Calling on all Galway Football Fans

The gates were also wide open unattended at half time. What a rip off. I suppose ?20 to see Galway is better ?12 to see a club match.

Clash-of-da-ash (Galway) - Posts: 927 - 07/07/2008 14:45:05    43987

Can someone please explain how the GAA defend the prices for tickets? The players aren't getting paid, and the money sure as hell isn't getting spent on Pearse (Or Tuam!) stadium!

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3143 - 07/07/2008 15:15:36    44011

Galway Supporters will not travel in big numbers this weekend i believe. although they see this a 50-50 game they believe that this is a far as either team can go. the recession is hitting the west hard and i reckon that boyh sets of supporters are hoping fpr one day out in dublin this year, possibly at a big double header, now that the minnows have been banished to the tommy murphy kick about. Here in Mayo we have probably the most loyal supporters in Ireland, but the heartache of the past few seasons, along with the recession could result in the worst attended final in decads.

martinjoe (Mayo) - Posts: 545 - 07/07/2008 16:49:50    44122

Mayo Fans Planning Big!- If this tripe doesn't get galway armchair fans up and supporting their county, something is seriously wrong - Folowing is taken from Mayo message board:

Hello all. As many of you probably read we have a large group gathering at the scoreboard at the Baconfactory End (behind the goal, NOT the sideline) to generate a bit of an atmosphere. Thanks to anyone who supported the idea :)

We're meeting for the minor game at 12:00 throw in. Myself and Mick and a few more'll be up earlier to put up a few flags.

Anyone who can bring a drum or a bodhran please do. It's all an addition. Also make sure you all wear your jerseys!! And of course, any flags, scarves, hats, headbands, and ANYTHING that is Green and Red!!!

Hope you all make it up to us and we'll have a good go at it!!

If you're coming just leave a quick comment :) Thanks lads, good luck!!

COME ON MAYO!! :D
05/07/2008 20:26:22
MayoMick

43380 yup really lookin forward to it now...
were goin to have positive attitude and give mayo our full support...
we have no interest in being dragged into slagging matches with the opposition, just support for our own county.
hopefully we will give mchale park a could send off before the new stadium begins to be built...
hope to see everyone there and thanks for people's support..
Up Mayo!!:D
06/07/2008 10:38:50
ontheroad

43440 Hows it going Revolution.You have in fairness built up a nice head of steam and I am only going to praise you, still I am a bit like Patmac who just wonders if Mayomick and the Revolution are two persons inthe one divine person if you follow my drift. Sadly I wont be in Castlebar on the big day I will be in Medgugorde and I will ask the BIG Man himself to intercede for us. Keep up the work and keep the balance right and who knows what might be achieved.
06/07/2008 12:14:40
manc.mayo

43453 I am heading over from manchester looking forward to beating galway (have to be positive).Fair play for creating a singing section count me in UP MAYO
06/07/2008 19:24:36
TheRevolution

43512 Cheers ontheroad, but really, we are not the same person I promise you that :) He is a good mate of mine though and we've made a joint effort in this. Well I hope the BIG man answers your call. I think we might just pip this one. Delighted we have home advantage!! I think maybe our stength in midfield can win it for us. I still feel our forwards are better than people think. AOM and Andy Moran had an off day against Sligo and have something to prove I feel. And Dillon to come back too so who knows?? I'm going to say a Mayo win (but is that my head or my heart speaking?? :))

Possible meeting with Kerry in the last 8 should we win Connaught!! :O

Fair play to ya manc!! We'll see you there!! :)
07/07/2008 11:14:22
ball-boy

43749 count me in and ill bring all me mates
07/07/2008 14:18:48
TheRevolution

43957 Cheers ball-boy ;) See yee there!
07/07/2008 16:34:56
ball-boy

44103 what i think is critical here for this to work, is when galway bring on bergin or whoever thats the time to immediately start a chant for mayo, if galway get a goal thats the time to do it, players feel the exact same as the man in the stand if you go 'oh **** here comes bergin im telling you the lads on the pitch will see things alot similairy' if you are feeling down so will they, its these time that are the acid test for a revolution like this, winning by 10 points a singing along like mozarts second symphony is all fine and well, do it 20 seconds after conceding a goal and they this revlution will be immortal- we will be like 300- 'TODAY NO MAYO MAN LOSES' classic stuff, im actually looking forward to this

Result Pages: 1
Page 1

Daftbeggar (Galway) - Posts: 38 - 07/07/2008 17:19:09    44163

Hey DaftBeggar...Nobody reads these long Essays...Please keep it short and to the point..Anybody who has anything useful to do, cannot be reading these long letters...Ask Murty! He tried it !!! Got him nowhere!
If you can't raise their Blood Pressure..with a few lines..Something seriously wrong...

SAMMYTHEBULL (Galway) - Posts: 1646 - 07/07/2008 19:43:48    44239

can't make it to castlebar coz i'm goin to oxegen!! wooo yeah!! :p

sean15 (Galway) - Posts: 32 - 07/07/2008 23:16:53    44343

Daftbeggar

Thats old news Daftbeggar. Where have you been.
Sure whats wrong with getting together and supporting your county team....
how is that insperation to any armchair galway supporter other that getting them to do the same at the opposit end of the stadium. It would be great to see both sets of fans do this as long as its done the the spirit of the gaa which i believe it is. its seen every year in Leitrim at their home games. A sight to behold.
Hope to see you all there ;-)

FromTheNa (Mayo) - Posts: 583 - 08/07/2008 08:12:36    44379

Ah Daftbeggar don't be scared of our neighbour's boisterousness and pomp - they have been doing that for 57 years without any AI to show for it. Don't think it will worry PJ and the boys unduly!

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3470 - 08/07/2008 08:49:33    44384

sean15

44343 can't make it to castlebar coz i'm goin to oxegen!! wooo yeah!! :p

A mate of mine is going and he reckons that they will be showing the game there. Sure what more do you need. Smelly Hippies, plenty of beer, loud music and a big screen tv showing the connaught final :-D

FromTheNa (Mayo) - Posts: 583 - 08/07/2008 10:09:47    44429