Intermediate hurling championship 2010

Monagae had an impressive win wining by two goals really showed good heart what has being missing over last few seasons, Sean h was in good form with king also, in the middle of the park was a bit of a tussle but good win for monagae. Their neighbours Newcastle west are proving they want to be in the mix this year which is great to see, with some great talent in ther ranks just had to work a small bit on disipline over few seasons, heard mike mcmahon was flying also heard martin hennesy is back to himself at centre back, with some injuries to come back into the fold as tony connor and sean browne is a massive boost to the magpies when they return. Killeedy what can we say they never got going the score line never done them justice, it seemed a lot of there big guns never showed up on the day, lets hope its just an off day for the once senior ranking team a few seasons ago. Hospital are def in the mix and going for glory this year donie reale a real bundle of talent for hh, it looks like damien reale is out to prove something this season, iexpect this hh team to fight all the way to the end this year, as im from that side of the county myself their is a real belief over here this year...

headquarters.. (Limerick) - Posts: 18 - 16/05/2010 12:45:23    648326

illuminati you mustn't go to too many matches if you thought that was a great game. good result for ye maybe but poor game. both teams won't be up to much this year. ncw scored 11 out of 12 frees from scoring positions. knockaderry got 1 from 2. that leaves 2 questions. 1) about the k'derry defence and 2) the performance of the referee. both were poor

14theroad (Limerick) - Posts: 249 - 16/05/2010 14:32:15    648420

any more results?

monageastar (Limerick) - Posts: 32 - 16/05/2010 16:00:43    648550

kildimo 6-3 pallasgreen 1-17

Will_Ferrell_09 (Limerick) - Posts: 123 - 16/05/2010 16:59:12    648614

Caherline v Monagea,this game was always going to be a close encounter,between two very average teams.Monagea started the brighter of the two teams and seemed to outmuscle Caherline for most 50/50 balls.Monagea lead by 4 points after 15 minutes but then a goal against the run of play by m.Carthy for Caherline seemed to spur them into life and they dominated proceedings for the next 15 minutes.Then disaster struck for caherline when the caherline centre back A.Brennan failed 3 times to rise and clear a ball,allowing monageas corner forward to knock in a very soft goal just on the stroke of half time.The second half really opened up with some fine scores by both sides but monagea still managed to keep a 3 pt lead going into the final quarter.A high ball was hit into the Caherline goals and the keeper caught it above the crossbar but when he came down he stumbled and was ajudged to have crossed the goalline.6 pts down Caherline rallied again and tacked over 3 pts but again a mistake in defence was to cost them and monageas final goal sealed them this vital victory.3-16 to 1-16. Monagea now face Ballybrown{ballybrown to win handy}and Caherline face killeedy in what could be a titanic strugle between 2 teams in desperate need of a win.{Caherline to win by a point or two.}

hamstringsgone (Limerick) - Posts: 6 - 16/05/2010 19:27:29    648815

Kelly it was a handy game for ballybricken dey destroyed ye kelly and inetrested to see wat you will say now. looks like junior A hurling next year and it looks like ye are goin to take a long time to get back dere not much under age goin well glantine alot stronger in the games at under 14's+16's! Shur your hatred of football will get u thru the long summer for a tour hurling fan!

stillwaiting (Limerick) - Posts: 9 - 17/05/2010 09:05:58    649130

14theroad: I don't know what match you were watching.
This game was a tight tense affair as expected with both teams gunning for a win and bragging rights. A typical West derby, fast, hard hitting not for the light hearted at times.

This is the type of match people like to watch, a match that means something more than 2 points. NCW defended in the second half like their lives depended on it, with Knockaderry looking for the all important goal which would have tied up the game.
Knockaderry were very dependent on Tom Condon and Don Hanley for most of their scores. In fairness to Condon he did not disappoint but was unable to carry the rest of the team on his back. Hanley disappointed and was marked out of the game by an impressive NCW half back line.

NCW were very disciplined and looked much fitter/stronger than Knockaderry. However their lack of scores from play might be a concern.
This result leaves Knockaderry needing a big performance next weekend if they are to progress to the quarter final. NCW and Kildimo will be fighting out for a place in the QF with the winner guaranteed a place in the last 8.

WestOutcast (Limerick) - Posts: 262 - 17/05/2010 09:09:26    649135

will you are slightly wrong...
Kildimo 6-03 Pallasgreen 2-14

gregor (Limerick) - Posts: 8 - 17/05/2010 09:52:33    649180

scoring 3 pints in a c/ship match and managing to win must be a record for any limerick game.

hectork (Limerick) - Posts: 1049 - 17/05/2010 10:31:20    649222

WestOutcast think your comments about Condon and Hanley are a little bit off, thought Condon was very average while Hanley even though not as good as usual managed 4pts from play, which is a fairly good scoring ratefor any forward. NCW looked a very well organised, motivated, hungry outfit with good performances from D McCarthy, Mark Kelly and Stephen Nix in defence, Kelly and Nix hurled well at midfield,up front the Kelly brothers Stephen and James were lively but it was their half forward line of Doyle,Mc Mahon and Martin that won them the game totally outplaying Knockaderry half back line.

batman (None) - Posts: 177 - 17/05/2010 14:07:27    649630

Ballybricken Bohermore 1-15 Tournafulla 0-8

youngbanger (Limerick) - Posts: 13 - 17/05/2010 15:02:43    649748

Referee was a joke in monagea v caherline match.First he came to match with no umpires.His linesman on the dugouts side was straight from a rugby match.This linesman continously waved his flag for incidents which the ref could see.For the incident where the Caherline keeper was ajudged to have crossed the goalline with the ball,the umpire was texting on his phone.i suppose if you pay peanuts then you get monkeys.

hamstringsgone (Limerick) - Posts: 6 - 17/05/2010 20:50:14    650383

At this early stage i fancy ballybrown to win it out.They have already destroyed kileedy and with only monagea and caherline the 2 other games in their group,they are in the quarter finals without breaking a sweat.Caherline are very poor from what i saw of them against monagea,but they only have themselves to blame for that.Their manager pulled out a couple of weeks ago and he was soon followed by the trainer so there is something serious wrong behind the scenes!Where is Val Murnane gone,he is one of the best coaches in the county and is a Caherline man,why is he not involved,it would be a shame to see them relagated back to junior.

hamstringsgone (Limerick) - Posts: 6 - 17/05/2010 21:01:57    650400

this weekends matches will give us a better idea of the potential quarter finalists.teams that lost their 1st match will be under pressure.ballybrown lookin like they will walk their group but after that who knows.match of the wkd has to be glenroe & blackrock.no love lost between them.would love to have gone to it but H/H playin friday night against mungret.thats a game we must win.any predictions for round 2 lads?

hitmanhart (Limerick) - Posts: 496 - 18/05/2010 17:50:08    651252

Westoutcast.
Think you may have the rose tinted glasses on at the NCW K'derry match.
Despite being a close match, it was far from great.

It would appear that if Condon doesn't score 10 points in a game, he gets labelled as having a poor game. He was one of K'derry's best 3 players on the night.

As for Hanley, well he actually scored 5 points from play and that was with limited supply.

Good result for NCW. But that should be the best you can say about this encounter.

Pigs Ear (Limerick) - Posts: 71 - 19/05/2010 12:32:21    651915

Any truth in the rumour that the Limerick County Board are going to push for the amalgamation of more hurling clubs in Limerick over the next 5 years? A lot of people were very disappointed with the opening rounds of the championship last week in both senior & intermedaite level. My own club Claughaun beat by 19 points and there were at least six other clubs that suffered similiar hidings. I know amalagation ruins the community spirit of gaa but would it make for a stronger senior championship which would in turn strengthen over fading county team?

I know that i would find it strange for Claughaun to be joining with the likes of Monaleen & Milford but if it brought glory then maybe it is worth it. I know that a couple of West Limerick teams are seriously considering amalgamation in the near future i.e. Glantine & Tournafulla as well as Newcastle & Monagea

Dirk_Diggler (Limerick) - Posts: 12 - 19/05/2010 12:51:21    651959

just to clarify dirt digger, you think that we should reduce the number of teams in limerick thereby reducing the number of people who will be able to play hurling and that somehow this will mean that the county team will be stronger? Perhaps in the short term we would have a higher standard county championship albeit with probably 8 or 10 teams. In the medium or long term your proposal would be a disaster. By any chance have you ever worked for a bank or construction company?

cove (None) - Posts: 683 - 19/05/2010 13:51:14    652050

Dirk Diggler;

Templeglantine and Tournafulla would have some basis for joining up. They've been joined, quiet succesfully, at u16, Minor and U21 for about 7 years now.The foundations are there,and geographically it'd make sense.Have their own name,jersey,crest and are more than unified and together when on the field competing together.

However, NCW and Monagea?? These two clubs are bitter rivals,typical townies v country boys thing goingon there.They have never been amalgamated at underage so the basis is not there.To see a massive town like NCW join up with someone would be a very bad sign. Instead the GAA should target it and send in resouces and coaches to raise the profile of the club in the town.They are Senior Hurling and Intermediate Hurling and the population is there to sustain the club. Its up to them to harness that.

Whatever about small rural villages like Monagea, Tour and Templeglantine where numbers will always be an issue, NCW really have no excuses.There are thousands living in that town, and i dont accept that they need to amalgamate.On the other side of it, Tour are in big trouble with numbers, Glantine have only 1 team with a panel of around 19 and Momnagea only have 1 team too with very little underage coming through in that club.They have a case, NCW do not.

Imagine Templeglantine, Tour or Monagea having just another 20 young lads to pick from every year, not to mind a couple of hundred as there are in NCW.The raw materials are there, up to the club to change the attitude towards Gaa in the town and get them out playing for the magpies,and keep them.

fast_hands (Limerick) - Posts: 116 - 19/05/2010 14:09:24    652085

Dirk_Diggler

In terms of West teams joining. Maybe some country teams such as Monagea, Killedy , Glantine and Tour may join up in the coming years. These are all proud clubs and would most likely fight any such move

Ballingarry, Adare and NCW have a town to depend on so they should be ok.

WestOutcast (Limerick) - Posts: 262 - 19/05/2010 14:09:46    652087

amalgamations are fine in some respects.however i think any amalgamation of 2 or more clubs should be playing in the top division of every competition.a lot of these take the easy option and play at a lower level just to have a bit of success.if 3 clubs come together there would surely be 5 players from each of these which could make them a very strong team.then i would ask where does it leave the other players who get no games do we lose all these players,and finally i think it wouldn,t mean a lot to some players if they didn,t win a competition with their own club.club spirit will also go out the window.

hectork (Limerick) - Posts: 1049 - 19/05/2010 14:43:20    652141