Transfers refused.

Order, Well said a 100%

CarlowGael (Carlow) - Posts: 41 - 26/02/2010 11:42:35    573776

did i hit a nerve hogg wicklow broke no rules leinster granted the transfer because it met the criteria under rule ye seem to make your own up as ye go along where in the official guide does it make 6km restrictions on transfers within a county

pistelero (Wicklow) - Posts: 1719 - 26/02/2010 11:43:32    573777

Order & Oki Your totally right, when he was over us Antrim Humiliated us, it was the lowest of the low points for Carlow Hurling. It was Tommy Buggy with the minors, Jim Green (cause he picked different players) & Kevin Ryan who put us where we are today, These are the facts History doesn lie.

oki (Carlow) - Posts: 38 - 26/02/2010 11:46:12    573784

Well Said Lads, I agree with ye on above,, here here for Jim Green & Kevin Ryan.

Sportie (Carlow) - Posts: 44 - 26/02/2010 11:52:00    573791

OKI, not sticking up for anybody on this matter,but on your coment that getting beat by Antrim in that Ring final.Yes it was a bad beating,as fir it being the lowest of the low i would disagree.Kerry put 9 goals past us back in 2004(in Carlow)whil Mayo bet us in the NHL and the old All Ireland B that year,a game in which Garvey had to tog out himself due to lack of subs.Lets hope we dont go back to these days anyway!!

fergie (Carlow) - Posts: 1119 - 26/02/2010 12:05:04    573813

Well said. If ever there was a lad that loves the sound of his own voice. By the end, lost the dressing room. Just ask who was rallying the Carlow team when questions were asked, lets just say it wasn't the Banner roar, more like the Myshall howl. Has an impact for a year at maximum, then kaputt.
As far as Carlow Town, don't know the story but from what goes on here, its ridiculously biased. All I know is that they had their troubles, they mightn't have a big panel, but who knows in the future. Everyone dog has its day, thats sport. MLR are a great example of what to do as Order said. They need a couple more, like Kenny, and wouldn't be far off. Needless to say I'll be piloried by a few predictable posters on this site but, who cares, thats my opinion.

a rasper (Carlow) - Posts: 12 - 26/02/2010 12:16:28    573842

Oki and Order lads its geting a bit out of hand now with the personal comments against eoin garvey.If ye were true hurling folk ye would both know what he has contributed to the county.People are very quick to forget how he dug us out of a hole and improved both the attitude and the set up when the county board couldnt get anyone else to take over the post at the time.Now i wouldnt be the mans greatest fan but as a county we do owe him a bit of respect for all the hard work he done for us.Secondly people are totally missing the point why they both want to move from carlow town.Carlow town do not have a second team and eoin is only a junior/intermediate player and there is no junior hurling this year.As for liam kenny i dont know personally his reasons but i would imagine that all the goings on in that club the past few years have turned a lot of great hurling folk away from the club and you cant blame them for that.I would imagine the reason he didnt transfer to pal was because they are only intermediate and hes probably aiming to get back on the county team again and in fairness hes not goin to get back to the player he was by playing intermediate.

THE BOSS (Carlow) - Posts: 475 - 26/02/2010 12:54:00    573908

Lads I am not pilloring anyone, but maybe your memories of Carlow Hurling are a little short? Eoin Garvey did not bring things to the level of GReen or Kevin Ryan (who has really brought the approach forward a number of steps, and even again this year with an innovation or two) but when he took over he improved us. Thats a fact. If getting a hiding from Antrim in 2004 was the lowest of the low then you have never seen an old style Div 3 game of hurling or remember the way we used to get scutched out of Div 2 every year we got into it. That prob doesnt go back far enough in itself. Most managers lose the dressingroom before they leave as well. Few get to go on their own terms. Did the man improve us, yes... Is it fair to have a personal go at him, or anyone directly on this forum, no.

getonwithit (Carlow) - Posts: 527 - 26/02/2010 14:00:05    573985

Aint posted in a long time but I look in. Not sure why. . . lot of experts here: have any of de posters who know so much any experience of trainin county teams or club? I doubt it.
Transfers are a major issue. Sometimes dey are coz of complete frustration and all avenues exhausted in tryin to have a club run properly. Club officials can be as intransigent and as dogmatic as many posters on dis page.
Dont like nasty personal comments.
Rangers are being held up as a gud example of a club dat overcame hard times and are now successful. Which is true.
Memories are short tho'. Rangers only formed after de merger of 3 udder clubs. Ballymurphy wan of dem. A club with as strong a tradition as any in de county. Many people in Ballymurphy were not happy den and aren't happy now. Dey went out of existence.
Transfers in dis county are not all treated equally. Some clubs have influence and get dere own way.
Dere's no problem gettin a transfer away from some clubs. But dere is an unwritten rule dat transfers to certain clubs are objected to and are always refused on a vote.
Look at the transfer list each year you will see that a few clubs constantly recruiting players from neighbouring clubs. Some of dem get away with it all de time.
One football club regularly gets players from another one coz of canvassing for players. And now I see a club is OBJECTING to players transferring back to dere 1st club and puttin on the poor mouth about how dey cant afford to lose these players.
De reason dey cant afford to lose them is..... dey disbanded dere juvenile teams a number of years ago. and now want to object to losing the players dey recruited....
Players have rights too and if dey cant be persuaded to stay and dey are legal to go dey should be let go. Too many clubs are run badly and players lose interest with de messin in de clubs. If clubs had dere houses in order there'd be a lot less transfers. Too many dictators in clubs tink dey're always right

Benekerry (Cavan) - Posts: 258 - 26/02/2010 14:59:01    574088

Benekerry not sure where you are coming from - The reason that MLR was formed was that people wanted a parish team. Before MLR were formed Ballymurphy, Borris and Rathanna played together up as far as minor and then split.

It is still a parish team. That a lot of people in Ballymurphy were not happy is a fact. Most of those were players that had given up or who had never played in their life. There was also a sprinkling of people who were not from the area or who had left a long time before. You should also remember that we struggled for the next 15 years to compete with a full parish team. That should give you some indication of what standard we were at before the formation. perhaps you would like us go back to Courtnellan or Kilcloney. We are a parish team and proud of it. We are no different that many other teams that merged over the years such as Naomh Brid. I dont know what your point about MLR is or what they have to do with this transfer but maybe you can enlighten me.

As for Garvey, what ever your opinion of him, he still took on a job that not many people wanted and gave it his best shot. I have good time for him but that is only coming from what county players had to say about him. Anyway we could do without the personal jibes.

aragorn1 (Carlow) - Posts: 156 - 26/02/2010 17:09:34    574272

the thread is about transfers and there legality. Simple fact is i know of a young lad, 17, nice chap, interested in hurling, not county material but honest, who wants to transfer to the same from the same. He was told the same thing. point is, irregardless of who it is, rules are rules and the cant be bent for one not the other because of past service.

old yellar (None) - Posts: 2630 - 26/02/2010 17:10:39    574275

making de point that a strong football club was done away with eventho many people wanted it to stay. Rangers have not done anything in de big ball since. If a club can be assimilated into another I cant see why a player cant transfer if hes legal. I didnt bring Rangers into dis discussion. No quarrel with dem; I think de best is still to come from dem on the hurlin front but dey are not yet at de level Myshall teams of de past were or St Mullins.
If a club can change to another so can a player...... depends on de clubs i suppose

Benekerry (Cavan) - Posts: 258 - 26/02/2010 18:26:55    574368

In reply to Benekerrys post, Ballymurphy was the football team in the Borris parish and Borris was the hurling team, made up mostly of the same players. Then from around the mid 70s to the late 80s Ballymurphy also formed their own hurling team. So then there was still the Borris hurling team and the Rathanna football team was formed. Everyone realized that this couldn't continue and all came back together to form MLR. I don't think you can say that a strong club was done away with. Obviously there was a tradition there and people don't like losing the club name and jersey.

Getting back to the subject of transfers we have to be even handed and can't allow a transfer to go through because of services rendered to a particular club or county. I have great time for the two men involved but if they were allowed to transfer it could spark an exodus out of CTHC which would effectively kill off hurling in the town. It would also set a bad precedent where talented players in a struggling club could opt to join a stronger club, or worse, be poached by a stronger club.

Obviously there are political problems with that club but politics goes on in every club, and if enough town folk interested in hurling get together I'm sure something could be done.

Milltown (Carlow) - Posts: 22 - 26/02/2010 19:59:37    574480

hard to see kenny getting transfer to naomh brid with him from pal,any club putting in a transfer should have a 75% idea how they are going to get on before hand,if its not legal thats that,maybe frank murphy cork co board should start an advisory website that way you would be 99% certain before hand,as for lads sayin garvey is this garvey is that any person in charge of any team anywhere has positive and negative attitudes and responses

polaris (Carlow) - Posts: 53 - 26/02/2010 20:56:32    574545

Agree we need to be even handed about transfers and transfer must stand up on its merit.
Alarmin to see somethin like 9 transfers to a certain football club at juvenile level.... hardly a concidence
Have heard another club distributing transfer forms in a school through a player......a club i know well....

Benekerry (Cavan) - Posts: 258 - 27/02/2010 09:47:27    574628

Alarmin to see somethin like 9 transfers to a certain football club at juvenile level.... hardly a concidence

I heard that aswel and there startin players aswel. Susprised the blues didnt object.

hurlingguru (Carlow) - Posts: 1838 - 27/02/2010 12:27:25    574651

some clubs are like hoovers alrite!

old yellar (None) - Posts: 2630 - 28/02/2010 12:15:36    575004

Very interesting debate here on transfers being denied. The big debte has been on Eoin Garvey and his application. Its fairly clear that Eoin is interested in playing intermediate with a club. As far as i can understand Eoin does not have the option of playing for Carlow Ton as they are only entering one team, and Eoin realistically would not get on that senior team. So he wishes to play for Naomh Brid. The application has been made all the more interesting in that he is teaching in De La Salle which would have a lot of students from the NB club catchment area. Also of course he has trained NB for 2 years winning one championship.

People on this site have resorted to the rue book to deny a player the opportunity to play hurling.... the idea that NB does not have Balinabranna as its club centre is beyond me as it has ben the recognised training and playing grounds for years. The 'bye law' issue is another attempt by people to HIDE BEHIND THE RULEBOOK. Imagine using the secretary's address as the base for a club? Beggars belief. The fact that Croke Park will vouch for this bye law does not justify or in some way make this situation right. Rules are there to protect people and not deny people. The GAA in Carlo and in general needs to look at itslf again.

As for the contribution that Eoin Garvey has made to hurling... I believe that Carlow would not be in the current position were it not for the effort and hard work of Garvey. People talk about the defeat a few years ago to Antrim... and look to Jim Greene winning the following year and some have been personal in an attack on Eoin Garvey. Sad to see that some have a short and selective memory!

His school involvement and the effort he has made has been top drawer and has been a central reason for the position and respect that Erins Own now occupy and enjoy.

For me , Eoin SHOULD be allowed to play with NB as he will not get any chance of getting on the Carlow Town team... and this is a right he has, and please do not respond with quoting rules again. If Carlow Twon had a second team the situation would be a little different.

carlowman (Carlow) - Posts: 1871 - 02/03/2010 13:48:39    576969

You say dont go to the rule book okay lets go to the facts. he would not make N Brids second team either way. why doesnt he not put all this great coaching he has into carlow Town???????? he was finished as a huler long time ago. not what you would call a hurler in the first place. don't N Brid have enough of a pick, while carlow Town have'nt. If the real issues were stated on this forum, people would know the truth. as for his time with carlow, you say the defeat to Antrim was'nt that bad, your right it was a disater, Grenn was the Man, Ryan is even better again. They are doing it for Carlow Hurling.

Order (Carlow) - Posts: 36 - 02/03/2010 14:38:48    577039

thankfully my sanity is beginning to be restored after that message carlowman. i just hope eoin hasnt read some of downright ignorant comments written about him here last week. i can think of very few people who have done more for carlow hurling in the last 15 years. we are extremely lucky to have him and hopefully will be able to hold on to him.
it boggles the mind reading some of the comments on here sometimes.
just a couple of points id like to clear up before i go back into the shadows.

eoin never lost the dressing!!
The Myshall roar??? ha id love that one explained to me.
please for the sake of my sanity could you research the reasons for eoin and liam looking for a transfer and remember now, just because some guy on a bar stool says it doesnt mean its actually true.

and on a side note, gaa players are not full time professionals. how some people feel they have a right to abuse and insult them on a national forum is beyond me. i was talking to a few of the players and they do look in on these sites from time to time. just a thought for yee.

carlow13 (Carlow) - Posts: 1 - 02/03/2010 14:48:25    577051