St Patricks Day

15/03/2010 21:30:50
derryman
County: Derry

589232 PRDY

589216 Paddys day is pointless I think. You go watch a rubbish parade or go to a pub and get ******. Wake up the next day with a massive hangover. Only thing good about it is a day off school or work, otherwise it's a day Americans can make themselves feel Irish.

Well i suppose you cold get yourself a sprig of shamrocks and stick them in your buttonhole then go to your local Catholc Church and celebrate the Sacrament of the Mass in Celebration and honour of St Patrick. I think that was the original idea. Until the demon drink hijacked this great day.

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 16/03/2010 09:00:19    589324

How many lives will be ruined after our day of celebrating our National Saint ? Leave the cars at home lads and do not overdo the celebrating !!

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 16/03/2010 11:02:40    589446

Derryman:

Calm down man....take a joke! Anyway I'd like to take this chance to further display my ignorance as you call it:

In anyways a man by the name of Palladius was sent from France c430 by the Pope to the "Irish believing in Christ". You see there were already Christains in Ireland at this time. He was sent to Ireland to bring the Irish Christians under the control of Rome. Many believe that Palladius is 'Patrick'.

However there are other theories about the origins of Patrick too. Patricius or Patrick is thought the slave brought to Ireland from Britain (Wales or more likely the North West of England) who later returned to convert the people to Christianity.

Many people believe what is called the 2 Patricks theory. Meaning that Palladius only came to the people who were already Christian (mainly in around the South Coast) and Patricius was the one who converted the pagan natives. Over time the two people became the one and that is how Christianity came to Ireland.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13846 - 16/03/2010 17:32:39    589925

Im heading to Bun Beag in the beautiful county of donegal to see their parade, Had a brilliant time last year watching the tractors and the old cars breaking down. Cant wait :) Woooooah!

Orlaith (Derry) - Posts: 4282 - 16/03/2010 17:51:23    589943

I hope those student headbangers catch themselves on tomorrow in the Holyland. If they start their nonsense I would turn the water cannons on them as it's probably the only wash these lazy spongers will get this year. No mercy!

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9840 - 16/03/2010 18:20:46    589976

MesAmis

589925 Derryman:

Calm down man....take a joke! Anyway I'd like to take this chance to further display my ignorance as you call it:

In anyways a man by the name of Palladius was sent from France c430 by the Pope to the "Irish believing in Christ". You see there were already Christains in Ireland at this time. He was sent to Ireland to bring the Irish Christians under the control of Rome. Many believe that Palladius is 'Patrick'.

However there are other theories about the origins of Patrick too. Patricius or Patrick is thought the slave brought to Ireland from Britain (Wales or more likely the North West of England) who later returned to convert the people to Christianity.

Many people believe what is called the 2 Patricks theory. Meaning that Palladius only came to the people who were already Christian (mainly in around the South Coast) and Patricius was the one who converted the pagan natives. Over time the two people became the one and that is how Christianity came to Ireland.

Very Impressive indeed. Sorry I was probably a little over the top in my rebuttal. I suppose it is a sympton of the feeling of being under siege that probably other Catholic posters might also feel on the Hogan Stand at the minute. It is difficult to take any comment innocent or otherwise with a pinch of salt at the minute. I as a committed Practising Catholic am more aware of the shortcomings of the Roman Catholic church than those who feel obliged to shout them out to me. There are so many other victims here not only the obvious most seriously aggrieved victims of the clerical abuse.
But anyway here is wishing a very happy and if you wish Holy St. Patricks Day to all posters Believers and non believers alike.

derryman (Derry) - Posts: 3246 - 16/03/2010 18:58:17    590017

I wonder if any of our resident Atheists will be celebrating St. Patricks Day ?

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 16/03/2010 20:24:09    590110

Cavan_Slasher

590110 I wonder if any of our resident Atheists will be celebrating St. Patricks Day ?

As a non practising agnostic i will celebrate the coming of spring with an early trot in the Sliabh Blooms, before heading to dear aul mullingar to see these Westmeath giants ate up our chaps. On the subject of spring, I have never seen as little growth for this time as this year. A couple of ponds in the dublin hills that would normally have frog spawn are covered with a metre of snow. How will the Semi retired of cavan mark the occasion?

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 16/03/2010 20:57:13    590142

Cavan_Slasher

590110 I wonder if any of our resident Atheists will be celebrating St. Patricks Day ?

I rarely miss any excuse for a session. Usually I go out and drink my fill. Sure isn't everyone else at it and it's great craic.
I doubt if too many people drink themselves into oblivion on Paddy's day because of their religous beliefs.

Anyway, given the hammering I took on Cheltenham today I probably won't be going out tomorrow.

Dr.Shephard (Leitrim) - Posts: 2187 - 16/03/2010 21:04:11    590153

dhorse,

am actually meeting a few friends outside Dundalk tomorrow morning at 7.30 a.m. and we will cross the Cooley Mountains from the Annaverna to Carlingford where we will have a few and get picked up by one of the lads wives later. Staying in Ravensdale tomorrow night too. You are right about Spring !! Very few Daffodils too.

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 16/03/2010 21:08:03    590156

dhorse,im a non practising actnostic too! I lost my faith after finding out about the child abuse scandals with the bishops and priests. Were so related LOL only messing!!!

jambread (Cork) - Posts: 307 - 16/03/2010 21:22:29    590176

jambread

590176 dhorse,im a non practising actnostic too! I lost my faith after finding out about the child abuse scandals with the bishops and priests. Were so related LOL only messing!!!

You're obviously a slow learner if it took you that long.:<)

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 16/03/2010 21:59:20    590218

16/03/2010 20:57:13
dhorse
County: Laois

590142 Cavan_Slasher

As a non practising agnostic i will celebrate the coming of spring with an early trot in the Sliabh Blooms, before heading to dear aul mullingar to see these Westmeath giants ate up our chaps. On the subject of spring, I have never seen as little growth for this time as this year. A couple of ponds in the dublin hills that would normally have frog spawn are covered with a metre of snow. How will the Semi retired of cavan mark the occasion?

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 17/03/2010 09:09:50    590243

Happy St Patricks Day

dammon (Meath) - Posts: 1291 - 17/03/2010 09:31:24    590246

patrique

587131 Ulsterman

Does ogall take offence at Irish people celebrating their saint knowing most Irish things annoy him?

Strangely Irish people in Ireland by and large do NOT celebrate St Patrique's day, our beloved French Saint.

In England, US of A, Oz and indeed anywhere else it is massive for about a month.

Talking rubbish again.
I'm going to get drunk, get in a fight and then have a row with the Polish other half.

CheFinny (UK) - Posts: 1358 - 17/03/2010 10:06:30    590269

I am gonna get drunk, watch the all-irelands and shift someone elses non-polish other half. Enjoy the day ye hallions.

Suas Sios (None) - Posts: 1558 - 17/03/2010 10:56:03    590305

Derryman:

No bother bud, we won't fall out over it! I'm off down the round to watch the club finals now so have a good one yourself....

Lá Fhéile Pádraig sona duit

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13846 - 17/03/2010 11:09:01    590321

Happy St Paddy Bradleys day :) hehe?

Orlaith (Derry) - Posts: 4282 - 17/03/2010 11:32:43    590340

County: Derry

590340 Happy St Paddy Bradleys day :) hehe?

More a villain than a saint methinks

derryman (Derry) - Posts: 3246 - 17/03/2010 11:39:59    590350

Hahaha, Hes the only person called Paddy i could think of. Do you not like him haha?

Orlaith (Derry) - Posts: 4282 - 17/03/2010 11:40:52    590355