Monaghan match's not been shown on RTE

I could tell you some stories about the Monaghan crowd that day in the main stand Hardcore but we prefer to keep our mouths shut to be honest. As Dubs we don't tend to blow our own trumpets we let our country friends like Marin Breheny, Euegen Magee, Pat Spillane and Co do it for us. Every geniune Dublin fan like myself is a pessimist. It's in our nature!!! Can't say the same for you though. I hope that your optimism is well founded. As for Dublin gate receipts not feeding into ground redevelopments, if Dublin play four championship games in a year in CP and 60,000 Dubs attend each at an average rate of €40 per head where do you think this 2.4M is going to? This revenue allows the GAA to leverage loans and grants to the tune of the €100M investment programmes like the one earmarked for 2010. So as for the hole in Donnycarney, you are right. With us contributing at least 2.5M a year to GAA coffers we should be demanding a state of the art stadium like the Stade De France look-a-like that you have up north.

Up the Dubs!!

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4737 - 19/02/2010 20:26:18    567554

Now joxer,christy cooney announced that 100 million is to be spent on local projects over the next three years.65million has to be raised by clubs and countys the other 35million came from, wait for it "SOCCER & RUGBY been played at croke park,not a word about DUBLINS big gates who cares if yous bring 60,000 a game the gaa only want dublin up to the semi finals because croke park will be full for the final no matter whos in it.I see yous dont even have a training centre we have,5 full size prunty pitches and an indoor fitness centre along with a host of top club grounds that can hold county matches.muineachain abu!!

hardcore (Monaghan) - Posts: 1366 - 19/02/2010 21:05:44    567594

You clearly don't know much about our training Hardccore. The Dubs train at the state of the art DCU complex in Glasnevin, one of the finest complexes in Europe. Do a bit of research mate. As for the GAA not caring about the Dubs beyond the semis. Everybody knows that the championship and indeed the sport would be nothing without the Dubs. Why else was Croke Park built, to cater for average gates of 12,000 for championship games??? To cater for rugby and soccer matches??? The sport is dying and if it wasn't for Dublin average championshio gates would be less than 15K. You wouldn't have your touch sensitive showers or floodlights if it wasn't for the Dubs and this is long before a foreign sport was ever played at Jones' Rd. That's not supposed to be a boast it's just that Dublin crowds are required. You know it and I know it.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4737 - 21/02/2010 19:16:44    568844

Your heads gone joxer, ill let you rave away about dublin been the "be all and end all of the gaa" when we both know their not.

hardcore (Monaghan) - Posts: 1366 - 21/02/2010 21:38:58    569031

I see that you haven't disputed any of my facts Hardcore. My case has been made then I presume. Good luck in "the hole" in Donnycarney in a couple of weeks!!

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4737 - 23/02/2010 12:14:48    570591

Not Showing monaghan on rte is a good thing. They are painful to watch at the best of times

zidane (Galway) - Posts: 272 - 23/02/2010 12:27:52    570612

Can anybody recall what Joe Brolly said about them after the Derry match last year? He was very critical of them anyway. But 2010 has shown them to be a lot more open to play football and i hope they keep it up.

galwayfan (None) - Posts: 764 - 23/02/2010 13:23:04    570661

Now this is a genuine question and I am not trying to have a go at the Dubs (well only a little dig). As soon as anyone has a go at the Dublin team the usual response is that they are the only team to fill Croke Park and if it was not for them no club in the Country would have a pitch to play on. But is this statement accurate for counties outside Leinster? Can someone with a good knowledge of GAA structures and politics let me know exactly where GAA grants to club and county ground projects come from. I always thought that funding for most projects come from the local county board or provincial council using money generated during the local county championship and the local provencial championships, e.g money from the Ulster championship goes to projects in Ulster through grants directly to clubs and grants to the County board who then feed it out to their own clubs, with the same for the other provences.

Can money raised in one provencial championship be used for projects in another? Can money from say a sell out Meath Dublin final go to Ulster projects or is it kept within Leinster?

I always thought that it was only money generated in the All Ireland series i.e last 12, I/4 finals, semi finals, finals etc that goes to the GAA's central funds in Croke park, which can be divided out nationaly. If this is the case then the Dubs have not contributed all that much to Counties outside Leinster as given their poor record outside the Leinster championship.

The Hunter (None) - Posts: 22 - 23/02/2010 13:30:16    570668

Zidane: Where you at the Galway V Monaghan game two weeks ago?

Farney (Monaghan) - Posts: 814 - 23/02/2010 13:42:37    570685

Joxer the gaa have no problem filling croke park for all ireland semis and finals and there is no sign of the dublin crowd then, ls a 2000 strong dublin crowd in parnell park for march 13th something to boast about? where are all the great dub fans that arrive late to croke park for the championship? do they not like to go because the weather is too cold and they cant take their tops off and enjoy their dutch gold?

farneyFlaps (Monaghan) - Posts: 31 - 23/02/2010 14:28:25    570747

farneyFlaps
County: Monaghan

570747 Joxer the gaa have no problem filling croke park for all ireland semis and finals and there is no sign of the dublin crowd then, ls a 2000 strong dublin crowd in parnell park for march 13th something to boast about? where are all the great dub fans that arrive late to croke park for the championship? do they not like to go because the weather is too cold and they cant take their tops off and enjoy their dutch gold?

All-Ireland finals will always sell out of course.

But how many sell-out All-Ireland semi finals without Dublin can you think of since the expansion? Did Tyrone and Armagh sell out in 05? Outside of that I don't think its happened.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13792 - 23/02/2010 16:26:34    570940

Farney yes i was at the match 2 weeks ago. We played ye off the park and if it wasnt for all those soft frees ye got from the new fist pass rule we would have won by a lot more

zidane (Galway) - Posts: 272 - 23/02/2010 20:54:31    571331

nah don't like dutch gold anymore farney...decided to push the boat out...on the bulmers now :)

Dubsfan08 (Dublin) - Posts: 619 - 23/02/2010 21:27:09    571408

Are you predicting the crowd for that league match Farney?? Against the big guns PP is usually sold out i.e. 11,000 people. So I don't know where you are getting 2,000 from. How would you know who arrives late at CP and who doesn't anyway? You're usually not around at the business end of the championship anyway. In the thread above Dublin fans have been called ignorant due to some comments made at PP, the team have been slagged off for only being "Kings of Leinster", our ground has been called a "hole" and now you're slagging the fans off for not going to games and for turning up late. We've also been told to wait until the league match and so on. All of this from our lovely Ulster brothers in Monaghan. Lovely people!

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4737 - 23/02/2010 21:54:21    571496

Zidane: You couldn't have been at the game, you must have been watching the soccer again. Galway got 10 scores from frees and Monaghan had 6 during the game.
Three of Galways first four scores were from frees because of Monaghan caught handpassing at the back.

It was an even enough game up until Paul Finlay got sent of and so there was no playing us off the park and there was some good football played by both teams during the game when the referee allowed it....

Monaghan are on TG4 (deferred coverage) this Sunday.

Farney (Monaghan) - Posts: 814 - 24/02/2010 10:19:26    571599

Well said farney flaps. This tread was started because monaghan games have not recieved any coverage as yet and they are a div 1 team. Now, the cork game was a pure cracker which would of made great tv. And furthermore the Tyrone v Monaghan game is not being shown either which I would predict will be a cracker also. This game is being played in Inniskeen, the finest ground in ulster, but yet the only coverage monaghan are getting is against the JACKINES in "the Hole".

Dublin are the biggest publised county. Every other day we see headlines about the team. "Caffrey says fennell is next whelan".............WHO CARES.

MuineachanAbu (Monaghan) - Posts: 660 - 24/02/2010 11:05:35    571640

farneyFlaps
County: Monaghan

570747 Joxer the gaa have no problem filling croke park for all ireland semis and finals and there is no sign of the dublin crowd then, ls a 2000 strong dublin crowd in parnell park for march 13th something to boast about? where are all the great dub fans that arrive late to croke park for the championship? do they not like to go because the weather is too cold and they cant take their tops off and enjoy their dutch gold?

All-Ireland finals will always sell out of course.

But how many sell-out All-Ireland semi finals without Dublin can you think of since the expansion? Did Tyrone and Armagh sell out in 05? Outside of that I don't think its happened.

Don't think any sold out except that. Maybe Kerry/Armagh in 2000 but stadium wasn't finished. Do Monaghan bring the same number to league games as Croke park? I don't think so. Tis the Dubs you can rely on to sell out Croke park for almost any game. Fair play to them. If the rest of us brought the numbers then
there'd be a few late throw ins also.

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 24/02/2010 11:22:46    571657

Joxer i took the figure of 2000 for the dublin crowd from your own post on 17-2-10. best of luck

farneyFlaps (Monaghan) - Posts: 31 - 24/02/2010 11:32:25    571665

good man superglue the population of monaghan is around 50000 so you are very correct in your incisive observation that dublin bring a larger crowd than most other counties since they have the largest population. i am sure if croke park was in kerry, the kingdom would also bring a significantly larger crowd than they do now!

farneyFlaps (Monaghan) - Posts: 31 - 24/02/2010 11:39:39    571671

Lads will ye just quit it - I'm sick and tired of this post.

To Joxer etc - Not every Monaghan supporter thinks like Farney/Hardcore etc. so try not to group everyone together although some of the early comments from Mon posters were a bit over the top so I can understand you having a pop.

To Farney/Hardcore etc. - I can understand you going a bit over the top cause of all the people having a pop at the Monaghan county team.

To all the other people: Yes Monaghan were a bit raw at times over that past couple of years, trying to climb as high as they can with limited resources, but they're not the only team so a lot of the comments are a bit hypocritical - There's very few saintly teams out there. - And guess what - We all want our team to play like Kerry but no matter what way they play we will support them to the hilt anyway. Monaghan seem to be trying more open football this year and hopefully it will continue but if they revert back we will still support them.

So everyone please calm down and by the way - I really hope Dublin win another All-Ireland soon.

Goodbye (to this topic)

The Sage (Monaghan) - Posts: 351 - 24/02/2010 12:11:57    571721