The Everton Thread

Well done to Everton today, they deserved their victory. They are definitely on a good run at the moment.

I'm not sure how Rodwell got man of the match but it was a well taken goal. The kids looks like he has a bright future, how long before the big guns come a calling for him?

Moyes has done a great job at Everton, fair play to him.

Mancirish (UK) - Posts: 2200 - 20/02/2010 17:20:30    568018

Bilyetdinov should have got man of the match,if not him then Saha.And fair play to Everton,the only qualm I have over today's game is I thought Rooney didn't give a rat's **** about the game,he looked as if he just didn't care.

Duffy89 (Wexford) - Posts: 3320 - 20/02/2010 17:27:26    568029

well played everton - delighted ye beat them - (from a LFC fan)

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11539 - 20/02/2010 17:29:34    568033

Im a utd man but hav to say well done everton - thought it would be a tricky game 4 utd after milan and that. Rooney in danger of burnout - a little rest against west ham would do him world of good.

Rodwell is useful - has been around couple years - lacks consistency.

Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 20/02/2010 17:49:36    568057

Sooner or later Arsene Wenger will leave Arsenal. I suggest they look no further than David Moyes to fill the vacancy. He's done an excellent job at Everton and would continue the unique Arsenal ethos. It would be a great move for him and Arsenal.

Cavan1947 (Cavan) - Posts: 215 - 20/02/2010 17:51:15    568061

I had similar thoughts about the great man Duffy. Certainly not at the races today, its got to be he was playing against his boyhood hero's. I believe his baby wheres the Everton kit. He will always have a soft spot for Everton.

Mancirish (UK) - Posts: 2200 - 20/02/2010 18:02:50    568081

RESPECT

allstar4 (Donegal) - Posts: 558 - 20/02/2010 18:09:14    568089

Everton are an average team, surprised they bet United.

PJ (None) - Posts: 2288 - 20/02/2010 18:48:33    568125

They have managed to beat the top 2 teams in the league in a fortnight and should have beaten Arsenal, average enough alright

omaghredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 3656 - 20/02/2010 18:56:17    568137

No coincidence that their best player is back playing

omaghredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 3656 - 20/02/2010 18:59:56    568141

If you're referring to Arteta omaghredhand, he was fairly anonymous today. Hasn't been anywhere near his usual standard since returning from his serious injury.

nocky (Wexford) - Posts: 2059 - 20/02/2010 19:30:19    568162

Man Utd hypocrites.

Squid

squidword (Louth) - Posts: 2897 - 20/02/2010 19:38:31    568171

16/01/2010 19:52:21
Mancirish
County: UK

He's to good for them Hughsie got a lucky escape. We'll have him at Old T, the next fergie in the making. Money can't buy you everything hey!!!!

I think this was your comment when Everton beat City.

You were calling for the City manager to be sacked.

So...................maybe you will have Hughes next year. He has a record of keeping mediocre teams up!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 20/02/2010 19:54:55    568193

omaghredhand

They have managed to beat the top 2 teams in the league in a fortnight and should have beaten Arsenal, average enough alright

Did they? Gosh, I had the impression that the ONLY game they had won all year was against Man City.

Silly me.

Mind you, I also had the impression that Birmingham only have one point all year, similar to Stoke, both achieved in 1-1 draws with City.

And Aston Villa as well, one point as well, also against City.

That was from listening to the media.

Then I looked at the table and did a bit of research.

It really is great being a big club, but it takes a bit of getting used to, all the lies and slants.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 20/02/2010 19:58:48    568203

By the way, Mancirish, have you been taling lessons from Tiger?

Get in the old false statement first before the ^### hits the fan.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 20/02/2010 20:06:28    568212

20/02/2010 19:30:19
nocky
County: Wexford

568162 If you're referring to Arteta omaghredhand, he was fairly anonymous today. Hasn't been anywhere near his usual standard since returning from his serious injury.

He was ok as far as I could see, but as I am sure you understand Nocky, its not just what he does on the pitch. It has been a huge boost for Everton that he has returned recentky and although it will take him a while to get back to his best I believe that it is not a coincidence that they have started to get themselves together since he returned. I remember a certain man come on in an All Ireland final, unfit and not doing a particularly great amount but the mere presence helped his team over the line

omaghredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 3656 - 20/02/2010 20:49:20    568243

Whenever, if ever your team becomes a big club, you'll make the adjustment alright I suspect

omaghredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 3656 - 20/02/2010 20:51:14    568246

omaghredhand

Whenever, if ever your team becomes a big club, you'll make the adjustment alright I suspect

The media decide who the big clubs are.

You don't think SKY are going to leave the Sky league to chance?

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 20/02/2010 20:59:26    568262

The fishing around Malin Head is definitely worth while at this time of year. Its like when the seagulls follow the trawler.........lol

Great to see all my little jokes over recent times haven't gone to waste. It was only a matter of time............lol

As i have said already well done Everton, at least Mancirish will give you credit for beating his home boyhood hero's and deservedly so.

Mancirish (UK) - Posts: 2200 - 21/02/2010 10:54:19    568342

Good news lads is that it was only the league.

As we know Fergie prioritised the League Cup as the big thing this year, and therefore Rio played in the semi, rather than play yesterday, which was the extra one game ban.

Having watched Brown and Evans struggle I wondered why Fergie had jeopardised winning the league to concentrate on the league cup, but I assume he knows what he is doing.

Unless he maybe threw away the league just to beat City.

But he wouldn't be that vain, stupid and insecure.

Would he?

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 21/02/2010 11:48:59    568377