Calling on all Galway Football Fans

A few bits for your diary: DATE: Sun 13th July 2008 EVENT: Connacht Football Final VENUE: Castlebar TIME: TBD OPPONENTS: Mayo or Sligo Lets face it; the support this year has been rubbish. I have been to a few Hurling Games and they are getting great support. People can have all the excuses they want; Ticket Prices too expensive, Match on TV, Not going to Pearse Stadium it should be on Tuam. FORGET ABOUT EXCUSES and get your ass to Castlebar for the Final. Leitrim must have out numbered us yesterday 2/1 if not 3/1. People say our Midfield is our weakest link. I put down the Support as our weakest link. Our County need all the support we can get. If we are playing Mayo; they will have massive support. You have nearly 4 weeks to organise yourself. Get to Castlebar. GALWAY NEED YOU!

alfie (Galway) - Posts: 309 - 16/06/2008 12:28:50    33163

people dont support football because its boring.full stop

pull (Galway) - Posts: 65 - 16/06/2008 12:52:52    33181

Il never attend another game in Pearse, no GAA game is worth an hour and half stuck in traffic.

mowtastic (Galway) - Posts: 98 - 16/06/2008 13:37:26    33214

Yeah agree - when Galway won yesterday you could nearly hear a pin drop such was the lack of support - no cheering whatsoever. Another problem is that the Galway fans who do attend hardly make any noise compared to opposition fans. All I could hear yesterday was "Leitrim, Leitrim" from a county with only 35,00 or so! What must the players be thinking if that is all the support they get with a population of a quarter of a million now? Are we too pampered or too lazy to go out and show support even if its only Leitrim which we were expected to beat handily but struggled to get past? We are the laughing stock of Ireland with that pathetic support. I was just thinking today how there were so many Galway supporters in 1998 at the AI final - what has happened in the meantime ?

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3470 - 16/06/2008 13:54:10    33227

mowtastic - as I said; I'm not interested in excuses. If you were stuck in traffic you obviously never go there much. If you have nothing positive to add here make up your own topic about why you won't go to Pearse Stadium

tommy k - maybe its hard for us to get excited since we have been successful comparing to our neighbours. The second biggest cheer at the Connacht Semi-Final against Mayo last year was when Mayo introduced Ciaran McDonald. Every Mayo fan went nuts but the biggest cheer when he got floored in his first tackle. I haven't heard the Galway Supports since that day.

alfie (Galway) - Posts: 309 - 16/06/2008 14:34:30    33253

They should move back to Tuam

mowtastic (Galway) - Posts: 98 - 16/06/2008 14:47:34    33269

alfie i know you said u didnt want to hear excuses but u have to be realistic there are 4 reasons why there wasnt much support at the game on sunday:

1. The stadium. Ive made my views on this clear in the past the city simply does not seem to give a damn about football. More interested in soccer. We need to move back to Tuam
2. The game was on TV
3. Not knockout. The qualifiers means the provincial games dont matter anymore
4. This is the big one. The standard of football in the other counties in Connacht (Mayo aside) is RUBBISH. Why would someone pay 20 or 30 euro to watch the drivel we have seen so far?

I would say there will be a decent crowd from galway at the conn. final because it might actually be entertaining. Once we get to croker thats when you'll see the crowds turning up.
In response to the hurlers getting big crowds hurling is a more entertaining game to watch. We also havent won an all-Ireland in 20 years similar to footballers in 98. And then you have the boy wonder JC popping them over from all sides

tribesmen (Galway) - Posts: 151 - 16/06/2008 15:54:56    33346

Support for the footballers this year has been a disgrace. Full stop. Fair enough Pearse Stadium is a nightmare to get in and out of but it was an embarrassment yesterday to see our footballers suported so poorly for a home game on national television. There is weeks between games yet people can't be bothered to take one afternoon off to go and support them.

Imagine how the players feel when the home fans are nearly outnumbered by Roscommon and Leitrim fans.

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2377 - 16/06/2008 16:33:55    33389

Couldnt agree more with Alfie and marooned. The Galway fball fans have been patethic so far this year. It was depressing to see so few of us in Salthill yest. Lads like Joyce,Meehan,Clancy etc have done more then enough down thru the years to have to put up with some of the BS excuses raised above. If people cant be bothered to come to home games I wouldnt hold out much hope for them making it to Castlebar.

mossbags (Galway) - Posts: 1089 - 16/06/2008 16:58:11    33415

yeah i agree. i've been to all our home matches this season and went to castlebar aswell, and you always see the same few supporters there. once galway get to croker (if they do at all) the hypocrites well be out, jumping on the bandwagon. it makes me sick... :p

sean15 (Galway) - Posts: 32 - 16/06/2008 17:45:15    33451

I was at the Ross game but made a decision after never to go to Pearse again, id rather if they played away from home. Its alright if you live near the city but I for one dont and face a trip back to Dublin every Sunday. Spending two hourse stuck between Pearse and GMIT is a major turn off. Who did it suit to do up Pearse? Did someoen have a vested interest in that decision? It doesn even suit or teams because its always windy down there. Tuam is the home of Galway football and the surrounding areas are where most supporters are from.
If your looking for someone to blame, look no further than the county board!

mowtastic (Galway) - Posts: 98 - 16/06/2008 18:03:12    33454

hav ye got anything else to complain about. tuam home of football etc what a load of crap

mise (Galway) - Posts: 144 - 16/06/2008 18:53:04    33470

I don't know what way ye boys left the stadium, but Ive never got stuck in a traffic jam for half an hour after a match, get a sat nav. There is no stadium in tuam good to hold a inter county match, Could you imagine the shame if we brought a county team to a run down hole. why don't ye just pack into the Hi-aces and support your county

burst him (Galway) - Posts: 22 - 16/06/2008 19:40:43    33489

Lads enough slaggin Pearse just because it doesn't suit people from the Tuam area, ya'd swear there was never traffic delays in Tuam, or that ya didn't have to walk 2 miles if yere either l8 or tryin to avoid traffic after. Too many years people had to spend hours in traffic on the N17 on the way home from matches. Let alone the fact the stadium was a crumbling mess. As well as that Pearse Stadium is a lot more central....is it really fair to ask someone from Leitir Mor to spend upto 3 hours travelling to and from Games in Tuam (upto 6 hours total). Sorry lads yano deep down yere just using traffic which was easily avoidable that day if ya knew your way around town, as an excuse not to go to the effort of watchin Galway and Leitrim...ya'd of gone if it was Mayo!!

t.g (Galway) - Posts: 108 - 16/06/2008 22:26:25    33557

Lads enough slaggin Pearse just because it doesn't suit people from the Tuam area, ya'd swear there was never traffic delays in Tuam, or that ya didn't have to walk 2 miles if yere either l8 or tryin to avoid traffic after. Too many years people had to spend hours in traffic on the N17 on the way home from matches. Let alone the fact the stadium was a crumbling mess. As well as that Pearse Stadium is a lot more central....is it really fair to ask someone from Leitir Mor to spend upto 3 hours travelling to and from Games in Tuam (upto 6 hours total). Sorry lads yano deep down yere just using traffic which was easily avoidable that day if ya knew your way around town, as an excuse not to go to the effort of watchin Galway and Leitrim...ya'd of gone if it was Mayo!!

Dont mind this bull of not slaggin pearse cause its a joke of a spot, its like moving the english cricket team to ireland to play their games, nobody would turn up cause theres no interest in the sport. The true football support is in north galway and theres no excuse for the county board playing matches in their. Sure, let ye have ye're westlife and airshow and bon jovi, but leave the football to tuam stadium. It might be a kip, but its the spiritual home of galway football. Leave pearse for concerts and air shows. Bring back football to its true home and true supporters

And bye the way, yes we would of gone to mayo to watch the match because just like tuam, your guaranteed a big crowd and passionate fans unlike pearse which has, as roy keane so adequately put it one time, "the prawn sandwich brigade".

Joe Joe (Galway) - Posts: 253 - 17/06/2008 01:13:59    33600

Sure what use is it being more central if nobody turns up to the bloody games. What we want is a good healthy crowd at the games. This obviously isnt happening at pearse. I can guarantee there would have been at least double the support if it was in tuam.

tribesmen (Galway) - Posts: 151 - 17/06/2008 08:54:49    33627

alfie - you are dead right, Leitrim did out numbered us on Sunday. I remember the push on for tickets in 1998, 2000 and 2001, where are all these supports now? Come on Galway fans get the finger out and support the tribes.

This craic about Tuam has to stop, From Cliften/Renvile to Tuam and back again, it that fair? If the game was in Tuam I'd go, if the game was on the moon I'd go.

mowtastic - try using spell check good lad.

Starie1975 (Galway) - Posts: 444 - 17/06/2008 08:54:54    33628

REASONS FOR PEARSE

1. Bigger Stadium!

2. More Luxuary for players (biger dresing rooms shower etc. All tuam has is a physio table in the midle of the dressing room)

3. Bigger and Better Pitch

4. Its half way between the west and noth clubs!

5. More of a Stadium atmosphere!

Moycullman (Galway) - Posts: 92 - 17/06/2008 10:22:18    33687

joe joe your 100% correct

jot (Galway) - Posts: 16 - 17/06/2008 11:38:27    33726

Joe Joe dont be embarassing your self like a good lad, the fact that there's small crowds just show that most of the North galway fans are the ''prawn sandwich'' brigade, yere wiling to go a few miles down the road to watch a match but no further unless its a ''Big'' match!! Wasn't Pearse Stadium further frm Leitrim than Tuam but they still travelled in big numbers!!

P.s Ya cant even fit a full panel of players in the dressing room in Tuam, and the pitch is rubbish, Stadium is crumbling etc.

t.g (Galway) - Posts: 108 - 17/06/2008 12:14:39    33750