Darragh Ó Sé retires

one of the best and most consistant players for many a year.

ironman (Mayo) - Posts: 131 - 17/02/2010 15:40:50    564431

One of those players who became a legend while still playing.

tribute: Saying he will be remembered for not winning an AI against Tyrone is so idiotic I find it quite funny...

Floops (Dublin) - Posts: 1623 - 17/02/2010 15:48:50    564448

Liamwalkinstown

564430 Never won player of the year! I am shocked!!!

Not trying to give a dig, but in his heyday, discipline was an important aspect for that award.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12483 - 17/02/2010 15:52:19    564457

Sir I salute you. Great footballer.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9837 - 17/02/2010 15:56:52    564472

One of the best fielders of a ball ive ever seen. powerful man.

laflour (Cavan) - Posts: 528 - 17/02/2010 16:23:03    564520

Best of luck to him
Hard to see a Kerry team without him. Great player.

rossielassie (Roscommon) - Posts: 672 - 17/02/2010 16:32:26    564538

This was posted as a new thread. It was moved here to keep all relevant discussion in the one place.

dingle1
17/02/2010 16:32
Darragh - Ní bheidh a leithéid arís ann!
One of the greatest ever & whose likes we may never see again. 16 years as midfielder for Kerry & 6 All Ireland Celtic Crosses - this feat will hardly be repeated in our lifetime. We can talk about the likes of Sean Cavanagh, Padraic Joyce, Ricey, Mugsy, Whelan, Bradley etc., etc as great modern day footballers but none will even come close to Darragh's exploits of winning All Irelands in '97, '00, '04, '06, '07, '09. He also contested the '02, '05 and '08 finals and was very unlucky not to win these three as well. A magnificent fielder & kicker of the ball he was also a true sportsman & gave his all for the cause & in the true Kerry tradition never a foul blow. One of the football immortals dare I say.

Administrator (None) - Posts: 535 - 17/02/2010 16:40:12    564561

Brilliant player. Was able to time his jump to perfection and soar when fielding kickouts. Glad that he got to bow out on a high. All the best in retirement, hope he plays on with an Ghaeltacht for a good few years yet.

nocky (Wexford) - Posts: 2059 - 17/02/2010 16:40:52    564562

Everyone would want to have a Dara O Se on their team. Deservedly won his six all Irelands and only for Tyrone and Armagh would probably have won ten.

mugsys_barber (Tyrone) - Posts: 2160 - 17/02/2010 16:49:53    564577

A magnificent fielder & kicker of the ball he was also a true sportsman & gave his all for the cause & in the true Kerry tradition never a foul blow.

A bit early for revisionism!!!!

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12483 - 17/02/2010 17:00:33    564592

Floops

564448 One of those players who became a legend while still playing.

tribute: Saying he will be remembered for not winning an AI against Tyrone is so idiotic I find it quite funny...

is it floops????...he was a very good footballer....but he will never be in the same calibre of that of peter "the great" canavan or sean cavanagh and the likes....just never could get over that last hurdle against the greats!!!!!...gave it a good run though....fair play to him!!!!

.tribute (Cavan) - Posts: 360 - 17/02/2010 17:09:02    564605

Wish him all the best great player .

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 17/02/2010 17:13:22    564607

as a cork man.....glad to see the back of him

pidge (Cork) - Posts: 543 - 17/02/2010 17:14:39    564608

the last of the 97 team and how only 2 of the 2000 team the Kerry team iv grown up with is almost gone

kerryhurling (Kerry) - Posts: 274 - 17/02/2010 18:19:51    564734

Fair play to ye Daragh 6 all irelands is some record. although ye missed out on the Holy Grail of beating Tyrone

Seriously though Daragh was/is a great player and owes the GAA and Kerry nothing, great servant and ambassator to both

omaghjoe (Tyrone) - Posts: 1191 - 17/02/2010 18:30:01    564746

.tribute

Floops

564448 One of those players who became a legend while still playing.

is it floops????...he was a very good footballer....but he will never be in the same calibre of that of peter "the great" canavan or sean cavanagh and the likes....just never could get over that last hurdle against the greats!!!!!...gave it a good run though....fair play to him!!!!

ha ha like I said before... you're funny

Floops (Dublin) - Posts: 1623 - 17/02/2010 18:42:36    564760

Floops

your ignorance amuses me......the facts dont lie...he has never being on the winning side against tyrone.....im sorry, but i just cant give the same respect as kieran mcgeeney, peter canavan etc.

.tribute (Cavan) - Posts: 360 - 17/02/2010 18:59:27    564790

Best of luck for the future a true gaa legend kerry will be lost without him

Meath4Life (Meath) - Posts: 21 - 17/02/2010 20:42:05    564950

tribute:

Would your view of Canavan and McGeeney not be diminished because of all the years they didn't win the All-Ireland? ;)

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13837 - 17/02/2010 20:57:37    564982

Sur' Floops what are you on about Tribute is right! The facts dont lie, i mean come on Dara O'Se has 6 All Ireland Medals himself, Peter Canavan and Sean Cavanagh combined have how many AI medals :p !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Ciarrai Abu (Overseas) - Posts: 1050 - 17/02/2010 21:07:10    564995