Transfers refused.

ORDER
Your missing the point tho,no matter what anyone thinks eoin was still the guy that got it all started,you have to rem that nobody else wanted to train the team at the time so we were lucky to have him when we did.He was the one that put in the ground work and just because he didnt get the success doesnt mean that his contributation was any the less important.You always have to loose one first to win one,and yes it was a crushing blow in that final but it thought us all a valuable lesson.If you want it bad enough your turn will come if you work harder.

THE BOSS (Carlow) - Posts: 475 - 02/03/2010 15:04:23    577065

Order... Eoin Garvey was the man who had the guts to actually take on the management of a county team, many others would not look at the job. Eoin then got the team to a final... yes a final.. and in Croke park... for most players.. a dream come true!

The fact that we were beaten was disappointing but i for one was seriouly proud that players tht i know had the chance to play there... a lot of former player never had this chance! Agreed?

I do believe that Eoin Garvey was a brave soul to take on a job of training an unashionable team like Carlow. He was probably the youngest manager in the provinces
at the time and that speaks volumes for his courage and his interest in hurling and wanting to put Carlow on the map. Remember he also spent time with the County minors also and was also most successful there too.

Again people have short memories.

The suggestion that Eoin Garvey would not make the intermediate panel in NB is mising the point. He obviously wants to play hurling, just play... that is what most young people want... to play the game they love. Why does he not throw in his lot again with Carlow Town? Again anyone with his ear to the ground would also be able to give an explanation .... seems that he would not be wanted...simple. He has been involved in the past with that club, so... obviously there are reasons for not wanting to play with them.

I really do believe that it is rather a moot point whether this manager or that manager has or is beter than some other manager. The fact is that Eoin Garvey had all the best players playing for him and the county before Jim Grene or Kevin Ryan came to the county. Fact. What exactly his place in the development of the game in Carlow is... well... ask those in Balinkillen, Erins OWn and Naomh Brid... his impact and influence has bee substantial. Probably the teacher in Carlow who has contributed most for hurling in the county for 30 years. Debate that one Order, if you will.

carlowman (Carlow) - Posts: 1871 - 02/03/2010 17:22:06    577260

To add to previous posts on this same issue... people wonder why Liam Kenny is not playing with Carlow Town. They ask why he would not throw in his lot with the club as they need every player they can get. I do not know why Liam Kenny has looked for a transfer. I would think that Liam was not in the country for a while.and because of internals in the club does not and will not play with the club again.

Now we have a problem and i really feel that as i posted earlier that players like Liam and those who have transferred out of the club and joined other hurling clubs should be accomodated in some way. We are losing players due to not being able to play with the club that they grew up with who have for one reason or another fallen out with that club and are lost to the game in their prime.

I am not talking or referring to clubs who 'poach' other players and i or i am sure other posters here would have little or no respect for such clubs.

I do not know of how many other players we have lost in the county but in some clubs it obviously has been more than in others. It just seems a shame that players are lost before they finish their careers.

Perhaps a mediation service would be of benefit in such cases.

carlowman (Carlow) - Posts: 1871 - 02/03/2010 17:45:58    577317

Lads just one point that i will add to the Garvey debate. I know for a fact that when he took over he persuaded a couple of Rangers lads to go into the county that had never gone in before. He did this quietly and the ones that choose not to were not mentioned by him afterwards. That shows how he conducted his business. He got more lads from our club involved in the county than ever before and we are reaping benifits of that now. he seems to have made a difference where ever he went. Surely sombody who gets involved and coaches and trains should be admired for that whatever the results achieved.

He has done more for hurling in the county than most and deserves credit for that. I would let him play but then i would alwayd prefer to see hurlers playing rather than being refused to do so. I dont know the other chap at all but again some accomadation should be reached with him to allow him to play somewhere. Would it not be better to do that than see him giving it up. I am all for the rule book but some times the law is an ass.

By the way some of the stuff on this thread is bordering on the nasty. Poking fun or constructive criticism is one thing but personal stuff should be a no go.

aragorn1 (Carlow) - Posts: 156 - 03/03/2010 10:15:02    577697

Aragorn1; agree totally with you. Garvey has been responsible almost singlehandedly for revival of hurling in muinebheag due to his great efforts in PDLS and that is not meant as a slight on everyone else who has assisted in that effort. People can have their views on the man and thats fine but his contribution to Carlow hurling in recent years cannot be denied. BTW the situation in carlow hurling club is far from ideal and I cannot see it being resolved until a certain party retires or is removed. There is too much bitterness there at the moment.

hogg (Carlow) - Posts: 321 - 03/03/2010 10:53:07    577736

Agree with Aragorn re some of the comments directed at players / (ex) mentors and so on are bang-out-of-order on a public forum. These people are amateurs and are or did put their time, effort and commitment into the county cause - one to be honest that hasn't been that popular throughout the years in both codes. We all have our own opinions on players, coaches, mentors etc but given that these people have bothered to make the effort and are putting in huge commitment comment could at least be couched in a more constructive manner.

The last thing we want is lads not to take up the county call as player or manager / mentor because of the fear of abuse from anonymous posters.

Bainisteoir (National) - Posts: 575 - 03/03/2010 12:43:41    577860

Agree with the idea of keeping it country on the forum here.. all those lads give countless hours out of their time to club aand county, without any bad intentions, so fairplay to to all..

old yellar (None) - Posts: 2630 - 03/03/2010 13:19:06    577903

I had a word with a Mr Thomas Walsh on a recent trip to Carlow. I asked him the question; why he played for Wicklow instead Carlow. The replies came:

1. The chance to play under Micko. Once he pulls the plug, so will I.

2. Did you come the whole way from tyrone just to ask me that?

Plastic Paddy (Tyrone) - Posts: 664 - 03/03/2010 15:07:28    578048

Thats very helpful paddy thanks

Blue & White (Carlow) - Posts: 136 - 03/03/2010 15:31:29    578083

Aye sure why not blue+white?

Plastic Paddy (Tyrone) - Posts: 664 - 03/03/2010 17:12:55    578211

on the owen garvey issue no man done more for carlow hurling,he should be allow play with how ever but im gettin worried about the hype everybody seem to be given carlow hurling we have came a long way alrite but we have massive mountains to climb before we any where neer the top what im saying is room wasnt build in a day like we still behind laois an a full antrim team by about 5 0r 6 points and wexford hurling is at rock bottom at moment but we are at least 15 points maybe more behind them and that will be told in 3 weeks when we play them so what im am saying its going to take time but please god we"ll get there

caman123 (Carlow) - Posts: 141 - 03/03/2010 17:24:38    578224

carlow13
County: Carlow

i just hope eoin hasnt read some of downright ignorant comments written about him here last week.

Id say he has seen them.

hurlingguru (Carlow) - Posts: 1838 - 04/03/2010 19:46:04    579490

Of course Eoin has seen them! He is a man of the world! Young enough to know about how the world goes around and all about the Hogan Stand!

I would think that he has had the odd chuckle to himself but also has been pretty annoyed at the personalised comments about his contribution. I for one wish him every success and hope that he has his wish of playing hurling again. If you look at his career in management, his best best years as a hurler have been devoted to coaching in the county and he has not had the opportunity of playing... at least not till now. Perhaps the body that looks at these things can look again at his request.

carlowman (Carlow) - Posts: 1871 - 04/03/2010 21:50:29    579688

fairplay hurlingurru an carlowman good to see that sum people in carlow hurling havnt lost there memory but would say that most of people involed in and supporting cw hurling would hav notting but praise for eoin garvey anyway i wished him they very best and hope to see him hurling in the summer

caman123 (Carlow) - Posts: 141 - 05/03/2010 13:42:30    579975

Off the point slightly but did Davey Moran of grange not recently get a transfer from Grange to Kilbride even tho he is living here in tullow?outside of the 6km rule i think??? If he wanted to play senoir football surely tullow would have been the only option?

futyfan (Carlow) - Posts: 60 - 05/03/2010 21:26:22    580465

Just flicked thru this post to see what it was about and i hadnt much interest in it to be honest, i just saw it in the paper but i had to post somethin when you see the sh## thats written here by some poeple. Liasm and Eoin are 2 sound, funny genuine fellows and what ever about having a go at them for changing clubs its totally disgracefull to be lashing them with personal attacks when you can hide behind a screen name and they're not here to defend themselves. I played under Garvey and with Liam and i know what the lads are like. Sound men.

I dont know much about the transfer rules and regulations but if they want to move and its Legitimate they should be allowed. They both love hurling and just want to keep at it im sure and their own club is a shambles so why not move if those in power are killing the club.

As for Garver, i have huge respect for him, say what you want about Antrim in Croke park or picking select players. Fact is he took on Carlow when no one else would, with little managerial experienc and im sure little hope of success. Yes the structures are much better now because of Green and Ryan but i really do think Garvey put the wheels in motion and did the best with what he had. If it was not for him we difinitely wouldnt be where we are today.

He didnt win anything major with us but in fairness he realised he had done his best and he stepped down so we could get a new manager and bring us another step forward and i know that for fact. I think he deserves great credit and should be remembered for that and not for trying to play a bit of junior hurling with a different club. A lot of lads just waiting in the long grass waitin for a good man to fall so they can have a go at him i think. Disgrace!!

And as for the Myshall roar ha ha, Garvey talked sense unlike some hill mens war cry!!

Ashbreaker (Carlow) - Posts: 20 - 08/03/2010 14:11:30    582010

ashbreaker id say if u heard the myshall roar ud run a mile ? and whenever u or ur club win what the hillmen have won down the years then ul have something to talk about

caman123 (Carlow) - Posts: 141 - 08/03/2010 17:45:10    582352

caman123 get out of the past and into the present no one is afraid of the miseal roar anymore they used to bully teams to win games and fair enough it worked for a while but not anymore. the rangers proved that pure hurling wins games now as the saying goes the cream "always"comes to the top

TopFan (Carlow) - Posts: 166 - 08/03/2010 18:58:10    582450

topfan ur cream will be gone very sour again ye win 18 senior champions 8 inter 7 juniors 12 under 21 10 minor 1 senior football several inter an junior football and a serious amount of under age for both hurling an football oh and ill throw in camoiges as wel wer goins for 11 in a row this year 29 senior championships

caman123 (Carlow) - Posts: 141 - 08/03/2010 20:24:21    582625

totally agree with ya order. kenny and garvey should stick by their clubs. the twin byrnes and christy cody from erins own were gettin bet out de gate for years but they kept comin back for more time and time again. they got there just rewards last year by reachin county final. them are de lads that kept the whole thing afloat while a lot of other lads walked away. i remember rangers too gettin bet regularly every year but look at them now.

mamamia (Carlow) - Posts: 25 - 22/03/2010 18:21:58    595385