St Galls - congratulations

Abysmal game but sure ye bet what was in front of ya so fair play to ye

dubs4eva (Dublin) - Posts: 484 - 18/03/2010 20:55:48    592000

St Gall's paid their dues in winning this.

They have dominated the Antrim championship for a decade, after winning something like 6 minor and 6 U21 titles.

In 2006 they were awful in the final, but fair play to Salthill for capitalising on it.

Im 2008 I really fancied the Galls but Cross played their last great game in the Ulster final to beat them.

This year they went all the way.

At the start St galls and portlaoise were among the favourites and Kilmurray hammered Portlaoise so they were in the final on merit.

Perhaps, loike St Galls in 2006, they froze, and maybe they will be back.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 18/03/2010 21:37:51    592077

Had a great day at the finals. Lovely to see the Merrigan brought back over the border. C.J and the other lads need to forget about St.Galls now for a while and concentrate on county success. Wouildnt expect to see them back until the last game against Wexford.

gaelantrim (Antrim) - Posts: 1616 - 19/03/2010 10:56:08    592231

Congratultions St Gall's and thank you! That was the first time I have ever left Croke Park having watched an Antrim team win a truly meaningful game, and indeed championship (Eddie Murphy, Christy Ring and Div2 hurling finals not in the same category). Was a lovely feeling driving up home with a real glow and not the usual disappointment. Lets hope this win is another step along the road for Antrim as a county, and acts as a spur to every club in the county, and the county sides themselves for what is possible.

srb (Antrim) - Posts: 344 - 19/03/2010 12:17:29    592356

The Semi-final would have made a better Final , Well Done St Galls

fortyfive (Tyrone) - Posts: 5929 - 19/03/2010 12:38:58    592395

srb

Congratultions St Gall's and thank you! That was the first time I have ever left Croke Park having watched an Antrim team win a truly meaningful game, and indeed championship (Eddie Murphy, Christy Ring and Div2 hurling finals not in the same category)

If I was you I would leave GAA alone and stick to supporting man United.

How anyone, especially someone from Antrim, can pour scorn on the CHRISTY RING and TOMMY MURPHY cups is beyond belief, until you take unto account the impact of SKY TV and the culture of instant top success.

Soccer, CL or nothing, world cup or nothing.

Rugby, world cup or grand slam or nothing, triple crown doesn't count.

GAA Sam or Liam, the rest don't count.

SHAME ON YOU.

PS: Do you know who Christy Ring and Tommy Murphy were?

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 19/03/2010 12:55:58    592416

Do you know who Christy Ring and Tommy Murphy were?

----

srb i hope you do know the answer as you will get fairly crucified if you don't

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13659 - 19/03/2010 12:59:44    592425

Yep... spot on.. Well done to them

Antrim GAA is on the up.... expect to see them in another Ulster Final.

Bang on Supporters deserve days like that in Croke Park!

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 19/03/2010 16:02:34    592660

Yes I am well aware of who Ring (Cork) and Murphy (Laois) were, so get down of your high-horse Patrique. These trophies were well and good but are u going to try and tell me winning them (especially the CR cup for Antrim,where we were pumping teams by an average of 20 points bar the Down game) was some great achievement that will be cherished forever? Or Murphy, where to say the competition was 'much-maligned' would be doing it favours?
Maybe I am at fault here and suffer from something called ambition. St Gall's win was a victory for an Antrim side at the top level and hopefully will provide a springboard for further glory at the top level. Not in 2nd tier competitions where we can fool ourselves into thinking we have achieved something great.
Oh, and for the record, I have zero interest in soccer let alone Man Utd. Maybe u have some form of secret obsession of the game because u sem to mention it quite a bit.

srb (Antrim) - Posts: 344 - 19/03/2010 16:44:24    592723

well done St Galls

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 19/03/2010 17:00:32    592759

srb

Yes I am well aware of who Ring (Cork) and Murphy (Laois) were, so get down of your high-horse Patrique. These trophies were well and good but are u going to try and tell me winning them (especially the CR cup for Antrim,where we were pumping teams by an average of 20 points bar the Down game)

Yes it was. We are ANTRIM. that is our level.

And we are NOT pumping westmeath, Carlow or even kerry now.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 19/03/2010 18:21:50    592888

Tell u wot then patrique, lets drop down to the Lory Meagher Cup just cos we can win it and pretend we are great. The fact of the matter is, when we won the CR it took KIldare 32 minutes to put a point on the board against us in the semi-final (of a national competition u reckon we shud cherish), by which stage we had scored 2-12 (and yes I was there in Mullingar that day, were u?). Are u seriously telling me that we should be dancing on the streets after that win in 2006 or indeed even been at that level? Yes, Carlow, Kildare and Westmeath's strock has risen since, but I'm referring to that year and that win which was a pretty hollow victory and shud not be something we shoulld brag about.
St Gall's have shown tremendous ambition in achieving their success at senior level and becoming champions of All-Ireland. Not 2nd or 3rd string champions, but THE top dogs and that is the standard we should be aiming for, not meaningless micky mouse competition wins where we ought not to be in the first place.

srb (Antrim) - Posts: 344 - 20/03/2010 16:03:52    593451

srb

Tell u wot then patrique, lets drop down to the Lory Meagher Cup just cos we can win it and pretend we are great. The fact of the matter is, when we won the CR it took KIldare 32 minutes to put a point on the board against us in the semi-final (of a national competition u reckon we shud cherish), by which stage we had scored 2-12 (and yes I was there in Mullingar that day, were u?

No, I was at Croke watching Kilkenny destroy Waterford in the last ever all Ireland final.

What was that? They had another all irel;and. You mean it is still going after kilkenny winning so easily? And Kilkenny still play in it?

Obviously Kilkenny don't rate your theory either.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 20/03/2010 17:59:09    593517

Congrats to all the lads on the St Gall's team! A job well done!!! Proud to be a St Gall's Supporter!!!!!!

Sam02, where are you now??? Lost the ability to slabber after watching a classic match!!!

galls_reign5 (Antrim) - Posts: 4 - 20/03/2010 20:07:50    593583

galls_reign5 there's such a thing as a bad winner! The very fact that you would call that a classic amuses me and shows were your standards are. Well done St Galls.

Tom1916 (Armagh) - Posts: 2001 - 20/03/2010 20:36:57    593609

Tom1916
County: Armagh

galls_reign5 there's such a thing as a bad winner! The very fact that you would call that a classic amuses me and shows were your standards are.

Yes it does.

when an Armagh club win an all Ireland club football title, and lose in an all Ireland hurling final, at any grade, in the same year, come back on here and talk about standards.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 20/03/2010 21:44:54    593686

Well done St Galls..

Grattonboy (Monaghan) - Posts: 143 - 21/03/2010 11:11:12    593785

Congrats, fair play. Another sign that Antrim football is on the up.

JPM1981 (Kildare) - Posts: 825 - 21/03/2010 19:13:56    594175

No, I was at Croke watching Kilkenny destroy Waterford in the last ever all Ireland final.

What was that? They had another all irel;and. You mean it is still going after kilkenny winning so easily? And Kilkenny still play in it?

Obviously Kilkenny don't rate your theory either.

Jesus wept.

srb (Antrim) - Posts: 344 - 23/03/2010 14:19:47    596202

A.I Club Final "A CLASSIC", is that why 2/3 of the people left at half time, worst club final in living memory, and as for the Blue and Whites in the Cusack Stand, calling Kilmurray people Free State B..stds, a complete waste of money , couldnt believe I paid in to watch such mediocre football.
Any Club team in Ireland would have beaten the pick of KLB and St Alls.

sam02 (Tyrone) - Posts: 643 - 23/03/2010 19:54:51    596772