1 Dublin 4 4 0 0 5-43 3-34 15 8

2 Mayo 4 3 0 1 6-46 4-42 10 6

3 Cork 4 3 0 1 5-60 7-50 4 6

4 Kerry 4 2 0 2 3-53 4-42 8 4

5 Tyrone 4 1 0 3 5-48 3-60 -6 2

6 Derry 4 1 0 3 3-46 4-50 -7 2

7 Monaghan 4 1 0 3 6-49 6-60 -11 2

8 Galway 4 1 0 3 4-56 6-63 -13 2

They've let a few under and over the bar Wayno... but they've also stuck a few more over than ourselves.

We have an impressive defense this year in the league... the stats dont lie.

Cork are vunreable in the backs... we'll beat them if our own back line are committed to the cause as the previous 4 outings.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 19/03/2010 16:11:53    592681

yas are lucky to have found a gem of a player in Cian O 'Sullivan....will clog up the problimatic CHB postion but the weakness' in the FB line are still very clear

proevo (Meath) - Posts: 296 - 19/03/2010 16:17:17    592689

waynoI

592629 weve beaten kerry and mayo away , we can beat cork , wether we do or not is another thing all together , but i believe we can if we show the same sort of hunger , discipline and determination that we have in the league so far

No offence but i cant see you beating Cork, in fact if you beat Cork then i'd say some silly horse like Imperial Commander would win the Gold cup.

paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 19/03/2010 16:20:45    592693

No offence but i cant see you beating Cork, in fact if you beat Cork then i'd say some silly horse like Imperial Commander would win the Gold cup.

----------

none taken , sure most people thought we would be fighting against relegation at the start of the campaign (including myself it must be said) but the lads have continuously (so far) pulled a rabit out of the hat albeit with a few fortunate results , yes cork are clear favourites , yes they have home advantage , yes they have scored an awful amount more then us and weve conceeded an awful lot less , but at the end of the day none of that will matter come 7:30 tomorrow night , its 70 minutes of ball that has to be played , if dublin go there and put in a momentous effort then i believe they can put it up to cork , im not saying we will win but stranger things have happened , they will go into the game knowing any kind of result will almost gurantee a league final too , im not being cocky , far from it , im just confident that we can go there and put in a performance and if a bit of luck goes our way ,, then why not ? we should not be scared going to places like cork , the pressure is on cork really , no1 expects us to go there and win , so if we play with the heart and commitment of which we have done so far , then lets just see where that takes us ..

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13659 - 19/03/2010 17:10:05    592778

none taken , sure most people thought we would be fighting against relegation at the start of the campaign (including myself it must be said) but the lads have continuously (so far) pulled a rabit out of the hat albeit with a few fortunate results , yes cork are clear favourites , yes they have home advantage , yes they have scored an awful amount more then us and weve conceeded an awful lot less , but at the end of the day none of that will matter come 7:30 tomorrow night , its 70 minutes of ball that has to be played , if dublin go there and put in a momentous effort then i believe they can put it up to cork , im not saying we will win but stranger things have happened , they will go into the game knowing any kind of result will almost gurantee a league final too , im not being cocky , far from it , im just confident that we can go there and put in a performance and if a bit of luck goes our way ,, then why not ? we should not be scared going to places like cork , the pressure is on cork really , no1 expects us to go there and win , so if we play with the heart and commitment of which we have done so far , then lets just see where that takes us ..

wayno1...are you related to jack O Connor or been drinking Kerry spring water or something? if the pressure was on Cork, with comments like yours, it most definitely is now.Allow me to take a quick swig from my bottle of Kerry Spring and try and reverse this situation...

We might be at home, but given Dublin's huge volume of support it will be like a home game for them. Also Dublin have always had the upper hand when they have played in Cork when it really matters, one must surely remember the last important game they played here in 1983. While Counihan will try to tell his players to put that game out of their minds, they are only humans and will surely have nagging doubts about themselves and their ability when they see the blue jersey. Confidence is at an all time low after last week's humiliation in Tyrone while Dublin are flying high after beating Kerry (who Cork can't beat) and Mayo. As Ger O Sullivan (selector) said, Cork are just fighting for survival in this league. But you never know, it is 15 against 15 in every match and we might just survive in this league. Tomorrow's game might be a step too far for us but one must have dreams and aspirations so we will see...

There you go Wayno1. The pressure is all back on Dublin!!

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 19/03/2010 17:56:17    592868

BennyBunny I quote you

"while Dublin are flying high after beating Kerry (who Cork can't beat) "

the game week after Dublin beat Kerry on 13/02/2010 Cork 1-12 Kerry 0-12.

MURPHB33 (Dublin) - Posts: 166 - 19/03/2010 20:00:06    593002

As bad as Saturdays performance was, I feel better that the players have been brought back down to earth after their great start. Hopefully this latest spanking will stick to the Dublin team, you got to learn from these games and move on. As I predicted, the midfield isn't strong enough but I still think we have options to mix it up a bit and it would be no harm changing things there for the last 2 games. The much lauded new full back line showed their inexperience and were all a few yards off their men. And to top things off, Gilroy showed his own inexperience with the tactics played last night.
Lets put a bit of perspective on the game, Cork are capable of winning an all-ireland and have played in 2 All-Ireland finals in the last 3 seasons while Dublin have been on the end of 2 hammerings in the last 2. The gulf in class was there for all to see.
To take some if any postives out of Saturdays game, I thought Cian O'Sullivan did ok when all around him were failing badly. Bernard Brogan and Kevin McMennamon proved a handful when they got good ball into them. And last but not least, its much better to be getting these maulings in March then later on in the year. Roll on Galway, should be a good one

NavyNBlue (Dublin) - Posts: 1357 - 21/03/2010 21:04:18    594366

I think that Gilroys defensive system was shown up badly on Saturday. To many long hopeful balls kicked in the general direction of Bernard and kev. yes they done well on occasioons and both ran themselves in to the ground but the best you can hope to gain is about 50% of these long searching balls. If the forwards actually win the ball they have little or no support and have to take on the man which is predictable for the defence. The biggest problem with this system is that when the ball goes forward to often we fail to win the ball or the defence disposses the attacker and the ball doesn't go dead putting the opposition back on the attack and constant pressure on our defence and sucking more and more players in behind the ball. This system will not work against the top teams we may have caught Kerry out early in the league but teams will get to grips with what we are doing.
I think gilroy has done well fromm the point of view that he has looked at more plyers than any other manager before and has unearthed some good talent. I thought Cian O'Sullivan was ver good on Sat again and looked strong even amongst the Cork 'giants'. I worry though that this defensive system is going to be maintained for the championship. I wonder is Gilroy trying to hard to put his stamp on things with this major revamp? Defensively over the last few years Henry, Cahill & Griffan have been good enough where as we struggled desparetely at FB & CHB and possibly missing 1 other top class defender. Are we being to paranoid about our defence now and instead of trying to find the key players and back them are we just trying too put a team together that won't get walloped even if we won't get the scores required to win the game against the top teams?

pigonastick (Dublin) - Posts: 487 - 22/03/2010 09:32:13    594583

Went to Pairc Ui Rinn on Saturday night 'cause I was bored, and hadn't a notion of driving to Waterford for the hurling on Sunday. I must say I was very impressed by the Dublin supporters who are obviously much more inclined to travel than I. They were there in big numbers and in good form. They really lent the whole place a bit of atmosphere. For all of the criticiam that's heaped upon Dublin (they're too cocky, they're over-hyped etc), our organisation needs to be strong in the biggest population centre. If we can't maintain a strong foothold in Dublin, how long before the GAA starts to fade elsewhere? The strength of the games in Dublin is down to the ordinary GAA members, and patrons, up there. These are the kind of people who traveled to Cork on Saturday. They maintain and support our games in an urban enviornment where very many other sports, some with vast funding at their disposal, continually compete for the attention of the Dublin youth.

Those of us who think we're great for maintaining a hurling club in a small rural parish, where there are few other options for leisure, would want to cop on a bit. So the next time us Culchies see the Dubs, remember not to take snide little digs at them, but instead to respect their hard work and loyalty in a very different enviornment to our own............................before giving them a good trimming and sending them on their way!

Culchie (Cork) - Posts: 799 - 22/03/2010 11:34:47    594726

you know you're in the wrong place when people start to pity you! Oh the despair!

Floops (Dublin) - Posts: 1623 - 22/03/2010 11:51:57    594749

that cork game was embarrasing. lets hope it was just an off night and nothing too serious a problem. lets beat galway.

im a bit ****** i cant make it to this game, but thank god its on setanta

stereoboy (Wicklow) - Posts: 41 - 22/03/2010 12:02:38    594769

Not a word from Wayno since they got put back in their box. Talking up the Dubs before the match. False dawn for dublin again. The media threat them like England football team get treated by their media. What are Englands chances of winning the world cup?

Answer - Same chance as dublin have of winning the All ireland. Sick of the circus that follows the both of them.

rebeltrev (Cork) - Posts: 344 - 22/03/2010 13:12:28    594912

rebeltrev

Not a word from Wayno since they got put back in their box. Talking up the Dubs before the match. False dawn for dublin again. The media threat them like England football team get treated by their media. What are Englands chances of winning the world cup?

Answer - Same chance as dublin have of winning the All ireland. Sick of the circus that follows the both of them.

Not bitter at all are you trev! You should be more worried about another "Cork-but-no-bottle" championship performance (see what I did there? x)) from your own football team if I were you. Believe me we know our limitations in Dublin including Wayno - you'd know that if you'd bother reading any of his posts.

As for a circus, well it's like a circus without a ringmaster in your neck of the woods isn't it? Try not wasting everybodys time posting boring & lazy comments in future will you?

Floops (Dublin) - Posts: 1623 - 22/03/2010 14:52:02    595034

So are the dubs sick of the circus! Wayno was the only dub on this thread who predicted a dub win and to be fair he was to busy congratulating himself on 1000 memorable insights to be thinking straight! To sugest the dublin fans are getting carried away is just as much of a wind up as the one i have just thrown Wayno's way.

pigonastick (Dublin) - Posts: 487 - 22/03/2010 15:01:09    595049

rebeltrev

594912 Not a word from Wayno since they got put back in their box. Talking up the Dubs before the match. False dawn for dublin again. The media threat them like England football team get treated by their media. What are Englands chances of winning the world cup?

You forgot to mention our fairweather, soccer loving, criminal element, free-kick booing, late arriving fans in your above post. Sorry if I missed out on any other lazy stereotyping.

bubba83 (Dublin) - Posts: 333 - 22/03/2010 16:10:22    595146

I was hoping for a Cork "work to rule" myself. There's usually some sort of protest going on down there anyway :) Unfortunately it didn't materialise!! I'm sure Trev's comments speak for the minority of Cork people. Anyway our D4 toffs are going to knock the bejayzus out of Munster on Good Friday. :)

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4749 - 22/03/2010 16:59:33    595234

----------------

get a grip i do have school to go to and i do have a life aswell , i wasnt talking them up i was simply asking a question on wether they can end the 28 year wait for a league win in cork , and they couldnt do so , unfortunately for us , if you dont like the circus that follow us turn of your tele and radio and dont read newspapers , its not our fault the media hype us up , the true genuine dublin followers know for an absolute fact that this dublin team is going through the early stages of a transformation , we have won 4 of our 5 league games , which is a good start to the league but no-one ever mentioned us as all ireland contendors , there is another 3 or 4 years of building before this new look dublin team can even push to contend for sam never mind win the feckin thing ,

well done to cork on their victory , fully deserved one hundred percent and obviously there is no complaints about it ..

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13659 - 22/03/2010 17:02:59    595245

I'm not sure it's a false dawn this time. Bad and all as Dublin appeared, I was impressed by their discipline. They are playing to a system and defending very well. They are a formidable outfit, and teams will find it hard to break them down. Cork have outstanding mobile forwards like Kerrigan and Goulding, Pearse O'Niell and Noel O'Leary are good men to run down the thraots of any defence. For good measure Counihan even sprung young Sheehan (it gets on my nerves that he's not hurling, ach sin sceal eile) from the bench. These are among the very best forwards in the game and made braking down the Dubs look easy. But how many other teams would have that kind of firepower? Take Dublin lightly at your peril!

Culchie (Cork) - Posts: 799 - 22/03/2010 17:03:51    595246

I think we got what most Dubs on here thought we'd get. I can't help be pessimistic about this team. Too many ordinary players(and I've been saying this since the start of the league). I think that we've done well to catch a couple of teams on the hop (Ciarraí, Maigh Eo) and have done well to keep Division 1 status.

We've Galway and Tyrone to come and with both teams scrapping for points I don't see us winning either(Maybe Galway because its in Parnell).

Cork have been the most impressive team thus far.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13846 - 22/03/2010 17:19:06    595266

Is this about the hurling this weekend?

Puddersthecat (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1692 - 22/03/2010 17:36:45    595296