Suicide

Got my familys prayers this week jackeen. Sympathies.

Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 19/03/2010 20:30:31    593050

very sorry for your loss jackeen - very hard to know what to say to someone in this situation. i will say a pray for your cousin.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 12122 - 19/03/2010 20:31:34    593053

Really sorry for your loss Jackeen, Words are never enough when things like this happen. Im sure you are all numb and in disbelief and what happens over the next few days will become a blur with what your family has to deal with. I know plenty of people who took this route and Ive had a recent family berevement and although not by suicide, its equally as painful.
So I know what you are going through, after 3 weeks its only hitting my family now, We are still numb and its hard to think that they are not "Down the road" or "in the next room" etc, its when you miss the normal things like texts and phone calls as well as day to day general chit chat, thats when its hard.
You MUST know that he did not want to hurt any of your family or friends by doing this. He was in a different frame of mind and not intending to create pain, only to end his pain. I know religion is a touchy subject here with people but i cling to the belief that hes in heaven looking down, or still with ye in spirit. I can still hear my family member comment on things, telling my mum to stop fussing, my sister to cop on, and my uncle to get up of his backside and stop crying!
Know that your cousin is not in any pain anymore and that he is happy, as hard as it is to believe, think what he would want for ye now.
Dont bottle up your feelings though, and if you feel like talking to someone, please do.

rossielassie (Roscommon) - Posts: 672 - 19/03/2010 20:47:56    593075

jambread

591986 Its a hard thing in life to get over. My cousin hung himself because he lost his job and his girlfriend left him, so he just gave up on life (this was last week) so i know how u feel.

Jambread, so sorry for your loss also, its too hard to come to terms with life sometimes when things like this happen. Its hard not to lose faith in life and God.

rossielassie (Roscommon) - Posts: 672 - 19/03/2010 20:53:09    593082

Sorry Bout your cousin Jackeen

sonnky (Galway) - Posts: 498 - 19/03/2010 21:03:40    593090

Sorry for your Family loss Jackeen, its not easy I know. Kindest sympathies willie.

williewentwell (Tyrone) - Posts: 1712 - 19/03/2010 21:03:52    593091

To Jackeen & Jambread, very sorry to you both for your loss.

I worked with a young lad a few years ago who hanged himself. He was 18 or 19 and had a row with his girlfriend. His father said at the wake that this was something his son had on his mind for many years, to take his own life. Maybe if some help had been available, he, like Dellboy, could have come through the other side. Fair play to you Dellboy...hope you're keeping well.

redandblackgaa (Tyrone) - Posts: 251 - 19/03/2010 21:19:25    593114

redandblackgaa

Thanks am keeping great now and at that time i thought there was no light at end of that tunnell but the help i got was top class . And that is why anyone who feels this way should talk to someone and it helps trust me and may take time but it works.

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 19/03/2010 21:24:56    593122

Dellboypolecat

redandblackgaa

Thanks am keeping great now and at that time i thought there was no light at end of that tunnell but the help i got was top class . And that is why anyone who feels this way should talk to someone and it helps trust me and may take time but it works.

I have also been there and yes anyone experiencing Depression Bulling or anything else that is making them unhappy ask for Help! it cost's nothing.

williewentwell (Tyrone) - Posts: 1712 - 19/03/2010 21:36:08    593137

Jackeen,

Hope things are now starting to improve for you after the funeral. Don't try to make sense of it or understand why it happened as there are no answers. He is now happy !!

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 23/03/2010 21:08:40    596891

sorry for your loss jackeen.forget about his death and celebrate his life

bigman2 (Tipperary) - Posts: 1202 - 23/03/2010 21:20:16    596927

I lost my uncle to suicide in 2005. Its an horrific thing for a family to go through, perhaps similar to losing someone to a car crash. I'll never forget walking into the funeral home and seeing him. He was only 47. Suicide is incredibly common. You kind of forget that. I know at least 10people who have taken their own life. Not enough is being done. Although its hard to see what can be done though I guess. If someone wants to take their own life and they get the opportunity they will do it. Its a crappy state of affairs but its reality.

Adler (Monaghan) - Posts: 754 - 24/03/2010 11:51:27    597229

depression is something that's often brushed under the table and very much not talked about or when it is brought up it's passed off with some other remark, i have 3 mates that suffer with it, and i myself suffered from it 2 years ago - the only bit of advice i could give from my own experience is talk to someone - and stay away from alcohol it makes things much worse, - if anyone has ever read Neil lennons or Paul McGraths autobiographies they speak about it very openly and how they deal with it - sorry for your loss jackeen -

meath1987 (Meath) - Posts: 135 - 24/03/2010 12:57:03    597307

Thanks to you all for your advice and sympathies. He was buried in mountmellick as that's where he lived now. Moved there from Dublin 9 years ago. I've been down there all weekend. Came back on Monday. It was horrendous. We waked him at home from the time we got him home from the hospital on the Friday to the Sunday.
I actually couldn't believe how emotional I was as I haven't seen him a whole lot over the years. Last year for his wedding but not since then. It was the whole circumstances surrounding his death. His son found his body. His wife was practically in the coffin with him. His mam kept collapsing. And throughout all of this I kept trying to remember him at his wedding but it's hard cos the last image I have of him is waxlike in his coffin having caused such unimaginable heartbreak. And he did cause it. I'm angry about that. His dad is angry about that. As are his friends and siblings and yes we know his mind wasn't right but still. There are people clinging to life with all they have so it seems really unfair. It seems likely that he may have run up some debt gambling. ******* money. The root of all evil. My heart is heavy.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 24/03/2010 18:36:54    597770