03/09/2008 13:41:27 91719 Link 0 |
WAS Mattie injured the last day? .... seriously was he? Or did he take the easy option? FarneyBoy (Monaghan) - Posts: 151 - 03/09/2008 14:24:58 91815 Link 0 |