Bohs v Glentoran

But many Catholics support the Glens.Certainly the whole of east Belfast, soccer fans, support the Glens.

But, we have just established that most Catholics are indeed bigots.

Ah well.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 15/03/2010 20:01:53    589071

Aye your some craic patrique

Plastic Paddy (Tyrone) - Posts: 664 - 15/03/2010 20:10:40    589089

the biggest bigots of the lot were derry back in the early 70s, got thrown out from the league they were that bad.

millhouse (Meath) - Posts: 892 - 15/03/2010 21:31:27    589235

Lingfield are another club that uses flags like these and should not be allowed fair play gardai.

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 15/03/2010 21:47:49    589270

Dellboy would you be saying fair play if the PSNI forcibly stopped Bohs fans waving a tricolour at the Oval? Somehow I think not

pplocal (Tyrone) - Posts: 5878 - 16/03/2010 10:50:41    589425

Plastic Paddy

588722 Suas Sios

Im not in a position to comment on whether the LoI has bigots, but i'll take your word for it.

I was just pointing out that patrique, in a different thread a few months ago, said that linfield were the only bigoted team from The Big Two(Linfield and Glentoran). I always believed that they were both as bad as each other and, what happened the other day proves my point, that both the Big Two have bigotted fans.

I can't comment on league of Ireland Either because I don't watch their games. I do go to the Irish league and all manner of GAA and ravenhill frequently so I feel qualified to comment on these. Patrique is basically right, but if you read my earlier post you will see that the truth is most people at games are there to watch the game but if you really want to identify closed minded individuals you will be able to spot them, or even find out after a brief chat with them. I speak here of GAA and soccer. The rugby crowd are actually the soundest of the lot.

Suas Sios (None) - Posts: 1558 - 16/03/2010 11:20:53    589478

patrique

589071 But many Catholics support the Glens.Certainly the whole of east Belfast, soccer fans, support the Glens.

Would a lot more not support a team from the Mainland

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 16/03/2010 16:51:25    589869

Dellboypolecat

589270 Lingfield are another club that uses flags like these and should not be allowed fair play gardai.

Can anyone enlighten me as to why Dellboy in all his posts always refers to Linfield as "Lingfield"? Not trying to be smart but it's something I've noticed for a while now...am I missing something or is this just a Dellboyism

bubba83 (Dublin) - Posts: 333 - 16/03/2010 17:18:31    589913

bubba83

It's party policy

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 16/03/2010 17:28:01    589919

The Oval is a cesspit. A buddy was playing up front for the glens, he ballooned one over the bar, there was a lot of jeering from his own supporters, but the one notable comment was "ye should stick to the bogball ye *------* T-----G. what was also funny was a picture of the same player getting a lift in a helicopter in the back page of the irish news to make a Gaelic match in time, landing in his soccer gear, all them catholics from east belfast that patriques on about were raging.

BobbyB (Tyrone) - Posts: 369 - 16/03/2010 17:38:26    589935

BobbyB

The Oval is a cesspit. A buddy was playing up front for the glens, he ballooned one over the bar, there was a lot of jeering from his own supporters, but the one notable comment was "ye should stick to the bogball ye *------* T-----G. what was also funny was a picture of the same player getting a lift in a helicopter in the back page of the irish news to make a Gaelic match in time, landing in his soccer gear, all them catholics from east belfast that patriques on about were raging.

Now Bobby, sit down, take a deep breath, and read this slowly. very slowly.

Maybe it was NOT a Catholic who was shouting.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 16/03/2010 20:08:31    590085

16/03/2010 11:20:53
Suas Sios

Plastic Paddy

588722 Suas Sios

Im not in a position to comment on whether the LoI has bigots, but i'll take your word for it.

I was just pointing out that patrique, in a different thread a few months ago, said that linfield were the only bigoted team from The Big Two(Linfield and Glentoran). I always believed that they were both as bad as each other and, what happened the other day proves my point, that both the Big Two have bigotted fans.

I can't comment on league of Ireland Either because I don't watch their games. I do go to the Irish league and all manner of GAA and ravenhill frequently so I feel qualified to comment on these. Patrique is basically right, but if you read my earlier post you will see that the truth is most people at games are there to watch the game but if you really want to identify closed minded individuals you will be able to spot them, or even find out after a brief chat with them. I speak here of GAA and soccer. The rugby crowd are actually the soundest of the lot.

That's about right.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 16/03/2010 20:09:05    590088

Its a classic dellboyism bubba, have noticed this myself, wasnt sure if we were talking football or horse racing!

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 16/03/2010 21:14:48    590163

patrique

Dry them

BobbyB (Tyrone) - Posts: 369 - 17/03/2010 16:10:39    590560

BobbyB

patrique

Dry them

What?

Oh sorry.

Hello......Hello, we are the.........

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 17/03/2010 16:31:22    590570

patrique

588926 Super bigots: Linfield, Coleraine, Portadown, Cliftonville, Donegal celtic.

Middle Bigots: Glenavon,

Lower bigots: newry, glentoran, Distillery.

In short all clubs have some bigots, just like every GAA county and club. A fact of life up here.

But some are a lot worse than others

Having played against Glenavon at Mournview, I can assure you that they are far from middle bigots Patrique

omaghredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 3656 - 17/03/2010 16:33:04    590571

I remember there was a Glenavon supporters club in Andersonstown.

Could never understand why, when Distillery were only down the road.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 17/03/2010 17:01:17    590578