Good man Murty boy - very hard to argue with any of the valid points raised there! tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3470 - 20/06/2008 09:23:56 35121 Link 0 |
Foxesparish yeah its getting to the stage now that a small club team's followers would create more noise and support than the county footballers and hurlers! Why is that ? Growing up in the 70's and 80's I didn't notice that Galway teams were always so poorly supported. Am I wrong? Were there more supporters back then or were they just more passionate? Of course if we reached an AI it would be impossible get a ticket! tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3470 - 20/06/2008 11:25:43 35220 Link 0 |
Galway games were definitely better attended in the 70's and 80's without a doubt. There was no back door then and we didn't have to travel to Salthill except once a year as a novelty and rather than us having to make a horseen out of the dog all the time, our parents would load us up with the plastic buckets and shovels and we'd head for Salthill for a couple of hours and we'd have a couple of ice creams on the way back. That was the limit of our involvement with Salthill until the powers that be turned the job upside down in the last number of years. We all know that the facilities in Tuam leave a little to be desired but there sure was atmosphere for all Galway championship games. You could bring U2 or the Pope to Pearse stadium and it would still have an atmosphere like a wake. It's a dead duck and that's all there is to it. Even that shower of luaders, Westlife and they tell me that they are fairly popular will find it hard to generate any atmosphere when they play there tomorrow. Murty (Galway) - Posts: 14 - 20/06/2008 12:08:15 35262 Link 0 |
'll go to Castlebar before I go to Pearse stadium and there are thousands like me out there.' mossbags (Galway) - Posts: 1089 - 20/06/2008 12:18:09 35275 Link 0 |
Of course Pearse Stadium has helped football in the City look at St. Jameses, they're the coming club in Galway with some exceptionalyoung players e.g Paul Conroy, Eoin Concannon, Deacy etc. these could easily of been lost to Soccer had it not been for the GAA's growing prescence. Too many fans from the North board are stuck in the comfort Zone and will only support Galway if they're playing in Tuam or an All-Ireland final. Whoever said the pitch beside Pearse Stadium is a swamp (its just a nickname,the pitch has been developed) doesn't know all that much as most of the time it has a far supperior surface to Tuam. Tuam's a Joke;rubbish pitch,crumbling stadium, rat infested facilities etc. t.g (Galway) - Posts: 108 - 20/06/2008 12:55:00 35324 Link 0 |
I never heard of Fr. James's and I'm sure the lads mentioned below are grand lads as well but I've never heard of them as footballers. I'm not going to go into it again but let's stop flogging the dead horse that is Pearse stadium. As a facility, it's great and no one can argue but it's simply in the wrong location, that's all. If we could transport it to Tuam, everybody would be happy. Pearse will always get a few supporters from the city and the side behind but it will never be a GAA venue with a true championship atmosphere. Murty (Galway) - Posts: 14 - 20/06/2008 13:50:48 35381 Link 0 |
Not good enough Murty. Fellas burstin away all Winter in the hope of wearing the county jersey the least you'd think they'd be entitled to is a bit of support from Galways true football supporters. Doest matter where they mite be playin, what counts is getting behind them. mossbags (Galway) - Posts: 1089 - 20/06/2008 14:06:00 35401 Link 0 |
Ya dont follow galway football Murty, Paul Conroy has started in both Championship matches! The other 2 lads are county u-21's. t.g (Galway) - Posts: 108 - 20/06/2008 14:23:37 35419 Link 0 |
Move it out to Rosmuc, great playing surface and we'll surely fill the stand!! Daftbeggar (Galway) - Posts: 38 - 20/06/2008 15:37:42 35513 Link 0 |
How about moving some of the Galway championship down to the new state of the art facilities in Clonberne. More parking than Salthill. More of a football stronghold than Salthill. More of a Friendly environment Ciaran.Lowry (Galway) - Posts: 23 - 20/06/2008 19:50:50 35660 Link 0 |
Daftbeggar - Thanks for the offer a Mhac. :-) Starie1975 (Galway) - Posts: 444 - 21/06/2008 14:35:13 35759 Link 0 |
Reasons for staying in PEARSE.... SAMMYTHEBULL (Galway) - Posts: 1646 - 21/06/2008 22:42:53 35839 Link 0 |
Hi Murty..Sorry your missing your friends from Tuam, when you go to Salthill...I know them well..They used to offer to look after my car in Tinkers Road.... Kind of miss them as well... SAMMYTHEBULL (Galway) - Posts: 1646 - 21/06/2008 22:50:41 35843 Link 0 |
H20 good reasons why I didn't go to Pearse Stadium last Sunday SAMMYTHEBULL (Galway) - Posts: 1646 - 21/06/2008 23:08:24 35846 Link 0 |
BY The way MURTY's Club is KILKERRIN/CLONBERNE..... He is not a Tuam Laddie..... I remember Hearing about him Last year... After Micheal Breathnach Gave them A Hiding In Inverin.... Just a Point of Information! SAMMYTHEBULL (Galway) - Posts: 1646 - 22/06/2008 10:46:56 35890 Link 0 |
the galway support is decreasing after every match!the tickets are a disgrace for a familly wanting tickets they could spend over E100!a few years ago football games were days on which families could go and enjoy the day now adays the tickes are a disgraceful price and sometimes u have 2 spend like 2 hours n d car 2 go and watch a game of football which could end up being the biggest load of rubbish. whoopwjoop (Galway) - Posts: 2 - 06/07/2008 13:51:40 43473 Link 0 |
Ciaran.Lowry, may I ask how many Club All-Irelands have Kilkerrin-clonberne won...Oh ya none!!! Actually when was the last time yea even won a senior county??? So how do ya figure Kilkerrin is more of a football stronghold than Salthill?? t.g (Galway) - Posts: 108 - 07/07/2008 00:36:51 43582 Link 0 |
Very bad support at Galway Laois match. I'd say there would be a better atmosphere at a snooker match. It was so quiet at one stage you could hear Ollie Canning shouting at the players. Clash-of-da-ash (Galway) - Posts: 927 - 07/07/2008 12:44:29 43867 Link 0 |
Yeah not even Joe Canning can bring out the Galway support. That's great - it will be very easy get a ticket so if they reach the All Ireland! tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3470 - 07/07/2008 13:08:38 43891 Link 0 |
I have to say the county board were a joke this weekend, i paid ?20 into the Galway Vr Laois game on Saturday to get a seat in the stand and then i noticed that a load of people who were paying the terrace prices were just walking into the stand, fair play to them i know what i will be doing anymore!! That was way to steep a price for the standard of game that we were going into see. Even worse was yesterday when i went in to see the Sweeney oil game between An Cheathru Rua and Corofin, they were charging ?10 in at the gate!! ?10 to watch what was no more then a good challenge match. County board fair play to ye!! Conamara (Galway) - Posts: 111 - 07/07/2008 13:22:50 43907 Link 0 |