Advice for a new referee

Here I just thought I'd start a thread about refereeing.

I recently completed a refereeing course. At my tender teenage youthful stage, as the speakers called me and my friend we will begin with little blitzs taking place in my locality soon.

So to get to the point, is there anything that you can advise me on to get me through days of hell in the future as a man with the black book

gaamad1996 (Wexford) - Posts: 439 - 01/04/2010 16:09:38    606581

ear plugs, and ask your Dermatologist for a thicker skin, other than that Good Luck!.

fortyfive (Tyrone) - Posts: 5929 - 01/04/2010 16:32:15    606610

Dont let the crowd, especially parents of the players intimidate you! I see it way too much, its worse at u12 and u14 levels. Referees get dogs abuse and a lot end up capitulating and giving silly frees simply because of the pressure.

Be strong!!

kilruane (Tipperary) - Posts: 155 - 01/04/2010 16:35:48    606618

I got to that stage too lad, I gave up and swore never to referee another match after the abuse I received refereeing in such a blitz! Best of luck to you though, I hope you are the next Niall McDonald (who I believe is the best club referee in Wexford). You'll not receive any abuse from me though - I let referee's referee the game and as a coach of an underage team it sets a bad example if I am managing a team and roaring abuse at a referee.
Good luck!!

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 01/04/2010 17:01:18    606652

Stay off the Northside!

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 01/04/2010 17:04:48    606660

Threaten to abandon the game after the first instance of verbal abuse then do it after the second.

Milic1888 (Galway) - Posts: 132 - 01/04/2010 17:09:31    606668

No matter how strick or leanient ya ar always be consistant with ur decisions and not biased to any team. Once ur consitant players wont mind even if ur interpretation of the rules are a little off cos they no wat they re going to be called for and that its d same for every 1. Referees being incosistant in a match is the most fustrating thing and that leads to players being abusive

Mr_bean (Longford) - Posts: 57 - 01/04/2010 17:20:09    606681

Do your own game and do not listen to poeple on the sideline the crowdb you will block out in time as i never hear. And club reports sometimes will see your bad sides not never praise you .

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 01/04/2010 17:23:41    606690

DONT do it you can never win

derryman (Derry) - Posts: 3246 - 01/04/2010 17:31:40    606696

Make sure to tie your guide dog to the fence properly as he can get loose and interfere with the play !!

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 01/04/2010 17:32:39    606698

I wouldn't dream of reffing myself - fair play to you. I think it would help to always remain calm, dispassionate and unemotional.

That way, if some idiot is behaving like a child and abusing you, you may be clam enough to point out that both of you should be setting an example for any kids watching or playing, and that you, like any other human being, will make mistakes, but that none of your poorer calls are intentional. I reckon if you are rational and calm whilst making such statements (rather than shouting back or threatening to put guys outside the wire) they might just sink in and guys might realise it's only a game. Look at Dickie Murphy in his day - I suspect you ctach more flies with honey.

Culchie (Cork) - Posts: 799 - 01/04/2010 17:38:52    606711

get out now!

keadyaffair (Tipperary) - Posts: 36 - 01/04/2010 17:43:10    606717

derryman
County: Derry

DONT do it you can never win

Sometimes i feel i cant win but most of the time i enjoy it apart from few incidents in a game . But your right in saying it in a way.

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 01/04/2010 17:43:35    606719

1)Initially the most important thing is to get confidence in yourself.Tell yourself every time you take a field for a match that you are the best ref in the country.
Refs need to have confidence in themselves in the same way that players do.
2)Treat all players with respect,even those that dont reciprocate.
3)Dont pass a blind bit of heed on those outside the wire.Only those inside the wire are your concern.
4)As someone above said be as consistent as possible.Some red-necks think this means evening up the score and giving them frees "just" because the other team got frees.Even though the incidents are not the same.Consistency will come with experience.
5)Read the rule book at least once a week.
6)Umpire for some more experienced refs,see how they do things.
7)Line up a few umpires for yourself for what you would consider to be important games.

Good luck to you.

fredrickwood (Roscommon) - Posts: 2871 - 01/04/2010 19:13:01    606816

Lads all of the above I rate as top-notch advice ha thank ye all and keep them coming ha

gaamad1996 (Wexford) - Posts: 439 - 01/04/2010 19:43:07    606845

Dont give a penalty away on the 3rd minute and start to limp in the second half.... *cough

Orlaith (Derry) - Posts: 4282 - 01/04/2010 19:55:35    606868

Stay up with what is going on... on the pitch and try to be fair to all players.

carlowman (Carlow) - Posts: 1881 - 01/04/2010 20:21:04    606902

Be CONSISTENT with your decisions
COMMUNICATE with players & supporters, clearly indicate what your decision is
Use COMMON SENSE

Enjoy what you do. Without refs there would be no games.

blu (Down) - Posts: 1240 - 01/04/2010 20:43:01    606932

Be as fair as possible and do whatever you think is right. You're only human so you're going to make mistakes and don't let what parents on the sideline say get to you. Communicate with players, if they foul someone or the ball take them aside and explain why a free was given against them. Never be harsh on a player because of who they are. Goodluck.

Royal_Girl2k9 (Meath) - Posts: 2107 - 01/04/2010 20:53:55    606952

retire

shamsout (Fermanagh) - Posts: 28 - 01/04/2010 20:56:53    606957