Intermediate hurling championship 2010

Congrats to H/H on their victory. They showed a lot of guts to win that game so fair play to them, I thought the game was over for them with 10 minutes to go.
What an amazing championship, H/H lose 2 games in the group stage and win the championship. Has to be said however, they are worthy champions having beaten the All Ireland Junior Club champions Blackrock and the two championship favourites, Ballybrown and Dromin/Atlacca, on the way.

saortheas (Limerick) - Posts: 47 - 17/10/2010 20:48:51    798289

unreal last few days after winning the county.we didnt do it the easy way thats for sure.ballyduff next up in 2 weeks time

hitmanhart (Limerick) - Posts: 496 - 18/10/2010 15:03:42    798680

Congrats hitmanhart.

I was at the game & thought although it was not great hurling, there was a lot of intensity, no real dirt, but lads giving it everything and that has to be applauded. It seemed ye were gone, but ye showed great heart to pounce for the goals at crucial times. I've seen a few games at Intermediate championship level this year & there is absolutely nothing between the sides so to get out of this division is like a minefield. Ballybrown, Dromin Athlacca, Glenroe, Newcastlewest are all very close to each other so for HH to escape makes it sweet for ye.

It's hard to know now how the Munster club championship should be approached. If ye go far it could impact on hunger for next year's senior assault. Look at Blackrock, they did brilliantly to win the All Ireland Junior title, but they didn't do well in the 2010 Intermediate hurling championship. All ye can do is take it one game at a time though & give it everything! And for now, well done to all invovled.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 18/10/2010 18:20:03    798916

thanks slayer.we beat some very good teams to win it thats for sure.i dont think it has sunk in yet tho.to be senior again after 8 years is fantasic.we were junior only 5 years ago so the work the club has put in has been immense.we hope to give munster a right go so looking forward to the challenge of playing the kerry senior champions ballyduff in their own back yard on sunday week

hitmanhart (Limerick) - Posts: 496 - 19/10/2010 17:48:05    799735

well done hospital great result. ye shouldn't forget about the heros that played with ye not so long ago like higgins jp o connor andy and pj garvey. all great hurlers who must be very proud.

14theroad (Limerick) - Posts: 249 - 19/10/2010 18:57:14    799807

does anyone know much about ballyduff lads?

hitmanhart (Limerick) - Posts: 496 - 22/10/2010 18:40:25    802063

Ballyduff have 4-5 players from the Kerry U21 team that won the U21 B All Ireland. I could be wrong but i think they have four brothers playing on the same team (boyles). Of course Ballyduff are senior albeit in Kerry. This will be a tough game for Hospital. Are Hospital going for it big time or are they just happy with the County.

frseamus (Kerry) - Posts: 21 - 22/10/2010 19:58:10    802145

we are going to give it a lash anyway.not many people giving us a chance but we have been wrote off most of the year so nothing new there.will be extremely hard to beat ballyduff in their own field but whatever happens H/H have had a great year.the carrot of a home semifinal is there.after what happened in munster junior in 2005 we wud love to go far this time

hitmanhart (Limerick) - Posts: 496 - 23/10/2010 17:45:40    802384

If H/H had beaten Fr. O'Neills in 05 junior club championship they could have gone all the way like Blackrock did last year. That should drive them on next Sunday. Tough task though to go down to Ballyduff and beat them in front of their own supporters. I don't know if anyone saw the All Ireland u21 b hurling final on TG4 a few weeks back but Ballyduff's Padraig Boyle got 6 points from play that day and looked a handy player. His brother Aiden boyle scored 2.1 in the Kerry senior final and is another Kerry senior. They will be a good hard team but they'll be able to hurl too. But H/H have been improving all year so I give them every chance of winning in Kerry, best of luck to them

saortheas (Limerick) - Posts: 47 - 26/10/2010 11:04:42    803512

H/H 2.11 ballyduff 2.09.great win for us today in north kerry in front of a hostile crowd.we led 2.06 to 5pts at halftime.the pitch was in good nick for the time of year and the wind was a big factor in the game.full forward ken o loughlin got 2 goals early in the 1st half to settle us down.not too many people gave us a chance going down to play the kerry senior champions but we showed great battling qualities again to get thru even without centre back damian reale due to a cheast infection.we now play cork champions ballymartle in hospital next sunday in the semifinal.great win for kilmallock also

hitmanhart (Limerick) - Posts: 496 - 31/10/2010 19:40:00    806812

Well done To Hospital on their win today most people are happy to get out Ballyduff alive not to mind beat their beloved hurling team, a seriously big win but Ballymartyle will be an even bigger ask next weekend, if its a case its on in hospital heres hoping all limerick supporters get there to cheer on hospital and then onto killmallock in a fortnight versues thurles...busy sundays ahead

hurler32 (Limerick) - Posts: 870 - 31/10/2010 19:52:06    806834

fantastic result for all in hospital down in north kerry.not too many teams have come out of there with big wins in last few years,hurling down there seems to be different to anywhere else in the country.best of luck in semi next sunday.

hectork (Limerick) - Posts: 1049 - 01/11/2010 19:20:16    807470

does anybody know anything about hospitals next opponents ballymartle from cork?have they any players who have played at county level with cork?

hectork (Limerick) - Posts: 1049 - 02/11/2010 12:21:16    807788

Ballymartle's top player would be rory o'dwyer one of a few o'dwyers on the panel. Rory is a very lively wing forward who has won 2 or maybe 3 munster intermediate titles with cork and at least one and possibly 2 all-irelands. I think he had trials with the cork seniors a couple of times but never made the step up. If he's on form he'll take minding.

cove (None) - Posts: 683 - 02/11/2010 13:05:20    807830

its going to be a very difficult game for us.dont know much bout ballymartle but any team that comes outta cork will be very strong.hope the rain eases off during the week so that the match can be played in our own field.its the biggest game in H/H history & one that the lads are looking forward to

hitmanhart (Limerick) - Posts: 496 - 02/11/2010 18:43:19    808235

Where will this game be on??

kid52 (Limerick) - Posts: 24 - 02/11/2010 18:51:14    808244

i hope the game can be playd in hospital as it will lead to a great atmosphere with a very big crowd.if it can,t be played in hospital where will it go ahead?the forecast isn,t great so most pitches are going to be very heavy.

hectork (Limerick) - Posts: 1049 - 02/11/2010 19:14:39    808271

if that game isnt on in hospital the next venue is the gaelic grounds which would be a disaster for hospital, i know that we are trying desperately to have this game at home as its massive importance us, pitch inspection saturday. the weather for fri and sat isnt to be too bad so please god.

jacksback (Limerick) - Posts: 14 - 02/11/2010 21:18:00    808391

hospital are trying to do everything they can to get the match in hospital as they think home advantage will be a massive advantage to the team and will draw a bigger crowd. i heard that ballyagran is their preference if the munster council dont pass the field as bruff and kilmallock are not available.

brightspark (Limerick) - Posts: 25 - 02/11/2010 21:26:55    808398

if not our own field it will be ballyagran.even tho we have a good record there please god we can hold it in our field.would be a great occasion

hitmanhart (Limerick) - Posts: 496 - 02/11/2010 21:58:05    808439