Win over Monaghan will place Dubs in excellent position.

At the start of the league campaign I would of been expecting us to be coming into this game with no points but I would of expected us to beat Monaghan. Now that we've won all three I'm certain that we'll lose to Monaghan!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13846 - 11/03/2010 21:47:13    586017

i'd say dub will win this one.
but seriously, dublin flying high ? mayo had about 18 wides again ye and ye won by one point.
3rd sunday can't come quick enough this year. does anyone know if its set up for mayo to play kerry in semi this year ? or whats the story.

voiceofreason (Mayo) - Posts: 588 - 12/03/2010 12:04:26    586190

At the start of the league campaign I would of been expecting us to be coming into this game with no points but I would of expected us to beat Monaghan. Now that we've won all three I'm certain that we'll lose to Monaghan!

-----

oh believe me i know the feelin ha ha

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13659 - 12/03/2010 12:06:17    586197

Dublin kicked 17 wides v Meath in last years championship and still won so what's your point?

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 12/03/2010 12:08:44    586200

point is = false blue dawn

voiceofreason (Mayo) - Posts: 588 - 12/03/2010 12:11:34    586207

Gilroy has the Dubs well prepared for these League matches. But they won't hold this fitness advantage over all other teams forever, sooner or later the likes of Meath who are probably still in pretty heavy training will be able to match the Dubs for fitness. To be fair to Gilroy, its an interesting ploy. His players can now have good reason to really believe they can beat the Kerrys and the Tyrones should they meet them on an August Bank Holiday Weekend. The only drawback is their supporters are filled with a renewed optimism.

But when all is said and done and everyone is on a level playing field, this is an average enough Dublin outfit being carried along by two Brogans. Lets not be too harsh Dublin are more than capable of holding their own against the likes of Kildare, Antrim, Down, Galway, etc but if there to meet any of last year's semi-finalists, I'd be genuinely worried for them. Take out the Brogans and the Dubs have nobody.

Loyal2TheRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 4522 - 12/03/2010 12:22:43    586223

LOL. Mayo would know all about false dawns.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 12/03/2010 12:23:30    586225

Jackeen

586200 Dublin kicked 17 wides v Meath in last years championship and still won so what's your point?

The game was not over Jackeen.

Lets be fair here and not get carried away with ourselves. If the ref had played a sufficient amount of injury team, Meath would have won by three or four points.

Loyal2TheRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 4522 - 12/03/2010 12:25:36    586229

voiceofreason

586207 point is = false blue dawn

Well thats just ur opinion man... We're just happy with our start.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 12/03/2010 12:28:49    586235

Loyal2TheRoyal

586223 Gilroy has the Dubs well prepared for these League matches. But they won't hold this fitness advantage over all other teams forever, sooner or later the likes of Meath who are probably still in pretty heavy training will be able to match the Dubs for fitness. To be fair to Gilroy, its an interesting ploy. His players can now have good reason to really believe they can beat the Kerrys and the Tyrones should they meet them on an August Bank Holiday Weekend. The only drawback is their supporters are filled with a renewed optimism.

But when all is said and done and everyone is on a level playing field, this is an average enough Dublin outfit being carried along by two Brogans. Lets not be too harsh Dublin are more than capable of holding their own against the likes of Kildare, Antrim, Down, Galway, etc but if there to meet any of last year's semi-finalists, I'd be genuinely worried for them. Take out the Brogans and the Dubs have nobody.

Still enough to beat Meath with since 2002.... :) Listen just worry about Meath Loyal, it looks like you might need to..!

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 12/03/2010 12:31:00    586242

Loyal are you serious? Cmon you're a veteran of these boards. How can you make a ridiculous statement like that? Between Meath and Mayo....let it go!! Shoulda, woulda, couldas. Ifs and buts etc. Who knows what would have happened if the ref played the time he was supposed to v Meath And who knows what would have happened if mayo hit their scores. It's a stupid argument cos we will never know.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 12/03/2010 12:35:14    586244

Loyal...why is it a drawback that the Dubs get renewed optimism? (by the way renewed optimism doesn't mean we think we are gonna win Sam before you say it) Why on earth would that bother you and a lot of other people on this forum. Why does everybody care so much about our optimism. It baffles me!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 12/03/2010 12:45:02    586258

Lets not be too harsh Dublin are more than capable of holding their own against the likes of Kildare, Antrim, Down, Galway, etc but if there to meet any of last year's semi-finalists, I'd be genuinely worried for them

--------

dont worry Loyal everyone makes blunders , im 100% certain you meant the following

Lets not be too harsh Dublin are more than capable of holding their own against the likes of Kildare, Antrim, Down, Galway, etc but if there to meet any of last year's semi-finalists BAR MEATH, I'd be genuinely worried for them

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13659 - 12/03/2010 12:51:36    586267

Personally I think dublin will destroy us. They've been traini hard all season and months before Monaghan have. We scraped a win at the weekend against a low par Tyrone team who were without the stars. I found our football hard to watch lately. So gonna have to go to say Dublin to win by 5 or 6, better quality of football being played by them right now.

jackinurbox (Monaghan) - Posts: 5 - 12/03/2010 13:29:18    586316

This should be a good match, Keep an eye on Dick Clerkin, he has been outstanding in the 3 previous games. I'll go for a draw in this game... Maurice Deegan is Refereeing, he's a decent ref.

Farney (Monaghan) - Posts: 830 - 12/03/2010 13:44:13    586331

Jackeen

Dublin kicked 17 wides v Meath in last years championship and still won so what's your point?

voiceofreason

point is = false blue dawn

I thought the point you were making was Mayo can't shoot. You could kick 100 wides, they're still not worth one point

NavyNBlue (Dublin) - Posts: 1357 - 12/03/2010 13:54:16    586348

Low scoring draw....with a few cards thrown in.

Floops (Dublin) - Posts: 1623 - 12/03/2010 14:28:08    586392

Good win should have won by more. We made life hard for ourselves with some of the options taken in good goal scoring positions. Once Monaghan went down to 14 with a lot of time to go, fitness was going to play a big part.
Monaghan took some fine scores from play and I was a little bit worried with the ease with which they were getting in and around the defence in the first half. Once down to 14 though, they ran out of steam a bit and resorted to long balls into the FF line. Yes they got a goal from one of their first long balls but they didn't get much else after.
At times, Dublin defenders seemed to be coping we're still guilty of some real sloppy passing, Ross McConnell, David Henry and Paul Flynn were guilty of this. Flynn was very lucky to stay on the field after the second challenge he put in. The referee was very strict on the fisted hand pass rule and at times seemed too whistle happy and didn't let the game flow.
On the plus side for Dublin, Rory O'Carroll had a fairly assured game at FB again. Philip McMahon was guilty of committing himself into challenges too quickly in the first half but had a solid second half and his fitness at this time of the year is unreal. He made 4 of 5 field length bursts during the game even at the end he could have popped one over the bar but laid it off. Mick McCauley looks a real find. Great fielder and a greater worker. He has a good in your face attitude that we've been lacking. The Dublin midfield is short at the moment in my opinion. Ross McConnell for me is not the answer, perhaps McCauley could be. Fennell looks a bit short on fitness but will be the first choice come championship time. Darren McGee looks more like Johnny at the moment but had a good impact when he came on.
Roll on Cork. Win that and we're more or less in the final. Should be a cracker, can't wait to head down.

NavyNBlue (Dublin) - Posts: 1357 - 14/03/2010 09:44:47    587444

No complaints well beaten last night.
Ive been critical of dublin over the years but last night they were hitting hard and tackling well. Something i never seen before from them.
Was impressed with their halfbacks.

It will be prob be us and derry to make the drop now.
Shane duffy was excellent last night. Best game i ever seen him play for monaghan..

Lofty (Monaghan) - Posts: 727 - 14/03/2010 10:49:32    587466

Thought McAdam had a fine game for Monaghan last night. Surprised Banty took him off

NavyNBlue (Dublin) - Posts: 1357 - 14/03/2010 10:56:19    587470